DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “matric indicator” in line 5. This limitation should be replaced by “matrix indicator”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-9 and 23 recites the limitation "claim 0" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purpose, for claims 2-9, “claim 0” is interpreted as “claim 1” with a typo error, and for claim 23, “claim 0” is interpreted as claim 22 with a typo error.
Claim 9 recites the acronyms MAC, MAC-CE, PDCP, PDU, RLC, UCI, and RRC without prior definition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 16, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20200229015 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. teach A method of configuring communications in a mobile telecommunications system ([0007] a method for adjusting mobility-related parameters performed by a base station ), the mobile telecommunications system comprising a radio node ([0007] a base station ) and at least a terminal ([0007] a user equipment), wherein the radio node is configured to provide an air interface to the terminal for communicating with the terminal ([0121] communication performed by the communication apparatus 804), wherein the method comprises:
the terminal determining position information for the terminal ([0076] location information of an aerial user terminal is acquired.);
the terminal transmitting a control message to the radio node, the control message notifying the radio node of the position information for the terminal ([0060] the base station 10 may receive location information reported by an aerial user terminal. Note: the reported location information is considered a control message because the base station adjust a parameter based on the message); and
the radio node determining one or more configuration for communicating with at least the terminal based on the position information ([0070] the base station may transmit to the aerial user terminal configuration information only for the location information report, [0072] the base station 10 may adjust the mobility-related parameters of the aerial user terminal according to the location information)..
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. teach the method of claim 0, wherein the position information comprises one or both of absolute position information ([0057] The location information may include one or more of location coordinates (including the height) of the aerial user terminal 20) and relative position information, wherein relative position information is indicative of a relative position of the terminal with respect to the radio node.
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. teach the method of claim 0, wherein the radio node determining one or more configuration comprises the radio node determining, based on the position information ([0072] the base station 10 may adjust the mobility-related parameters of the aerial user terminal according to the location information), one or more of:
to activate a beam for communicating with the terminal;
to determine a precoding matric indicator to be adopted for communicating with the terminal;
to determine a rank indicator to be adopted for communicating with the terminal;
to active a further radio node for communicating with the terminal, jointly with the radio node or instead of the radio node;
one or more scheduling time opportunities for transmitting one or more signals to the terminal;
a configuration of a reporting mode of the terminal; and
a configuration of at least one of a number of reporting occasions, a reporting period ([0069] the aerial user terminal may adjust, according to its own speed and/or height, a reporting period by using a scaling factor), a reporting timer, a type of information to report.
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. teach the method of claim 0, wherein the radio node determining a configuration of a reporting mode comprises the radio node one or more of:
determining to activate of one or both of an ad-hoc reporting mode and a periodic reporting mode;
configuring an ad-hoc reporting mode;
configuring a periodic reporting mode;
configuring a number of reporting occasions;
configuring a reporting period ([0069] the location information is reported at a period configured by the base station);
configuring a timer for reporting position information, wherein the terminal stops transmitting control messages notifying the radio node of position information after expiry of the timer;
configuring a time window for reporting position information, wherein the terminal is configured to transmit control messages to notify the radio node of the position information when within the time window and to stop transmitting control messages notifying the radio node of the position when outside of the time window; and
configuring a trigger condition for the terminal, wherein the terminal is configured to transmit the control message notifying the radio node of the position information upon determining that the trigger condition is met ([0070] The report configuration may include a trigger type (periodic or event- triggered) for the location information report).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. teach the method of claim 0 further comprising:
the radio node notifying the terminal of the determined configuration of the reporting mode ([0071] the report configuration further includes a trigger type (periodic or event- triggered) for the location information report); and
the terminal transmitting a further control message based on the configuration of the reporting mode, the further control message notifying the radio node of further position information for the terminal ([0071] when the trigger type for the report is event- triggered, the aerial user terminal may transmit the location information to the base station).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. teach the method of claim 0, wherein the terminal is configured to transmit the control message notifying the radio node of the position information upon determining that a reporting trigger condition is met ([0070] When the trigger type for the report is event- triggered, the aerial user terminal may transmit the location information to the base station in the manner as described above when the predetermined event occurs).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. teach the method of claim 0, but do not teach
wherein the control message is at least one of: a MAC message, a MAC-CE message ([0138] MAC signaling may be reported by using, for example, MAC control elements (MAC CEs)), a PDCP control PDU, a PDCP data PDU an RLC control PDU, an RLC data PDU, a layer 1 message, a UCI message and an RRC message ([0137] reporting of information may be implemented by using physical layer signaling (for example, downlink control information (DCI), uplink control information (UCI)), higher layer signaling (for example, RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling).
