DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 30, 32, 33, 40 and 41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species I, II, IV and V, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/15/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species III directed towards claims 22-29, 31 and 34-39 in the reply filed on 07/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a control element," "an actuating device" in claim 22; "a movement section" in claim 23; and "a throttling device" in claim 38 .
The “control element” is sufficiently described in the specification as a slide/piston (see paragraphs 67, 20, 40, 9).
The “actuating device” is sufficiently described in the specification as an electromagnetic or fluidic drive (see paragraphs 31-33 and 76-80).
The “movement section” is sufficiently described in the specification as a part of an actuator (see paragraphs 18-19 and 73).
The “throttling device” is sufficiently described in the disclosure as a throttle (see paragraphs 99, 154 and figs. 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-24, 27-29, 31, 34, 35 and 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greenawalt (US 3032312 A).
In regards to claim 22, Greenawalt discloses a directional valve (reversing valve 12, 40, 47, fig. 1), comprising: a base body (12, 13, 34, 35) having at least two fluid connections (36, 37, tube 11 and ports 14, 15, 16); a control element (pistons 31, 32) that is designed to be switched between at least two switching positions (pistons 31, 32 at the end caps 34, 35 or away from end caps 34, 35, see fig. 1), wherein a passage of flow between the fluid connections (flow between tube 11 and port 14, see fig. 1) is enabled in one switching position of the at least two switching positions (see displaced position of piston 31 from end 36, fig. 1) and
wherein the passage of flow between the fluid connections is blocked in another switching position (piston structures 31’ and 32’ blocking ports 36, 37, see col. 2, line 38 – col. 3, lines 9, and fig. 1) of the at least two switching positions (at least one of ports 36. 37 blocked/shut off, see fig. 1);
an actuator structure (armature 46, solenoid 47, closure member 45 and valve 40, see fig. 1) with a jolt property (moving/displacing armature due to high pressure refrigerant and solenoid 47), wherein the actuator structure is designed to switch the control element using the jolt property (pistons 31, 32 moved by solenoid 47 and high pressure fluid flow through tubes 38, 41, see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 38-65); and
an actuating device (solenoid 47, closure member 45 and valve 40 with tubes 38, 41, see fig. 1) for actuating the actuator structure (energizing or deenergizing solenoid to displace armature 46 and closure member 45, see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 46-58).
In regards to claim 23, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further discloses that the actuator structure is arranged to a side of the control element (armature 46 and solenoid 47 coupled to the fluid connections 36, 37 on the sides of the pistons 31, 32, see fig. 1) and has a movement section (armature 46 and valve closure member 45) that can be moved in a direction of movement of the control element (armature 46 and valve closure member 45 move in the same direction as pistons 31, 32) and that executes a movement that switches the control element upon a jolt of the actuator structure (control piston displaced away from the rest positions at ports 36, 37, see fig. 1, due to a jolt of a solenoid).
In regards to claim 24, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further discloses that the actuator structure comprises or consists of a flexible material (spring within armature 46, see col. 2, lines 49-51) and has an unstable movement behavior (spring of armature 46, which displaces closure member 45 and armature 46 under spring tension, see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 40-55).
In regards to claim 27, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further discloses that the actuator structure has a monostable movement behavior (armature 46 with a single spring biased position, see col. 2, lines 46-55) and wherein the actuating device is arranged to exert an actuating force on the actuator structure that triggers a jolt (solenoid 47 in energized or deenergized states displace armature 46 and closure member 45, see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 46-58; to move pistons 31, 32 by solenoid 47 and high pressure fluid flow through tubes 38, 41, see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 38-65), wherein the actuating device is further designed to exert a holding force on the actuator structure (ports 42 43 opened by holding force exerted by actuating solenoid 47, see fig. 1), in order to hold the actuator structure in an extended position and/or shape after the jolt (see open positions of ports 42, 43 and displaced position of valve member 31 away from valve port 36, fig. 1).
