DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Claims 1-14 have been examined and rejected. This is the first Office action on the merits.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1 and 4-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 6-10 respectively of copending Application No. 18/570775 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 4 and 6-10 of co-pending application 18/570775 contain every element of claims 1 and 4-8 of the instant application and thus, anticipates the claims of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites the limitation “the weld pool” in [line 3] of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitation “the anomaly” in [line 13] of the claim. It is unclear which of the anomalies recited in [line 9] of the claim is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mehr et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0341248).
9-1. Regarding claim 1, Mehr teaches the claim comprising: creating a machine code and transmitting the machine code to a controller, by disclosing implementing an additive manufacturing process by first creating a three-dimensional model of an object to be fabricated using a computer-aided design (CAD) software package [paragraph 83] and converting the model to a standard file format [paragraph 84]. A method is provided for automated classification of object defects and adaptive real-time control of the object to be fabricated using modular components that share and exchange process data, process control data, and process control instructions [paragraph 34]. In the disclosed adaptive process control method, real-time process monitoring data may be used by a processor running a machine learning algorithm to make adjustment(s) to one or more process control parameters [paragraphs 118]. One or more processors may be employed to implement the machine learning algorithms and additive manufacturing process control methods [paragraph 165].
Mehr teaches starting an additive manufacturing process to build the component using a print head; monitoring the process with sensors, by disclosing an additive manufacturing deposition apparatus having a printhead [paragraphs 22, 117; figure 13] that begins the process of fabricating the object and monitoring the process in real-time using a variety of sensors [paragraphs 111-112].
Mehr teaches evaluating sensor data to identify anomalies in the component during the manufacturing process, by disclosing providing a classification of detected object defects using the real-time data from the sensors as input to a machine learning algorithm [paragraph 125].
Mehr teaches establishing a parallel digital twin of the component from sensor data comprising position data of the anomaly, by disclosing using process simulation tools [paragraph 100], process control parameters [paragraphs 107], process monitoring tools [paragraph 111], and data from in-process inspection tools [paragraph 116, lines 15-21] to provide an indication of the current state of the fabrication process and/or the part being fabricated [paragraph 178]. The training data set used by the machine learning algorithm to enable automated classification of object defects, prediction of optimal sets or sequences of process control parameters , adjustment of process control parameters in real-time, or any combination thereof [paragraph 29], is updated with additional process simulation data, process characterization data, in-process inspection data , post-build inspection data, or any combination thereof, after each iteration of an additive manufacturing process that is performed iteratively [paragraph 32]. A current “state” of the part under fabrication is identified and compared to the design target (or reference “state”), and one or more process control parameters are adjusted in order to minimize the different between the two states [paragraph 139, lines 32-42].
Mehr teaches predicting a position of the print head at a specific time using the machine code, by disclosing predicting the next actions by the deposition process, including the indicated positions of the wire feed (i.e., the print head) [paragraphs 116-118].
Mehr teaches analyzing a working area around the predicted position with respect to anomalies present using the digital twin, by disclosing monitoring the dimensions and/or properties of the melt pool, the deposited layer downstream from the melt pool, or other features of the part being fabricated at one or more positions on the part [paragraph 119]. Real-time data is obtained for one or more object properties from sensors as input to the machine learning algorithm to allow for the classification of detected object defects for adjustment in real-time [paragraphs 125-126, 129]
Mehr teaches adjusting process parameters of the manufacturing process when the working area is reached to eliminate the anomaly, by disclosing determining a set or sequence of process control parameter adjustments that will implement a corrective action, e.g., to adjust a layer dimension or thickness, so as to correct a defect when first detected [paragraph 124, lines 23-29].
9-2. Regarding claim 2, Mehr teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising using a model to evaluate the sensor data and, in a dynamic period of time, computing feedback data to the controller (See Mehr paras. [0111-112] and [0125]: “herein the real-time data from the one or more sensors is provided as input to the machine learning algorithm and allows the classification of detected object defects to be adjusted in real-time”).
9-3. Regarding claim 4, Mehr teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising assigning a time stamp to each position to which the print head moves (See Mehr paras. [0108] and [0139]: parameters can include “the location of a deposition apparatus as a function of time” while the current state is compared to the design target and adjust the control parameters accordingly).
