Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/26 have been fully considered. The arguments essentially pertain to the amendments. Thus the new grounds of rejection is the best response thereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 赵培杰 CN 204793174 in view of Liautaud (US 4178751), and Kim (US 10027023).
With regard to claim 1 赵培杰 CN 204793174 discloses a wearable device, comprising:
a wearable device body (figures 1m 3) comprising
a mainboard (50 figure 4) configured to feed power to
a conductive component (11/12 figure 2) used as an antenna (abstract), and
a housing (20 figure 1) that covers the wearable device body, wherein the housing is made of an insulating material (abstract, claim 2), the housing comprising:
at least two spring bars arranged in parallel and spaced from each other and both extend in a same direction (figure 3 – the spring bars are arranged in parallel and provide in part for strap attachment depicted in figure 3. See 30 figure 3),
a connection line between ends of the two spring bars (see figure 4. Abstract, claims 1 and 2 the system is for mounting metal parts), and
the conductive component disposed on the spring bar (abstract, claim 1).
It is unclear whether CN ‘174 meets the claim limitation “a connection line between ends of the two spring bars is located outside the wearable device body” because it isn’t clear how applicant’s invention meets this limitation either. (For clarity no deficiency of limitation with regard to definiteness or enablement is identified. No rejection is made under 35 USC 112. However, see drawing objection in regard to this limitation). So this limitation is treated as being not taught by CN ‘174 for claim analysis herein.
Kim teaches a spring bar providing conductive connection between antenna portions located in the wrist strap. See abstract, figures 1-8l).
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure CN ‘174’s system such that a connection line between ends of the two spring bars is located outside the wearable device body, as taught by Kim. The reason for doing so would have been to bridge the electrical connection to facilitate antenna configurations in different shapes and sized to further facilitate reception at prescribed frequencies, as taught by Kim. Another reason for doing so would have been to provide controlled distribution of electricity in the system in a way to best improve reception and electrical distribution/isolation principles as taught by Kim. CN ‘174 does not teach the claimed each spring bar is made of insulating material and at least part of the conductive component is embedded in each spring bar.
It is well known to use conductive metal inside non-conductive insulators to provide the benefit of both materials in combination. See Liautaud column 2 lines 33-43. The sheet metal is formed in a soft plastic element to provide combination of material properties. Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure CN ‘174’s system to comprise: each spring bar is made of insulating material and at least part of the conductive component is embedded in each spring bar, as taught in part by Liautaud. The reason for doing so would have been to obtain superior material properties by combining robust metal center parts with the simplicity and softness of plastic parts thereover as taught by Liautaud.
It should be noted the language outside was removed 2/5/26. The modification was left in place for analysis because the base reference does not discuss the external spring bar. The modification based on Liautaud is understood to refer to both central case elements and external spring bar elements because the motivation involved therein is the same.
*Unless stated otherwise the reference numerals and citations pertain to the base reference CN ‘174.
With regard to claim 2 CN ‘174, Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 1, wherein a circle case is disposed surrounding the wearable device body (figures 1, 2), the spring bar is disposed on the circle case (figures 1, 2, 3), and a part of the conductive component is disposed in the circle case (figure 4).
With regard to claim 3 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 1, wherein two spring bars on a same side of the wearable device body are communicatively connected to each other through a beam, and a part of the conductive component is disposed in the beam (see figure 2, the beam receives the conductive components; figure 4.)
With regard to claim 4 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 3, wherein the conductive component comprises:
a first part disposed on the circle case (11),
a second part disposed on the spring bar (spring bar – see 103 modification; Kim figure 6), and
a third part disposed on the beam, wherein the first part, the second part, and the third part are connected, and there is a slit on the third part (11, there is at least a slit portion to receive the spring bar – figures 2, 3).For reference / BRI analysis.Applicant’s figure 17a
“the third part 1051 c embedded in the beam 104 has a slit 1051 d. The conductive component 105 of such a structure may implement receiving and sending of signals at an antenna operating frequency”.See MPEP 2111: During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard.
With regard to claim 5 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 4, wherein a location of the slit is close to the spring bar (figure 2).
With regard to claim 6 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 4, wherein the first part has a grounding point electrically connected to the mainboard (11, 41, 50 figure 4).
With regard to claim 7 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 4.
CN ‘174 does not disclose the claimed: wherein a first protruding part is formed on a side surface of the first part and opposite to the third part, and a second protruding part is formed on a side surface of the third part and opposite to the first part.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure CN ‘174’s system with a first protruding part is formed on a side surface of the first part and opposite to the third part, and a second protruding part is formed on a side surface of the third part and opposite to the first part. The reason for doing so would have been to have matching case supports and external pins to support a wristband attachment. A reason for doing so would have been to provide robust parts made of metal as taught by Liautaud embedded inside soft plastic as taught by Liautaud to form a part made of compound discrete materials to achieve improvement in the resulting structuring benefitting from the material properties of both or more materials, as taught by Liautaud.
