DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/13/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2023 and 7/28/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the raised projection" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is it referring to “the at least one raised projection” which was introduced earlier in the claim. For examination purposes, it will read as “the at least one raised projection”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the brush channels" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it will read as “the brush channel”.
Claims 3-4 recite the limitation "wherein the raise projection or each of the raised projection”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it will read as “wherein the at least one raised projection or each of the raised projections of the set”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "raised projection within the set" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it will read as “raised projections within the set”.
For examination purposes, claims 2, 5, and 7-12 are also rejected under 112 paragraph b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rufenach et al. (PG Pub U.S 2019/0000292).
Regarding claim 1, Rufenach teaches a cleaning tray (receptacle chamber 64 reads on cleaning tray) of a wet floor cleaner (10) (fig 1; para 0053-0054), adapted to receive a head (14) of the wet floor cleaner (para 0087; figs 1 and 5-7), the head comprising a roller brush (18) (para 0087), the cleaning tray comprising: a base (154) for supporting the head (para 0160); a brush channel (144) formed in the base (para 0162 and 0172) for receiving a bottom portion of an outer circumference of the roller brush (para 0162 and 0172); at least one raised projection (142/150) positioned along the brush channel which is for projecting into the roller brush when the cleaning tray is used (para 0148-0153), wherein the raised projection comprises an upstream ramp surface (para 0152 and 0160-0161; lower surface of curved projection) positioned such that the outer circumference of the roller brush rides up the upstream ramp surface when rotated (0160-0161) and a downstream ramp surface (para 0152 and 0160-0161; lower surface of curved projection; upper surface of curved projection), wherein the downstream ramp surface is steeper than the upstream ramp surface (para 0152 and 0160-0161; seen from figs 5-7); and a suction area (66) faced by the downstream ramp surface (para 0173-0174; as suction fan may be possible in tank 66 which is in communication with projection ramp surface for sucking fluid/debris into the tank 66).
Regarding claim 2, Rufenach teaches a set of raised projections (para 0157 and 0160) each having an upstream ramp surface (lower surface of curved projection) and a downstream ramp surface (upper surface of curved projection) (para 0152 and 0160-0161; figs 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Rufenach teaches wherein the at least one raised projection or each of the raised projections of the set has an apex at the junction between the upstream and downstream ramp surfaces (fig 5; para 0152 and 0160; implicitly taught since raised projection is curved), with an angle of 90 degrees or more (para 0152 and 0160; as seen from fig 5 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Apex with angle more than 90 degrees)]
Regarding claim 7, Rufenach teaches in the brush channels, a flow guide (156) which provides a flow path (156) across the brush channel to the suction area (para 0172-0174).
Regarding claim 8, Rufenach teaches wherein the flow guide comprises two lateral side projections (152 and 94) which become closer together along the flow path (para 0157 and as seen from fig 5 shown below).
[AltContent: textbox (2 lateral side projections 152 and 94 get closer along the flow path)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rufenach et al. (PG Pub U.S 2019/0000292).
Regarding claim 3, Rufenach fails to teach wherein the at least one raised projection or each of the raised projections of the set has: a height in the range 1mm to 10mm; and/or a length, parallel to a length of the brush channels, in the range 1mm to 50mm. However, the height/length of the raised projection is a result effective variable (para 0151). The height/length affects cleaning of the roller brush. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate height/length of the raised projection for effectively cleaning the roller brush. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the height/length of the raised projection such that height in the range 1mm to 10mm in order to effectively clean the roller brush. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 5, Rufenach fails to teach wherein the apex has a radius of curvature of less than 2mm. However, Rufenach teaches that the radius of curvature is a result effective variable (para 0151). The radius of curvature affects cleaning of the roller brush trimmings. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate radius of curvature for effectively cleaning the roller brush trimmings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the radius of curvature such that it is less than 2mm in order to effectively clean the roller brush trimmings. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 6, Rufenach teaches wherein the brush channel comprises a set of two or more raised projections (para 0149-0154) of shape (para 0154) but fails to specifically teach wherein there are at least two different shapes of raised projections within the set. However, since Rufenach teaches there can be multiple shapes (para 0154) it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for there to be at least two different shapes of raised projections within the set in order to enhance cleaning.
Regarding claim 9, Rufenach teaches wherein the two lateral side projections form part
of a V-shape with an apex angle of an acute angle (reads on between 40 and 120 degrees)
(seen from fig 5 below). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because the range disclosed
by the prior art overlaps the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
[AltContent: textbox (V-shape between 152 and 94 showing acute angle)]
Regarding claim 10, Rufenach teaches comprising opposite side walls (top and bottom 162 surfaces), wherein one of the side walls has an opening (162) through which the roller brush is received laterally parallel to its axes of rotation (para 0172 and fig 5).
Regarding claim 11, Rufenach teaches the cleaning tray is adapted to receive a head (204) of a wet floor cleaner (fig 11; para 0205-0206) which comprises a pair of roller brushes (206 and 210), wherein the cleaning tray comprises a pair of brush channels (224/226 and 224/228) (para 0213), and wherein an area (220/222) is in between the pair of brush channels (para 0212; fig 11). However, this embodiment of Rufenach fails to teach the area being a suction area. However, another embodiment of Rufenach teaches that it is known for the area corresponding to a brush channel is a suction area (para 0174 and 0199) in order to aid in collecting dirty fluid/debris for enhanced cleaning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the area between the pair of brush channels such that it is as suction area in order to aid in collecting dirty fluid/debris for enhanced cleaning.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rufenach et al. (PG Pub U.S 2019/0000292) and further in view of Brunnstrom et al. (PG Pub 2012/0311806).
Regarding claim 12, Rufenach teaches A wet floor cleaner (10) (fig 1; para 0053-054) comprising: a cleaning head (14) (para 0053) comprising: a housing (64) (para 0131); at least one rotary brush (18) extending across a width of the housing (para 0087); and a suction channel (66) for delivering suction to at least a space adjacent the at least one rotary brush (para 0173-0174; as suction fan may be possible in tank 66 which is in communication with channel for sucking fluid/debris into the tank 66); a delivery system (38/40) for delivering cleaning liquid to the cleaning head; and the cleaning tray of claim 1 (para 0065-0066). However, Rufenach fails to teach a pump for delivering suction to the suction channel of the cleaning head. However, Brunnstrom also teaches a floor cleaner wherein it is known to include a pump for delivering suction to the suction channel of the cleaning head (para 0029) in order to achieve the predictable result of suctioning liquid thus limiting the spread of liquid on the surface (para 0029). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rufenach by including a pump for delivering suction to the suction channel of the cleaning head as taught by Brunnstrom in order to achieve the predictable result of suctioning liquid thus limiting the spread of liquid on the surface.
Conclusion
/P.P/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714