DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-20, it is not clear what is meant by “a first relation characterizes a depth of carburized portion in dependence of time and further in dependence of a growth parameter”. Further, it is not clear if the “referenced carburized portion values” are referring to the “first relation” or something else.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) numerous “determining” steps as well as “a first relation characterizes a depth of carburized portion in dependence of time and further in dependence of a growth parameter”. It is unclear what the “determining steps” or “relation” comprise, but it appears that the “determining” and “relation” involve mathematical calculations. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no steps are performed after the “determining” or “relation” that would integrate the “determining” or “relation” into the process. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the determining does not contribute any steps over the prior art elements. Polizzotti (US 4,379,745) – teaches a steam cracking furnace for treatment of a carbon containing gas where carburization occurs (column 1, lines 1-40). Eliasson (EP 0049951) - teaches steam cracking of carbon containing gas at high temperatures results in carburization (page 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliasson (EP 0049951) as evidenced by Polizzotti (US 4,379,745).
Regarding claims 1-11 and 15-20, Eliasson teaches steam cracking hydrocarbon (carbon containing gas) feeds to produce ethylene in a furnace (page 1). Eliasson teaches that the high temperatures used for steam cracking result in a significant degree of carburization which weakens the tube and can result in holes or cracks forming in the furnace tube (page 1).
Examiner notes that carburization is the formation of carbides. This is evidenced by Polizzotti. Polizzotti teaches carburization of steam cracking tubes is the formation of carbides inside the furnace tubes (column 1, lines 20-35). Polizzotti teaches a method for protecting tubes against carburization (column 1).
Eliasson teaches a method for providing a model to determine, assess and control the depth of carburization at various locations in the furnace in response to temperature changes (pages 11-14 and 17-19).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliasson (EP 0049951) as evidenced by Polizzotti (US 4,379,745), and further evidenced by Iliyas (US 2017/0101586).
Regarding claims 12-14, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Examiner further notes that it is well known in the art to implement computer programs in order to control processes in the art. This is evidenced by Iliyas.
Iliyas teaches using a computer program, a computer readable storage medium, etc to perform the steps [0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the well known computer programs of the prior art, to optimize the process of the previous combination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s arguments to be:
Applicants know of no basis for why the order of the practical integration needs to occur aft the abstract idea and further why the rejection does not consider the integration of the carburization model of the coil directly into the real world steps of providing the carbon gas and carburizing a portion of a wall to be a practical integration.
Iliyas does not focus on carburization, but coking.
Regarding Applicant’s first argument¸ Examiner notes that the claims are not integrated into a practical application, as discussed in the 101 rejections. Examiner has further consulted with 101 QAS Amber Orlando and it was confirmed that measuring steps and data gathering are insignificant extra solution activities.
Regarding Applicant’s second argument, Examiner notes that coking would result in carburization. Further, the rejections have been updated in response to amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reed (US 4,404,087) – teaches steam cracking with antifoulants to reduce coking and carburization
Iliyas (US 2017/0101586) – previously relied upon, Iliyas teaches a process for steam cracking ethane, propane, naphtha feedstocks [0042]. Iliyas teaches determining the coking inside the furnace tubes using a coking (carburization) model so that the furnace may be adjusted in response to the coking rate [0040]. Iliyas teaches that temperature and pressure are impacted by the coking [0040]. Iliyas teaches using sensors to measure and obtain data [0049], Iliyas teaches a model to calculate the coking rate [0052-0058], and adjusting operating of the furnace in response [0059-0060].
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771