DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/22/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karakama (US 2021/0336549) in view of To et al. (US 2019/0140444) and Mazur et al. (US 2021/0265124).
Regarding claim 1,
Karakama discloses (Fig. 1):
A solid-state motor starter (Fig.1, all elements), comprising: three electronic switching modules
(10, three for reach phase, 12U, 12V, 12W, 10021), an input of each electronic switching modules configured to connect to a phase of an alternate current (AC) power supply (91) and an output of each electronic switching module is configured to connect to a phase of a stator winding of a motor (U, V, W, phases, ¶0018);
a first three-phase bridge rectifier circuit (61) and a second three-phase bridge rectifier circuit
(62, ¶0032-¶0034), which are composed of rectifier diodes (64, 65), respectively; wherein the input of each electronic switching module (10, connected to RST) is connected to the midpoint of one of the bridge arms of the first three-phase bridge rectifier circuit (connected at midpoints of 61, ¶0032-¶0033),
respectively, and the output of each electronic switching module (10, UVW) is connected to the midpoint of one of the bridge arms of the second three-phase bridge rectifier circuit (connected at midpoints of 62, ¶0034), respectively, and the positive poles of the first and second three phase bridge rectifier circuit are connected to the cathode connection end (cathodes of diodes are connected to positive line 69P, ¶0034) respectively, and the negative poles of the first and second three-phase bridge rectifier circuit are connected to the anode connection end (anodes of diodes are connected to negative line 69N, ¶0032) of the transient diode array (Fig. 2, 202).
They do not disclose:
a controller configured to detect whether a short circuit fault exists between the AC power
supply and the motor, and to switch off the electronic switching modules if it has detected that the short circuit fault exists: and an energy absorbing circuit configured to absorb energy in response to switching off of the electronic switching modules due to detection of the short circuit fault,
solid state motor starter comprises an energy absorbing circuit, the energy absorbing circuit comprising: a transient diode array, the transient diode array comprises at least one transient diode branch, each transient diode branch comprises at least one transient diode connected in series in the same direction, the transient diode branches are connected in parallel in the same direction, the transient diode array has a cathode connection end and an anode connection end,
However, To teaches (Fig. 2):
and an energy absorbing circuit configured to absorb energy (Fig. 2, 102)
the energy absorbing circuit (Fig. 2, 102) comprises: a transient diode array (Fig. 2, 102), the transient diode array comprises at least one transient diode branch (203, ¶0024), each transient diode branch comprises at least one transient diode connected in series in the same direction (column of diodes, ¶0024), the transient diode branches are connected in parallel in the same direction (nodes, 203, are connected in parallel, ¶0024), the transient diode array has a cathode connection end (top part of positive terminal 110) and an anode connection end (negative terminal, 112), and
of the transient diode array (Fig. 2, 102)
of the transient diode array (Fig. 2, 102)
Mazur teaches (Fig. 5):
a controller (Fig. 5, 14) configured to detect whether a short circuit fault exists between the AC power supply (12) and the motor (36), and to switch off the electronic switching modules (14) if it has
detected that the short circuit fault exists (¶0087)
in response to switching off of the electronic switching (14) modules due to detection of the short circuit fault (¶0087),
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 2,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the transient diode branches each have the same number of transient diodes.
However, To teaches (fig. 2):
wherein the transient diode branches each have the same number of transient diodes (Fig. 2,
203, each has 5 diodes, ¶0024).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 3,
Karakama discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the switching unit (68) switches on if the voltage applied to the series circuit exceeds a
predetermined threshold voltage in the switching unit (68, ¶0035, ¶0039).
They do not disclose:
wherein the energy absorbing circuit further comprises: a discharge resistor array and a switching unit for controlling switching on and off of the discharge resistor array, the discharge resistor array being connected in series with the switching unit; and a series circuit consisting of the discharge resistor array and the switching unit connected in parallel with the transient diode array;
However, To teaches (Fig. 1):
wherein the energy absorbing circuit further comprises: a discharge resistor array (Fig. 1, 67)and a switching unit (68) for controlling the on and off of the discharge resistor array (¶0035), the discharge resistor array being connected in series with the switching unit (resistor, 67, is in series with 68); and a series circuit consisting of the discharge resistor array and the switching unit (67, 68) connected in parallel (to positive line 69P, and negative line, 69N) with the transient diode array (102);
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 9,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
further comprising a short circuit detector configured to detect current in each phase, wherein
the controller is configured to compare the detected current with a predetermined threshold to
determine whether the short circuit fault exists.
However, Mazur teaches (fig. 5):
further comprising a short circuit detector configured to detect current in each phase (Fig. 5, 14, ¶0059, ¶0087), wherein the controller is configured to compare the detected current with a predetermined threshold to determine whether the short circuit fault exists (¶0087).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 10,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
further comprising a driver configured to receive a drive signal from the controller and to cause
the electronic switching modules to switch off in response to the drive signal.
