DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/24/2023 were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 – 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 2 – 8 recite “the tool for driving out a chain pin” and should recite “the tool for driving out the chain pin”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the term "like" in the limitation hook or lever tire-like engagement renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination the limitation will be examined as hook or lever tire engagement.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the boundary contour” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “a boundary contour”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhuang (TW201325766 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Zhuang teaches a tool for driving a chain pin out of a chain link (chain fastening tool, 1; Page 21), comprising: a handle body (shell, 10) which extends along a longitudinal axis (Page 21) and has a positioning element (abutment, 30) at a first end along the longitudinal axis (Page 31); and a press-out device (body, 20) having an upper and a lower projection (two insertion portions, 251; Paragraph [0018]), each of the upper and lower projections delimiting an intermediate element connecting the two upper and lower projections (placement area, 25, Page 27) wherein through bores coaxial (Pages 26 and 27 bores found at 252) with one another are provided in the two upper and lower projections (251) and a driving screw (40) with a press plunger (adjustment part, 42) is screwed into the upper projection at an end (second end, 202) thereof oriented towards the lower projection (Page, 26), wherein the handle body (10) has, at the first end along the longitudinal axis, a guide device (32) extending the handle body (10) along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 31) in which the press-out device (20) is movably mounted along the longitudinal axis of the handle body (10; Fig. 32) between a first position (Page 30), in which the positioning element (30) and the intermediate element (25) of the press-out device (20) form a chain space for positioning the chain link (Page 30), and a second position (Page 31), in which the press-out device (20) is spaced apart from the positioning element (30).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhuang teaches the tool for driving the chain pin out of a chain link (chain fastening tool, 1; Page 21) wherein the handle body (10) forms, at the first end along the longitudinal axis a recess (second hollow part, 15) which lengthens the handle body (10) in the direction of the longitudinal axis (via 30, housed in recess) and is delimited by side walls (Page 28), wherein the guide device (32) is integrated into the side walls (Page 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang (TW201325766 A).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhuang teaches the tool for driving the chain pin out of a chain link according to claim 1 as discussed above.
Zhuang does not teach wherein the press-out device can be fixed in the first position against the handle body by a magnet; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhuang to further include a magnet, as claimed, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhuang teaches the tool for driving the chain pin out of a chain link (chain fastening tool, 1; Page 21) wherein the positioning element (30) has a circular recess (33) and is formed on the handle body (10) in such a way that an edge (322) is formed between the positioning element (30) and the handle body (10; Page 30) , the edge (322) delimiting a support surface (Page 30) for a chain link (61) positioned in the chain space (25) towards the handle body (10).
Zhuang does not teach a semicircular recess; however; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhuang to further include a magnet, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhuang teaches the tool for driving the chain pin out of a chain link (chain fastening tool, 1; Page 21) wherein a hook or lever tire engagement element (52) of a tire lifter (Paragraph [0023]) is formed at the second end of the handle body remote from the guide device (32).
Zhuang teaches the component formed separate from the body at a second end and not on the handle body, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhuang to further include a magnet, as claimed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhuang teaches the tool for driving the chain pin out of a chain link (chain fastening tool, 1; Page 21) wherein a recess (14) is formed in a region between the first and the second end (Page 32) of the handle body (10), a boundary contour of which the handle body (10) as well as the recess (14) thereof in relation to a surface of the handle body (10) correspond to an outer contour as well as a component thickness of a chain lock or replacement chain link (recess is capable of corresponding to an outer contour as well as a component thickness of a chain lock or replacement chain link as shown on Page 22).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang (TW201325766 A) in view of Tsai (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0077002 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhuang teaches the tool for driving the chain pin out of a chain link according to claim 1 as discussed above.
Zhuang does not teach the tool for driving out a chain pin wherein at least one element for gripping a tire valve is formed in a side of one of the two upper and lower projections of the press-out facing away from the intermediate element.
Ichikawa, however, teaches at least one element (72) for gripping a tire valve (Paragraph [0043]) is formed in a side of one of the two upper and lower projections (70) of the press-out facing away from the intermediate element (74).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhuang to further include at least one element for gripping a tire valve, as taught by Ichikawa, to provide a device that incorporates all repair aspect of a tire wheel, thus preventing the loss of individual components.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang (TW201325766 A) in view of Conley (U. S. Patent 1,335,092 A).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhuang teaches the tool for driving the chain pin out of a chain link according to claim 1 as discussed above.
Zhuang does not teach the tool for driving out a chain pin wherein at least one nipple tensioner is formed in a side of one of the two upper and lower projections of the press-out device facing away from the intermediate element.
Conley, however, teaches at least one nipple tensioner (9) is formed in a side of one of the two upper and lower projections (Ridges formed on 4; Fig. 1) of the press-out device (4) facing away from the intermediate element (U-shaped spaces between ridged formed in 4; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhuang to further include a nipples tension, as taught by Conley, to provide a device that incorporates all repair aspect of a tire wheel, thus preventing the loss of individual components.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723