DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are pending:
Claims 1-7, 9-10 and 13-15 are rejected.
Claims 8 and 11-12 have been withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202210605788, filed on 05/30/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 110436569).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant (an intelligent water softener and control method having a regeneration process, see ABS), wherein the method comprises:
controlling a backwashing assembly to suck a salt solution from a salt tank to wash the resin in a resin tank in the water softening plant through the salt solution (“(3) back washing the resin tank: after regeneration, because part of the salt water and a portion of the contaminants residue present in the resin tank 6, then need to clean. when cleaning, the bypass valve 14 and the flexible valve 15 is opened, inlet valve 13 and the salt tank electromagnetic valve 8 closed. raw water slowly into the resin tank 6 through the inlet conduit 1 via bypass valve 14 and the flexible valve 15, the sewage tank is discharged by the drainage pipe 4. at the same time, collecting and comparing the water quality data of the water quality sensor 12 and drain water sensor 17, when the parameter of the two are the same, it can judge almost reverse washing, stopping the cleaning process”, see pg. 7 and Fig. 1);
in accordance with a determination that washing of the resin by the salt solution is completed, controlling the backwashing assembly to connect the resin tank with a raw water waterway, so as to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway to wash the resin in the resin tank (“(4) washing the resin tank the water inlet electromagnetic valve and the bypass electromagnetic valve is opened, the soft water electromagnetic valve is closed, the user uses straight-through hard water soft water pipeline via a bypass electromagnetic valve is composed of a water inlet pipeline, the raw water enters the resin tank washing by water inlet electromagnetic valve, the waste water after washing is discharged from the pipeline, at the same time, collecting and comparing the water quality sensor and drain water sensor of water quality data, when the TDS parameter of the two are the same, but the ratio the ratio of TDS and conductivity data collected by the drain water sensor is less than corresponding to the water quality sensor, ending washing, entering the ice state”, see pg. 7). The reasonable interpretation under BRI for “raw water waterway” is a water pipeline, this limitation is met because Li teaches water inlet pipe 1/water inlet conduit 1 carrying raw water.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant according to claim 1, wherein controlling the backwashing assembly to connect the resin tank with the raw water waterway to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway to wash the resin in the resin tank comprises: controlling the backwashing assembly to start backwashing process by connecting a lower drain port of a water distribution pipe extending to a bottom of the resin tank in the backwashing assembly with the raw water waterway, so as to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway to backwash the resin of the resin tank (“raw water slowly into the resin tank 6 through the inlet conduit 1 via bypass valve 14 and the flexible valve 15, the sewage tank is discharged by the drainage pipe 4. at the same time, collecting and comparing the water quality data of the water quality sensor 12 and drain water sensor 17, when the parameter of the two are the same, it can judge almost reverse washing, stopping the cleaning process”, see pg. 7 and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant according to claim 1, wherein controlling the backwashing assembly to connect the resin tank with the raw water waterway to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway to wash the resin in the resin tank comprises: controlling the backwashing assembly to start forward washing process by connecting an upper drain port disposed above the resin in the backwashing assembly with the raw water waterway, so as to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway for forward washing the resin in the resin tank (“raw water slowly into the resin tank 6 through the inlet conduit 1 via bypass valve 14 and the flexible valve 15, the sewage tank is discharged by the drainage pipe 4. at the same time, collecting and comparing the water quality data of the water quality sensor 12 and drain water sensor 17, when the parameter of the two are the same, it can judge almost reverse washing, stopping the cleaning process”, see pg. 7 and Fig. 1). Further, the valve head and associated flow passages located above the resin jar 6 shown in Fig. 1 inherently constitute the claimed upper drain port, because the during washing operation raw water is introduced through the valve held into the resin jar 56 and flows downward through the resin bed while wastewater exists through the drain line.
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant according to claim 2, wherein controlling the backwashing assembly to connect the resin tank with the raw water waterway to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway to wash the resin in the resin tank comprises: controlling the backwashing assembly to start forward washing process by connecting an upper drain port disposed above the resin in the backwashing assembly with the raw water waterway, so as to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway for forward washing the resin in the resin tank (“raw water slowly into the resin tank 6 through the inlet conduit 1 via bypass valve 14 and the flexible valve 15, the sewage tank is discharged by the drainage pipe 4. at the same time, collecting and comparing the water quality data of the water quality sensor 12 and drain water sensor 17, when the parameter of the two are the same, it can judge almost reverse washing, stopping the cleaning process”, see pg. 7 and Fig. 1). Further, the valve head and associated flow passages located above the resin jar 6 shown in Fig. 1 inherently constitute the claimed upper drain port, because the during washing operation raw water is introduced through the valve held into the resin jar 56 and flows downward through the resin bed while wastewater exists through the drain line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 110436569) in view of Maekawa (JP 2011110503) and further in view of Huang (CN 207903951).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant according to claim 2.