However, Mazur teaches (fig. 5):
further comprising a driver (Fig. 5, 14) configured to receive a drive signal from the controller
and to cause the electronic switching modules (14)to switch off in response to the drive signal (from external controller, ¶0051).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 11,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the electronic switching modules are configured to switch off in microseconds in
response to detection of the short circuit fault.
However, Mazur teaches (fig. 5):
wherein the electronic switching modules are configured to switch off in microseconds in
response to detection of the short circuit fault (¶0031).
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Although Mazer does not explicitly teach switching off in microseconds, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the timing adjustable as making something adjustable is obvious as per In re Stevens, 212 F.2d\ 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 12,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the transient diode array is configured to turn on in reverse when a voltage on the
transient diode array exceeds a reverse conducting threshold, such that current flows from the cathode connection end to the anode connection end.
However, To teaches (Fig. 2A):
wherein the transient diode array is (Fig. 2A, 102) configured to turn on in reverse when a
voltage on the transient diode array exceeds a reverse conducting threshold, such that current flows from the cathode connection end to the anode connection end (¶0023-¶0024).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 13,
Karakama discloses (Fig. 1):
A method, comprising: detecting current (fig. 1, via 50) in each phase (12U, 12V, 12W) between
an alternate current (AC) power supply (91) and a motor (92, ¶0029);
wherein each electronic switching module (10) connects a phase of the AC power supply (91, 11R, S, T) to a respective phase of a stator winding of the motor (12U, V, W); rectifying a first voltage (via 61) from the AC power supply (91) through a first three-phase bridge rectifier circuit(61, ¶0032-¶0034); rectifying a second voltage from the motor through a second three-phase bridge rectifier circuit (62, ¶0032-¶0034);
connected between the first (61) and second (62) three-phase bridge rectifier circuits in response to the switching off (¶0032-¶0034).
They do not disclose:
determining whether a short circuit fault exists based on the detected current; switching off
three electronic switching modules in response to determining that the short circuit fault exists and absorbing energy through a transient diode array
However, To teaches (Fig. 2):
and absorbing energy through a transient diode array (Fig. 2, 202)
Mazur teaches (Fig. 5):
determining whether a short circuit fault exists based on the detected current (¶0059, ¶0087); switching off three electronic switching modules (14) in response to determining that the short circuit fault exists (14, ¶0087),
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 14,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 13.
They do not disclose:
wherein detecting current in each phase comprises comparing the detected current with a
predetermined threshold to determine whether the short circuit fault exists.
However, Mazur teaches (fig. 5):
wherein detecting current in each phase comprises comparing the detected current with a
predetermined threshold to determine whether the short circuit fault exists (¶0059, ¶0087).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 15,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 13.
They do not disclose:
wherein switching off the three electronic switching modules comprises switching off in
microseconds.
However, Mazur teaches (fig. 5):
wherein switching off the three electronic switching modules comprises switching off in
microseconds (¶0031).
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 16,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 13.
They do not disclose:
wherein the transient diode array is configured to turn on in reverse when a voltage on the
transient diode array exceeds a reverse conducting threshold, such that current flows from the cathode connection end to the anode connection end.
However, To teaches (Fig. 2A):
wherein the transient diode array is (Fig. 2A, 102) configured to turn on in reverse when a
voltage on the transient diode array exceeds a reverse conducting threshold, such that current flows from the cathode connection end to the anode connection end (¶0023-¶0024).
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 17,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 13.
They do not disclose:
further comprising absorbing energy through a discharge resistor array in addition to the
transient diode array when the voltage applied to the transient diode array exceeds a predetermined threshold voltage.
However, To teaches (Fig. 2):
further comprising absorbing energy through a discharge resistor array (fig. 1, 67) in addition to
the transient diode array (fig. 2, 102) when the voltage applied to the transient diode array exceeds a predetermined threshold voltage (¶0028).
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 18,
Karakama discloses (fig. 1):
comprises switching on a switching unit (68) that controls the discharge resistor array when the
voltage exceeds the predetermined threshold voltage (68, ¶0035, ¶0039).
They do not disclose:
wherein absorbing energy through the discharge resistor array
However, To teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein absorbing energy through the discharge resistor array (fig. 1, 67)
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 19,
Karakama discloses (fig. 1):
is either a line voltage rectified by the first three-phase bridge rectifier circuit on the AC power
supply (Fig. 1, 61) or a line voltage rectified by the second three-phase bridge rectifier circuit on the motor (via 62, ¶0032-¶0034).
They do not disclose:
wherein the voltage applied to the transient diode array
However, To teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the voltage applied to the transient diode array (Fig. 2, 202)
Regarding claim 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Regarding claim 20,
Karakama discloses the above elements from claim 13.
