DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment filed 6/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 are pending. Claims 3-4 and 6 remain withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kaymiya et al. (US 5,307,870A) in view of GB 1184125A (hereinafter, GB’125).
Kaymiya discloses (figures 9-10 and figure B shown below) a heat exchanger comprising an inner fin (46) having heat transference and disposed in a flat passage (22), wherein the inner fin (46) is formed by a plurality of fin portions having a convex shape formed by a top surface portion and a side surface portion and having a hollow inside the convex shape (see figure A); when a direction in which the plurality of fin portions are formed and lined to be continuous via a coupling portion is defined as a first direction and a direction in which slits are formed between the plurality of fins portions and lined is defined as a second direction, the plurality of fin portions are arranged at a predetermined interval in the second direction (theta shown in figure 10); a predetermined fin interval is provided between the fin portions and the slit is formed in an end portion of the predetermined fin interval (see figure B); and the inner fin is arranged such that the first direction and the second direction respectively forms an acute angle (theta or 90-theta, see figures 9,10, column 6, lines 65-68 and column 7, lines 2-10) with respect to a flow of a refrigerant flowing in the flat passage. Regarding claim 1, Kaymiya does not disclose that the slit is formed in a portion of the predetermined fin interval such that the fin portions are fully separated. GB’s 125 discloses (figures 1-3) a heat exchanger that has an inner fin (5-1) formed form of a plurality of fins portions lined to be continuous in one direction and fully separated by slits (6-1) in a second direction for a purpose of dividing up the channels into a large number of channels of reduced length, which facilitates flow of the channels and creating turbulence in the flow of liquid . (column 2, lines 4-15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use GB’s 125 teaching in Kaymiya’s device for a purpose of dividing up the channels into a large number of channels of reduced length, which facilitates flow of the channels and creating turbulence in the flow of liquid.
Regarding claim 2, Kaymiya further discloses (figure 10 or figure A) that in the plurality of fin portion, when a diameter of a largest circle entering the hollow is defined as a first diameter, and a diameter of a largest circle entering a coupling portion connecting the respective side surface portions of the adjacent fin portion is defined as a second diameter, the second diameter has a size greater than or equal to the first diameter. (see figure 10, width of the coupling portion and hollow are the same, basing on the geometrical relationship).
Regarding claim 7, Kaymiya further discloses (figure 10) that the first direction and the second direction form a right angle. (a rectangular shape shown in figure 10).
++
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 10 with limitation shown.
Figure B: the modified figure corresponds to figure 9 with limitations shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaymiya and GB’s 125 and further in view of Mizuno et al. (US 9,818,673B2). Kaymiya and GB’s 125 substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation of a power conversion device comprises the heat exchanger. Mizuno discloses (figures 3 and 6) a heat exchanger that has inner fins (29) provided within a passage (24) that is used in a power conversion device for a purpose cooling a semiconductor module (5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Mizuno’s teaching in the combination device of Kaymiya and GB’s 125 for a purpose of cooling a semiconductor module.
Conclusion
/THO V DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763