DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 09/17/2025, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-17 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooke et al. (US 10928558 B1) in view of YOON et al. (US 20200201428), and further in view of Shintani et al. (US 20190124251).
Regarding claim 9, Cooke discloses A method for display an image, applied to smart eyeglasses, wherein the smart eyeglasses comprise: a support including both a frame and temples connected to the frame; two display assemblies mounted in the frame and each of the two display assemblies including both a lens and a transparent display screen stacked on the lens (Cooke, “(44) FIG. 3 illustrates an example HMD 300 (e.g., AR glasses, VR glasses) capable of incorporating embodiments of the optical lens assemblies described herein. In one example, the HMD 300 may be dimensioned to be worn on a head of a user. The HMD 300 may include a frame element 302 for supporting at least one deformable optical lens assembly 304 according to the present disclosure. (48) The optical lens assembly 600 may include a substantially transparent, rigid or semi-rigid structural support element 610, a deformable optical element 620”); and
an image acquisition module and a processing control module both disposed on the support, wherein the processing control module is connected to both the image acquisition module and the transparent display screen, and the transparent display screen is configured to display the virtual scene image (Cooke, “(29) the housing 150 may also support a display element 154 (e.g., an electronic display element, etc.) for displaying an image to the user, and/or another optical lens assembly similar to the optical lens assembly 100 illustrated in FIG. 1. (42) actuation of the optical lens assembly 100 may adjust a user's view of an image rendered and displayed on the electronic display element 154 (FIG. 1) and/or of a real-world environment through the optical lens assembly 100. (44) the frame element 302 may also support other elements, such as an actuator, a driver circuit for the actuator, a power supply element (e.g., a battery), a communication component (e.g., a component for communication via Wi-Fi, BLUETOOTH, near-field communications, etc.), a display element, a graphics processing unit for rendering an image on the display element, an image sensor (e.g., a camera), an eye-tracking element, etc.”).
On the other hand, Cooke fails to explicitly disclose but YOON discloses the image acquisition module is configured to acquire depth information of a real scene, the processing control module is configured to determine a virtual scene image to be displayed according to the depth information of the real scene (YOON, “[0021] The processor may determine depth information of a real-world object based on a position of the virtual image display device and determine the virtual image output from the image generator based on the determined depth information”),
wherein the method comprises: receiving a mixed reality instruction; acquiring the depth information of the real scene with the image acquisition module based on the mixed reality instruction; determining the virtual scene image to be displayed by the processing control module based on the depth information of the real scene; and displaying the virtual scene image with the display screen (YOON, “[0097] FIG. 8 is a flowchart of a method performed by a virtual image display device to display a virtual image and a real-world scene, according to an embodiment. [0098] In operation S810, the virtual image display device obtains a virtual image. Claim 3, wherein the processor determines depth information of a real-world object based on a position of the virtual image display device and determines the virtual image output from the image generator based on the determined depth information. [0038] Referring to FIG. 1, a virtual image display device 100 may output a virtual image 12 superimposed on a real world 10 seen by a user, such that the user may experience augmented reality”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Cooke and YOON. That is, adding the displaying virtual image based on the depth of real -world object of YOON to the transparent display of Cooke. The motivation/ suggestion would have been lessening, when a user experiences augmented reality (AR) via superimposition of the virtual image onto a real world, user fatigue caused by a failure to display the virtual image at a gaze convergence distance or a mismatch between the virtual image and a real-world scene by adjusting a focal length for the virtual image being displayed (YOON, [0005]).
