The present application, filed on or after March 15, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to for the following informalities: “handheld body that can held by the user” is grammatically incorrect. A suggested correction is “handheld body that can be held by the user”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to for the following informalities: “hand/s” and “user/s” is grammatically incorrect. A suggested correction is “hand’s” and “user’s”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Levesque (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0073482).
Regarding claim 1, Levesque discloses an exercise system comprising: an augmented reality (AR) device worn by or fitted to a user, the AR device being adapted to display virtual digital content which the user can view and interact with (interpreted as a wearable AR device configured to display digital content)[Levesque: 0076 “a user may be wearing an AR device and interacting with an environment . As shown in FIG . 5A , within a user's real - world field of view 501 may be a brick wall 525. The user may also see their own hand ( 505 ) , and be wearing a smartwatch 510. The smartwatch 510 may include a vibration sensor component and a haptic feedback component . The smartwatch 510 may be in communication with the users AR device . In an AR view 503 presented to the user , as shown in FIG . 5B , the brick wall 525 may be overlaid with an AR object , such as a virtual textured surface 530. The virtual textured surface 530 may , for example , be covered in virtual “ fur . ””][Levesque: 0046 “the first program action may be an augmented reality user interaction with the augmented reality object”](teaches a user worn AR device that presents AR objects); and a haptic feedback arrangement adapted to be worn or held by at least one hand of the user, the haptic feedback arrangement including a tracking unit to track the movement of at least one of the user's hands in response to the digital content viewed by the user via the AR device (interpreted as a haptic device arrangement that the user wears/holds with a hand)[Levesque: 0032 “a user may have as one mobile device a smartphone ( which may , for instance , have a sensor for determining the users location ) , and also be wearing a smartwatch which may have a vibration sensor and a haptic feedback component .”][Levesque: 0074 “Haptic feedback may be produced on any haptic device in contact with the body of the user , including on a wearable band or on AR glasses”][Levesque: 0069 “the vibration sensor comprises an accelerometer , such as embedded in a smart watch , a smart ring , or fitness tracker . As the user interacts with objects having different physical properties , different vibration patterns are produced on the accelerometer ( or other vibration sensor”][Levesque: 0033 “operating at least one sensor in communication with the mobile device to detect movement of the user ; responsive to a determination that the detected movement of the user matches the first predefined gesture : initiating the first program action ; and controlling at least a first haptic feedback component in communication with the mobile device to execute the first haptic feedback response .”][0076: “the AR device ( or another device or sensor in communication with the AR device ) may determine the users location ( or geo location ) , and the AR device may retrieve information identifying the brick wall 525 , a stroking motion of the user's hand associated with the brick wall 525 , an AR program action associated with the stroking motion of the users hand , and a haptic feedback response to simulate touching fur . In one instance , the AR environment presented to the user may be part of an AR game , and the user may stroke their hand against AR objects to collect materials within the game . In this case , the program action associated with the user stroking their hand against virtual fur ( 530 ) may be to collect the virtual fur ( which may be later used in the AR game ) .”](teaches the haptic device can be hand worn like a smart watch which includes sensors that track the users hand motion while the user performs movements prompted by visible AR content), the haptic feedback arrangement further including a haptic actuator to generate a haptic or tactile response that can be felt by the user's hand/s in response to the movement of the user's hand (interpreted as the hand worn arrangement also contains a haptic actuator that outputs tactile feedback perceptible at the hand and triggers based on the detected hand movement)[Levesque: 0032 “mobile device a smartphone ( which may , for instance , have a sensor for determining the users location ) , and also be wearing a smartwatch which may have a vibration sensor and a haptic feedback component . The various sensors , components , and devices may be in communication with each other , such that the smartphone may receive sensor data and control a haptic feedback component”][Levesque: 0057 “The haptic feedback may also be tied to virtual content that is part of the AR simulation . A vibration , for example , may attempt to simulate the feel of a virtual animal's fur while touching a real wall”][Levesque: 0044 “detecting continuing movement of the user ; and controlling the first haptic feedback component to generate the first haptic feedback response based on the detected continuing movement of the user . For example , after initial determination that the user is touching a brick wall with their hand , the haptic feedback component may generate the haptic response ( such as a vibration ) as the user continues to move their hand on the brick wall , and stop when the user removes their hand from the wall .”](teaches including a haptic actuator that produces tactile feedback at the hand and is driven by the detected hand movement while interacting with the AR content).
