DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 13 August 2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant states that claim 1 recites “a detecting device configured to detect a physical attribute value of the cleaning portion” and argues that the scope of claim 1 is limited to directly detecting the physical attribute value of the cleaning portion, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Note that the instant argument attaches extra limitations that are not required by the claims, specifically, the claim does not recite or require “directly” detecting the physical attribute value of the cleaning portion, therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further states that claim 1 recites a “corresponding standard attribute value of the cleaning portion is able to be adjusted at any time” and points to Zhou ¶238 where Zhou discloses a reference electrical signal may be measured before delivery of the cleaning machine and argues that Zhou’s reference signal cannot be adjusted at any time, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Note that Zhou further discloses “Alternatively, a detector for the reference electrical signal may be arranged in the cleaning machine, and the detector is partially arranged on a circulation path of the clean liquid” (¶238), and additionally “a water storage tank such as a clean water tank, a cleaning agent tank or a mixture tank of clean water and a cleaning agent is arranged on a cleaning device” (¶35). It is well known in the art of cleaning devices that the water used in said devices is not pure water and the water composition greatly varies depending on the location of different municipalities, potential filtration/treatment of water at the point of use, and additionally, the water to cleaning agent ratio can also vary at the time of mixture and/or after a certain amount of time of the cleaning agent or mixture has been exposed to air and changes in temperatures. Therefore, when Zhou discloses a detector for the reference electrical signal is partially arranged on a circulation path of the clean liquid, said reference electrical signal will be adjusted at any time the cleaning device is being operated since the reference electrical signal will be influenced by the specific water and cleaning agent composition at that instant. Applicant also argues that the electrical signal of a cleaning liquid inherently will not change with the use and operation of the cleaning equipment, the examiner points to the discussion above of Zhou’s disclosure. For these reasons the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues, with respect to claim 14, that a feature of directly measuring the cleaning portion’s attribute is neither taught, suggested, or otherwise rendered obvious by Zhou, the examiner points to the discussion above about a similar argument with respect to claim 1, where both arguments attach extra limitations not required by the claims, i.e., “directly” measuring. For this reason the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues, with respect to claim 14, that claim 14 specifies a corresponding standard attribute value of the cleaning portion is able to be adjusted at any time and that Zhou relies on a fixed corresponding relationship, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Note that Zhou further discloses “Alternatively, a detector for the reference electrical signal may be arranged in the cleaning machine, and the detector is partially arranged on a circulation path of the clean liquid” (¶238), and additionally “a water storage tank such as a clean water tank, a cleaning agent tank or a mixture tank of clean water and a cleaning agent is arranged on a cleaning device” (¶35). It is well known in the art of cleaning devices that the water used in said devices is not pure water and the water composition greatly varies depending on the location of different municipalities, potential filtration/treatment of water at the point of use, and additionally, the water to cleaning agent ratio can also vary at the time of mixture and/or after a certain amount of time of the cleaning agent or mixture has been exposed to air and changes in temperatures. Therefore, when Zhou discloses a detector for the reference electrical signal is partially arranged on a circulation path of the clean liquid, said reference electrical signal will be adjusted at any time the cleaning device is being operated since the reference electrical signal will be influenced by the specific water and cleaning agent composition at that instant. For these reasons the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues, with respect to claim 22, that Zhou fails to disclose, suggest, or otherwise render obvious adjusting a corresponding standard attribute value with an increase of both a number of use and a service time of the cleaning portion and that Zhou relies on a reference electrical signal measured before delivery and permanently preset in the cleaning machine, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Note that Zhou further discloses “Alternatively, a detector for the reference electrical signal may be arranged in the cleaning machine, and the detector is partially arranged on a circulation path of the clean liquid” (¶238), and additionally “a water storage tank such as a clean water tank, a cleaning agent tank or a mixture tank of clean water and a cleaning agent is arranged on a cleaning device” (¶35). It is well known in the art of cleaning devices that the water used in said devices is not pure water and the water composition greatly varies depending on the location of different municipalities, potential filtration/treatment of water at the point of use, and additionally, the water to cleaning agent ratio can also vary at the time of mixture and/or after a certain amount of time of the cleaning agent or mixture has been exposed to air and changes in temperatures. Therefore, when Zhou discloses a detector for the reference electrical signal is partially arranged on a circulation path of the clean liquid, said reference electrical signal will be adjusted at any time the cleaning device is being operated (i.e., adjusting with an increase of both a number of use and a service time of the cleaning portion) since the reference electrical signal will be influenced by the specific water and cleaning agent composition at that instant. For these reasons the argument is not persuasive.