On the other hand, Cooke in view of YOON fails to explicitly disclose but Shintani discloses wherein the image acquisition module includes a front camera, a rear camera, a left camera, and a right camera, and the front camera, the rear camera, the left camera, and the right camera are located in front, rear, left, and right sides of the support, respectively, wherein the front camera is located between the two display assemblies (Shintani, figs. 2, 6, and 7, “[0055] A right view camera 616 is also mounted on the right temple 610 and the optical axis 618 of the right view camera 618 extends to the right as shown. [0056] For illustration, cameras on the left temple of the glasses 600 are depicted in an exploded relationship in FIG. 6. A rear-view camera 620 is mounted on left temple 610, and the optical axis 622 of the rear-view camera 620 extends rearward as shown. A left view camera 624 is also mounted on the left temple 610 and the optical axis 626 of the left view camera 624 extends to the left as shown. [0058] FIG. 7 shows another example eyeglasses 700 which includes the front, right, rear, and left view cameras described in FIG. 6 and which also includes an additional or alternative front view camera 702 mounted on the bridge 704 of the eyeglasses 700. Also, a second rear view camera 706 may be mounted on the right temple 708 in the embodiment of FIG. 7. FIGS. 6 and 7 illustrate but two example combinations of cameras that may be used in accordance with present principles”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Shintani into the combination of Cooke and YOON, to include all limitations of claim 9. That is, adding the cameras of Shintani to the smart glasses of Cooke and YOON. The motivation/ suggestion would have been to gain a video feed from other directions without making the wearer of the device move his head (Shintani, [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Cooke in view of YOON and Shintani discloses The method of claim 9.
Cooke further discloses wherein the lens includes a lens liquid chamber and a lens liquid filled in the lens liquid chamber, and the lens liquid is gathered to a center portion of the lens liquid chamber or to a periphery portion of the lens liquid chamber under the action of the internal pressure of the lens liquid chamber to change a concave-convex degree of the lens (Cooke, “(36) The deformable element 122 may include a barrier material for controlling gas or liquid diffusion, an anti-reflective material, or a combination thereof. (58) In this example, the actuator component 1440 may include an expansible fluid-filled bladder. An actuator 1480 may be configured to apply a pressure to the fluid within the actuator component 1440. (63) In this actuated state, the optical lens assembly 1600 may have a concave shape exhibiting a negative-optical power. In addition, if a fluid pressure within the compliant peripheral component 1640 is reduced, such as by withdrawing fluid therefrom by the actuator 1680, the compliant peripheral component 1640 may shorten and the optical lens assembly 1600 may have a convex shape exhibiting a positive-optical power”).
Regarding claim 12, Cooke in view of YOON and Shintani discloses The method of claim 11.
Cooke further discloses wherein the smart eyeglasses further comprises: a pressure regulator disposed on the support and configured to regulate the internal pressure of the lens liquid chamber (Cooke, “(1) Adjustable-lens systems may be useful in a variety of devices, including eyeglasses, cameras, instrumentation, and virtual or augmented reality (“VR/AR”) systems, such as to adjust the focus of a display element (e.g., screen) or of a real-world image viewed by a user. (58) the actuator component 1440 may include an expansible fluid-filled bladder. An actuator 1480 may be configured to apply a pressure to the fluid within the actuator component 1440. For example, the actuator 1480 may be a pump or piston that may be in fluid communication with an interior of the actuator component 1440, such as via a conduit 1482.”).
Regarding claim 13, Cooke in view of YOON and Shintani discloses The method of claim 12.
Cooke further discloses wherein the pressure regulator includes: a pressure tube and a regulation piston located in the pressure tube, the pressure tube is in communication with the lens liquid chamber, and the pressure regulator is configured to be moved back and forth within the pressure tube by regulating the regulation piston, to regulate the internal pressure of the lens liquid chamber (Cooke, figs.6-7, figs.12-15, “(6) The actuator may include a pump or a piston that is configured to cause an expandable member to expand. The compliant peripheral component may include the expandable member, or the expandable member may be positioned adjacent to at least a portion of the compliant peripheral component. (58) In this example, the actuator component 1440 may include an expansible fluid-filled bladder. An actuator 1480 may be configured to apply a pressure to the fluid within the actuator component 1440. For example, the actuator 1480 may be a pump or piston that may be in fluid communication with an interior of the actuator component 1440, such as via a conduit 1482. (62) . Claim 6, wherein the at least one electromechanical actuator further comprises a pump or a piston that is configured to cause an expandable member to expand”).
Regarding claim 14, Cooke in view of YOON and Shintani discloses The method of claim 12.