Regarding claim 2, Levesque discloses the exercise system of claim 1, wherein the haptic feedback arrangement is integrated into or secured to a hand device, which comprises either a glove arranged to be fitted to the user's hands or a handheld body that can held by the user [Levesque: 0031 “The methods and systems may operate in some embodiments with only a smartphone ( or AR headset , etc. ) and a wristband such as a smart watch or fitness tracker .”](teaches integrating into a wristband like a smart watch which corresponds to hand device and handheld body).
Regarding claim 3, Levesque discloses the exercise system of claim 1, wherein the tracking unit includes an inertial measurement unit that is arranged to detect a hand movement by the user in response to the digital content viewed by the user via the AR device, with the haptic actuator being arranged to generate the haptic or tactile response that can be felt by the user's hand/s at the end of the hand movement [Levesque: 0032 “a user may have as one mobile device a smartphone ( which may , for instance , have a sensor for determining the users location ) , and also be wearing a smartwatch which may have a vibration sensor and a haptic feedback component .”][Levesque: 0074 “Haptic feedback may be produced on any haptic device in contact with the body of the user , including on a wearable band or on AR glasses”][Levesque: 0069 “the vibration sensor comprises an accelerometer , such as embedded in a smart watch , a smart ring , or fitness tracker . As the user interacts with objects having different physical properties , different vibration patterns are produced on the accelerometer ( or other vibration sensor”][Levesque: 0033 “operating at least one sensor in communication with the mobile device to detect movement of the user ; responsive to a determination that the detected movement of the user matches the first predefined gesture : initiating the first program action ; and controlling at least a first haptic feedback component in communication with the mobile device to execute the first haptic feedback response .”][0076: “the AR device ( or another device or sensor in communication with the AR device ) may determine the users location ( or geo location ) , and the AR device may retrieve information identifying the brick wall 525 , a stroking motion of the user's hand associated with the brick wall 525 , an AR program action associated with the stroking motion of the users hand , and a haptic feedback response to simulate touching fur . In one instance , the AR environment presented to the user may be part of an AR game , and the user may stroke their hand against AR objects to collect materials within the game . In this case , the program action associated with the user stroking their hand against virtual fur ( 530 ) may be to collect the virtual fur ( which may be later used in the AR game ) .”][ Levesque: 0032 “mobile device a smartphone ( which may , for instance , have a sensor for determining the users location ) , and also be wearing a smartwatch which may have a vibration sensor and a haptic feedback component . The various sensors , components , and devices may be in communication with each other , such that the smartphone may receive sensor data and control a haptic feedback component”][Levesque: 0057 “The haptic feedback may also be tied to virtual content that is part of the AR simulation . A vibration , for example , may attempt to simulate the feel of a virtual animal's fur while touching a real wall”][Levesque: 0044 “detecting continuing movement of the user ; and controlling the first haptic feedback component to generate the first haptic feedback response based on the detected continuing movement of the user . For example , after initial determination that the user is touching a brick wall with their hand , the haptic feedback component may generate the haptic response ( such as a vibration ) as the user continues to move their hand on the brick wall , and stop when the user removes their hand from the wall .”] (teaches the haptic device can be hand worn like a smart watch which includes sensors that track the users hand motion while the user performs movements prompted by visible AR content and including a haptic actuator that produces tactile feedback at the hand and is driven by the detected hand movement while interacting with the AR content).
Regarding claim 16, Levesque discloses the exercise system of claim 1, wherein the AR device is arranged to generate audio and/or visual feedback in addition to the haptic or tactile response [Levesque: 0086 “the player may be prompted to explore his environment using spoken audio ( e.g. , “look for a brick wall ! " ) and sound effects ( e.g. , a “ pop ' sound when an item is picked up ) .”](teaches using spoken audio which corresponds to generate audio).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levesque (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0073482), in view of Lu Hill (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0103033).
