DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6, 8-10 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 4 recites “the detecting device” and depends from claim 3 which recites “an optical detecting device.” For claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “the optical detecting device” in claim 4.
Claim 6 recites “the optical receiver emitter and the optical receiver.” For claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “the optical
Claim 8 recites “the detecting device” and depends from claim 7 which recites “an electrical detecting device.” For claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “the electrical detecting device” in claim 8.
Claim 9 recites “the detecting device” and depends from claim 7 (via claim 8) which recites “an electrical detecting device.” For claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “the electrical detecting device” in claim 9.
Claim 10 recites “the detecting device” and depends from claim 7 (via claim 8) which recites “an electrical detecting device.” For claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “the electrical detecting device” in claim 10.
Claim 18 recites “the detecting device” and depends from claim 7 (via claim 8) which recites “an electrical detecting device.” For claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “the electrical detecting device” in claim 18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a detecting device” in claim 1; “an optical detecting device” in claim 3; “an electrical detecting device” in claim 7; “a fluid output device and a fluid recovery device” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a dynamically set standard attribute value”; the claim term “dynamically” has not been defined in the original disclosure, therefore, it is not clear what the limitation “dynamically” encompasses in the context of the claimed invention, therefore, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims 2-13 and 18-20 depend from claim 1 and fail to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the same side.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites “a dynamically set standard attribute value”; the claim term “dynamically” has not been defined in the original disclosure, therefore, it is not clear what the limitation “dynamically” encompasses in the context of the claimed invention, therefore, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims 15-17 depend from claim 14 and fail to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim 17 recites “a cleaning mode” and depends from claim 14 which recites “a cleaning mode;” it is not clear if “a cleaning mode” in claim 17 refers to “a cleaning mode” in claim 14 or to a different and additional one.
Clarification and/or amendment is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11-14 and 17-18 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al – hereafter Zhou – (US 20220338695 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a cleaning apparatus (Fig.1a/2a), comprising:
a cleaning portion (13) configured to clean a surface (cleaning object) to be cleaned;
a detecting device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an optical emitter/receiver, a conductivity, capacitance or resistance detector to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Zhou teaches a cleanliness detector 18, ¶203) configured to detect a physical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶199, note cleanliness detector arranged in cavity of cleaning assembly; ¶201, note cleanliness detector configured to detect a physical property value of dirty liquid); ¶203, note optical/electrical property values); and
a processor (14) configured to acquire the physical attribute value detected by the detecting device, determine, by using a comparison result of the physical attribute value and a dynamically set standard attribute value, a degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned, and adjust a cleaning mode of the cleaning apparatus based on the degree of dirtiness (¶206, note processing system 14 may match the optical property value of the dirty liquid in a known corresponding relationship between an optical property value and a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object; ¶218, processing system may start the self-cleaning function; ¶247, note processor 14a may match the difference between the second electrical signal and the reference electrical signal in a known corresponding relationship between an electrical signal difference and a cleanliness grade so as to determine a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou further teaches the detecting device is disposed on (¶199, note cleanliness detector 18 may be arranged in a cavity of the cleaning assembly 13) or opposite to the cleaning portion (¶199, note cleanliness detector 18 may be arranged in … the suction nozzle 13a of the cleaning assembly 13).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou further teaches the detecting device comprises an optical detecting device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an optical emitter/receiver to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Zhou teaches a cleanliness detector 18, ¶203-204) for detecting an optical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶204, note detection of the optical property value).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou further teaches the detecting device comprises an optical emitter (18a) and an optical receiver (18b);
the optical emitter is configured to emit an optical signal to the cleaning portion (¶205);
the optical receiver is configured to receive an optical reflection signal formed by reflection via the cleaning portion (¶205), convert the optical reflection signal into a first electrical signal for representing the optical attribute value of the cleaning portion, and output the first electrical signal to the processor (¶205); and
