DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 14-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
6. These claims use the word “civility” but it appears that perhaps the word “severity” is intended based on the priority document. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Brown reference (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0080991).
9. Regarding claim 1, the Brown reference discloses:
an energy consumption prediction system (400) for vehicle (112-1), comprising:
a travel condition acquisition unit (402-1) that acquires a travel condition including information on a number of travels of a predetermined route traveled by a vehicle [Paragraph 0036—driver behavior data—number of travels being the number of travels between the
applying of brakes] and a wear condition of a tire mounted on the vehicle [Paragraph 0036—wear and tear of tires];
a road surface civility acquisition unit (402-2) that acquires road surface civility corresponding to energy consumption per travel distance of the vehicle for each of the routes [Paragraph 0027—road elevation, quality of road, and level of the road]; and
an energy consumption prediction unit (420) that predicts the energy consumption of the vehicle based on the travel conditions and the road surface civility [Paragraph 0039].
10. Regarding claim 4, the Brown reference further discloses:
wherein the travel condition includes information on a plurality of wear states of the tire [Paragraph 0036—wear and tear of tires—implies multiple states of wear].
11. Regarding claim 5, the Brown reference further discloses:
wherein the travel condition acquisition unit (402-1) sets a difference in the number of travels of each route within a predetermined range (any range can be considered predetermined).
12. Regarding claim 7, the Brown reference discloses: an energy consumption prediction program for vehicle causes an energy consumption prediction system (400) to execute:
a travel condition acquisition step (402-1) for acquiring a travel condition including information on a number of travels of a predetermined route traveled by a vehicle [Paragraph 0036—driver behavior data—number of travels being the number of travels between the
applying of brakes] and a wear condition of a tire mounted on the vehicle [Paragraph 0036—wear and tear of tires];
a road surface civility acquisition step (402-2) for acquiring road surface civility corresponding to energy consumption per travel distance of the vehicle for each of the routes [Paragraph 0027—road elevation, quality of road, and level of the road]; and
an energy consumption prediction step (420) for predicting the energy consumption of the vehicle based on the travel conditions and the road surface civility [Paragraph 0039].
13. Regarding claim 8, the Brown reference further discloses:
an energy consumption prediction method (400) for vehicle comprising:
a travel condition acquisition process (402-1) for acquiring a travel condition including information on a number of travels of a predetermined route traveled by a vehicle [Paragraph 0036—driver behavior data—number of travels being the number of travels between the
applying of brakes] and a wear condition of a tire mounted on the vehicle [Paragraph 0036—wear and tear of tires];
a road surface civility acquisition process (402-2) for acquiring road surface civility corresponding to energy consumption per travel distance of the vehicle for each of the routes [Paragraph 0027—road elevation, quality of road, and level of the road]; and
an energy consumption prediction process (420) for predicting the energy consumption of the vehicle based on the travel conditions and the road surface civility [Paragraph 0039].
14. Regarding claim 13, the Brown reference further discloses:
wherein the travel condition acquisition unit (402-1) sets a difference in the number of travels of each route within a predetermined range (any range can be considered predetermined).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claim(s) 2-3 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Brown reference.
17. Regarding claim 2, the Brown reference further discloses:
comprising a road surface civility correction unit (402-1) that corrects the road surface civility, wherein the road surface civility correction unit (402-1).
The Brown reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Brown reference fails to disclose corrects the road surface civility by using a road surface civility that differs depending on the wear state of the tire. This would be obvious to try. The road surface civility would either be the same or differs which is two identifiable finite predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the subject matter of claim 2 as obvious in light of the cited prior art.
18. Regarding claim 3, the Brown reference further discloses:
wherein the road surface civility correction unit (402-1) corrects the road surface civility different depending on a type of the tire input via a predetermined input means. This is an example of use of a known technique (correcting a value based on a derived second value) to improve similar devices (computer programs) in the same way (to modify calculations).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize claim 3 as obvious in light of the prior art.
19. Regarding claim 9, the Brown reference further discloses:
wherein the travel condition includes information on a plurality of wear states of the tire [Paragraph 0036—wear and tear of tires—implies multiple states of wear].
20. Regarding claim 10, the Brown reference further discloses:
wherein the travel condition includes information on a plurality of wear states of the tire [Paragraph 0036—wear and tear of tires—implies multiple states of wear].
21. Regarding claim 11, the Brown reference further discloses: wherein the travel condition acquisition unit (402-1) sets a difference in the number of travels of each route within a predetermined range (any range can be considered predetermined).
22. Regarding claim 12, the Brown reference further discloses:
wherein the travel condition acquisition unit (402-1) sets a difference in the number of travels of each route within a predetermined range (any range can be considered predetermined).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 14-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747