DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed with the national stage application on November 24, 2023. The amendment has been entered and, accordingly, claims 1-10 have been amended. Claims 1-10 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “further comprising a limiting part” in line 1-2, and then recites alternative limitations a) “wherein the air conditioner further comprises a limiting part…” in line 3 or b) “wherein the air conditioner further comprises a control limiting member…” in line 7. It is not clear, then, whether the limiting part is a required feature and/or whether “a limiting part” in line 7 is intended to be a different element from “a limiting part” previously recited in line 1-2. For the purposes of this Office Action, the claim is being interpreted as “The air conditioner according to claim 5, wherein the air conditioner further comprises a limiting part that is connected with the controller support member and that abuts against the controller in a front-and-rear direction so that a movement of the controller limited in a backward direction, or wherein the air conditioner further comprises a controller limiting member, the controller limiting member is connected with the controller support member or is connected with the rear wall surface of the end plate, and the controller limiting member comprises a part abutting against the controller in the front-and-rear direction, so that the movement of the controller is limited in the backward direction.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 209042605 by Gao et al (hereinafter “Gao”) in view of US 2017/0176028 by Jeon (hereinafter “Jeon”).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches an air conditioner (Fig 1, paragraph [0002]) comprising:
a housing (Fig 1 housing 100);
a protruding portion protruding outwardly from the housing and defining an accommodating cavity (Fig 1 handle 200);
But Gao does not teach a controller, at least a part of the controller being arranged in the accommodating cavity, wherein: the protruding portion is provided with an operating hole communicated with the accommodating cavity, an operating surface of the controller being arranged in the operating hole so that the operating surface is exposed, or the operating surface of the controller is arranged on an outer side surface of the protruding portion.
However, Jeon teaches an air conditioner having a controller (Fig 7 display device 72) arranged in an accommodating cavity at a side wall of a housing (Fig 11), wherein the side wall is provided with an operating hole (Figs 11-13, inspection window 110; paragraph [0117]), an operating surface of the controller being arranged in the operating hole so that the operating surface is exposed (Fig 11; paragraph [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Gao by including a controller arranged in the accommodating cavity at a side of the housing and providing an operating hole communicating with the cavity, an operating surface of the controller being arranged in the operating hole so that the operating surface is exposed, in order to provide an accessible controller to display the operational state of the air conditioner.
Claims 2-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Jeon and in further view of CN 109539392 by Xu et al (hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding claim 2, Gao further teaches that the housing comprises a housing body (Fig 1 chassis 110), wherein the protruding portion comprises a handle casing configured to be detachably arranged on the housing body (Fig 1 handle 200; paragraph [0043]), and the handle casing comprises an end plate (electrical receiving portion 230) and a surrounding plate surrounding the end plate (Fig 2 and Fig 7, frame 210).
Jeon teaches that the operating hole is defined in an end plate on a side wall of the air conditioner (Fig 11). Jeon teaches that the controller is mounted to a surface at the inside of the end plate (Fig 5), but Jeon is silent as to the method of attachment.
However, Xu teaches a mounting structure for a controller on an air conditioner (Fig 2, monitor box 3 for monitor 2 on air conditioner body 5), wherein the mounting structure includes an end plate (Fig 5 box cover 32), an operating hole defined in the end plate (Fig 3), and a controller detachably arranged in the operating hole (Fig 5 monitor 2 arranged in operating hole; paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the air conditioner of Gao/Jeon by mounting the controller with the mounting structure taught by Xu, in order to securely mount the controller in a manner which allows the display to be easily viewed while also being detachable to allow for convenient assembly and disassembly of the display for maintenance or cleaning.
Regarding claim 3, Gao further teaches that a part of the end plate is recessed inwards, relative to another part of the end plate, to form a handle slot (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 4, Gao/Jeon/Xu teaches the air conditioner of claim 2. Jeon further teaches that the controller comprises an operating panel and the operating panel has an operating surface (Fig 7).
Xu teaches that at least part of an operating panel of the controller is fitted in the operating hole of the mounting box (Fig 5), a remaining part of the controller is located at a rear side of the operating panel and is located an accommodating cavity (Fig 5, monitor 2 is located in mounting cavity 300), and the remaining part of the controller abuts against a part of the end plate around the operating hole, so that a movement of the controller is limited in a forward direction (Fig 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, having modified the air conditioner of Gao/Jeon with the controller mounting structure of Jeon, to make at least a part of the operating panel to be fitted in the operating hole, a remaining part of the controller located at a rear side of the operating panel and located in the accommodating cavity, and the remaining part of the controller abutting against a part of the end plate around the operating hole, so that a movement of the controller is limited in a forward direction, as taught by Xu.
