DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/24/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 and 12-20 in the reply filed on 8/24/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/3/25 has been considered except for NPL documents 83, 84, and 85, that are lined through.
NPL documents 83, 84, and 85 do not have English translations and do not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. Per MPEP 2111.03 ‘The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps'. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 13, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0101177 A1 to Nandwana et al. (hereinafter Nandwana).
Regarding claim 1, Nandwana discloses a ferrite particle having a spinel crystal structure represented by the formula:
MgxMn1-xFe2O4 where x=0.1 to 0.9 (para [0020]),
which inherently belongs to a space group Fd-3m. See evidentiary reference, US 10,766,787 B1 to Sunkara et al., col 8, ln 57-60.
The Nandwana formula overlaps instantly claimed formula (1):
(Fe3+u,Mn2+v,Mg2+w) (Mn3+x,Fe2+y,Fe3+z) 2O4 (1)
wherein
u + v +w =1
x + y + z =1
0.870 ≤ v < 1.000
0.001 ≤ w < 0.070
0.000 ≤ x ≤ 0.075.
In instantly claimed formula (1), when u=x=z=0, formula (1) is
(Mn2+v,Mg2+w)(Fe2+y)2O4
where v+w=1, y=1, 0.870 ≤ v < 1, and 0.001 ≤ w < 0.070. The formulas overlap. See MPEP 2144.05(I), which states that ‘In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists’.
Regarding claim 2, Nandwana discloses the ferrite particle according to claim 1, wherein Mgx is x=0.1 to 0.9 (para [0020]), which overlaps the instantly claimed “w” (Mg2+w) range of 0.003 ≤ w ≤ 0.060. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Nandwana discloses the ferrite particle according to claims 1 and 2, respectively. The reference is silent regarding porosity, particularly wherein the particle has an internal porosity is 4.0% or less. As discussed above, the ferrite particles overlap. See MPEP 2112.01(I), which states that ‘Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established…"When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not."…Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product’. The ferrite particles overlap, comprising overlapping structures and compositions. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the Nandwana particles to have overlapping properties, including but not limited to internal porosity, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 5, 15, and 17, Nandwana discloses the ferrite particle according to claims 1, 2, and 4, respectively. The reference further discloses examples of doped Mn-ferrites with saturation magnetization ranging from 86 Am²/kg (emu/g) to 95 Am²/kg (para [0039]). The examples of para [0039]) do not expressly recite Mg doped Mn-ferrites or that saturation magnetization obtained.by B-H measurement at a time of applying a magnetic field of 3K.1000/4π A/m is 70 Am²/kg or more and 90 Am²/kg or less. However, Nandwana does teach that the saturation magnetization is dependent upon particle size, composition (para [0039]) and the magnetic field applied (para [0014]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to expect the Nandwana doped Mn-ferrites to have overlapping properties, including but not limited to saturation magnetization, when measured under the same conditions. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claims 6, 18, and 20, Nandwana discloses the ferrite particle according to claims 1, 2, and 4, respectively. The reference is silent regarding density, particularly wherein the particle has an apparent density of 2.10 g/cm³ or more and 2.40 g/cm³ or less. As discussed above, the overlapping ferrite particles comprise overlapping structures and compositions. Therefore, per MPEP 2112.01(I) cited above, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the Nandwana particles to have overlapping properties, including but not limited to apparent density, absent evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 4-6 of U.S. Patent No.12386281 B2 (hereinafter 281). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping ferrite particles having a spinel structure and an overlapping formula comprising overlapping amounts of Mn and Mg (instant claims 1 and 2 and 281 claims 1, 5, and 6). Both also teach an overlapping amount of Sr in the particles (instant claims 3 and 12 and 281 claims 1 and 2 ). The 281 claims do not teach internal porosity. This suggests that the 281 ferrite particles do not contain internal porosity. No (0%) porosity falls within the instantly claimed range of 4.0% or less, as set forth in instant claims 4, 13, and 14. 281 claim 4 recites the ferrite particles having a saturation magnetization of 55 Am2/kg (emu/g) to 65 Am2/kg (emu/g) when a magnetic field of 1K.1000/4π A/m is applied. The claim does not expressly recite the instantly claimed range of 70 Am2/kg to 90 Am2/kg when a magnetic field of 3K.1000/4π A/m is applied, as set forth in instant claims 5 and 15-17. However, as discussed above, the ferrite particles overlap. Therefore, per MPEP 2112.01(I) cited above, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the 281 ferrite particles to have an overlapping saturation magnetization when the same (1K.1000/4π A/m) magnetic field is applied, absent evidence to the contrary. The 281 claims are silent regarding apparent density as set forth in instant claims 6 and 18-20 . However, as discussed above, the ferrite particles overlap. Therefore, per MPEP 2112.01(I) cited above, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the 281 ferrite particles to have overlapping apparent density, absent evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2144.05(I) cited above.
Claims 1-6 and 12-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-5 of copending Application No. 18/564577 (hereinafter 577). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping ferrite particles having a spinel structure and an overlapping formula comprising overlapping amounts of Mn and Mg (instant claims 1 and 2 and 577 claim 1). Both also teach an overlapping amount of Sr in the particles (instant claims 3 and 12 and 577 claim 3). The 577 claims do not teach internal porosity. This suggests that the 577 ferrite particles do not contain internal porosity. No (0%) porosity falls within the instantly claimed range of 4.0% or less, as set forth in instant claims 4, 13, and 14. Both teach the ferrite particles having an overlapping saturation magnetization (instant claims 5 and 15-17 and 577 claim 4). 577 claim 5 teaches an apparent density that falls completely within the claimed range set forth in instant claims 6 and 18-20). See MPEP 2144.05(I) cited above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/L.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734