DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/5/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 are pending. Claims 3-4 and 6 remain withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,2 and 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amended claims 1,2 and 5 are now rejected under a new interpretation in which fin portions are interpreted as the fin portions that shifted to the right as shown in figure B, see rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaymiya et al. (US 5,307,870A). Regarding claim 1, Kaymiya discloses (figures 9-10 and figure B shown below) a heat exchanger comprising an inner fin (46) having heat transference and disposed in a flat passage (22), wherein the inner fin (46) is formed by a plurality of fin portions having a convex shape formed by a top surface portion and a side surface portion and having a hollow inside the convex shape (see figure A); when a direction in which the plurality of fin portions are formed and lined to be continuous via a coupling portion is defined as a first direction and a direction in which slits are formed between the plurality of fins portions and lined is defined as a second direction, the plurality of fin portions are arranged at a predetermined interval in the second direction (theta shown in figure 10); a predetermined fin interval is provided between the fin portions and the slit is formed in an end portion of the predetermined fin interval (see figure B); and the inner fin is arranged such that the first direction and the second direction respectively forms an acute angle (theta or 90-theta, see figures 9,10, column 6, lines 65-68 and column 7, lines 2-10) with respect to a flow of a refrigerant flowing in the flat passage. Regarding claim 2, Kaymiya further discloses (figure 10 or figure A) that in the plurality of fin portion, when a diameter of a largest circle entering the hollow is defined as a first diameter, and a diameter of a largest circle entering a coupling portion connecting the respective side surface portions of the adjacent fin portion is defined as a second diameter, the second diameter has a size greater than or equal to the first diameter. (see figure 10, width of the coupling portion and hollow are the same, basing on the geometrical relationship).
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 10 with limitation shown.
Figure B: the modified figure corresponds to figure 9 with limitations shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno et al. (US 9,818,673B2) in view of Kaymiya (US 5,307,870A). Mizuno discloses (figures 3 and 6) a power conversion device comprising a heat exchanger (2) comprising an inner fin (29) having heat transference and disposed in a flat passage, wherein the inner fin (29) is formed by a plurality of fin portions having a convex shape formed by a top surface portion and a side surface portion and having a hollow inside the convex shape (see figure 9). Mizuno does not disclose that when a direction in which the plurality of fin portions are formed and lined to be continuous via a coupling portion is defined as a first direction and a direction in which slits are formed between the plurality of fins portions and lined is defined as a second direction, the plurality of fin portions are arranged at a predetermined interval in the second direction and the inner fin is arranged such that the first direction and the second direction respectively forms an acute angle with respect to a flow of a refrigerant flowing in the flat passage. Kaymiya discloses (figures 9-10) a heat exchanger comprising an inner fin (46) having heat transference and disposed in a flat passage (22), wherein the inner fin (46) is formed by a plurality of fin portions having a convex shape formed by a top surface portion and a side surface portion and having a hollow inside the convex shape (see figure A); when a direction in which the plurality of fin portions are formed and lined to be continuous via a coupling portion is defined as a first direction and a direction in which slits are formed between the plurality of fins portions and lined is defined as a second direction, the plurality of fin portions are arranged at a predetermined interval in the second direction (theta shown in figure 10); and the inner fin is arranged such that the first direction and the second direction respectively forms an acute angle (theta or 90-theta, see figures 9 and 10, column 7, lines 2-10) with respect to a flow of a refrigerant flowing in the flat passage for a purpose of obtaining the disturbance effect of the refrigerant flowing in the tube to enhance the heat transfer rate of the heat exchanger. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kaymiya’s teaching in Mizuno’s device for a purpose of obtaining the disturbance effect of the refrigerant flowing in the tube to enhance the heat transfer rate of the heat exchanger.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763