DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the above referenced RCE.
Claims 4-6, 13-15, and 19 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that Applicant has argued that Enderle does not teach a positive stop that is defined relative to the longitudinal axis of the gun housing. However, as seen in Figures 6B and 6C, the stop 600 can be oriented at an angle to, i.e. not orthogonal to, the longitudinal axis. These embodiments would have rendered the new limitations of claims 1, 12, and 18 obvious. As this is not the intended interpretation of the claim language, the Enderle reference has been replaced with Mallis et al. (US 2002/0027363) and Mallis et al. (US 2006/0145480).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 10: Limitations similar to those of claims 9 and 10 have been incorporated into claim 1. As such, it is unclear if the “positive stop” of claims 9 and 10 is the same as that of claim 1 or a separate stop. For the purposes of examination, they are being treated as the same feature.
Regarding claim 11: Claim 11 is considered indefinite due to its dependence on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-12, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vass et al. (US 2023/0175326, Vass) in view of Robey (US 2019/0368320, Robey), as evidenced by Sauthoff et al. (US 2020/0190972, Sauthoff), Roberts et al. (US 2021/0355797, Roberts), and Mallis et al. (US 2002/0027363, Mallis), as evidenced by Mallis et al. (US 2006/0145480, Mallis2).
Regarding claims 1-3, 9, and 10: Vass discloses a perforating gun system 32 – Fig 3 comprising:
a first perforating gun 33a having a housing extending along a first long axis fig 1, 3 with a first end Fig 1, 3, a second end 112 with first alignment mechanism 170a, and a first set of scallops 70a aligned with the alignment mechanism Fig 1, 3;
a second perforating gun 33b having a housing extending along a second long axis Fig 1, 3 with a first end 118 with a second alignment mechanism 170b coupled to the first alignment mechanism of the second end of the first perforating gun Fig 1, 3, and a second set of scallops 70b aligned with the second alignment mechanism, wherein the coupling of the first perforating gun to the second perforating gun aligns the first set of scallops with the second set of scallops Fig 1, 3; and
a threaded engagement 110/116 between the first perforating gun and the second perforating gun.
Vass, while disclosing a first and second alignment member, fails to disclose the use of an alignment feature in a gun system that also includes a pressure bulkhead or that the threaded engagement included timed threads.
Robey discloses a perforating gun system that can include a cluster of perforating guns. Robey teaches that these guns can be connected using threads or timed threads [0020], [0021].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Vass so that the male and female threads were timed threads, as suggested by Robey, in order to have been able to ensure the proper alignment of the guns and the scallops thereon [0065] of Sauthoff.
The modification of Vass to use timed threads for the alignment mechanism would have eliminated the alignment member 120 shown in Figure 4 of Vass.
Vass, as modified, fails to disclose the use of a pressure bulkhead that includes sealing portion having a first shoulder in metal-to-metal engagement with a shoulder of the housing of the first perforating gun and a second shoulder in metal-to-metal engagement with a shoulder of the housing of the second perforating gun so the sealing portion is captured between the housings of the first and second perforating guns to cooperate with a threaded engagement of the housings of the first and second perforating guns to provide metal-to-metal pressure sealing between adjacent perforating guns and between an interior and an exterior of the housings or a positive stop at the point of full engagement between the second end of the first perforating gun and the first end of the second perforating gun that resists rotation beyond a predetermined point of thread engagement, and wherein the positive stop is an angled face angled relative to the first long axis and the second long axis in a horizontal plane and wherein the angled face is angled such that torque applied to threaded joint between the first perforating gun housing and the second perforating gun housing is converted to axial force thereby improving sealing and pressure resistance of the first perforating gun housing and the second perforating gun housing.
Roberts discloses a perforating gun system Fig 2. The gun system of Roberts includes a first perforating gun 121 with female threads Fig 3 and a second perforating gun 123 with male threads Fig 3. The system further includes sealing portion 306 having a first shoulder in metal-to-metal engagement with a shoulder of the housing of the first perforating gun at A (see reproduction of Figure 3 below) and a second shoulder in metal-to-metal engagement with a shoulder of the housing of the second perforating gun at B (see reproduction of Figure 3 below) so the sealing portion is captured between the housings of the first and second perforating guns to cooperate with a threaded engagement of the housings of the first and second perforating guns Fig 3 to provide metal-to-metal pressure sealing between adjacent perforating guns and between an interior and an exterior of the housings [0037] – containment of pressure disclosed and no threads between the threads or sealing portion and threads disclosed.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (B)]
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Vass to include the pressure bulkhead of Roberts in order to have been able to seal explosive pressure from adjacent perforating guns and thus protect the threads from distortion, galling, and disfigurement caused by explosive pressure [0017].
