DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are pending:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2023, 12/05/2024 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16, 16, 16, 28, 17, 16, 22, 24, 23, 26, 27, 28 of copending Application No. 17/927,433 in view of Nakagome (JP 2015-076153).
Please see the comparison table below, the underlined recitations indicate limitations that are patentably different from the other claim set.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Application 18/564,294
Copending Application 17/927,433
Claim 1
Claim 16
A method for forming a busbar (1) having a contact element (20) comprising:
- providing a first conductive section (11) made from aluminum,
- providing a second conductive section (12) made from aluminum, wherein the second conductive section (12) is connected to the contact element (20), the contact element (20) being made from a material different from aluminum, and wherein the second conductive section (12) is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin,
- creating a laser welding bond, between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), by laser welding and
- creating a bond between the second conductive section and the contact element.
A method for forming a connection between a busbar (1) and a contact section (20) comprising:
providing a first conductive section (11) made from aluminum, the first conductive section (11) being a bare aluminum sheet,
providing a second conductive section (12) made from aluminum, wherein the second conductive section (12) includes the contact section (20) and wherein the second conductive section (12) is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin, wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are formed by flat bodies, extending in a main extension plane, and wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are arranged in a common plane, being parallel to the main extension plane, and
creating a laser welding bond (10), between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section(12), by laser welding, wherein the laser welding bond connects the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), which is covered by nickel and/or tin,
wherein the second conductive section (12) has a non-circular cross section in the main extension plane, wherein the first conductive section is flush with the surface of the second conductive section, the surfaces being arranged in the same plane, and wherein the first conductive section and the second conductive section have the same thickness measured in a direction perpendicular to the main extension plane.
Claim 2
Claim 16
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are formed by flat bodies, extending in a main extension plane, and wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are arranged in a common plane, being parallel to the main extension plane.
A method for forming a connection between a busbar (1) and a contact section (20) comprising:
providing a first conductive section (11) made from aluminum, the first conductive section (11) being a bare aluminum sheet,
providing a second conductive section (12) made from aluminum, wherein the second conductive section (12) includes the contact section (20) and wherein the second conductive section (12) is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin, wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are formed by flat bodies, extending in a main extension plane, and wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are arranged in a common plane, being parallel to the main extension plane, and
creating a laser welding bond (10), between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section(12), by laser welding, wherein the laser welding bond connects the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), which is covered by nickel and/or tin,
wherein the second conductive section (12) has a non-circular cross section in the main extension plane, wherein the first conductive section is flush with the surface of the second conductive section, the surfaces being arranged in the same plane, and wherein the first conductive section and the second conductive section have the same thickness measured in a direction perpendicular to the main extension plane.
Claim 4
Claim 16
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the first conductive section (11) is made from bare aluminum.
A method for forming a connection between a busbar (1) and a contact section (20) comprising:
providing a first conductive section (11) made from aluminum, the first conductive section (11) being a bare aluminum sheet,
providing a second conductive section (12) made from aluminum, wherein the second conductive section (12) includes the contact section (20) and wherein the second conductive section (12) is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin, wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are formed by flat bodies, extending in a main extension plane, and wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are arranged in a common plane, being parallel to the main extension plane, and
creating a laser welding bond (10), between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section(12), by laser welding, wherein the laser welding bond connects the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), which is covered by nickel and/or tin,
wherein the second conductive section (12) has a non-circular cross section in the main extension plane, wherein the first conductive section is flush with the surface of the second conductive section, the surfaces being arranged in the same plane, and wherein the first conductive section and the second conductive section have the same thickness measured in a direction perpendicular to the main extension plane.
Claim 5
Claim 28
The method according to claim 1, wherein the second conductive section (12) is fully covered with nickel and/or tin.
The method according to claim 16, wherein a nickel plating and/or a tin plating is provided to cover the second conductive section (12), wherein the nickel plating and/or the tin plating has a thickness between 1 [mu]m and 50 [mu]m.
Claim 6
Claim 17
The method according to claim 1, wherein in addition to the laser welding bond a form-fitting and/or frictional fitting is realized between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12).
The method according to claim 16, wherein in addition to the laser welding bond a form-fitting is realized between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12).
