DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein at least one of the first tube or … having different diameters, and wherein the cylindrical portions are joined end-to -end via angular connections portions” as cited in claim 80 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 12,15, 17, 19-20, 32-33, 39, 47-49, 52, 62, 65, 70, and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zacarias et al (“design and performance evaluation of photocatalytic reactor for indoor air disinfection”, cited in IDS) in view of Booker-Milburn et al (WO 2018011550, cited in IDS) and Nowobilski (U.S. 5,298226, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Zacarias et al disclose a catalytic reactor (ABSTRACT). The reactor comprises
(1) an outer tube with a wall (i.e., an outer cell wall… a first tube…, Figure 1, page 23861);
(2) an inner tube with a wall, forming an annular space between the inner tube and the outer tube (i.e., an inner cell wall … a second tube …, Figure 1, page 23861),
(3) a cover with an inlet at the inlet side, forming an annular cover to seal the reactor (i.e., an endcap fitting … an annular shape … an inlet, Figure 1, page 23861);
(4) another cover with an outlet at the outlet side to seal the reactor (i.e., an endcap fitting … an outlet, Figure 1, page 23861);
(5) TiO2 coated glass rings filled in the annular space in the reactor (i.e., a photocatalyst packed bed in the annular volume …, Figure 1, page 23861);
(6) a perforated plate provided within the annular space between the inner tube and the outer tube at the inlet side for allowing uniform distribution of air stream and retaining the TiO2 coated glass rings within the annular space (i.e., a porous base filter …, Figure 1, page 23861);
(7) an enclosure for housing external 16 lamps surrounding internal three lamps to activate the photocatalytic reaction on the TiO2 coated glass rings (i.e., a light housing … an outer portion … an inner portion … a circumferential array of photon emitters …, Figure 1, page 23861).
Zacarias teaches that the reactor includes a cover at the inlet side having an annular shape and another cover at the outlet side (Figure 1), but does not teach the reactor vertically oriented having vertical axis, hence the inlet on a top cover while the outlet on the bottom cover having an annular shape . However, Booker-Milburn et al disclose a photocatalyst reactor (ABSTRACT). Booker-Milburn teaches that the photocatalyst reactor 2 is oriented vertically and comprises an upper end cap 8 having an annular shape with inlet apertures 32a and a lower end cap 6 having outlet aperture 34a (Figures 1-2, page 8 line 1-2, & page 9, line 2-18).
The teaching of Booker-Milburn shows that vertically orienting the photocatalytic reactor which comprises an upper end cap having an annular shape with inlet apertures and a lower end cap 6 having an annular shape with outlet aperture 34a is an equivalent configuration for a photocatalytic reactor. Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to vertically orient the photocatalytic reactor which comprises an upper end cap having an annular shape with inlet apertures and a lower end cap 6 having an annular shape with outlet aperture 34a because it is an art-recognized equivalent.
Zacarias teaches that a perforated plate is provided at the reactor inlet for uniformly distributing air stream (Figure 1, page 23861) while Booker-Milburn teaches the vertically oriented reactor 2 comprises the upper end cap 8 having an annular shape with inlet apertures 32a (Figures 1-2, page 8 line 1-2, & page 9, line 2-18), but Zacarias/Booker-Milburn does not teach a perforated plate provided closer to the outlet. However, Nowobilski discloses a catalytic reactor having perforated plate distributors (ABSTRACT & col. 5, line 57-58). Nowobilski teaches that a vertically oriented reactor vessel 1 includes perforated plate distributors 5 and 7 provided at the inlet side 2 and the outlet side 3 respectively for uniformly distribution fluid stream within the packed catalytic bed 4 (Figure 1, col. 2, line 1-5, & col. 5, line 6-10).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill to provide a perforated plate at the reactor outlet a suggested by Nowobilski in order to further uniformly distribute the air stream within the device of Zacarias/Booker-Milburn.
As such, the modified device of Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski comprises an outer tube vertically surrounding an inner tube to form an annular space therebetween, an upper/top endcap having an annular shape with an inlet to form an upper/top seal, a lower/bottom endcap having an annular shape with an outlet to form a lower/bottom seal, a photocatalytic material filled in the annular space between the tubes, a perforated plate provided within the annular space at the bottom portion of the reactor, and an enclosure for housing internal lamps and external lamps.
It should be noted that the limitation of “whereby … via the gas outlet” is related to a manner of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 7, Zacarias teaches cylindrical tubes (Figure 1). Booker-Milburn teaches the reactor tube comprising quartz (Figures 1-2, page 10 line 10-13).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Zacarias teaches glass tubes (page 2381). Booker-Milburn teaches the reactor tube comprising quartz (Figures 1-2, page 10 line 10-13).