Li does not teach that the method further comprises: in accordance with a determination that a washing duration of the backwashing process has reached a first preset duration, controlling the backwashing assembly to stop the backwashing process.
In a related field of endeavor, Maekawa teaches water softener (see ABS) comprising a method in accordance with a determination that a washing duration of the backwashing process has reached a first preset duration (“[a]s a result of the determination, when the count value Ta of the timer A reaches 10 days or more”, see pgs. 6-7;“when the elapsed time after the regeneration operation of the ion exchange resin is less than 5 days”, see pgs. 6-7 and Figs. 2 and 4; starts counting the timer A for the regeneration operation and supplies the water softening tank 2 to the water softening tank 2, see pg. 8), controlling the backwashing assembly to stop the backwashing process (“interval of the cleaning operation accompanying the continuation of the non-water passage state of the water softening tank 2 is configured to be performed in a short span”, see pg. 10).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the washing/backwashing processes of Li by incorporating a timer-controlled termination of the washing/backwashing processes as disclosed by Maekawa because it provides consistent operation and reduced operation intervention (Maekawa, see pg. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant according to claim 5.
Li does not teach that the method further comprises: in accordance with a determination that a washing duration of the forward washing process has reached a second preset duration, controlling the backwashing assembly to stop the forward washing process.
In a related field of endeavor, Maekawa teaches water softener (see ABS) comprising a method in accordance with a determination that a washing duration of the forward washing process has reached a second preset duration (“[a]s a result of the determination, when the count value Ta of the timer A reaches 10 days or more”, see pgs. 6-7;“when the elapsed time after the regeneration operation of the ion exchange resin is less than 5 days”, see pg. 6-7 and Figs. 2 and 4; starts counting the timer A for the regeneration operation and supplies the water softening tank 2 to the water softening tank 2, see pg. 8), controlling the backwashing assembly to stop the forward washing process (“interval of the cleaning operation accompanying the continuation of the non-water passage state of the water softening tank 2 is configured to be performed in a short span”, see pg. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Li and Maekawa teach the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant according to claim 3, wherein controlling the backwashing assembly to connect the resin tank with the raw water waterway to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway to wash the resin in the resin tank comprises: controlling the backwashing assembly to start forward washing process by connecting an upper drain port disposed above the resin in the backwashing assembly with the raw water waterway, so as to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway for forward washing the resin in the resin tank (Li, “raw water slowly into the resin tank 6 through the inlet conduit 1 via bypass valve 14 and the flexible valve 15, the sewage tank is discharged by the drainage pipe 4. at the same time, collecting and comparing the water quality data of the water quality sensor 12 and drain water sensor 17, when the parameter of the two are the same, it can judge almost reverse washing, stopping the cleaning process”, see pg. 7 and Fig. 1). Further, the valve head and associated flow passages located above the resin jar 6 shown in Fig. 1 of Li inherently constitute the claimed upper drain port, because the during washing operation raw water is introduced through the valve held into the resin jar 56 and flows downward through the resin bed while wastewater exists through the drain line.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 110436569) in view of Maekawa (JP 2011110503) and further in view of Huang (CN 207903951).
Regarding claim 4, Li and Maekawa teach the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant according to claim 3.
The combination does not teach wherein the method further comprises: in accordance with a determination that the salt content of wastewater discharged in the backwashing process is less than a first preset value, controlling the backwashing assembly to stop the backwashing process.