Regarding claim 4, Levesque discloses the exercise system of claim 3, wherein the digital content includes a digital object which appears as a hologram, only visible to the user through the AR device [Levesque: 0002 “Emerging interaction techniques also include free - air gestures ( e.g. , Microsoft Hololens ) and wand - mediated interactions ( e.g. , Oculus Touch , Razer Hydra , Vive Controller ).”](teaches the use of Microsoft hololens which is an industry standard for holograms), but fails to explicitly disclose the digital content comprising a training program in which the user is prompted to perform a series of movements.
However, Lu Hill discloses the digital content comprising a training program in which the user is prompted to perform a series of movements [Lu Hill: 0023 “Tutor Guide : A training object which may be displayed and prompts the user to perform particular actions or movements .”](teaches a tutoring guide which corresponds to a training program in which the user performs particular actions).
Levesque and Lu Hill are both considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of augmented reality for physical performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Levesque to incorporate Lu Hill’s teachings of using a training program. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of improving user instruction and engagement.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levesque (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0073482), in view of Lu Hill (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0103033), in view of Triolo et al. (WO 2019/032498), in view of McCulloch et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0286004), in further view of Lanier et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0039986).
Regarding claim 5, Levesque and Lu Hill discloses the exercise system of claim 4, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the inertial measurement unit measures the orientation and acceleration of the user's hand/s as the hand/s moves along an axis that is aligned to the direction of travel of the user/s hand, with the haptic feedback arrangement including a processor that is arranged to: receive the measured orientation and acceleration, so that when the measured acceleration exceeds an acceleration threshold, the processor detects the end of the movement; determines the physical spatial position of the user's hand at the end of the user's movement; compares the physical spatial position of the user's hand at the end of the user's movement to the position of the digital object as viewed by the user through the AR device; and if the positions are aligned or at least substantially aligned, the processor triggers the haptic actuator to generate the haptic or tactile response.
However, Triolo discloses wherein the inertial measurement unit measures the orientation and acceleration of the user's hand/s as the hand/s moves along an axis that is aligned to the direction of travel of the user/s hand (interpreted as a hand mounted IMU measures both orientation and acceleration, the measured axis is aligned with the hands motion direction)(Triolo: Page 2, Lines 23-25 “In an example embodiment the sensor comprises an inertial measurement unit. Further by way of example, the sensor comprises at least one gyroscope and at least one accelerometer.”)(Triolo: Page 4, Line 6 “monitoring linear acceleration in a direction of motion”)(Triolo: Page 7, Lines 15-18 “posterior acceleration of a wrist of the user. Further by way of example, the method comprises measuring a rate of change of the anterior-posterior acceleration. Also by way of example, the method comprises measuring a rate of change of a medial-lateral acceleration of the wrist.”)(teaches an IMU with accelerometer (to measure acceleration) and gyroscope (to measure orientation) plus axis aligned components on the wrist), with the haptic feedback arrangement including a processor (Triolo: Page 2, Line 28 “microprocessor”) that is arranged to: receive the measured orientation and acceleration, so that when the measured acceleration exceeds an acceleration threshold, the processor detects the end of the movement (Triolo: Page 3, Lines 15-17 “converting the signal to a value indicative of a magnitude of the motion parameter and comparing the magnitude to a threshold magnitude of the motion parameter.”)(Triolo: Page 4, Lines 7-14 “calculating a moving root mean square of the linear acceleration and comparing it against a first predetermined threshold value; comparing a derivative of the root mean square linear acceleration against a second predetermined threshold value; calculating a change in velocity using the linear acceleration and comparing the change in velocity to a third predetermined threshold value; applying neuromuscular stimulation if the first, second and third predetermined threshold values are exceeded within a predetermined time period”)(teaches threshold acceleration processing to detect event completion).
However, McCulloch discloses determines the physical spatial position of the user's hand at the end of the user's movement (interpreted as determine the 3d position of the hand at the detected end moment), compares the physical spatial position of the user's hand at the end of the user's movement to the position of the digital object as viewed by the user through the AR device (interpreted as compare that hand 3d position to the AR objects 3d position)(McCulloch: 502; Fig. 5A “identify a collision between a real object and a virtual object based on their three dimensional (3D) space positions in a display field of view of an augmented reality display”)(teaches collision identification which is a 3d position comparison of a real object and a virtual object).