For all the reasons above, the arguments are not found persuasive and the claim rejections are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “detecting device” in claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 11-14, 17-18 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al – hereafter Zhou – (US 20220338695 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a cleaning apparatus (Fig.1a/2a), comprising:
a cleaning portion (13) configured to clean a surface (cleaning object) to be cleaned;
a detecting device (18) configured to detect a physical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶199, note cleanliness detector arranged in cavity of cleaning assembly; ¶201, note cleanliness detector configured to detect a physical property value of dirty liquid); ¶203, note optical/electrical property values); and
a processor (14) configured to acquire the physical attribute value detected by the detecting device, determine, by using a comparison result of the physical attribute value and a dynamically set standard attribute value, a degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned, and adjust a cleaning mode of the cleaning apparatus based on the degree of dirtiness (¶206, note processing system 14 may match the optical property value of the dirty liquid in a known corresponding relationship between an optical property value and a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object; ¶218, processing system may start the self-cleaning function; ¶247, note processor 14a may match the difference between the second electrical signal and the reference electrical signal in a known corresponding relationship between an electrical signal difference and a cleanliness grade so as to determine a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object), and a corresponding standard attribute value of the cleaning portion is able to be adjusted at any time (¶238, note “a detector for the reference electrical signal may be arranged in the cleaning machine, and the detector is partially arranged on a circulation path of the clean liquid”; ¶35, note “a water storage tank such as a clean water tank, a cleaning agent tank or a mixture tank of clean water and a cleaning agent is arranged on a cleaning device”; said reference electrical signal will be adjusted at any time the cleaning device is being operated since the reference electrical signal will be influenced by the specific water and cleaning agent composition at that instant);
wherein the detecting device comprises at least one of: an optical detecting device for detecting an optical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶204, note detection of the optical property value), wherein the optical detecting device comprises an optical emitter (18a) and an optical receiver (18b); or, an electrical detecting device for detecting an electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶203, note electrical detectors may detect electrical property values of the dirty liquid), wherein the cleaning portion is provided with an electrode (¶223, note part of conductors in the first conductor group 181 is electrically connected with a positive electrode), and the electrical detecting device is connected to the electrode on the cleaning portion (Fig.2g).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou further teaches the optical emitter is configured to emit an optical signal to the cleaning portion (¶205);
the optical receiver is configured to receive an optical reflection signal formed by reflection via the cleaning portion (¶205), convert the optical reflection signal into a first electrical signal for representing the optical attribute value of the cleaning portion, and output the first electrical signal to the processor (¶205); and
the processor is configured to calculate, by using the optical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶205-206).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou further teaches the optical emitter and the optical receiver are disposed on the same side (Fig.2c).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou further teaches the electrical detecting device is configured to detect a second electrical signal for representing the electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion and output the second electrical signal to the processor (¶222); and
the processor is configured to calculate, by using the electrical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶245).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou further teaches a fluid output device (¶39-41) and a fluid recovery device (¶69/¶338), wherein
the fluid output device is configured to spray a fluid onto the cleaning portion or the surface to be cleaned (¶78-79), and
the fluid recovery device is configured to cause a dirty fluid on the surface to be cleaned or the cleaning portion to flow into the fluid recovery device through a dirty-fluid drainage pipeline (¶74, note dirty-fluid drainage pipeline connects the cleaning assembly suction nozzle to the recycling tank),
wherein the fluid output device comprises a first container for storing the fluid (¶39), and the fluid recovery device comprises a second container for storing the dirty fluid (¶69, recycling tank).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou further teaches the fluid output device comprises:
a fluid output pipeline communicated with the first container and configured to transport the fluid in the first container to the cleaning portion or the surface to be cleaned (¶41); and
at least one spray nozzle (¶40) communicated with the fluid output pipeline and configured to spray the fluid onto the cleaning portion or the surface to be cleaned (¶78-79).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou further teaches the fluid recovery device comprises:
a second sensor disposed in the second container and configured to detect a fluid level in the second container (¶338);
at least one suction nozzle configured to suck the dirty fluid on the cleaning portion or the surface to the cleaned (¶69); and
a suction pipeline that connects the at least one suction nozzle to the second container and is configured to suck the dirty fluid from the suction nozzle into the second container (¶69).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou further teaches a dirtiness detecting method for a cleaning apparatus (¶5-24) comprising:
detecting a physical attribute value (¶201, note cleanliness detector configured to detect a physical property value of dirty liquid) of a cleaning portion (¶199, note cleanliness detector arranged in cavity of cleaning assembly) of a cleaning apparatus (Fig.1a/2a);
determining, by using a comparison result of the physical attribute value and a dynamically set standard attribute value, a degree of dirtiness of a surface (cleaning object) to be cleaned (¶206, note processing system 14 may match the optical property value of the dirty liquid in a known corresponding relationship between an optical property value and a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object; ¶247, note processor 14a may match the difference between the second electrical signal and the reference electrical signal in a known corresponding relationship between an electrical signal difference and a cleanliness grade so as to determine a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object); and
adjusting a cleaning mode of the cleaning apparatus based on the degree of dirtiness (¶218, processing system may start the self-cleaning function);
wherein the cleaning portion is configured to clean the surface to be cleaned (Fig.1a/2a), and a corresponding standard attribute value of the cleaning portion is able to be adjusted at any time (¶238, note “a detector for the reference electrical signal may be arranged in the cleaning machine, and the detector is partially arranged on a circulation path of the clean liquid”; ¶35, note “a water storage tank such as a clean water tank, a cleaning agent tank or a mixture tank of clean water and a cleaning agent is arranged on a cleaning device”; said reference electrical signal will be adjusted at any time the cleaning device is being operated since the reference electrical signal will be influenced by the specific water and cleaning agent composition at that instant).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou further teaches adjusting the cleaning mode of the cleaning apparatus based on the degree of dirtiness comprises:
acquiring a plurality of pre-divided levels of dirtiness corresponding to different degrees of dirtiness (¶266, note preset a corresponding relationship between a cleanliness grade and power of the main motor and/or the motor of the cleaning assembly);
determining, based on the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned, a target level of dirtiness corresponding to the surface to be cleaned (¶266, note based on the corresponding relationship, the processing system 14 may determine power of the main motor and/or the motor of the cleaning assembly according to a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object); and
acquiring the cleaning mode of the cleaning apparatus that matches the target level of dirtiness, and controlling the cleaning apparatus to work according to a cleaning parameter corresponding to the cleaning mode, the cleaning parameter including an operating power of recycling tank of the cleaning device through the suction passage in the cleaning device … motor of the cleaning assembly drives the cleaning assembly to perform a cleaning operation on the cleaning object).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou further teaches the electrical detecting device is configured to detect a resistance of the cleaning portion and output the resistance to the processor as the second electrical signal (¶203, note the electrical property of the dirty liquid may be resistance; ¶229, note processing system detecting voltages at ends of resistor R3 and obtaining resistance of dirty liquid); and
the processor is configured to calculate, a resistance variation parameter of the cleaning portion according to the resistance and a standard resistance, and calculate, by using the resistance variation parameter, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶238, note processing system 14 may determine the cleanliness of the cleaning object according to a difference between the second electrical signal (obtained resistance as in ¶229) and the reference electrical signal (resistance of clean liquid as in ¶232 and measured reference electrical signal preset in cleaning machine as in ¶238)).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou further teaches the detecting device is disposed on or opposite to the cleaning portion (¶199, note cleanliness detector 18 may be arranged in … the suction nozzle 13a of the cleaning assembly 13).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou teaches a cleaning apparatus (Fig.1a/2a), comprising:
a cleaning portion (13) configured to clean a surface (cleaning object) to be cleaned;
a detecting device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an optical emitter/receiver, a conductivity, capacitance or resistance detector to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Zhou teaches a cleanliness detector 18, ¶203) configured to detect a physical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶199, note cleanliness detector arranged in cavity of cleaning assembly; ¶201, note cleanliness detector configured to detect a physical property value of dirty liquid); ¶203, note optical/electrical property values); and