the processor is configured to calculate, by using the optical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶205-206).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou further teaches the optical receiver emitter and the optical receiver are disposed on the same side (Fig.2c).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou further teaches the detecting device comprises an electrical detecting device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a conductivity, capacitance or resistance detector to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Zhou teaches a cleanliness detector 18, ¶203) for detecting an electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶203, note electrical detectors may detect electrical property values of the dirty liquid).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou further teaches the cleaning portion is provided with an electrode (¶223, note part of conductors in the first conductor group 181 is electrically connected with a positive electrode);
the detecting device is connected to the electrode on the cleaning portion (Fig.2g), and configured to detect a second electrical signal for representing an electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion and output the second electrical signal to the processor (¶222); and
the processor is configured to calculate, by using the electrical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶245).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou further teaches a fluid output device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a first container, a fluid output pipeline, at least one spray nozzle to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Zhou teaches a storage apparatus, spraying apparatus and flow passage, ¶39-41) and a fluid recovery device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a second container, a second sensor, at least one suction nozzle, a suction pipeline to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Zhou teaches a recycling tank, a suction nozzle, a suction passage, ¶69; and a liquid level detector, ¶338), wherein
the fluid output device is configured to spray a fluid onto the cleaning portion or the surface to be cleaned (¶78-79), and
the fluid recovery device is configured to cause a dirty fluid on the surface to be cleaned or the cleaning portion to flow into the fluid recovery device through a dirty-fluid drainage pipeline (¶74, note dirty-fluid drainage pipeline connects the cleaning assembly suction nozzle to the recycling tank).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou further teaches the fluid output device comprises:
a first container for storing the fluid (¶39);
a fluid output pipeline communicated with the first container and configured to transport the fluid in the first container to the cleaning portion or the surface to be cleaned (¶41); and
at least one spray nozzle (¶40) communicated with the fluid output pipeline and configured to spray the fluid onto the cleaning portion or the surface to be cleaned (¶78-79).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou further teaches the fluid recovery device comprises:
a second container for storing the dirty fluid (¶69, recycling tank);
a second sensor disposed in the second container and configured to detect a fluid level in the second container (¶338);
at least one suction nozzle configured to suck the dirty fluid on the cleaning portion or the surface to the cleaned (¶69); and
a suction pipeline that connects the at least one suction nozzle to the second container and is configured to suck the dirty fluid from the suction nozzle into the second container (¶69).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou further teaches a dirtiness detecting method for a cleaning apparatus (¶5-24), comprising:
detecting a physical attribute value (¶201, note cleanliness detector configured to detect a physical property value of dirty liquid) of a cleaning portion (¶199, note cleanliness detector arranged in cavity of cleaning assembly) of a cleaning apparatus (Fig.1a/2a);
determining, by using a comparison result of the physical attribute value and a dynamically set standard attribute value, a degree of dirtiness of a surface (cleaning object) to be cleaned (¶206, note processing system 14 may match the optical property value of the dirty liquid in a known corresponding relationship between an optical property value and a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object; ¶247, note processor 14a may match the difference between the second electrical signal and the reference electrical signal in a known corresponding relationship between an electrical signal difference and a cleanliness grade so as to determine a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object); and
adjusting a cleaning mode of the cleaning apparatus based on the degree of dirtiness (¶218, processing system may start the self-cleaning function);
wherein the cleaning portion is configured to clean the surface to be cleaned (Fig.1a/2a).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou further teaches adjusting the cleaning mode of the cleaning apparatus based on the degree of dirtiness comprises:
acquiring a plurality of pre-divided levels of dirtiness corresponding to different degrees of dirtiness (¶266, note preset a corresponding relationship between a cleanliness grade and power of the main motor and/or the motor of the cleaning assembly);
determining, based on the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned, a target level of dirtiness corresponding to the surface to be cleaned (¶266, note based on the corresponding relationship, the processing system 14 may determine power of the main motor and/or the motor of the cleaning assembly according to a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object); and
acquiring a cleaning mode of the cleaning apparatus that matches the target level of dirtiness, and controlling the cleaning apparatus to work according to a cleaning parameter corresponding to the cleaning mode, the cleaning parameter including an operating power of