In a related field of endeavor, Haung teaches a failed resin regeneration device (see ABS) comprising a step in accordance with a determination that the salt content of wastewater discharged in the backwashing process is less than a first preset value, controlling the backwashing assembly to stop the backwashing process (after liquid inlet, the solution tank is filled with salt water removing, adjusting the related valve, through the pump from failed resin the salt-removing water tank upper water inlet, lower part of the drainage, washing, after washing for a period of time, adjusting the related valve, backwashing water until the conductivity is less than 2us/cm. stopping cleaning. the acid liquid and failed resin in the flowing process to exchange, improving the regeneration capacity, after feeding the washing acid water by washing and backwashing are carried out alternately, reducing the labor intensity, shortening the regeneration time, see pg. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conductivity/salt concentration of Li during washing and backwashing operations and terminate or transition operations when the conductivity fell below a predetermined threshold as disclosed by Haung because it ensures adequate regeneration while reducing water consumption and regeneration time (Haung, see pg. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Li, Maekawa and Haung teach the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant according to claim 4, wherein controlling the backwashing assembly to connect the resin tank with the raw water waterway to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway to wash the resin in the resin tank comprises: controlling the backwashing assembly to start forward washing process by connecting an upper drain port disposed above the resin in the backwashing assembly with the raw water waterway, so as to obtain raw water from the raw water waterway for forward washing the resin in the resin tank (Li, “washing, the water inlet electromagnetic valve 13 and the bypass valve 14 opened, the soft water valve 15 is closed. At this time the user is composed of a water inlet pipeline 1 via bypass valve 14 through the soft water pipeline 3 of hard water and washing water into the resin tank by inlet water electromagnetic valve 13 6, and discharged from the drain 4. at the same time, collecting and comparing the water quality data of the water quality sensor 12 and draining the water quality sensor 17, the ratio of the TDS and conductivity data when the TDS parameter of the two are the same, but the drain water sensor 17 collecting in less ratio corresponds to water quality sensor 12, it may be concluded soft almost reach the use requirement, ending the washing. the system enters the water production state”, see pg. 7 and Fig. 1). Further, the valve head and associated flow passages located above the resin jar 6 shown in Fig. 1 of Li inherently constitute the claimed upper drain port, because the during washing operation raw water is introduced through the valve held into the resin jar 56 and flows downward through the resin bed while wastewater exists through the drain line.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 110436569) in view of Huang (CN 207903951).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant according to claim 5.
Li does not teach that the method further comprises: in accordance with a determination that the salt content of wastewater discharged in the forward washing process is less than a second preset value, controlling the backwashing assembly to stop the forward washing process.
In a related field of endeavor, Haung teaches a failed resin regeneration device (see ABS) comprising a step in accordance with a determination that the salt content of wastewater discharged in the backwashing process is less than a first preset value, controlling the backwashing assembly to stop the backwashing process (after liquid inlet, the solution tank is filled with salt water removing, adjusting the related valve, through the pump from failed resin the salt-removing water tank upper water inlet, lower part of the drainage, washing, after washing for a period of time, adjusting the related valve, backwashing water until the conductivity is less than 2us/cm. stopping cleaning. the acid liquid and failed resin in the flowing process to exchange, improving the regeneration capacity, after feeding the washing acid water by washing and backwashing are carried out alternately, reducing the labor intensity, shortening the regeneration time, see pg. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conductivity/salt concentration of Li during washing and backwashing operations and terminate or transition operations when the conductivity fell below a predetermined threshold as disclosed by Haung because it ensures adequate regeneration while reducing water consumption and regeneration time (Haung, see pg. 3).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 110436569) in view of Maekawa (JP 2011110503) and further in view of Zan (CN 110465333).
Regarding claims 9-10, Li teaches the water softening plant according to claim 1.
Li does not teach (1) an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory storing a computer program, wherein, the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant is implemented when the computer program is executed by the processor; (2) a computer-readable storage medium on which a computer program is stored, wherein, the method for regenerating resin of a water softening plant is implemented when the computer program is executed by a processor.
In a related field of endeavor, Zan teaches a resin regeneration method (see ABS) comprising an electronic device having a processor (processor 30) and a memory (memory 40) storing a computer program (one or more programs 41), wherein, the method for regenerating resin is implemented when the computer program is executed by the processor (see pg. 3); and a computer-readable storage medium (computer readable storage medium, see pg. 7) on which a computer program is stored, wherein, the method for regenerating resin is implemented when the computer program is executed by a processor (see claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the method of Li by incorporating an electronic having process and memory, and a computer-readable storage medium as disclosed by Zan because it helps to avoid too frequent regeneration control resin, caused by regeneration salt waste (Zan, see pg. 3).
Conclusion
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773