DETAILED ACTION
Response for Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4 and 9-17) in the reply filed on 08/04/2026 is acknowledged. Non-elected Group II (claims 5-6 and 21-23) and Group III (claims 7-8 and 24-26) withdrawn from consideration. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2023, 05/05/2025, and 09/05/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it should avoid using phases which can be implied, such as, “This disclosure concerns”, “The disclosure defined by this invention”, “This disclosure describes”, “is disclosed”, “are disclosed”, “the invention relates to” etc. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01 (b).
In this case, the present abstract filed on 11/27/2023, contains the term “is disclosed” that should avoid of using.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 9-11 and 12-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2-4 and 9-11: the limitation “An aerosol provision device” as cited in line 1, should be changed to --The aerosol provision device--.
In claim 2: “the aerosolization of an aerosol” as cited in line 3, should be changed to --an aerosolization of the aerosol--;
In claim 3: “the aerosolization of an aerosol” as cited in lines 3-4, should be changed to --an aerosolization of the aerosol--;
In claim 4:
“(i)”, “(ii)”, “(iii)”, and “(iv)” should be removed.
Limitation “control circuity” as cited in line 4, should be changed to --a control circuitry--.
In claim 12: the limitation “an aerosol provision device” as cited in line 2, should be changed to --the aerosol provision device--.
In claim 13:
The limitation “An aerosol provision system” as cited in line 1, should be changed to --The aerosol provision system--.
“(i)” and “(ii)” should be removed.
The terms “substantially” should be removed.
In claims 14-17: the limitation “An aerosol provision system” as cited in line 1, should be changed to --The aerosol provision device--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Mayle et al. (US 20180280637 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mayle discloses
An aerosol provision device (vaporizing device 10, fig.1) comprising a mouthpiece (mouthpiece 14, fig.1) having one or more variable chokes, one or more variable air inlet members or one or more valve members (flow restrictor 20, fig.1) [Par.0038 cited: “…flow restrictor 20 may include a one-way flow valve, such as a ball check valve (e.g., a spring-loaded ball check), a diaphragm check valve, a swing check valve, a stop-check valve, a lift-check valve, an in-line check valve, a duckbill valve, or the like…”].
Regarding claim 2, Mayle discloses
the one or more variable chokes, one or more variable air inlet members or one or more valve members (flow restrictor 20, fig.1) are arranged to vary a flow of air into the mouthpiece (mouthpiece 14, fig.1) so as to vary the aerosolisation of the aerosol (vaporizing device 10, fig.1) or the air to aerosol ratio of a mixture of air and aerosol passing to the mouthpiece (mouthpiece 14) [Par.0038 cited: “…flow restrictor 20 may include a one-way flow valve, such as a ball check valve (e.g., a spring-loaded ball check), a diaphragm check valve, a swing check valve, a stop-check valve, a lift-check valve, an in-line check valve, a duckbill valve, or the like…”].
Regarding claim 3, Mayle discloses
the one or more variable chokes, one or more variable air inlet members or one or more valve members (flow restrictor 20, fig.1) are arranged to vary a flow of aerosol away from the mouthpiece (mouthpiece 14, fig.1) so as to vary the aerosolisation of an aerosol (vaporizing device 10, fig.1) or the air to aerosol ratio of a mixture of air and aerosol passing to the mouthpiece (mouthpiece 14) [Par.0038 cited: “…flow restrictor 20 may include a one-way flow valve, such as a ball check valve (e.g., a spring-loaded ball check), a diaphragm check valve, a swing check valve, a stop-check valve, a lift-check valve, an in-line check valve, a duckbill valve, or the like…”].
Regarding claim 4, Mayle discloses
a control circuitry (controller 28, fig.1), wherein the control circuitry (controller 28) is arranged to selectively control the one or more variable chokes, one or more variable air inlet members or one or more valve members (flow restrictor 20, fig.1): in response to activation or deactivation of one or more heating elements; as a function of time; according to a predetermined timing profile; or according to one or more user determined settings [Par.0038 cited “…flow restrictor 20 may include a pressure sensor that opens the valve when suction pressure at the mouthpiece 14 is detected…”].
Regarding claim 9, Mayle discloses
a chamber (cartridge 22, fig.1) for receiving an aerosol generating article [Par.0040 cited: “…compartments of the cartridge 22 fill with vapor…”].
Regarding claim 10, Mayle discloses
the aerosol provision device (vaporizing device 10, fig.1) further comprises one or more heating elements (heater 78, fig.9).
Regarding claim 11, Mayle discloses
one or more aerosol generating regions (air in cartridge 22, fig.1) and wherein one or more or each aerosol generating region (air in cartridge 22) comprises at least one air supply hole (cartridge 22, fig.1, inherently has opening) in fluid communication with an external atmosphere.
Regarding claim 12, Mayle discloses
an aerosol provision system (vaporizing device 10, fig.1) comprising: an aerosol provision device (vaporizing device 10, fig.1); and an aerosol generating article (vapor, Par.0040) comprising portions of aerosol generating material (intended use).
Regarding claim 13, Mayle discloses
each portion of aerosol generating material (intended use) is substantially the same; or at least some of the portions of aerosol generating material (intended use) are substantially different.
Regarding claim 14, Mayle discloses
the aerosol generating article (vapor, Par.0040) comprises a substantially planar aerosol generating article (intended use).
Regarding claim 15, Mayle discloses
the planar aerosol generating article (vapor, Par.0040) comprises a plurality of aerosol generating regions (vapor, Par.0040).
Regarding claim 16, Mayle discloses
the aerosol generating article (vapor, Par.0040) is located, in use, adjacent a plurality of heating elements (heater 78, fig.9) [Par.0039 cited: “…housing 24 at least partially forms an annulus or void space around the cartridge 22 that enables vapor generated via heating of the API within the cartridge 22 to fill the housing 24 for later inhalation by a user…”].
Regarding claim 17, Mayle discloses
the aerosol generating article (vapor, Par.0040) is located, in use, so that one or more aerosol generating regions (air regions in the cartridge 22, fig.1) are located adjacent a heating element (heater 78, fig.9) [Par.0039 cited: “…housing 24 at least partially forms an annulus or void space around the cartridge 22 that enables vapor generated via heating of the API within the cartridge 22 to fill the housing 24 for later inhalation by a user…”], wherein the aerosol generating article is rotated or moved relative (vapor, Par.0040, can move or rotate) to the heating element (heater 78) so that one or more aerosol generating regions (air regions in the cartridge 22) are moved into proximity to the heating element (heater 78).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Novak (US 20200154788 A1) is considered as a relevant prior art in field of an aerosol, as shown in fig.2, with a mouthpiece, but does not explicitly disclose an air inlet…
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
08/23/2026