Claim 7
Claim 16
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the second conductive section and the contact element are assembled and/or connected to each other before establishing the laser welding seam.
A method for forming a connection between a busbar (1) and a contact section (20) comprising:
providing a first conductive section (11) made from aluminum, the first conductive section (11) being a bare aluminum sheet,
providing a second conductive section (12) made from aluminum, wherein the second conductive section (12) includes the contact section (20) and wherein the second conductive section (12) is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin, wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are formed by flat bodies, extending in a main extension plane, and wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are arranged in a common plane, being parallel to the main extension plane, and
creating a laser welding bond (10), between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section(12), by laser welding, wherein the laser welding bond connects the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), which is covered by nickel and/or tin,
wherein the second conductive section (12) has a non-circular cross section in the main extension plane, wherein the first conductive section is flush with the surface of the second conductive section, the surfaces being arranged in the same plane, and wherein the first conductive section and the second conductive section have the same thickness measured in a direction perpendicular to the main extension plane.
Claim 8
Claim 22
A method for forming a busbar (1) having a contact element (20) comprising:
- providing a first conductive section (11) made from aluminum,
- providing a second conductive section (12) made from aluminum, wherein the second conductive section (12) is connected to the contact element (20), the contact element (20) being made from a material different from aluminum, and wherein the second conductive section (12) is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin,
- creating a laser welding bond, between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), by laser welding and
- creating a bond between the second conductive section and the contact element.
The method according to claim 1, wherein
- a laser welding seam (10), is generated by directing a laser beam on a top surface of the first conductive section (11) and optionally by directing another laser beam on a bottom surface of the first conductive section (12) or
- several laser welding seams (10) are generated by directing a laser beam on the top surface of the first conductive section (11) and by directing another laser beam on a bottom surface of the first conductive section (11).
A method for forming a connection between a busbar (1) and a contact section (20) comprising:
providing a first conductive section (11) made from aluminum, the first conductive section (11) being a bare aluminum sheet,
providing a second conductive section (12) made from aluminum, wherein the second conductive section (12) includes the contact section (20) or is connected to the contact section (20) and wherein the second conductive section (12) is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin, wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are formed by flat bodies, extending in a main extension plane, and wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are arranged in a common plane, being parallel to the main extension plane, and
creating a laser welding bond (10), between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), by laser welding, wherein the laser welding bond connects the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), which is covered by nickel and/or tin,
wherein the second conductive section (12) has a non-circular cross section in the main extension plane,
wherein the laser welding bond (10) is a laser welding seam, and
wherein the laser welding seam (10) is a single laser welding seam (10) generated by directing a laser beam on a top surface of the first conductive section (11) and by directing another laser beam on a bottom surface of the first conductive section (12).
Claim 9
Claim 24
The method according to claim 1, wherein the contact element (20) includes an opening (21).
The method according to claim 16, wherein the contact section (20) includes an opening (21).
Claim 10
Claim 23
The method according to claim 1, wherein the laser welding bond (10) is spaced from the contact element (20).
The method according to claim 20, wherein the laser welding bond (10) is spaced from the contact section (20).
Claim 11
Claim 26
The method according to claim 1, wherein the second conductive section (12) is inserted into a recess of the first conductive section (11).
The method according to claim 16, wherein the second conductive section (12) is inserted into a recess of the first conductive section (11).
Claim 12
Claim 27
The method according to claim 1, wherein the second conductive (12) layer is arranged adjacent to the first conductive section (11).
The method according to claim 16, wherein the second conductive section (12) is adjacent to the first conductive section (11).
Claim 13
Claim 28
The method according to claim 1, wherein a nickel plating and/or a tin plating is provided to cover the second conductive section (12) , wherein the nickel plating and/or the tin plating has a thickness between 1 [mu]m and 50 [mu]m.
The method according to claim 16, wherein a nickel plating and/or a tin plating is provided to cover the second conductive section (12), wherein the nickel plating and/or the tin plating has a thickness between 1 [mu]m and 50 [mu]m.
Instant Claim 1
Copending Claim 16 requires that “the second conductive section includes the contact section” which means that the second conductive section and the contact section are integrally formed, which anticipates a “bond” requirement of Instant claim 1.
