DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 11 December 2025 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-20, it is not clear what is meant by “a first relation characterizes a depth of carburized portion in dependence of time and further in dependence of a growth parameter”. Further, it is not clear if the “referenced carburized portion values” are referring to the “first relation” or something else.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) numerous “determining” steps as well as “a first relation characterizes a depth of carburized portion in dependence of time and further in dependence of a growth parameter”. It is unclear what the “determining steps” or “relation” comprise, but it appears that the “determining” and “relation” involve mathematical calculations. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no steps are performed after the “determining” or “relation” that would integrate the “determining” or “relation” into the process. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the determining does not contribute any steps over the prior art elements. Iliyas (US 2017/0101586) – teaches a steam cracking furnace where coking (carburization) is determined, and utilized to adjust the steam cracking furnace operation [0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iliyas (US 2017/0101586).
Regarding claims 1-11 and 15-20, Iliyas teaches a process for steam cracking ethane, propane, naphtha feedstocks [0042]. Iliyas teaches determining the coking inside the furnace tubes using a coking (carburization) model so that the furnace may be adjusted in response to the coking rate [0040]. Iliyas teaches that temperature and pressure are impacted by the coking [0040]. Iliyas teaches using sensors to measure and obtain data [0049], Iliyas teaches a model to calculate the coking rate [0052-0058], and adjusting operating of the furnace in response [0059-0060].
Examiner notes that due to the 112 issues discussed above, it is unclear what exactly the claims cover, and if they entail further limitations.
However, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have applied appropriate modeling techniques and optimization, as disclosed by Iliyas, in order to appropriately determining the coking behavior of the steam cracking process, so appropriate adjustments may be performed, in order to obtain the desired products and yields. It is further expected that the same or similar results would be achieved, since Iliyas teaches the same steam cracking of methane/ethane as claimed.
Regarding claims 12-14, Iliyas teaches using a computer program, a computer readable storage medium, etc to perform the steps [0036].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s arguments to be:
The claims have been amended to “measuring” instead of determining.
Carburization differs from coking.
Regarding Applicant’s first argument¸ Examiner notes that the amended claims still comprise “determining” steps. Further, the claim language regarding “a first relation characterizes a depth of carburized portion in dependence of time and further in dependence of a growth parameter” appears to be a calculation step.
Regarding Applicant’s second argument, Examiner notes that coking would result in carburization. Further, Iliyas teaches steam cracking of methane (carbon containing gas), which would result in the same carburization as claimed. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the claim language in this regard.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771