DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed November 19, 2025 are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1-2 and 4.
The rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino et al., JP 2018-202810 in view of Kageyama et al., JP 2014-196584 is overcome by Applicant’s amendment and withdrawn due Applicant’s argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino et al., JP 2018-202810 in view of Sugiura, JP4216409
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Sugino discloses a recycled carbon fiber bundle extracted from a carbon fiber reinforced thermosetting resin molding [0001] wherein the recycled carbon fiber bundle can be used as a raw material for CFRP [carbon fiber reinforced plastic - sheet] [0010]. Paragraph 0011 discloses that carbon fibers are bundled into a tow shape with an amorphous carbon precursor derived from a thermosetting resin [0020 and 0022]. Paragraph 0058 discloses that the matrix resin is converted [no resin residue] into an amorphous carbon precursor Paragraph 0035 discloses that the recycled carbon fiber bundle is mixed with a thermosetting resin [first chemical functional group] and molded to produce CFRP. Paragraph 0095 discloses a sizing agent [surface modifier/second chemical functional group] on the recycled carbon fiber bundle.
Sugino is silent to the surface modifier being present in the amount of 0.1 to 0.8 weight %. Sugiura discloses a carbon fiber reinforced composite material including sized carbon fibers [0001]. Paragraph 0031 of Sugiura discloses that the sizing agent is adhered to the carbon fibers in the amount of 0.1 to 5%. Paragraph 0034 of Sugiura discloses that the sizing agent has an excellent affinity with various matrix resins. Paragraph 0027 of Sugiura discloses that the sizing agent includes an organic residue having a functional group such as a carboxyl group. Paragraph 0043 of Sugiura discloses that the affinity of the carbon fiber surface including the sizing agent having a carboxyl functional group to epoxy resin, vinyl ester resin, unsaturated polyesters and acrylic resin. Sugino and Sugiura are analogous art in that both references are directed to carbon fiber reinforced thermosetting composites wherein the carbon fibers are sized. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the sizing agent having a carboxyl group in the amount of 0.1 to 5% and epoxy resin of Sugiura in Sugino for the benefit of obtaining enhanced affinity of the carbon fiber surface to the thermosetting matrix resin.
The combination of Sugino and Sugiura teach the claimed invention but fails to teach that an amount of residual carbon content measured when the recycled-carbon-fiber tow composition has been heated in a condition of 600°C X60 minutes is 1 to 5 weight%. It is reasonable to presume that an amount of residual carbon content measured when the recycled-carbon-fiber tow composition has been heated in a condition of 600°CX60 minutes is 1 to 5 weight% is inherent to the combination of Sugino and Sugiura. Said presumption is based upon the disclosure of Sugino in view Sugiura wherein Sugino discloses a recycled carbon fiber bundle extracted from a carbon fiber reinforced thermosetting resin molding [0001] wherein the recycled carbon fiber bundle can be used as a raw material for CFRP [carbon fiber reinforced plastic - sheet] [0010]. Paragraph 0011 discloses that carbon fibers are bundled into a tow shape with an amorphous carbon precursor derived from a thermosetting resin [0020 and 0022]. Paragraph 0058 discloses that the matrix resin is converted [no resin residue] into an amorphous carbon precursor Paragraph 0035 discloses that the recycled carbon fiber bundle is mixed with a thermosetting resin [first chemical functional group] and molded to produce CFRP. Paragraph 0095 discloses a sizing agent [surface modifier/second chemical functional group] on the recycled carbon fiber bundle.
Sugino is silent to the surface modifier being present in the amount of 0.1 to 0.8 weight %. Sugiura discloses a carbon fiber reinforced composite material including sized carbon fibers [0001]. Paragraph 0031 discloses that the sizing agent is adhered to the carbon fibers in the amount of 0.1 to 5%. Paragraph 0034 discloses that the sizing agent has an excellent affinity with various matrix resins. Paragraph 0027 of Sugiura discloses that the sizing agent includes an organic residue having a functional group such as a carboxyl group. Paragraph 0043 of Sugiura discloses that the affinity of the carbon fiber surface including the sizing agent having a carboxyl functional group to epoxy resin, vinyl ester resin, unsaturated polyesters and acrylic resin. Sugino and Sugiura are analogous art in that both references are directed to carbon fiber reinforce thermosetting composites wherein the carbon fibers are sized. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the sizing agent having a carboxyl group in the amount of 0.1 to 5% and epoxy resin of Sugiura in Sugino for the benefit of obtaining enhanced affinity of the carbon fiber surface to the thermosetting matrix resin. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 2, Sugiura discloses in paragraph 0027 that the sizing agent includes a carboxyl functional group. Paragraph 0043 discloses that the thermosetting matrix can include epoxy resin, vinyl ester resin [ester group].
Regarding claim 4, paragraph 0038 of Sugino discloses that the recycled carbon fiber bundle is manufactured by heating the CFRP to a temperature in the range of 400 °C to 480 °C and keeping the oxygen concentration of the atmosphere gas at 15-19 volume percent [0042].
Regarding claim 5, paragraph 0062 Sugino discloses that the average flow velocity of the atmospheric gas ranges from 1 to 20 m/min [0.017 m/second to 0.33 m/second] which is with Applicant's claimed range.
Regarding claim 6, paragraph 0050 of Sugino discloses when the temperature reaches 350°C, the decomposition state of the CFRP is checked to determine whether the decomposition reaction has terminated by checking whether the exhaust gas has an odor or a strange color, and by checking with an oxygen sensor or the like that the oxygen concentration is stable. It is preferable to continue heating to above 350°C after the decomposition reaction has terminated. If the decomposition reaction is not completed and the mixture is heated to above 350°C, oxidation occurs rapidly, making it difficult to control the temperature and resulting in the generation of white smoke and unpleasant odors. Furthermore, a rapid oxidation reaction may prevent the formation of a tow. Furthermore, the temperature of the CFRP may rise suddenly, possibly causing it to explode. The completion of the decomposition reaction can be determined by observing whether white smoke and an unpleasant odor are generated [fuming], and if neither white smoke nor an unpleasant odor is generated, it can be determined that the decomposition reaction has completed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786