Cooke further discloses wherein the pressure regulator is connected to the processing control module, and the processing control module is further configured to control the pressure regulator to regulate the internal pressure of the lens liquid chamber (Cooke, “(58) In this example, the actuator component 1440 may include an expansible fluid-filled bladder. An actuator 1480 may be configured to apply a pressure to the fluid within the actuator component 1440. For example, the actuator 1480 may be a pump or piston that may be in fluid communication with an interior of the actuator component 1440, such as via a conduit 1482. (59) As shown in FIG. 15, when a pressure is increased within the actuator component 1440 by actuation of the actuator 1480, the actuator component 1440 may expand”).
Regarding claim 16, Cooke in view of YOON and Shintani discloses The method of claim 9.
Cooke further discloses wherein the smart eyeglasses further comprise: a battery module disposed on the support and configured to supply power to the transparent display screen, the image acquisition module, and the processing control module (Cooke, “(44) FIG. 3 illustrates an example HMD 300 (e.g., AR glasses, VR glasses) capable of incorporating embodiments of the optical lens assemblies described herein…the frame element 302 may also support other elements, such as an actuator, a driver circuit for the actuator, a power supply element (e.g., a battery), a communication component (e.g., a component for communication via Wi-Fi, BLUETOOTH, near-field communications, etc.), a display element, a graphics processing unit for rendering an image on the display element, an image sensor (e.g., a camera)…”).
Regarding claim(s) 1-5, 7, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim(s) 9, 11-14, 16, respectively.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooke et al. (US 10928558 B1) in view of YOON et al. (US 20200201428), and further in view of Shintani et al. (US 20190124251) and LEE et al. (US 20210088792).
Regarding claim 10, Cooke in view of YOON and Shintani discloses The method of claim 9, wherein YOON discloses the mixed reality instruction includes a preset virtual scene image (YOON, “[0097] FIG. 8 is a flowchart of a method performed by a virtual image display device to display a virtual image and a real-world scene, according to an embodiment. [0098] In operation S810, the virtual image display device obtains a virtual image”).
On the other hand, Cooke in view of YOON and Shintani fails to explicitly disclose but LEE discloses determining depth information of a target area in the real scene from the depth information of the real scene; and adjusting depth information of the preset virtual scene image based on the depth information of the target area to obtain the virtual scene image to be displayed (LEE, “[0048] For example, the virtual image 20 may be an image including the name, model name, and price information of a toaster that is the real object 10. [0098] The augmented reality device 2000 may further include a depth camera (not shown) for measuring a depth value of a real object viewed by the user. The processor 2500 may adjust a focal length of the virtually displayed virtual image by adjusting a refractive index of the variable focus lens 2400, based on the depth value of the real object viewed by the user”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined LEE into the combination of Cooke, YOON and Shintani, to include all limitations of claim 10. That is, adding the adjusting depth information of LEE to the smart glasses of Cooke and YOON, Shintani. The motivation/ suggestion would have been capable of more easily separating polarization of a beam of an image of a real object from polarization of a beam of a virtual image, and a wearable device including the same (LEE, [0008]).
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooke et al. (US 10928558 B1) in view of YOON et al. (US 20200201428), and further in view of Shintani et al. (US 20190124251) and DONG et al. (US 20210341738).
Regarding claim 17, Cooke in view of YOON and Shintani discloses The method of claim 9.
On the other hand, Cooke in view of YOON and Shintani fails to explicitly disclose but DONG discloses wherein the transparent display screen is an organic light emitting diode display screen or a miniature light emitting diode display screen (DONG, “claim 7. The augmented reality glasses according to claim 1, wherein the transparent display device is an organic light-emitting diode display device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined DONG into the combination of Cooke, YOON, and Shintani, to include all limitations of claim 17. That is, applying the display of DONG to the smart glasses of Cooke, YOON, and Shintani. The motivation/ suggestion would have been This improves the user's security in using the augmented reality glasses. In particular, when the user uses the glasses outdoors, the glasses do not affect the user in observing the road conditions in the lateral direction, and the safety is greatly improved (DONG, [0037]).
Regarding claim(s) 8, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim(s) 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, 16-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE Q LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611 9/30/2025