However, Lanier discloses if the positions are aligned or at least substantially aligned, the processor triggers the haptic actuator to generate the haptic or tactile response [Lanier: 0019 “the virtual object can be synced to trigger haptic feedback. For instance, as a non limiting example, when a first user taps or strokes the virtual object, a second user can experience a haptic sensation associated with the virtual object via a mixed reality device and/or a peripheral device associated with the mixed reality device.”](teaches tap or stroke which requires positional alignment/contact between the users hand and the virtual object. Further teaches that upon his interaction the system triggers haptic feedback on a mixed reality device or peripheral. A reasonable interpretation is a hand-worn/held peripheral is a haptic feedback arrangement and the controller that detects the interaction is the processor that triggers the actuator when alignment/contact occurs).
Levesque, Lu Hill, Triolo, McCulloch, and Lanier are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of augmented reality utilizing haptic feedback. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Levesque and Lu Hill’s to incorporate Triolo, McCulloch, and Lanier’s teachings of threshold end of movement detection and trigger upon aligned contact. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of immediate alignment based haptic confirmation in AR.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levesque (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0073482), in view of Talati et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0101984).
Regarding claim 17, Levesque discloses the exercise system of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose which further includes or can access a heart rate monitor to monitor the user's heart rate and to wirelessly send heart rate data to the AR device and/or the haptic feedback arrangement.
However, Talati discloses which further includes or can access a heart rate monitor to monitor the user's heart rate and to wirelessly send heart rate data to the AR device and/or the haptic feedback arrangement [Talati: 0018 “The present invention moves heartrate monitoring to a distributed adjusted reality device located on a user ' s head .”][Talati: 0053 “may transmit information back to the eyewear device 102 through the wireless signal connection”](teaches utilizing heart rate monitors and transmitting information back to the device). Levesque and Talati are both considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of augmented reality for physical performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Levesque to incorporate Talati’s teachings of using a heart rate monitor. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of improving user engagement and altering the experience based on user heart rate.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aleem et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,684,692), in view of Rodriguez (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0150435), in further view of Katz et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0193983).
Regarding claim 18, Aleem discloses a method of calibrating an endpoint position for a digital content display relative to an inertial measurement unit in an augmented reality (AR) device worn by or fitted to a user, the method comprising the steps of: requiring the user to extend an arm in front of the user's body with the wrist bent and fingers pointing up and holding it at a comfortable height (Aleem: Col. 30, Lines 39-52 “begin with the arm (i.e., the arm upon which the device is worn) bent about 90 degrees at the elbow such that the upper arm (i.e., above the elbow) hangs loosely downwards from the shoulder and the lower arm (i.e., below the elbow) extends outwards in front of the user with the hand/fingers relaxed, the wrist straight, and the hand on its side with the palm facing inwards, then bend the wrist outwards such that the open palm faces forwards and extend the fingers (without deliberately splaying the fingers) to point outwards approaching ninety degrees to the forearm (i.e., as far past about thirty or forty-five degrees as is comfortable for the user) while calmly swiping the arm (rotating at the elbow) outwards away from the body”)(teaches a calibration pose with the arm in front, the wrist bent, and fingers extended nearly perpendicular to the forearm with comfort guidance); but fails to explicitly disclose using spatial cameras of the AR device to locate the user's wrist and to send a control signal to a processor; and prompting the processor to calculate the distance and height relative to the inertial measurement unit in the AR device and setting that as the endpoint position.
However, Rodriguez discloses using spatial cameras of the AR device to locate the user's wrist and to send a control signal to a processor [Rodriguez: 0043 “A time of - flight sensing component of the augmented reality eye wear device and a visible - light sensing camera sense visible light radiation 103 reflected off of the wristwatch . Processing components of the augmented reality eyewear device process the data collected by the sensing components in order to model the shape of the wristwatch and the position of the wristwatch in 3 - dimenstional space”][Rodriguez: 0034 “Data collected by sensing components may be passed to processing components for processing .”](teaches using cameras to determine the position of the wristwatch and determining the position of the users wrist only is an obvious element, further teaches passing the collected data which corresponds to sending a control signal to a processor);
However, Katz discloses and prompting the processor to calculate the distance and height relative to the inertial measurement unit in the AR device and setting that as the endpoint position (interpreted as compute position components relative to the headsets inertial measurement reference and set a calibrated endpoint)[Katz: 0022-0023 “The IMU 130 is an electronic device that generates fast calibration databased on measurement signals received from one or more of the position sensors 125. A position sensor 125 generates one or more measurement signals in response to motion of the VR headset 105.” And “Based on the one or more measurement signals from one or more position sensors 125, the IMU 130 generates fast calibration data indicating an estimated position of the VR headset 105 relative to an initial position of the VR headset 105.”](teaches the IMU (inertial measurement unit) which calculates the positions and sets that calculated position for that reference).