9-4. Regarding claim 14, Mehr teaches all the limitations of claim 1, wherein the additive method of manufacturing comprises a Laser Metal Deposition (LMD) method (See Mehr para. [0051]: the additive manufacturing processes and systems to which the disclosed defect classification and adaptive control methods may be applied is laser-metal wire deposition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0341248) in view of Hsu et al (U.S. Patent No. 10,380,911).
11-1. Regarding claim 3, Mehr teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Mehr does not expressly teach wherein the dynamic period of time amounts to between 0.05 s and 3 s. Hsu teach wherein the dynamic period of time amounts to between 0.05 s and 3 s (See Hsu [col. 19, ln. 63 to col. 20, ln. 29]: a GPU processes data from a sensor (camera) for output to a processor, wherein processing data by the GPU comprises determining, in real-time (e.g., with latency less than 100 milliseconds or, more preferably, less than 20 milliseconds, or more preferably still, less than 5 milliseconds), one or more characteristics helpful in achieving a better product, for training purposes, calibrating the system, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a processor for evaluating the sensor data of Mehr in real-time with a latency of less than 100 milliseconds, as taught by Hsu. This would help ensure that defects to the object will be identified in a timely manner.
12. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0341248) in view of Sha et al (Pub. No. US 2022/0285009).
12-1. Regarding claim 5, Mehr teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Although Mehr discloses the digital twin as well as points in a coordinate system (See Mehr paras. [0084] and [0095]), Mehr does not explicitly teach wherein: the digital twin comprises a point cloud; and for each point an anomaly value is determined and a process state is stored. Sha teaches wherein digital twin includes a point cloud; and for each point an anomaly value is determined and a process state is stored (See Sha paras. [0088], [0100], and [0178]: point cloud used to determine an amount of error, where values are provided).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the digital twin and defect detection of Mehr with the point clouds of Sha. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose 3D modeling and imaging, including with additive manufacturing/3D printing. Moreover, Sha enhances the printing of Mehr by “improv[ing] the speed at which image data from multiple sources is processed and aligned, which can improve performance and reduce processing hardware requirements for achieving desired performance benchmarks…” while also “improv[ing] the overall accuracy and feature density of the system as 3D images of the subject are captured” (See Sha paras. [0057] and [0078]).
12-2. Regarding claim 6, Mehr-Sha teach all the limitations of claim 5, wherein determining the anomaly value includes data of a working area from neighboring points (See Mehr para. [119]: monitoring the dimensions and/or properties of the melt pool, the deposited layer downstream from the melt pool, or other features of the part being fabricated at one or more positions on the part). See Sha paras. [0122-126] and [0178]: point cloud adjacency, while also using “points in the point cloud to determine an amount of error in between the features in the point cloud”. This would apply to the defect detection in Mehr).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Mehr with the teachings of Sha for at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 5.
13. Claims 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0341248), in view of Sha et al (Pub. No. US 2022/0285009), and further in view of Severson et al (Pub. No. US 2022/0114307).
13-1. Regarding claim 7, Mehr-Sha teach all the limitations of claim 6. Mehr-Sha do not expressly teach wherein the working area has a spatial dimension of a liquid phase at the point of observation. Severson teaches wherein the working area has a spatial extent matching a liquid phase prevailing at the observation time point (See Severson para. [0099]: “adjust the scaling factor C so that the temperature at the periphery of the 1.5-mm (dia.) melt pool matches the liquidus temperature (1830° C.).” Therefore, the melt pool dimensions of Mehr/Sha can be matched using the scaling factor and temperatures of Severson).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the digital twin and defect detection of Mehr/Sha with the double ellipsoid of Severson. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references modeling in additive manufacturing, and Severson enhances the models of Mehr/Sha by improving the efficiency and accuracy of the heat distribution of the additive manufacturing of Mehr/Sha (See Severson paras. [0008-09]).
13-2. Regarding claim 9, Mehr-Sha-Saverson teach all the limitations of claim 7, wherein the working area comprises a double ellipsoid (See Severson paras. [0045] and [0091-93]: double ellipsoid modeling for the manufacturing of Mehr).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Mehr-Sha with the teachings of Severson for at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 7.