In regards to claim 28, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further discloses that the actuator structure has a bistable movement behavior (armature 46 with a single spring biased position, where valve closure member 45 is actuated, and another spring position, under which valve closure member 45 is not actuated, see col. 2, lines 46-55 and fig. 1) and wherein the actuating device is designed to exert an actuating force on the actuator structure (solenoid 47 in energized or deenergized states displace armature 46 and closure member 45, see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 46-58; to move pistons 31, 32 by solenoid 47 and high pressure fluid flow through tubes 38, 41, see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 38-65), in order to trigger a jolt (movement/displacement) from a first mechanically stable position and/or shape into a second mechanically stable position and/or shape (solenoid 47 displaces valve closure member 45 and armature 46 to energized position from stable de-energized position, see fig. 1 and col. 2, line 46 – col. 3, line 14), wherein the actuating device (at least solenoid 47) is furthermore designed to generate a further actuating force directed in an opposite direction to the actuating force, in order to trigger a further jolt of the actuator structure from the second mechanically stable position and/or shape back into the first mechanically stable position and/or shape by the further actuating force (solenoid 47 displacing valve closure member 45 and armature 46 to de-energized position, where piston 32 would move opposite to fig. 1, from stable energized position to stable de-energized position, see col. 3, lines 10-14).
In regards to claim 29, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further discloses that a spring element (armature 46 with spring, see col. 2, lines 46-55 and fig. 1), against a force of which the control element (pistons 31, 32) is moved by the actuator structure (46, 47) upon switching (pistons 31, 32 displaced towards and/or away from valve ports 36, 37 respectively due to energized and/or de-energized solenoid 47 under the force of spring biased armature 46, see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 39-65).
In regards to claim 31, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further discloses that the actuating device has an electromagnetic drive (electromagnetic solenoid 47), configured to exert an actuating force on the actuator structure (armature 46, solenoid 47, closure member 45 and valve 40, see fig. 1) that triggers a jolt (triggers movement/displacement of valve closure member 45 and armature 46).
In regards to claim 34, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further discloses that the directional valve (12) is a 4/2-way valve with four fluid connections (port connected to tube 11 and ports 14, 15, 16, see fig. 1; with two ports as output ports) and the control element (pistons 31, 32) is arranged to be switched between two switching positions (pistons 31, 32 at end caps 34, 35 blocking ports 36, 37 or displaced from the end caps, see fig. 1), of which in one switching position (see fig. 1) the fluid connections (ports 14, 15, 16, and port at tube 11) are flow-connected to one another in pairs (port at tube 11 and chamber 13 connected to port 14, see fig. 1) and in the other switching position a fluid connection of one pair is interchanged with a fluid connection of another pair (port 16 connected with port 14 and port at tube 11 and chamber 13 connected to port 15, see col. 2, lines 16-37).
In regards to claim 35, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 34 and further discloses that the base body has a fluid chamber (chamber 13) and the fluid connections are flow-connected to the fluid chamber (port at tube 11 and ports 14, 15, 16 within chamber 13, see fig. 1), wherein one of the fluid connections is arranged on one side of the base body (port at tube 11) extending in a direction of displacement of the control element (see fig. 1) and the other fluid connections are arranged on an opposite side of the base body (ports 14, 15, 16 opposite to port at tube 11), and wherein the fluid chamber (13 and member 27) is divided by the control element (31, 32) into two sub- chambers (13, 27), via which, depending on the switching position of the control element (displacement of pistons 31, 32), the fluid connections are flow- connected to one another in pairs (ports 14, 15, 16 and port at tube 11, see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 16-37).