Regarding claim 5, Xu further teaches that the mounting structure comprises a controller support member (Fig 3 and Fig 5, box body 31), wherein the controller support member is connected to a rear wall surface of the end plate and surrounds the remaining part of the controller (Fig 5, controller support member 31 is connected to end plate 32 and surrounds controller 2), and wherein the remaining part of the controller is fitted into the controller support member (Fig 5), so that a movement of the controller is limited in up, down, left and right directions (Fig 5 controller support member performs this function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, having modified the air conditioner of Gao/Jeon with the controller mounting structure of Xu, that the controller support member taught by Xu would be included, wherein the controller support member is connected to a rear wall surface of the end plate and surrounds the remaining part of the controller, and wherein the remaining part of the controller is fitted into the controller support member, so that a movement of the controller is limited in up, down, left and right directions, in order to secure the controller in the mounting structure.
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches that the mounting structure further comprises a limiting part that is connected with the controller support member and that abuts against the controller in a front-and-rear direction so that a movement of the controller limited in a backward direction (Figs 4-5, elastic element 4 including first and second elastic elements 41/42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, having modified the air conditioner of Gao/Jeon with the controller mounting structure of Xu, to include the limiting part taught by Xu, in order to limit the movement of the controller in the backward direction and to bias the controller toward a frontward direction.
Regarding claim 8, Gao/Jeon/Xu teaches the air conditioner of claim 2. Xu further teaches that the operating hole is defined in the end plate (Fig 3 operating hole in end plate 32), and wherein the air conditioner further comprises a controller mounting box (Fig 5 box body 31), the controller mounting box defines a mounting cavity (Fig 5 mounting cavity 300), a front side of the mounting cavity is open (Fig 3 and Fig 5, mounting cavity 300 is open from mounting box 30 and is open through end plate 32 at least at the operating hole), the controller is configured to be mounted in the mounting cavity so that the operating surface is exposed (Fig 3), and at least a part of the controller mounting box is located in the accommodating cavity and connected to the end plate (Fig 4).
Claims 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Jeon and Xu and in further view of BE 1027549 by Chen (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 7, Gao/Jeon/Xu teaches the air conditioner of claim 4. See details in parent claim 4 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill to modify. But Gao/Jeon/Xu does not teach that the air conditioner further comprises a sealing ring, wherein the sealing ring is fitted between the operating panel and the end plate.
However, Chen teaches a controller for an air conditioner housed in a protective case (Abstract; Fig 1 control panel 7 in protective case 6), wherein a sealing ring is fitted between an operating panel of the controller and an end plate of the protective cover (Fig 1, sealing ring 11 is between control panel 7 and protective cover 10). Chen teaches that the sealing ring prevents water from through the controller mounting area and prevents damage to internal electronic components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Gao/Jeon/Xu by including a sealing ring fitted between the operating panel and the end plate, such as taught by Chen, in order to prevent the ingress of water and avoid damage to internal components.
Regarding claim 9, Gao/Jeon/Xu teaches the air conditioner of claim 8. See details in parent claim 8 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill to modify. But Gao/Jeon/Xu does not teach that the air conditioner further comprises a cover plate, wherein the cover plate is connected to the controller mounting box in a rotatable manner between a covering position of covering the operating surface and an exposing position of exposing the operating surface.
However, Chen teaches a controller for an air conditioner housed in a protective case (Abstract; Fig 1 control panel 7 in protective case 6), wherein the protective case comprises a cover plate (Fig 1 protective cover 10), wherein the cover plate is connected to a controller mounting box in a rotatable manner between a covering position of covering the operating surface and an exposing position of exposing the operating surface (Fig 1 cover plate 10 is connected to case 6 through rotary shaft 8). Chen teaches that the protective cover protects the controller by preventing exposure to contaminants such as dust (page 2 paragraph 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Gao/Jeon/Xu by including a cover plate over the controller and connected to the controller mounting box in a rotatable manner between a covering position of covering the operating surface and an exposing position of exposing the operating surface in order to protect the controller from environmental contaminants.
Regarding claim 10, Gao/Jeon/Xu teaches the air conditioner of claim 2. See details in parent claim 2 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill to modify. But Gao/Jeon/Xu does not teach that the air conditioner further comprises a cover plate, wherein the cover plate is connected to the handle casing in a rotatable manner between a covering position of covering the operating surface and an exposing position of exposing the operating surface.
However, Chen teaches a controller for an air conditioner housed in a protective case (Abstract; Fig 1 control panel 7 in protective case 6), wherein the protective case comprises a cover plate (Fig 1 protective cover 10), wherein the cover plate is connected to a controller mounting box in a rotatable manner between a covering position of covering the operating surface and an exposing position of exposing the operating surface (Fig 1 cover plate 10 is connected to case 6 through rotary shaft 8). Chen teaches that the protective cover protects the controller by preventing exposure to contaminants such as dust (page 2 paragraph 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Gao/Jeon/Xu by including a cover plate over the controller and connected to the handle casing in a rotatable manner between a covering position of covering the operating surface and an exposing position of exposing the operating surface in order to protect the controller from environmental contaminants.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 212499789 by Liu discloses an air conditioner structure with a protruding portion on the housing formed by a handle casing and a controller within the housing which is accessible by detaching the handle casing.
/AMY E CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762