DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 47 and 56 are objected to because of the following informalities:
MSGB is being used for the first time in the claim set. It should be expanded at least once when first used in the claim set.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41-43, 46-52 and 55-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (USPN 12,082,235).
Regarding claim 41, Chen teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor [Fig. 26, 2626]; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus as a user equipment to perform: selecting a random access resource from a second group of random access resources [Col. 11, lines 6-25, selects random access resources]; and performing a random access procedure on the selected random access resource, wherein the second group of random access resources is different from a first group of random access resources, and the first group of random access resources is associated with an event triggering the random access procedure and/or a type of the user equipment [Col. 11, lines 26-59, performs random access procedure which is not dependent on type of UE or is not event trigger based but is through common random access resources].
Regarding claims 42 and 51, Chen teaches the random access resource is selected by the user equipment after a previous random access procedure or a previous random access attempt fails [Col. 11, lines 26-59, performs random access procedure after previous random access procedure].
Regarding claims 43 and 52, Chen teaches at least one random access resource of the second group of random access resources is associated with another event triggering a random access procedure and/or another type of a user equipment [Col. 11, lines 26-59, random access resources are associated with multiple event triggers].
Regarding claims 46 and 55, Chen teaches the second group of random access resources is configured by a network apparatus via a dedicated and/or broadcast signaling [Col. 11, lines 6-25, the base station configures random access resources via dedicated signaling].
Regarding claims 47 and 56, Chen teaches the second group of random access resources is indicated in a random access response or MSGB in the previous random access procedure or the previous random access attempt [Col. 11, lines 6-59, random access resources are indicated in a random access attempt].
Regarding claims 48 and 57, Chen teaches a common random access resource [Col. 11, lines 26-59, perform random access via common random access resource].
Regarding claims 49 and 58, Chen teaches transmitting/receiving information indicating the event triggering the random access procedure and/or the type of the user equipment [Col. 11, lines 26-59, information regarding which event caused random access procedure is transmitted].
Regarding claim 50, Chen teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor [Fig. 26, 2626]; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform: processing a random access procedure performed by a user equipment on a random access resource, wherein the random access resource is selected by the user equipment from a second group of random access resources [Col. 11, lines 6-25, selects random access resources], and wherein the second group of random access resources is different from a first group of random access resources, and the first group of random access resources is associated with an event triggering the random access procedure and/or a type of the user equipment [Col. 11, lines 26-59, performs random access procedure which is not dependent on type of UE or is not event trigger based but is through common random access resources].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 44, 45, 53 and 54 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin et al. (USPN 11,265,920) teaches receiving information indicating semi persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration information from a base station. The support information is generated based on the received control information. The generated support information is transmitted to the base station.
Tsai (USPN 11,229,055) teaches receiving a request from a base station to initiate a random access procedure in a connected state. A first bandwidth portion is determined that is active contains any random access resource that is available. A second bandwidth portion is switched that contains one or more random access resources that are available.
Liu et al. (USPN 10,966,255) teaches satisfying a pre-set condition of link exception at a current moment, where the current moment is located within a pre-configured time window. An access resource is chosen from access resources as a target access resource by a terminal device, where the access resources are effective for the terminal device in the time window.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464