35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102255193 in view of JP 2017-126512.
Regarding claim 1, CN '193 (Figure 8) substantially discloses the claimed invention, including a
connection device, comprising: two boards 5,6 facing each other; a board-side first connector 10 to be
provided on one of the boards; a board-side second connector 3 to be provided on the other board; a
first connector (upper 20), the first connector being connectable to the board-side first connector; a
second connector (identical to the upper 20 but unnumbered), the second connector being connectable
to the board-side second connector; an adapter 2,27 extending from the first connector toward a side
where the board-side second connector is located; and a movement allowing portion provided between
the adapter and the board-side second connector, the movement allowing portion 23 allowing the
adapter to relatively move in parallel to the boards with respect to the board-side second connector when one of the boards is positionally deviated in a direction parallel to a surface of the other board (as shown in Figure 9 of CN ‘193). JP '512 discloses a wire (cable 40) to be routed between boards B1,B2, and to use a cable instead of elements 25,26 of CN '193 thus would have been obvious, for ease of manufacture.
Regarding claim 2, CN '193 discloses the board-side first connector 10 includes a guide portion 1
expanded toward the adapter 2,27.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102255193 in view of
JP 2017-126512 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi et al 8585421.
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi et al (front page) discloses the wire 23 is arranged in a twisted
state, and to form the wire of CN '193 (as modified by JP '512) in a twisted state thus would have been
obvious, to allow floating movement.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 4-6 are allowed.
Response To Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Figure 9 of applied art CN 102255193 discloses the subject matter added to the end of claim 1.
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY F PAUMEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834