a processor (14) configured to acquire the physical attribute value detected by the detecting device, determine, by using a comparison result of the physical attribute value and a dynamically set standard attribute value, a degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned, and adjust a cleaning mode of the cleaning apparatus based on the degree of dirtiness (¶206, note processing system 14 may match the optical property value of the dirty liquid in a known corresponding relationship between an optical property value and a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object; ¶218, processing system may start the self-cleaning function; ¶247, note processor 14a may match the difference between the second electrical signal and the reference electrical signal in a known corresponding relationship between an electrical signal difference and a cleanliness grade so as to determine a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object), and
with an increase of both of a number of use and a service time of the cleaning portion, a corresponding standard attribute value of the cleaning portion is able to be adjusted at any time (¶238, note “a detector for the reference electrical signal may be arranged in the cleaning machine, and the detector is partially arranged on a circulation path of the clean liquid”; ¶35, note “a water storage tank such as a clean water tank, a cleaning agent tank or a mixture tank of clean water and a cleaning agent is arranged on a cleaning device”; said reference electrical signal will be adjusted at any time, including with an increase of both of a number of use and a service time of the cleaning portion, the cleaning device is being operated since the reference electrical signal will be influenced by the specific water and cleaning agent composition at that instant).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches all the limitations of claim 4, see above, and further teaches the first electrical signal comprises a voltage for representing the optical attribute value (¶213), however, does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to compare the voltage with a standard voltage and determine, according to a comparison result, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned; and the standard voltage is a pre-detected voltage of the cleaning portion in a clean state, or, a voltage of the cleaning portion detected during power-up operation of the cleaning apparatus.
However, Zhou teaches an optical signal emitted by a light source may arrive at a photo-detector that converts said signal into an electrical signal that is output to the processing system (¶205), said electrical signal could be a voltage (¶213). Zhou further teaches the processing system may calculate an optical property value of the dirty liquid according to the first electrical signal and determine the cleanliness of the cleaning object according to the optical property value of the dirty liquid (¶205) and the processing system may match the optical property value of the dirty liquid in a known corresponding relationship between an optical property value and a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object (¶206). And Zhou additionally teaches a reference electrical signal may be measured before delivery of the cleaning machine and said measured reference electrical signal is preset in the cleaning machine (¶238). All the aspects of Zhou’s invention are directed at helping to improve user experiences (¶4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleaning apparatus of Zhou based on further teachings of Zhou to have the cleaning apparatus including the processor configured to compare the voltage with a standard voltage (e.g., match an optical property value in the form of a voltage in a known corresponding relationship with a cleanliness grade) and determine, according to a comparison result, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned; and the standard voltage is a pre-detected voltage of the cleaning portion in a clean state (e.g., before delivery of the cleaning machine) because this would help improving user experiences.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches all the limitations of claim 14, see above, and further teaches the physical attribute value comprises an optical attribute value (¶203);
detecting the physical attribute value of the cleaning portion of the cleaning apparatus comprises:
emitting an optical signal by an optical emitter (¶205, light source); receiving, by an optical receiver (¶205, photo-detector), an optical reflection signal formed by reflection via the cleaning portion (¶205); and converting, by the optical receiver, the optical reflection signal into a first electrical signal for representing an optical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶205); and
determining, by using the comparison result of the physical attribute value and the dynamically set standard attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned comprises: calculating, by using a difference between the optical attribute value and a standard optical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶206, note known corresponding relationship between an optical property and cleanliness grade),
however, does not explicitly teach wherein the standard optical attribute value comprises a pre-detected optical attribute value of the cleaning portion in a clean state, or, the optical attribute value of the cleaning portion detected during power-up operation of the cleaning apparatus.
