DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 02/19/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1,3-5 are amended.
Claims 2-3 are cancelled.
Claims 1,4-6 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 02/19/2026 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang to (US20210144722) in view of Xiong to (US 20240163894 A1)
Regarding claim 1,4,Yang teaches a terminal comprising([0414] The terminal device 600 shown in FIG. 6 includes: at least one processor 601, a memory 602, at least one network interface 604, and a user interface 603) a processor that performs control to apply different modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) to a plurality of layers; ([0137] The terminal device may determine the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information used by different MCSs corresponding to the PUSCH according to the association relationship, and then the terminal device uses the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information and different MCSs to transmit the PUSCH) and a transmitter that applies the different MCSs to transmit uplink shared channels of the plurality of layers([0137] The terminal device may determine the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information used by different MCSs corresponding to the PUSCH according to the association relationship, and then the terminal device uses the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information and different MCSs to transmit the PUSCH. [0144] a terminal device simultaneously uses the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information to: transmit different PUSCHs, transmit different TBs in the same PUSCH, transmit a PUSCH on different layers corresponding to the same PUSCH, transmit a PUSCH on different antenna ports corresponding to the same PUSCH, transmit a PUSCH on different resource allocations corresponding to the PUSCH, transmit a PUSCH by using different MCSs, transmit a PUSCH by using different numerologies)
Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the processor determines each of the different MCSs, based on one or two MCS fields included in downlink control information
However, Xiong teaches wherein the processor determines each of the different MCSs, based on one or two MCS fields included in downlink control information ( [0196] discloses wherein a single modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be included in the DCI, which can be used to indicate the MCS of all the scheduled PDSCHs and/or PUSCHs. [0197] Example 8 may include the method of example 1, wherein HARQ process number can be different for scheduled PDSCHs and/or PUSCHs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Yang include wherein the processor determines each of the different MCSs, based on one or two MCS fields included in downlink control information, as suggested by Xiong. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the network resource.
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches a base station comprising:([0425], FIG. 7, the network-side device 700 includes: a processor 701, a transceiver 702, a memory 703, a user interface 704, and a bus interface) a transmitting section that transmits, to a terminal, information for applying different modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) to a plurality of layers;( [0099] The network-side device configures a plurality of pieces of uplink beam information for PUCCH through higher-layer signaling (RRC signaling or MAC CE signaling)) and a receiving section that receives uplink shared channels of the plurality of layers applied with the different MCSs and transmitted by the terminal, based on the information([0137] The terminal device may determine the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information used by different MCSs corresponding to the PUSCH according to the association relationship, and then the terminal device uses the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information and different MCSs to transmit the PUSCH. [0144] a terminal device simultaneously uses the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information to: transmit different PUSCHs, transmit different TBs in the same PUSCH, transmit a PUSCH on different layers corresponding to the same PUSCH, transmit a PUSCH on different antenna ports corresponding to the same PUSCH, transmit a PUSCH on different resource allocations corresponding to the PUSCH, transmit a PUSCH by using different MCSs, transmit a PUSCH by using different numerologies)
Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the processor determines each of the different MCSs, based on one or two MCS fields included in the downlink control information,
However, Xiong teaches wherein the processor determines each of the different MCSs, based on one or two MCS fields included in the downlink control information ( [0196] discloses wherein a single modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be included in the DCI, which can be used to indicate the MCS of all the scheduled PDSCHs and/or PUSCHs. [0197] Example 8 may include the method of example 1, wherein HARQ process number can be different for scheduled PDSCHs and/or PUSCHs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Yang include wherein the processor determines each of the different MCSs, based on one or two MCS fields included in the downlink control information, as suggested by Xiong. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the network resource.
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches a system comprising, a terminal and a base station, wherein
the terminal comprises: ([0414] The terminal device 600 shown in FIG. 6 includes: at least one processor 601, a memory 602, at least one network interface 604, and a user interface 603)
a processor that performs control to apply different modulation and coding schemes
(MCSs) to a plurality of layers;( [0137] The terminal device may determine the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information used by different MCSs corresponding to the PUSCH according to the association relationship, and then the terminal device uses the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information and different MCSs to transmit the PUSCH) and
a first transmitter that applies the different MCSs to transmit uplink shared channels
of the plurality of layers, [0137] The terminal device may determine the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information used by different MCSs corresponding to the PUSCH according to the association relationship, and then the terminal device uses the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information and different MCSs to transmit the PUSCH)
the base station comprises: ([0425], FIG. 7, the network-side device 700 includes: a processor 701, a transceiver 702, a memory 703, a user interface 704, and a bus interface)
a second transmitter that transmits, to the terminal, the downlink control information; ([0367] discloses transmit DCI, where the DCI is used to indicate the configuration information, [0398] the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information are associated with different MCSs corresponding to the uplink channel)
and a receiver that receives the uplink shared channels([0137] The terminal device may determine the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information used by different MCSs corresponding to the PUSCH according to the association relationship, and then the terminal device uses the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information and different MCSs to transmit the PUSCH)
Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the processor determines each of the different MCSs, based on one or two MCS fields included in the downlink control information,
However, Xiong teaches wherein the processor determines each of the different MCSs, based on one or two MCS fields included in the downlink control information ( [0196] discloses wherein a single modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be included in the DCI, which can be used to indicate the MCS of all the scheduled PDSCHs and/or PUSCHs. [0197] Example 8 may include the method of example 1, wherein HARQ process number can be different for scheduled PDSCHs and/or PUSCHs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Yang include wherein the processor determines each of the different MCSs, based on one or two MCS fields included in the downlink control information, as suggested by Xiong. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the network resource.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461