Regarding claim 15, Zacarias teaches glass tubes (page 2381). Booker-Milburn teaches the reactor tube comprising quartz and a reflective material is provided on an inner surface of the tube for improving efficiency and productivity (Figures 1-2, Page 9, line 25-28, page 10 line 10-13, & page 12, line 22-23). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to include a reflective material on the inner surface of the reactor tubes as suggested by Booker-Milburn in order to improve efficiency and productivity within the device of Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski.
Regarding claim 17, Nowobilski teaches that the catalyst bed is supported by a bed support (col. 3, line 27-28).
Regarding claim 19, Zacarias teaches that the photocatalyst is filled in the annular space (Figure 1, page 2381). Nowobilski teaches that the catalyst bed is provided with some head space at the inlet side for allowing development of uniform flow (Figure 1, col. 5, line 16-28). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide some head space at the inlet side as suggested by Nowobilski in order to obtain uniform flow within the device of Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski.
Regarding claim 20, Booker-Milburn teaches that the endcaps are made of aluminum (page 9, line 5-6).
Regarding claims 32 and 33, Booker-Milburn teaches that the O-rings 36 are for sealing the end caps (Figure 2, page 10, line 25-30).
Regarding claims 39, 47-49, and 52, Zacarias teaches that at least one portion of the lamps are arranged along the inner side of the outer tube connected to endcaps while another portion of the lamps are arranged along the outer side of the inner tube connected to the endcaps (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 62, Zacarias teaches to active the photocatalyst by irradiation from the lamp for inactivation of microorganisms in air (page 23863).
Regarding claim 65, Zacarias teaches UV lamp (page 23861). Booker-Milburn teaches UV lamp (page 10, line 16).
Regarding claim 70, Zacarias teaches the gas-permeable perforated plate (Figure 1, page 23861).
Regarding claim 80, Zacarias teaches that the tubes are connected at the ends (Figure 1). Booker-Milburn teaches that the reactor tubes are sealed at the ends (Figure 2, page 10, line 25-30).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zacarias et al (cited in IDS), Booker-Milburn et al (WO 2018011550, cited in IDS) and Nowobilski (U.S. 5,298226) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vogt et al (U.S. 3,930,805).
Regarding claim 27, Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski does not teach a tension rod coupled to the top and bottom compression endcap for exerting a compression force to seal the reactor. However, Vogt et al disclose a catalytic reactor (ABSTRACT). Vogt teaches that the catalytic reactor comprises a clamping device 7 having a thrust rod 9 and a spring element 10 at the top and the bottom of the catalytic reactor for properly sealing the container of the catalytic reactor (Figure 1, col. 2, line 46-67).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a rod with a spring element to the top and bottom of the catalytic reactor as suggested by Vogt in order to provide proper sealing for the device of Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski.
Claims 41-42, 46, 59, 67-69, and 77-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zacarias et al (cited in IDS), Booker-Milburn et al (WO 2018011550, cited in IDS) and Nowobilski (U.S. 5,298,226) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DE BEST t et al (PG-PUB US 20230128715).
Regarding claims 41, and 46, Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski does not teach cooling blocks for the light source. However, DE BEST et al disclose a catalytic reactor (ABSTRACT). DE BEST teaches that the reactor comprises cooling elements 95 to cool the light source in order to properly control the photocatalytic reactions therewithin (Figures 1-2, paragraphs [0006], [0011], & [0160] –[0176]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having cooling elements to cool the light source as suggested by DE BEST in order to properly control the photocatalytic reactions within the device of Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski.
Regarding claim 42, DE BEST teaches that the cooling element comprises aluminum (paragraphs [0034], & [0175] –[0178]).
Regarding claim 59, Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski does not teach cooling blocks for the light source. However, DE BEST et al disclose a catalytic reactor (ABSTRACT). DE BEST teaches that a control system is provided for controlling the one or more light sources (paragraph [0136]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a control system to control the light source as suggested by to properly control the operation of the light source within the device of Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski.
Regarding claims 67-69, and 77-78, Zacarias/Booker-Milburn/Nowobilski does not teach cooling blocks for the light source. However, DE BEST et al disclose a catalytic reactor (ABSTRACT). DE BEST teaches that the photocatalytic reaction can be initiated by UV light and/or infrared light in a coiled reactor and the light source may simultaneously provide heat (paragraphs [0003], [0013] - [0014], [0089], & [0159]).
The teaching of DE BEST shows that IR source is an equivalent light source for photocatalytic reaction. Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize an IR source because it is an art-recognized equivalent.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 26 of co-pending Application No. 18/998496 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 7-8, 12,15, 17, 19-20, 27, 32-33, 39, 41-42, 46-49, 52, 59, 62, 65, 67-70, 77-78, and 80 are rejected.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795