13-3. Regarding claim 10, Mehr-Sha-Saverson teach all the limitations of claim 9, further comprising adjusting axes of the ellipsoid to a dimension of the weld pool (see Mehr paras. [119], [136], [125], [180]: The dimensions and/or properties of the melt pool are monitored in real-time. Provide a classification of detected object defects using a machine learning algorithm that has been trained using the training data set of step (a), wherein the real-time data from the one or more sensors is provided as input to the machine learning algorithm and allows the classification of detected object defects to be adjusted in real-time. During the build, in addition to building a machine learning model that correlates process control parameters (e.g., laser power, feed rate, travel speed, etc.) and result of the deposition process (e.g., the shape of melt pool, defects in the melt pool, etc.), one may also create a mapping between the process control parameters and a specific location in the part.)
14. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0341248), in view of Sha et al (Pub. No. US 2022/0285009), and further in view of Oh (Pub. No. US 2022/0417557).
14-1. Regarding claim 8, Mehr-Sha teach all the limitations of claim 5. Mehr-Sha does not expressly teach wherein the point cloud comprises a spatially structured data structure in the form of an octree. Oh teaches wherein the point cloud is represented in a spatially structured data structure in the form of an octree (See Oh paras. [0369] and [0380]: octree structure with the point cloud).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the digital twin and defect detection of Mehr with the point clouds of Oh. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose 3D modeling and imaging, and Oh enhances the models of Mehr by increasing their processing efficiency as there can be a large amount of point data (See Oh paras. [0002-03]).
15. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0341248) in view of MacNeish (Pub. No. US 2019/0099952).
15-1. Regarding claim 11, Mehr teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Mehr does not expressly teach wherein adjusting the process parameters comprises increasing an application of heat. MacNeish teaches wherein adjusting the process parameters comprises increasing an application of heat (See MacNeish paras. [0038], [0042], and [0044]: “a difference in temperate at the hot end 106 from a desired set point may represent a necessary adjustment by the PID controller of the thermocouple connectively associated with the heating element 303 of the hot end 106.” This includes increasing “the delivery of power to the heating element 303 of the hot end 106”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the additive manufacturing corrective actions of Mehr with the corrective action adjustments of MacNeish. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose corrective actions in additive manufacturing, and MacNeish enhances the manufacturing of Mehr by increasing the flexibility and options of the control actions of Mehr. This would further decrease significant or fatal print flaws, as well as their frequency of occurrence of these printing breakdowns, while minimizing the number of settings needed to engage in the additive manufacturing (See MacNeish para. [0006]).
15-2. Regarding claim 12, Mehr teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Although Mehr discloses adjusting parameters as they relate to speed (see Mehr paras [0052] and [0067], Mehr does not expressly teach wherein adjusting the process parameters comprises reducing a print head speed. MacNeish teaches wherein adjusting the process parameters comprises reducing a print head speed (See MacNeish paras. [0044] and [0049-50]: “the controller 310 may indicate an increase or decrease in the print head hob speed…” Additionally, “[a] motor having encoding 1004 may be provided so that filament pull, grabbing, jamming, or crimping may be sensed to allow for ultimate adjustment of motor speed”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Mehr with the teachings of MacNeish. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose corrective actions in additive manufacturing, and MacNeish enhances the manufacturing of Mehr by increasing the flexibility and options of the control actions of Mehr. This would further decrease significant or fatal print flaws, as well as their frequency of occurrence of these printing breakdowns, while minimizing the number of settings needed to engage in the additive manufacturing (See MacNeish para. [0006]).
16. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0341248) in view of Nilakantan (Pub. No. US 2021/0178697).
16-1. Regarding claim 13, Mehr teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Although Mehr discloses wire additive manufacturing and arc welding (See Mehr paras. [0096]), Mehr does not expressly teach wherein the additive method of manufacturing comprises an arc wire cladding method. Nilakantan teaches wherein the additive method of manufacturing comprises an arc wire cladding method (See Nilakantan para. [0002]: additive manufacturing technology can include wire arc additive manufacturing).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the wire additive manufacturing of Mehr with the wire arc manufacturing of Nilakantan. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose modeling in wire additive manufacturing, and Nilakantan enhances the manufacturing of Mehr by increasing the flexibility by expanding the types of environments that the modeling of Mehr can apply to.
Conclusion
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118