Copending claim 16 anticipates all the limitations of Instant Claim 1, except “the contact element being made from a material different from aluminum”
Nakagome teaches (best seen Fig1/3) that it is known in the art that selecting the same or different materials, between at least copper and aluminum, for terminal members 13/12/14/17/22 relative to the rod conductors 11/12/26/21/etc are known in the art alternative selections. Where the rod conductors correspond to the contact element, and the terminal members correspond to at least the second conductive section.
SpecQuotes:
“The terminal members 13 and 14 are preferably formed using a conductive material such as copper or aluminum.”
The rod-shaped branched conductor and the rod-shaped conductor may be the same metal (for example, copper and aluminum), or may be made of different metals (for example, copper and aluminum, copper and stainless steel). When the rod-shaped branch conductor is made of a metal different from the rod-shaped conductor, it is possible to branch a current that matches the load capacity of the electronic component or the electric component. In addition, it can be used in accordance with corrosion resistance, strength, and weight (weight reduction).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select a material for the contact element of Copending Claim 16, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a selection, and Nakagome teaches that it is a known in the art material selection to choose copper for the contact element, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing Copending Claim 16 with a working and known in the art material selection of copper for the contact element as taught by Nakagome, and copper is a different material than aluminum.
Instant Claim 6
Limitation is “or separated”
Instant Claim 7
Copending Claim 16 requires that “the second conductive section includes the contact section” which means that the second conductive section and the contact section are integrally formed, which anticipates the “assembled and/or connected to each other before” requirement of Instant claim 1.
Instant Claim 8
Copending claim 22 anticipates all the limitations of Instant Claim 1, except “the contact element being made from a material different from aluminum”
Nakagome teaches (best seen Fig1/3) that it is known in the art that selecting the same or different materials, between at least copper and aluminum, for terminal members 13/12/14/17/22 relative to the rod conductors 11/12/26/21/etc are known in the art alternative selections. Where the rod conductors correspond to the contact element, and the terminal members correspond to at least the second conductive section.
SpecQuotes:
“The terminal members 13 and 14 are preferably formed using a conductive material such as copper or aluminum.”
The rod-shaped branched conductor and the rod-shaped conductor may be the same metal (for example, copper and aluminum), or may be made of different metals (for example, copper and aluminum, copper and stainless steel). When the rod-shaped branch conductor is made of a metal different from the rod-shaped conductor, it is possible to branch a current that matches the load capacity of the electronic component or the electric component. In addition, it can be used in accordance with corrosion resistance, strength, and weight (weight reduction).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select a material for the contact element of Copending Claim 22, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a selection, and Nakagome teaches that it is a known in the art material selection to choose copper for the contact element, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing Copending Claim 22 with a working and known in the art material selection of copper for the contact element as taught by Nakagome, and copper is a different material than aluminum.
Claim 8 Limitation is “or separated”
Claim 14, 15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 29, 30 of copending Application No. 17/937,433 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please see comparison table below, the underlined limitations indicate recitations that do not patentably correspond to the other claim set. Please see corresponding discussion below the comparison table for additional details of the claim interpretation/correspondence.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/564,294
Copending Application 17/927,433
Claim 14
Claim 29
“A busbar (1) having a contact element (20), comprising
- a first conductive section (11) made from aluminum,
- a second conductive section (12) made from aluminum, wherein the second conductive section (12) is connected to the contact element (20) and wherein the second conductive section (12) is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin, and
- a laser welding bond (10) connecting the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) and
- a bond, between the second conductive section (12) and the contact element.
A busbar (1) having a contact section (20), comprising
a first conductive section (11) comprising aluminum, the first conductive section (11) being a bare aluminum sheet,
a second conductive section (12) comprising aluminum, wherein the second conductive section (12) includes the contact section (20) or is connected to the contact section (20), wherein the second conductive section (12) is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin,
wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are formed by flat bodies, extending in a main extension plane, and wherein the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12) are arranged in a common plane, being parallel to the main extension plane and
a laser welding bond (10) connecting the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), wherein the laser bond connects the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), which is covered by nickel and/or tin, and
wherein the second conductive section (12) has a non-circular cross section in the main extension plane, wherein the first conductive section is flush with the surface of the second con- ductive section, the surfaces being arranged in the same plane, and wherein the first conductive section and the second conductive section have the same thickness measured in a direction per- pendicular to the main extension plane.