However, Zhou teaches the an optical signal emitted by a light source may arrive at a photo-detector that converts said signal into an electrical signal that is output to the processing system (¶205), said electrical signal could be a voltage (¶213). Zhou further teaches the processing system may calculate an optical property value of the dirty liquid according to the first electrical signal and determine the cleanliness of the cleaning object according to the optical property value of the dirty liquid (¶205) and the processing system may match the optical property value of the dirty liquid in a known corresponding relationship between an optical property value and a cleanliness grade of the cleaning object (¶206). And Zhou additionally teaches a reference electrical signal may be measured before delivery of the cleaning machine and said measured reference electrical signal is preset in the cleaning machine (¶238). All the aspects of Zhou’s invention are directed at helping to improve user experiences (¶4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleaning apparatus of Zhou based on further teachings of Zhou to have the method including the standard optical attribute value comprises a pre-detected optical attribute value of the cleaning portion in a clean state (e.g., before delivery of the cleaning machine) because this would help improving user experiences.
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches all the limitations of claim 14, see above, and further teaches the physical attribute value comprises an electrical attribute value (¶203, note electrical detectors may detect electrical property values of the dirty liquid);
detecting the physical attribute value of the cleaning portion of the cleaning apparatus comprises:
detecting a second electrical signal for representing an electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion (¶222), the second electrical signal including at least one of
determining, by using the comparison result of the physical attribute value and the dynamically set standard attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned comprises: calculating, according to the electrical attribute value and a standard electrical attribute value, an electrical-signal variation parameter of the cleaning portion, and calculating, by using the electrical-signal variation parameter, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned (¶238, note processing system 14 may determine the cleanliness of the cleaning object according to a difference between the second electrical signal (obtained resistance as in ¶229) and the reference electrical signal (resistance of clean liquid as in ¶232 and measured reference electrical signal preset in cleaning machine as in ¶238)),
however, does not explicitly teach wherein the standard electrical attribute value comprises a pre-detected electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion in a clean state, or, the electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion detected during power-up operation of the cleaning apparatus.
Zhou further teaches a reference electrical signal may be measured before delivery of the cleaning machine and said measured reference electrical signal is preset in the cleaning machine (¶238). All the aspects of Zhou’s invention are directed at helping to improve user experiences (¶4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleaning apparatus of Zhou based on further teachings of Zhou to have the method including the standard electrical attribute value comprises a pre-detected electrical attribute value of the cleaning portion in a clean state (e.g., before delivery of the cleaning machine) because this would help improving user experiences.
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches all the limitations of claim 1, see above, however, does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to determine, by using the optical attribute value and the electrical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned.
Zhou further teaches one or more cleanliness detectors may be arranged at each part (¶200).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cleaning apparatus of Zhou based on further teachings of Zhou to have the processor is configured to determine, by using the optical attribute value and the electrical attribute value, the degree of dirtiness of the surface to be cleaned because this allow the cleaning apparatus to obtain a more robust degree of dirtiness via determinations of said degree of dirtiness by two different technical approaches.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745