DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status.
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/12/2026. Claims 13-24 were pending. Claims 17 and 20 have been cancelled. Claim 13 has been amended Claims 13-16 18, 19, and 21-24 are now pending. Claims 13-16 18, 19, and 21-24 are presented for examination. Applicant's arguments have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, 15, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0212405 to Wong in view of US 2019/0296281 to Elsberry).
Regarding claim 13, Wong discloses a battery cell (Title), comprising: a cell housing (Abstract) having an electrically conductive hollow cylinder (claim 2, Fig. 8), an electrode of a first electrical polarity and an electrode of a second electrical polarity, which is opposite to the first polarity (para 27), wherein the electrodes of different polarities are mutually separated by a separator (para 27), a first electrically conductive contact element which is electrically connected to the electrode of the first polarity (144, Fig. 1), and which can be contact-connected as a first pole of the battery cell from outside the cell housing (124, Fig. 1), a second electrically conductive contact element which is electrically connected to the electrode of the second polarity(136 +134, Fig. 1), and which can be contact-connected as a second pole of the battery cell from outside the cell housing (126, Fig. 1) wherein the first and second electrically conductive contact elements are electrically insulated from one another (by seal 144) and, on a same first end face of the electrically conductive hollow cylinder, can each be contact-connected as a respective pole from outside the cell housing. In addition, Wong discloses an electrically conductive first closure plate, which closes the hollow cylinder at its first end face, wherein the first closure plate is electrically connected to the first electrically conductive contact element (Fig. 1).
Wong does not expressly disclose wherein the electrically conductive first closure plate is electrically connected to the first electrically conductive contact element and is directly electrically connected to the second electrically conductive contact element
Elsberry teaches are battery cells for battery packs in electric vehicles, wherein the battery cell includes housings (Abstract). Elsberry also teaches the battery comprising a bonding element 165 which can be in direct electrical contact first contact area 240 and also in direct electrical contact with the first conductive layer 210 which functions as a positive terminal (para 44, Fig. 1, 2, 4). Therefore, such structural; design is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of Wong with the electrically conductive contact element is directly electrically connected to the electrically conductive first closure plate, as taught by Elsberry in order of improvement of electrical contact of electrode assemble with terminal and, as such with external customer.
Regarding claim 14, Wong discloses wherein an electrical insulation between the first and second electrically conductive contact elements is configured by means of a radial spacing between the first and second electrically conductive contact elements (124, 126), with respect to an axis of symmetry of the hollow cylinder (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Wong discloses wherein in an interspace formed by a radial spacing, a spacer element (144, Fig. 1) is arranged, which comprises an electrically insulating material (para 33).
Regarding claim 19, Wong discloses the second electrically conductive contact element is electrically connected to the electrically conductive hollow cylinder (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Wong discloses wherein the first closure plate (termination plate) is configured in an electrically insulated arrangement from the hollow cylinder (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, modified Wong discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 14 and incorporated therein. Modified Wong does not expressly disclose wherein the second closure plate comprises an electrolyte inlet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the electrolyte inlet the second closure plate on since it was known in the art ( see for example US 20110183171 para 46) MPEP 2144.03 (A-E)).
Claims 16, 18, 21, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0212405 to Wong (Wong)in view of US 20070128508 to Fang (Fang).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wong discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 13 and incorporated therein. Modified Wong does not expressly disclose an electrically insulating fastening element to which the first and second electrically conductive contact elements are fastened, wherein the electrically insulating fastening element is arranged between the first end face of the electrically conductive hollow cylinder and the two electrically conductive contact elements.
Fang teaches a battery cell (Fig. 3), comprising: a cell housing (Abstract) having an electrically conductive hollow cylinder (claim 2, Fig. 3), an electrode of a first electrical polarity and an electrode of a second electrical polarity, which is opposite to the first polarity (para 20), wherein the electrodes of different polarities are mutually separated by a separator (para 20), a first electrically conductive contact element which is electrically connected to the electrode of the first polarity (31, Fig. 3), and which can be contact-connected as a first pole of the battery cell from outside the cell housing (32, Fig. 3), a second electrically conductive contact element which is electrically connected to the electrode of the second polarity(41, Fig. 1), and which can be contact-connected as a second pole of the battery cell from outside the cell housing (43, Fig. 1) wherein the first and second electrically conductive contact elements are electrically insulated from one another (by seals 33 and 43) and, on a same first end face of the electrically conductive hollow cylinder, can each be contact-connected as a respective pole from outside the cell housing. Moreover, Fang teaches a battery structure comprising a batter cell accommodated in a cylindrical follow housing (para 21), wherein the electrode structure includes an electrically insulating securing element (7), to which the first and the second electrically conductive contact elements are secured, wherein the electrically insulating securing element is arranged between the first end face of the electrically conductive hollow cylinder and the two electrically conductive contact elements (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell of modified Wong with the an electrically insulating fastening element to which the first and second electrically conductive contact elements are fastened, as taught by Fang , in order battery structure which can be easily soldered on a print circuit board and is suitable for production processing
Regarding claim 18, modified Wong in view of Fang discloses an electrically conductive first closure plate (52), which closes the hollow cylinder at its first end face, having a first opening, in which a first electrically conductive adapter is arranged, such that it can be electrically contact-connected from outside the cell housing, wherein the first electrically conductive adapter is electrically connected to the first electrically conductive contact element, and wherein the first electrically conductive adapter is electrically insulated (by 33 and 43) from the first closure plate (Fang ,Fig. 3, para 20).
Regarding claim 21, modified Wong in view of Fang discloses the electrically conductive first termination plate has a second opening, in which a second electrically conductive intermediate piece is arranged, such that it is electrically contactable from outside the cell housing, wherein the second electrically conductive intermediate piece is electrically connected to the second electrically conductive contact element, and wherein the second electrically conductive intermediate piece is electrically insulated from the first termination plate (Fang, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, modified Wong in view of Fang discloses a second termination plate on a second end face opposite the first end face, wherein the second termination plate has a venting mechanism ( Fang, para 22).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to rejection of claim 20 (incorporated in the instant claim 1) over Fang in view of Elderberry have been considered but are moot due to new ground of rejection (Wong in view of Elderberry).
Applicant argues: “Elsberry does not teach or suggest including "an electrically conductive first closure plate" and that there is a direct connection between the second contact element and the first closure plate, which serve to increase the electrical resistance of the overall connection between the electrode and the first closure plates stated in the present application (See, Specification, at [0020] and FIG. 1 and 2)”.
However, Elsberry teaches the battery comprising a bonding element 165 which can be in direct electrical contact first contact area 240 and also in direct electrical contact with the first conductive layer 210 which functions as a positive terminal (para 44, Fig. 1, 2, 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Usyatinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751