Aleem, Rodriguez, and Katz are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of augmented reality wearables. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Aleem to incorporate Rodriguez and Katz’s teachings of computing an endpoint position relative to the headset IMU from camera located wrist position and setting it as the calibration endpoint. The motivation for such a combination would provide the benefit of faster and more accurate AR calibration for reliable content alignment and interaction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-15 are allowed.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art teaches the exercise system of claim 5. In the context of claims 5 and 6 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 5, wherein the haptic feedback arrangement includes a motor driver to drive a motor that in turn actuates an eccentric rotating mass to provide the haptic or tactile response in the form of a vibration, at the same time, or substantially the same time that, the processor detects that a punch has been thrown.
Regarding claim 7, in the context of claims 6 and 7 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 6, wherein the AR device is arranged to be fitted and secured over at least the user's eyes, the AR device including a processor connected to cameras to capture the user's environment and movement, a display to display the digital content to the user, and an inertial measurement unit that is part of a body of the AR device, to track the position and movement of the user's head.
Regarding claim 8, in the context of claim 7 and 8 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 7, wherein the processor of the AR device connects wirelessly with the haptic feedback arrangement, via a wireless module in the haptic feedback arrangement and a corresponding wireless module connected to the processor of the AR device.
Regarding claim 9, in the context of claim 8 and 9 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 8, wherein the processor of the AR device is arranged to receive or compile, and then send, display control signals for the display, with these signals varying according to the selected training program, which in turn would determine the digital content displayed to the user.
Regarding claim 10, in the context of claim 9 and 10 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 9, wherein the digital object comprises a plurality of virtual striking zones, with the processor of the AR device being arranged to display a virtual target moving from the periphery towards the virtual punch pad and landing in one of the virtual striking zones.
Regarding claim 11, in the context of claim 9 and 11 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 9, wherein the AR device is further arranged to receive signals from the inertial measurement unit within the haptic feedback arrangement, including the position and movement of the user's hands, to determine haptic control signals, with the haptic control signals in turn being sent back to the processor of the haptic feedback arrangement to trigger the haptic actuator to generate the haptic or tactile response.
Regarding claim 12, in the context of claim 9 and 12 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 9, wherein the processor of the AR device, in conjunction with the cameras of the AR device, is adapted to determine the physical spatial position of the user's hand at the end of the movement and to then determine haptic control signals, with the haptic control signals in turn being sent back to the processor of the haptic feedback arrangement to trigger the haptic actuator to generate the haptic or tactile response.
Regarding claim 13, in the context of claim 11 and 13 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 11, wherein in the case of the user using both left and right hands, the processor of the haptic feedback arrangement or the processor of the AR device is adapted to determine which hand has reached the end of the movement, and thus which hand has made contact with the virtual object.
Regarding claim 14, in the context of claim 13 and 14 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 13, wherein the exercise system further comprises a foot sensor that is adapted to be fitted to the user's foot, the foot sensor comprising: an inertial measurement unit to track movement of the user's lower body, including the position and movement of at least one of the user's feet; and a wireless module that can communicate with the wireless module of the AR device.
Regarding claim 15, in the context of claim 14 and 15 as a whole, however, the prior art does not teach the exercise system of claim 14, wherein the foot sensor includes a processor to control a haptic actuator to generate a haptic or tactile response that can be felt by the user's foot, in response to the tracked movement of the user's lower body.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AHMED TAHA whose telephone number is (571)272-6805. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30 am - 5 pm, Mon - Fri. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xiao Wu can be reached on 5712727761. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AHMED TAHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613