With regard to claim 8 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive component is embedded in the spring bar (figure 6 of Kim; see 103 modification)
With regard to claim 9 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive component is formed on a surface of the spring bar (figure 6 of Kim; see 103 modification).
With regard to claim 10 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 1, wherein the mainboard is coupled to the conductive component (figure 4 of CN ‘174).
With regard to claim 11 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive component is electrically connected to the mainboard through an electrical connecting member (41 figure 4).
With regard to claim 12 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 11, wherein the electrical connecting member is one of a screw, a metal dome (figure 4), conductive plastic, or a flexible printed circuit FPC.
With regard to claim 13 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises:
a front housing (figures 1-3), and a rear housing, wherein the conductive component is located in the front housing (figure 2).
With regard to claim 19 CN ‘174 Liautaud, and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive component comprises:
a plurality of modules, wherein different modules correspond to different operating frequency bands (See Kim abstract, figures 3-6; see 103 modification).
With regard to claim 20 (depends from claim 1) CN ‘174 does not disclose the claimed: a spring bar shaft, wherein one spring bar hole is provided on each of the two spring bars, two spring bar holes are coaxially disposed, two spring bar shafts extend into the two spring bar holes and are rotatably connected to the spring bar holes, and the spring bar shaft and the conductive component are spaced from each other.
Kim teaches
a spring bar shaft (400), wherein one spring bar hole (figure 4) is provided on each of the two spring bars, two spring bar holes are coaxially disposed, two spring bar shafts extend into the two spring bar holes (figure 4) and are rotatably connected to the spring bar holes, and the spring bar shaft and the conductive component are spaced from each other – Figure 4.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure CN ‘174’s system such that it comprises: a spring bar shaft, wherein one spring bar hole is provided on each of the two spring bars, two spring bar holes are coaxially disposed, two spring bar shafts extend into the two spring bar holes and are rotatably connected to the spring bar holes, and the spring bar shaft and the conductive component are spaced from each other, as taught by Kim. The reason for doing so would have been to provide proper structural support to the pins to facilitate attachment, retention, rotation, and the electrical characteristics thereof, as taught by Kim.
Claim(s) 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 赵培杰 CN 204793174 in view of Liautaud (US 4178751, and Kim (US 10027023) in further view of Sakurazawa (US 2005/0047282).
With regard to claim 14 CN ‘174 and Kim teach the wearable device according to claim 13, wherein a first connecting member is further disposed in the front housing (figures 1, 2)).
CN ‘174 does not teach the claimed: a second connecting member is disposed in the rear housing, and the first connecting member is detachably connected to the second connecting member.
Sakurazawa teaches a second connecting member is disposed in the rear housing, and the first connecting member is detachably connected to the second connecting member.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure CN ‘174’s system to comprise: a second connecting member is disposed in the rear housing, and the first connecting member is detachably connected to the second connecting member, as taught by Sakurazawa. The reason for doing so would have been to securing connect the element in a common and known way as taught by Sakurazawa.
With regard to claim 15 CN ‘174, Liautaud, Kim, and Sakurazawa teach the wearable device according to claim 14, wherein the first connecting member is embedded in the front housing (See figures. The element is in the front housing).
With regard to claim 16 CN ‘174, Liautaud, Kim, and Sakurazawa teach the wearable device according to claim 14, wherein the first connecting member and the conductive component are integrally formed (11 and/or 12 figure 2).
With regard to claim 17 CN ‘174, Liautaud, Kim, and Sakurazawa teach the wearable device according to claim 13.
For the purposes of item matching this claim is treated as dependent on claim 14 modified in view of Sakurazawa.
CN ‘174 does not teach the claimed: wherein a sealing gasket is disposed between the rear housing and the second connecting member.
Sakurazawa teaches a sealing gasket is disposed between the rear housing and the second connecting member – paragraph 69.
Before the earliest effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure CN ‘174’s system to comprise: a sealing gasket is disposed between the rear housing and the second connecting member, as taught by Sakurazawa. The reason for doing so would have been to seal the case against environmental concerns including water, as taught by Sakurazawa
With regard to claim 18 CN ‘174, Liautaud, Kim, and Sakurazawa teach the wearable device according to claim 13.
For the purposes of item matching this claim is treated as dependent on claim 14 modified in view of Sakurazawa), wherein the first connecting member is a screw, and the second connecting member is a nut, or the first connecting member is a nut, and the second connecting member is a screw (figure 2 of Sakurazawa).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN KAYES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831