In regards to claim 37, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 and further discloses that the control element is a piston slide (pistons 31, 32, see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 38, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 34 and further discloses a heat pump (compressor 10, heat exchangers HX 18, HX 20, see fig. 1) for heating or cooling spaces (HX 18, 20, heating or cooling room, see col. 1, line 66 – col. 2, line 5), comprising: a compressor (compressor 10), a throttling device (flow restricting device 19, see fig. 1)20), a first heat exchanger (heat exchanger 18, see fig. 1), and a second heat exchanger (heat exchanger 20, see fig. 1) arranged in a circuit (see fig. 1); and the directional valve (reversing valve 12, see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 39, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 38 and further discloses that the compressor, the throttling device, the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are arranged in the circuit in the following order: first heat exchanger (heat exchanger 18), compressor (compressor 10), second heat exchanger (heat exchanger 20), throttling device (flow restricting device 19, see fig. 1), wherein, further, the directional valve (reversing valve 12) is integrated into the circuit (see fig. 1) between the compressor (10) and the first heat exchanger (valve 12 between compressor 10 and heat exchanger 18, see fig. 1) via one pair of its fluid connections (via port 14) and into the circuit between the compressor and the second heat exchanger (valve 12 also between compressor 10 and heat exchanger 18, see fig. 1) via the other pair of its fluid connections (via ports 15, 16, see fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenawalt as applied to claim 22 and further in view of Skorka (US 4726747 A).
In regards to claim 25, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 except that the actuator structure comprises or is formed from a rubber-elastic material.
However, Skorka teaches an actuator structure (piston 18) comprises or is formed from a rubber-elastic material (rubber-elastic sleeve 26, see fig. 2 and col. 5, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator of Greenawalt by providing a rubber-elastic material sleeve based on the teachings of Skorka in order to allow the piston to adopt a closing position with the pretension of the compression sleeve and curvature (see col. 6, lines 5-11, Skorka).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenawalt as applied to claim 22 and further in view of Hufenbach (US 2016/0201755 A1).
In regards to claim 26, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 22 except that the actuator has a curvature that changes from a convex shape to a concave shape or vice versa during a jolt.
However, Hufenbach discloses an actuator structure (piston 60) that has a curvature that changes from a convex shape to a concave shape or vice versa (see shape of wall 61 changing to convex and concave shapes, figs. 12-13 and paragraph 164) during a jolt (with movement of the piston walls 61 change shape, see figs. 12-13).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an actuator structure that has a curvature that changes from a convex shape to a concave shape or vice versa during a jolt as taught by Hufenbach to the directional valve of Greenawalt in order to conserve space by shortening the spring travel distance and compensating the energy absorption capacity of the spring by changing the shape of the actuator structure (see paragraphs 6-8, Hufenbach).
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenawalt as applied to claim 35 and further in view of Aoki (US 4,644,760 A).
In regards to claim 36, Greenawalt teaches the limitations of claim 35 and further discloses that the fluid chamber (chamber 13) is formed in an interior chamber (between pistons 31, 32 and above plate 30, see fig. 1) of the base body (see fig. 1), and wherein the part of the interior chamber is delimited from the fluid chamber (13) in a fluid-tight manner by the control element (pistons 31, 32 separate the valve ports from fluid chamber 13, see fig. 1).
However, Greenwalt does not explicitly teach that the actuator is arranged in an interior chamber.
Aoki further teaches an interior chamber (R1, R2) of the base body (1), and wherein the actuator structure (piston 12, spring 13 and member 3) is arranged in a receiving region (spring 13/piston 12 within R2) of the interior chamber (see fig. 1), which is delimited from the fluid chamber (R1 or 21a separate from R2) in a fluid-tight manner by the control element (R1 and R2 separated by piston 22 and piston 12, see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the directional valve of Greenwalt by providing an interior chamber within the base body such that the actuator structure is arranged in a receiving region of the interior chamber, which is delimited from the fluid chamber in a fluid-tight manner by the control element as taught by Aoki to the directional valve of Greenawalt in order to improve efficiency of the directional valve by reducing the number of moving parts connecting the actuator to the control elements and the valve interior chamber and ports.
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763