Claim 15
Claim 30
A power distribution system having a busbar (1) according to claim 14.
A power distribution system having a busbar (1) according to claim 29.
Instant Claim 14
Copending Claim 29 requires that “the second conductive section includes the contact section” which means that the second conductive section and the contact section are integrally formed, which anticipates a “bond” requirement of Instant claim 14.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Hand written reference characters are not clear due to inconsistent font. See Rule 11.13(e)(f)(h)(m)
Fig all
Reference characters missing in drawings
HSE – main extension plane, first recited on page 15
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 3 “wherein the second conductive section (12) has a non-symmetrical, cross section in the main extension plane” each interface between first section 11 and second section 12 in the region indicated by reference character 10 is symmetrical about an axis that extends left-right as shown in Fig1/5/6
Claim Interpretation - Language
Language and/or terms in the claims are interpreted as follows:
Terms within parentheses in claim do not limit claim scope, please see MPEP 608.01(m.)
“and/or” will be read as “or” unless otherwise indicated
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12
L2 amend “second conductive portion [[layer]]” to improve clarity by using more consistent antecedent terms relative to those provided in claim 1
Claim 13
L3, remove extra space between “(12)” and the comma
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3, 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3
L2-3 “the main extension plane” lacks antecedent basis which renders the claim indefinite as the claim contains no earlier recitation or limitation of the cited limitation and where it would be unclear as to what element the limitation was making reference. See MPEP 2173.05(e).
The office notes that Claim 3 does not depend upon claim 2.
Claim 8
L5-9 “and optionally …” renders the claim indefinite, as the metes and bounds of the claim are unknown, as it is unknown if the corresponding recitations are or are not required by the claim language.
For the purpose of applying art, the instant term will be read as an “or separation” or not required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dewulf (US 10,090,491)
Claim 1
Dewulf discloses:
“A method for forming a busbar (overall arrangement) having a contact element (Fig12, copper bar 10/11/12) comprising:
- providing a first conductive section (best seen Fig4a, cover 9) made from aluminum (C8L32-34),
- providing a second conductive section (best seen Fig4a, positive terminal 40) made from aluminum (C8L35-40), wherein the second conductive section is connected to the contact element (C5L26-33, C10L32-39, Fig12, copper bar 10/11/12 are screwed into each positive terminal 40), the contact element being made from a material different from aluminum (C10L32-39, bar 10/11/12 are made of copper), and wherein the second conductive section is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin (C5L7-9; Claim 7, terminals 40 are covered in a layer of nickel),
- creating a laser welding bond (best seen Fig4B/5, laser weld line L.sub.S), between the first conductive section (11) and the second conductive section (12), by laser welding (Fig4a, C8L53-58, periphery of base 41 of terminal 40 is laser welded to cover 9) and
- creating a bond between the second conductive section and the contact element (C5L26-33, C10L32-39, Fig12, copper bar 10/11/12 are screwed into each positive terminal – a screwed connection is a type of ‘bond’).”
Claim 2
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein the first conductive section (cover 9) and the second conductive section (terminal 40) are formed by flat bodies (best seen Fig4A, cover 9 and terminal 40 have flat/parallel top/bottom surfaces and are wider than they are tall), extending in a main extension plane (Fig4A, cover 9 and terminal 40 are three dimensional components and therefore have an extension in any given coordinate plane/direction), and wherein the first conductive section and the second conductive section are arranged in a common plane (best seen Fig4A, common planes at horizontal/vertical contact planes between cover 9 and terminal 40 due to central recessed step locating groove), being parallel to the main extension plane (best seen Fig4A, common planes at horizontal/vertical contact planes between cover 9 and terminal 40 are each parallel to either the horizontal or vertical direction/plane of Fig4A).”
Claim 3
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein the second conductive section (terminal 40) has a non-symmetrical, cross section in the main extension plane (see cross-section of terminal 40 in Fig4A, terminal 40 cross-section is non-symmetrical vertically due to flared base 41 at the bottom of terminal 40 that is not repeated at the top of terminal 40).”