Regarding claim 18, Zhou further teaches the detecting device is configured to detect a resistance of the cleaning portion and output the resistance to the processor as the second electrical signal (¶203, note the electrical property of the dirty liquid may be resistance; ¶229, note processing system detecting voltages at ends of resistor R3 and obtaining resistance of dirty liquid); and
the processor is configured to calculate, a resistance variation parameter of the cleaning portion according to the resistance and a standard resistance, and calculate, by using the resistance variation parameter, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶238, note processing system 14 may determine the cleanliness of the cleaning object according to a difference between the second electrical signal (obtained resistance as in ¶229) and the reference electrical signal (resistance of clean liquid as in ¶232 and measured reference electrical signal preset in cleaning machine as in ¶238)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15-16 and 19 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches all the limitations of claim 4, see above, and further teaches the first electrical signal comprises a voltage for representing the optical attribute value (¶213), however, does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to compare the voltage with a standard voltage and determine, according to a comparison result, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned; and the standard voltage is a pre-detected voltage of the cleaning portion in a clean state, or, a voltage of the cleaning portion detected during power-up operation of the cleaning apparatus.
However, Zhou teaches the an optical signal emitted by a light source may arrive at a photo-detector that converts said signal into an electrical signal that is output to the processing system (¶205), said electrical signal could be a voltage (¶213). Zhou further teaches the processing system may calculate an optical property value of the dirty liquid according to the first electrical signal and determine the cleanliness of the cleaning object according to the optical property value of the dirty liquid (¶205) and the processing system may match the optical property value of the dirty liquid in a known corresponding relationship between an optical property value and a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object (¶206). And Zhou additionally teaches a reference electrical signal may be measured before delivery of the cleaning machine and said measured reference electrical signal is preset in the cleaning machine (¶238). All the aspects of Zhou’s invention are directed at helping to improve user experiences (¶4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleaning apparatus of Zhou based on further teachings of Zhou to have the cleaning apparatus including the processor configured to compare the voltage with a standard voltage (e.g., match an optical property value in the form of a voltage in a known corresponding relationship with a cleanliness grade) and determine, according to a comparison result, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned; and the standard voltage is a pre-detected voltage of the cleaning portion in a clean state (e.g., before delivery of the cleaning machine) because this would help improving user experiences.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches all the limitations of claim 14, see above, and further teaches the physical attribute value comprises an optical attribute value (¶203);
detecting the physical attribute value of the cleaning portion of the cleaning apparatus comprises:
emitting an optical signal by an optical emitter (¶205, light source); receiving, by an optical receiver (¶205, photo-detector), an optical reflection signal formed by reflection via the cleaning portion (¶205); and converting, by the optical receiver, the optical reflection signal into a first electrical signal for representing an optical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶205); and
determining, by using the comparison result of the physical attribute value and the dynamically set standard attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned comprises: calculating, by using a difference between the optical attribute value and a standard optical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶206, note known corresponding relationship between an optical property and cleanliness grade),
however, does not explicitly teach wherein the standard optical attribute value comprises a pre-detected optical attribute value of the cleaning portion in a clean state, or, an optical attribute value of the cleaning portion detected during power-up operation of the cleaning apparatus.
However, Zhou teaches the an optical signal emitted by a light source may arrive at a photo-detector that converts said signal into an electrical signal that is output to the processing system (¶205), said electrical signal could be a voltage (¶213). Zhou further teaches the processing system may calculate an optical property value of the dirty liquid according to the first electrical signal and determine the cleanliness of the cleaning object according to the optical property value of the dirty liquid (¶205) and the processing system may match the optical property value of the dirty liquid in a known corresponding relationship between an optical property value and a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object (¶206). And Zhou additionally teaches a reference electrical signal may be measured before delivery of the cleaning machine and said measured reference electrical signal is preset in the cleaning machine (¶238). All the aspects of Zhou’s invention are directed at helping to improve user experiences (¶4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleaning apparatus of Zhou based on further teachings of Zhou to have the method including the standard optical attribute value comprises a pre-detected optical attribute value of the cleaning portion in a clean state (e.g., before delivery of the cleaning machine) because this would help improving user experiences.