They do not disclose:
wherein absorbing energy through the transient diode array comprises releasing overvoltage on
the electronic switching modules to prevent damage to the electronic switching modules.
However, To teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein absorbing energy through the transient diode array (Fig. 2, 202)
Mazur teaches:
comprises releasing overvoltage on the electronic switching modules to prevent damage to the
electronic switching modules (¶0087).
Regarding claim 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take the combination above an open the phase switches in the event of a short circuit in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would enable the system to shutdown in the case of a fault which protects the motor.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karakama (US
2021/0336549), To et al. (US 2019/0140444), and Mazur et al. (US 2021/0265124), as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Kanebako (US 2011/0015732).
Regarding claim 7,
Karakama and To disclose the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein each electronic switching module comprises a first MOSFET and a second MOSFET, the sources of the first and second MOSFETs are connected to each other, wherein the drain of the first MOSFET is connected to the input of the electronic switching module, and the drain of the second MOSFET is connected to the output of the electronic switching module.
However, Kanebako teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein each electronic switching module (Fig. 6) comprises a first MOSFET (left mosfet) and a
second MOSFET (right mosfet), sources of the first and second MOSFETs are connected to each other (¶0095), wherein the drain of the first MOSFET is connected to the input of the electronic switching module (D is on left, from control part side, ¶0095, ¶0098), and the drain of the second MOSFET (D, on the right side to motor winding) is connected to the output of the electronic switching module (to motor windings, ¶0095).
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take this combination that uses bidirectional switches and use the bidirectional switches from Kanebako where the two sources are attached in order to provide a bi-directional switch with one gate signal which would reduce costs (¶0095).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karakama (US 2021/0336549), To et al. (US 2019/0140444), and Mazur et al. (US 2021/0265124), as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Ohashi et al (US 2010/0067264).
Regarding claim 8,
Karakama and To disclose the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein each electronic switching module comprises a first MOSFET and a second MOSFET, the
drains of the first and second MOSFETs are connected to each other, wherein the source of the
first MOSFET is connected to the input of the electronic switching module, and the source of the second MOSFET is connected to the output of the electronic switching module.
However, Kanebako teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein each electronic switching module comprises a first MOSFET (Fig. 33, 22) and a second MOSFET (23), the drains of the first and second MOSFETs are connected to each other (shown in Fig. 34), wherein the source of the first MOSFET is connected to the input of the electronic switching module (first source), and the source of the second MOSFET is connected to the output of the electronic switching module (second source, ¶0124-¶0125).
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the motor power converter from Karakama that has parallel voltage clamp circuitry with two rectifier to clamp voltage in case of an overvoltage condition (¶0031), and add the transient voltage suppression diode array from To that uses a diode array to suppress transient voltages on a DC bus and to clamp voltages as well (¶0021). This would further suppress transient voltages which would improve reliability.
It would have been further obvious to take this combination that uses bidirectional switches and use the bidirectional switches from Ohashi where the two drains are attached in order to provide a bi-directional switch with one gate signal that allows unidirectional flow as taught by Ohashi (¶0124-¶0125). This would improve reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments pertaining to claims 1-3, 9-20, applicant argues that the combination of Karakama in view of Mazur is improper because Karakama already includes integrated voltage clamp circuitry designed to handle overvoltage condition caused by switching operations in its bidirectional power converter. That a person of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to add Mazur’s short circuit detection and switch off functionality because Karakama already addresses fault protection.
However, as shown in the rejection above, although Karakama does teach an electronic switching module which disconnects the AC power supply from the load, Karakama does not teach that the switches are opening in the event of a short circuit fault which is taught by Mazur in ¶0087. Furthermore, Karakama contains the rectifier circuit which rectifies the voltage which is also not present in the Mazur reference, as such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the three phase rectifier circuit with phase switches that uses the rectifier to clamp the voltage (¶0031) as taught by Karakama and open the switches in the event of a short circuit as taught by Mazur (¶0087). This would further suppress any transient voltages that arise when a fault exists and would further protect the device increasing reliability.
Applicant also argues that the combination is improper because Mazur teaches circuit disconnection and Karakama teaches controlled energy absorption while maintaining operation through its voltage clamp circuitry.
However, as discussed above, Karakama does not disclose detecting a short circuit fault between the Ac source and the load, since this is the case, during a short circuit fault, Karakama would not be able to disconnect the motor from the Ac power source quickly which is why the Mazur reference was included to disclose this feature. This would open up the phase contacts in the event of a fault, and would clamp voltage which would further add protection to the device and increase the safety. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to take the rectifier and voltage clamp circuit from Karakama (¶0031) and add the short circuit fault protection from Mazur to increase safety (¶0087).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
He (US 2018/0337590) – fault tolerant multilevel converter
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837