Claim 4
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein the first conductive section (cover 9) is made from bare aluminum (C8L32-34).”
Claim 5
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein the second conductive section (terminal 40) is fully covered with nickel and/or tin (C5L7-9; Claim 7, terminals 40 are covered in a layer of nickel).”
Claim 6
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein in addition to the laser welding bond (laser weld line L.sub.S) a form-fitting and/or frictional fitting is realized between the first conductive section and the second conductive section (best seen Fig4A, fitting along between cover 9 and terminal 40 due to central recessed step locating groove).”
Claim 8
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein - a laser welding seam (best seen Fig4B/5, laser weld line L.sub.S), is generated by directing a laser beam on a top surface of the first conductive section (Fig4a, C8L53-58, periphery of base 41 of terminal 40 is laser welded to top surface of cover 9) and optionally …”
Claim 9
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein the contact element (terminal 40) includes an opening (Fig4A/12, central opening for screw of bar 10/11/12).”
Claim 10
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein the laser welding bond (best seen Fig4B/5, laser weld line L.sub.S) is spaced from the contact element (Fig4/5/12, weld line L.sub.S is not in direct contact with bar 10/11/12).”
Claim 11
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein the second conductive section (terminal 40) is inserted into a recess of the first conductive section (best seen Fig4A, terminal 40 inserted into cover 9 via central recessed step locating groove).”
Claim 12
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein the second conductive layer (terminal 40) is arranged adjacent to the first conductive section (Fig4A, terminal 40 is adjacent to cover 9).”
Claim 13
Dewulf discloses: “The method according to claim 1, wherein a nickel plating and/or a tin plating is provided to cover the second conductive section (C5L7-9; Claim 7, terminals 40 are covered in a layer of nickel), wherein the nickel plating and/or the tin plating has a thickness between 1 [mu]m and 50 [mu]m (Claim 8, coating thickness of 2-20 microns, C5L7-14).”
Claim 14
Dewulf discloses:
“A busbar (overall arrangement) having a contact element (Fig12, copper bar 10/11/12), comprising
- a first conductive section (best seen Fig4a, cover 9) made from aluminum (C8L32-34),
- a second conductive section (best seen Fig4a, positive terminal 40) made from aluminum (C8L35-40), wherein the second conductive section is connected to the contact element (C5L26-33, C10L32-39, Fig12, copper bar 10/11/12 are screwed into each positive terminal 40) and wherein the second conductive section is at least partially covered with nickel and/or tin (C5L7-9; Claim 7, terminals 40 are covered in a layer of nickel), and
- a laser welding bond (best seen Fig4B/5, laser weld line L.sub.S) connecting the first conductive section and the second conductive section (Fig4a, C8L53-58, periphery of base 41 of terminal 40 is laser welded to cover 9) and
- a bond, between the second conductive section and the contact element (C5L26-33, C10L32-39, Fig12, copper bar 10/11/12 are screwed into each positive terminal – a screwed connection is a type of ‘bond’).”
Claim 15
Dewulf discloses: “A power distribution system (Fig12, battery pack arrangement) having a busbar according to claim 14 (see claim 14).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dewulf (US 10,090,491).
Claim 7
Dewulf discloses the arrangement/method of claim 1.
Dewulf is silent to a particular assembly order between screwing bars 10/11/12 to terminal 40 and welding terminal 40 to cover 9.
Dewulf implies that the welding step occurs first, however this is not explicitly required by Dewulf.
MPEP 2144.04.IV.C teaches that the “selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement/method of Dewulf to perform the screw mounting step between bars 10/11/12 and terminal 40 prior to performing the laser welding step between cover 9 and terminal 40, as the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results, and there is an absence of new/unexpected results in welding after screw assembly as opposed to the reverse, and the resulting arrangement/process has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement/method of Dewulf with the same final product with any order to assembly including welding second.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
GB 382,795 to Gray: Fig2, similar bus bar connector arrangement
EP 3 206 258 to Gronwald: Fig1-9, many various electrical connectors with sold and welds in a similar manner as applicant
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761