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. teach a terminal ([0007] a user equipment ) for use in a mobile telecommunications system, the mobile telecommunications system comprising a radio node ([0007] a base station ) and the terminal, wherein the radio node is configured to provide an air interface to the terminal for communicating with the terminal ([0121] communication performed by the communication apparatus 804), wherein the terminal is configured to:
determine position information for the terminal ([0076] location information of an aerial user terminal is acquired.);;
transmit a control message to the radio node, the control message notifying the radio node of the position information for the terminal ([0060] the base station 10 may receive location information reported by an aerial user terminal. Note: the reported location information is considered a control message because the base station adjust a parameter based on the message); and
communicate with the radio node based on one or more configuration determined by the radio node in response to transmitting the position information ([0070]-[0072] the base station may transmit to the aerial user terminal configuration information only for the location information report... the base station 10 may adjust the mobility-related parameters of the aerial user terminal according to the location information).
Regarding claim 22, Wang et al. teach a radio node ([0007] a base station ) for use in a mobile telecommunications system, the mobile telecommunications system comprising the radio node and a terminal ([0007] a user equipment), wherein the radio node is configured to provide an air interface to the terminal for communicating with the terminal ([0121] communication performed by the communication apparatus 804), wherein the radio node is further configured to:
receive, from the terminal, a control message notifying the radio node of position information for the terminal ([0060] the base station 10 may receive location information reported by an aerial user terminal. Note: the reported location information is considered a control message because the base station adjust a parameter based on the message), wherein the position information is determined by the terminal ([0076] location information of an aerial user terminal is acquired).; and
determine one or more configuration for communicating with at least the terminal based on the position information ([0070] the base station may transmit to the aerial user terminal configuration information only for the location information report, [0072] the base station 10 may adjust the mobility-related parameters of the aerial user terminal according to the location information).
Regarding claim 23, Wang et al. teach the radio node of claim 0, wherein the radio node comprises one or more of: a base station (([0007] a method for adjusting mobility-related parameters performed by a base station ), an Remote Radio Head "RRH", a Distributed Unit "DU", a Centralised Unit "CU", transmission and reception point "TRP", relay node and a further terminal
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. in view of GANGAKHEDKAR et al. (US 20200275236 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. teach the method of claim 0, but do not teach
wherein relative position information comprises one or more of:
angle related information
timing related information;
geographical position information; and
orientation information comprising one of more of a pitch, roll and yaw measurement.
In a similar endeavor, GANGAKHEDKAR et al. teach
wherein relative position information (GANGAKHEDKAR [0012] the receiver's position relative to the transmitter.) comprises one or more of:
angle related information (GANGAKHEDKAR [0011] more accurate angle-based estimation using directional transmissions, [0026] determine the angle -related information based on an Angle of Departure (AoD) measurement and/or an Angle of Arrival (AoA)).;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Wang et al. by incorporating GANGAKHEDKAR et al. angle information to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have improved the accuracy of the position estimation.
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al. teach the method of claim 0, but do not teach
wherein the position information comprises one or more of: Angle of Arrival "AoA" information, Time of Arrival "ToA" information, Time Difference of Arrival "TDoA", Received Signal Strength "RSS", Differential Received Signal Strength "DRSS", pitch measurement, roll measurement and yaw measurement
In a similar endeavor, GANGAKHEDKAR et al. teach
wherein the position information comprises one or more of: Angle of Arrival "AoA" information (GANGAKHEDKAR [0026] determine the angle -related information based on an Angle of Departure (AoD) measurement and/or an Angle of Arrival (AoA)), Time of Arrival "ToA" information, Time Difference of Arrival "TDoA", Received Signal Strength "RSS", Differential Received Signal Strength "DRSS", pitch measurement, roll measurement and yaw measurement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Wang et al. by incorporating GANGAKHEDKAR et al. angle information to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have improved the accuracy of the position estimation.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644