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches all the limitations of claim 14, see above, and further teaches the physical attribute value comprises an electrical attribute value (¶203, note electrical detectors may detect electrical property values of the dirty liquid);
detecting the physical attribute value of the cleaning portion of the cleaning apparatus comprises:
detecting a second electrical signal for representing an electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶222), the second electrical signal including at least one of
determining, by using the comparison result of the physical attribute value and the dynamically set standard attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned comprises: calculating, according to the electrical attribute value and a standard electrical attribute value, an electrical-signal variation parameter of the cleaning portion, and calculating, by using the electrical-signal variation parameter, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶238, note processing system 14 may determine the cleanliness of the cleaning object according to a difference between the second electrical signal (obtained resistance as in ¶229) and the reference electrical signal (resistance of clean liquid as in ¶232 and measured reference electrical signal preset in cleaning machine as in ¶238)),
however, does not explicitly teach wherein the standard electrical attribute value comprises a pre-detected electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion in a clean state, or, an electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion detected during power-up operation of the cleaning apparatus.
Zhou further teaches a reference electrical signal may be measured before delivery of the cleaning machine and said measured reference electrical signal is preset in the cleaning machine (¶238). All the aspects of Zhou’s invention are directed at helping to improve user experiences (¶4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleaning apparatus of Zhou based on further teachings of Zhou to have the method including the standard electrical attribute value comprises a pre-detected electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion in a clean state (e.g., before delivery of the cleaning machine) because this would help improving user experiences.
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches all the limitations of claim 1, see above, and further teaches the detecting device comprises: an optical detecting device for detecting an optical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶203); and (¶200, note one or more cleanliness detectors 18 may be arranged at each part) an electrical detecting device for detecting an electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶203),
however, does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to determine, by using the optical attribute value and the electrical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned.
Zhou further teaches one or more cleanliness detectors may be arranged at each part (¶200).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleaning apparatus of Zhou based on further teachings of Zhou to have the processor is configured to determine, by using the optical attribute value and the electrical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned because this allow the cleaning apparatus to obtain a more robust degree of dirtiness via determinations of said degree of dirtiness by two different technical approaches.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The following claim limitations were not found in the prior art.
the detecting device is a capacitive sensor for detecting a capacitance of the cleaning portion and outputting the capacitance to the processor as the second electrical signal; and the processor is configured to calculate a capacitance variation parameter of the cleaning portion according to the capacitance and a standard capacitance, and determine, by using the capacitance variation parameter, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (as in the context of claim 9).
the detecting device is configured to detect a conductivity of the cleaning portion and output the conductivity to the processor as the second electrical signal; and the processor is configured to calculate a conductivity variation parameter of the cleaning portion according to the conductivity and a standard conductivity, and calculate, by using the conductivity variation parameter, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (as in the context of claim 10).
different weights are assigned to the optical attribute value and the electrical attribute value, and the processor is configured to calculate, by using the optical attribute value and the electrical attribute value with reference to their respective weights, a final physical attribute value, and determine, by using the final physical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (as in the context of claim 20).
The closest prior art reference (Zhou) discloses the cleaning apparatus detecting the degree of dirtiness via optical means or electrical means that include voltage or resistance values, however, no disclosure is made with respect to capacitance or conductivity values. Furthermore, even though Zhou recognizes one or more detectors could be used, no disclosure is made with respect to assigning weights to different attribute values to determine a final attribute value of the degree of dirtiness.
No other prior art reference was found that would anticipate or allow establishing a prima facie case of obviousness in view of the cited prior art above.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745