Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0232460 to Takegoshi et al. in view JP-61275351 to Hiroshi et al. (Cited on IDS) with support by U.S. Patent No. 5,132,387 to Baron et al. As to claim s 1 -5, 12, and 14-15 , Takegoshi discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane polishing pad (0057) comprising the reaction product of polyethylene glycol with a molecular weight of 600, 4,4-diphenylmethane diisocyanate, 1,4-butanediol, and a tertiary amine chain extender (Example 1, Abstract). Takegoshi does not expressly disclose the claimed tertiary amine. However, within the same field of endeavor, namely polyurethane resins, Hiroshi discloses polyurethane reaction products wherein reactants such as the claimed tertiary amines of the formula below are reacted into the polymer in amounts that range from 1.2 to 8.0 parts of the polyurethane (Last paragraph, translation). Further, the addition of reactive tertiary amines containing heterocyclic groups that are attached to polyurethane polymer backbones via reactive groups (3:44-48). Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to substitute the tertiary amines of Takegoshi with the tertiary amines of Hiroshi with the expectation that the reactant would react within the polyurethane as taught in Baron to improve weather resistance of the polishing pad and provide improved properties such as thickness reduction, coloring, or whitening (Last paragraph, translation). As to claims 6-11, Takegoshi discloses an NCO:OH ratio of 1:1 (See Examples), the polymer diol comprising 30 to 100 mass% of polyethylene glycol (0046), and the content of tertiary amine chain extender ranges from 0.1 to 30 mass% (0035) . Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0232460 to Takegoshi et al. in view JP-61275351 to Hiroshi et al. (Cited on IDS) with support by U.S. Patent No. 5,132,387 to Baron et al. that has been explained above and is applied here as such in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0129284 to Yun et al. As to claim 13, Takegoshi discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane polishing pad (0057) comprising the reaction product of polyethylene glycol with a molecular weight of 600, 4,4-diphenylmethane diisocyanate, 1,4-butanediol, and a tertiary amine chain extender (Example 1, Abstract). Takegoshi teaches additional reactants including crosslinking agents (0052). Takegoshi does not expressly disclose the type of crosslinking agent. However, within the same field of endeavor, Yun teaches polyurethane polishing pads comprising reactants that include from 0.1 to 10% by weight of a low molecular weight triol, including glycerin, trimethylolpropane or diethanolamine (0030-0031). At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the crosslinking agent taught in Yun to the polyurethane of Takegoshi to reduce unreacted diisocyanate monomer in the production process to enhance processability and quality and to increase crosslink density (0012). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MICHAEL L LEONARD whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7450 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M - F 7:00-4:00 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Joseph Del Sole can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1130 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763