DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The latest filed amendment on 11/26/2025 referring to “two upper roller and a single lower roller facing both of the upper rollers” has no sufficient support in the filed specification. No where in the originally filed specification is supporting such amendments.
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The amended claim 1 referring to “two upper roller and a single lower roller facing both of the upper rollers”, is vague and confuse as it is not clear how or in which orientations the upper rollers and single lower roller will be facing each other’s!
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed “two upper roller and a single lower roller facing both of the upper rollers” must be shown in a clear manner or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
The filed drawings of Fig. 2 show multiple rollers facing each other’s, but not clear if there is any showing “two upper roller and a single lower roller facing both of the upper rollers”.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urso (U.S. Patent No. 4,650,448) in view of Nakamura (JP-2019-099369) and further in view of Stolkin et al. (U.S. Pat. No. Re. 29,442)
Regarding claim 1: Urso discloses a folding apparatus comprising:
a conveying device including an upper roller and a lower roller facing the upper roller, the upper roller and the lower roller holding and conveying a sheet placed between the upper roller and the lower roller, see for example (Figs. 9-10; via upper roller 322 and lower roller 270/272 to convey sheet 362); and
a folding device that folds the sheet conveyed by the conveying device (Figs. 9, 17, and 18; via the folding mechanisms 340, 332, 334), wherein the folding device includes:
a holding part that holds the sheet on a conveying path (Figs. 17-18; via vacuum surface of 270/272 holding the sheet); and
an approximating part that approximates a folding piece of the sheet to a position opposite a held piece of the sheet held by the holding part (Fig. 9; via 330 mechanism) and/or Fig. 15; via side conveyor/support 232), and
the conveying device includes a retreating part that retreats the roller from the conveying path when the sheet is folded by the folding device, see for example (Figs. 9-10; via 322);
the lower roller has a length in a width direction longer than a length of the upper roller in the width direction perpendicular to a conveyance direction of the conveying device, see for example (Figs. 9-10; via the lower roller 270/272 having width longer than the upper roller 322).
Urso does not suggest a retreating part includes a moving part that moves an axis rotatably supporting the upper roller toward an outside of the conveying path by swinging the axis with a swinging shaft as a pivoting center, rather using a vertical moving mechanism to move the roller up/down. However, Nakamura discloses similar apparatus with the use of swinging mechanism of a conveying rollers, see for example (Figs. 4 & 11; via swinging mechanism 90 to swing rollers 43a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Urso’s moving part to be a swinging part, instead of moving in linear vertical direction only, as suggested by Nakamura, as a matter of design choice to be made, in order to save vertical space and/or simplify the movements mechanism of the moving part.
Urso in view of Nakamura do not disclose the amended claims filed on 11/26/2025 referring to “two upper roller and a single lower roller facing both of the upper rollers” along a conveyance path along which the sheet is conveyed. However, Stolkin discloses similar folding/conveying apparatus using two upper roller and a single lower roller facing both of the upper rollers, see for example (Figs. 1-2; via upper rollers 34 in the middle section are facing lower single roller 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Urso in view of Nakamura’s rollers mechanism to have two upper rollers facing a single lower roller, as suggested by Stolkin, as a matter of design choice to be made, in order to provide improved conveying mechanism to the sheet and minimize installation efforts/coast and to be operated at low cost (column 1, lines 50-60).
Regarding claim 2: Urso discloses that in the approximating part includes a rotating part that rotates the folding piece toward the held piece centering a crease formed on the sheet as a rotation center, see for example (Fig. 9; via the rotating part 334).
Regarding claim 3: Urso disclose that the sheet has a longitudinal crease along a conveyance direction of the conveying device and a transverse crease along a width direction perpendicular to the conveyance direction (Fig. 11; via stack of blanks 20 shows crease lines in the X and Y directions), and the folding device folds the sheet at the longitudinal crease or at the transverse crease (Figs. 9 & 17-18 the shown folding mechanism to fold the flaps of blank 20).
Regarding claim 6: Nakamura discloses that the swinging shaft extends along the conveyance direction (Figs. 5 & 11; via the shown swinging shaft extending across wise along the conveyance direction, which is holding rollers 43a).
Regarding claim 7: Nakamura discloses that the retreating part moves the rollers from a conveyance position at which a rotating shaft of the roller is along the width direction perpendicular to the conveyance direction of the conveying device to a retreat position at which the rotating shaft is in a direction that intersects with the width direction, see for example (Figs. 5 & 11; via the swinging shaft of the retreating part position rollers 43 either perpendicular to the conveyance direction and/or along the conveyance direction).
Regarding claim 8: Nakamura discloses that the rotating shaft is along an up-down direction at the retreat position, see for example (Figs. 5 & 11; via the swinging shaft with rollers 43).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection adjusted to address the newly added claims limitations.
The Office as set forth above believes that the amended and argued upon issue of having two upper rollers fully facing a single lower roller is something old and known in the art, and clearly suggested by Stolkin ’442 (Figs. 1-2; via upper two rollers 34 facing a single lower roller 40, at least at the middle section).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, the cited arts in the PTO-892 related to the same type of the claimed folding apparatus comprising; a conveying device, a folding device that folds the sheet conveyed by the conveying device, and/or a holding mechanism to hold and secure the conveyed articles to the conveyor.
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731