Vass, as modified, fails to disclose the use of a positive stop at the point of full engagement between the second end of the first perforating gun and the first end of the second perforating gun that resists rotation beyond a predetermined point of thread engagement, and wherein the positive stop is an angled face angled relative to the first long axis and the second long axis in a horizontal plane and wherein the angled face is angled such that torque applied to threaded joint between the first perforating gun housing and the second perforating gun housing is converted to axial force thereby improving sealing and pressure resistance of the first perforating gun housing and the second perforating gun housing.
Mallis discloses a threaded connection that includes a pin/male member 16 and a box/female member 14 that both define the longitudinal axis of the made-up connection. The connection includes a positive stop torque shoulder at 24 in Fig 2 that is an angled face angled relative to the longitudinal axis of the connection Fig 2, 4A-4D to prevent further rotation beyond a predetermine point of thread engagement [0004] and form a metal-to-metal seal at the shoulder Fig 6a-6f.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Voss to include the positive stop taught by Mallis in order to have formed a threaded connection that was secure and pressure sealed without applying excessive torque or work energy during make-up [0003] of Mallis2.
Regarding claims 7, 11, 16: Wherein the positive stop is a 45-degree angled face Fig 4B of Mallis.
Regarding claims 12 and 18: Vass discloses a perforating gun system 32 – Fig 3 comprising:
a first perforating gun 33a having a housing with a first end Fig 1, 3, a second end 112 with first alignment mechanism 170a, and a first set of scallops 70a aligned with the alignment mechanism Fig 1, 3;
a second perforating gun 33b having a housing with a first end 118 with a second alignment mechanism 170b coupled to the first alignment mechanism of the second end of the first perforating gun Fig 1, 3, and a second set of scallops 70b aligned with the second alignment mechanism, wherein the coupling of the first perforating gun to the second perforating gun aligns the first set of scallops with the second set of scallops Fig 1, 3.
Vass discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the first and second alignment mechanisms being timed male and female threads.
Robey discloses a perforating gun system that can include a cluster of perforating guns. Robey teaches that these guns can be connected using threads or timed threads.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Vass so that the male and female threads were timed threads, as suggested by Robey, in order to have been able to ensure the proper alignment of the guns and the scallops thereon [0065] of Sauthoff.
The modification of Vass to use timed threads for the alignment mechanism would have eliminated the alignment member 120 shown in Figure 4 of Vass.
Vass, as modified, fails to disclose the use of a pressure bulkhead that includes sealing portion having a first shoulder in metal-to-metal engagement with a shoulder of the housing of the first perforating gun and a second shoulder in metal-to-metal engagement with a shoulder of the housing of the second perforating gun so the sealing portion is captured between the housings of the first and second perforating guns to cooperate with a threaded engagement of the housings of the first and second perforating guns to provide metal-to-metal pressure sealing between adjacent perforating guns and between an interior and an exterior of the housings or a positive stop at the point of full engagement between the second end of the first perforating gun and the first end of the second perforating gun that resists rotation beyond a predetermined point of thread engagement, and wherein the positive stop is an angled face angled relative to the first long axis and the second long axis in a horizontal plane and wherein the angled face is angled such that torque applied to threaded joint between the first perforating gun housing and the second perforating gun housing is converted to axial force thereby improving sealing and pressure resistance of the first perforating gun housing and the second perforating gun housing.
Roberts discloses a perforating gun system Fig 2. The gun system of Roberts includes a first perforating gun 121 with female threads Fig 3 and a second perforating gun 123 with male threads Fig 3. The system further includes sealing portion 306 having a first shoulder in metal-to-metal engagement with a shoulder of the housing of the first perforating gun at A (see reproduction of Figure 3 above) and a second shoulder in metal-to-metal engagement with a shoulder of the housing of the second perforating gun at B (see reproduction of Figure 3 above) so the sealing portion is captured between the housings of the first and second perforating guns to cooperate with a threaded engagement of the housings of the first and second perforating guns Fig 3 to provide metal-to-metal pressure sealing between adjacent perforating guns and between an interior and an exterior of the housings [0037] – containment of pressure disclosed and no threads between the threads or sealing portion and threads disclosed.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Vass to include the pressure bulkhead of Roberts in order to have been able to seal explosive pressure from adjacent perforating guns and thus protect the threads from distortion, galling, and disfigurement caused by explosive pressure [0017].
Vass, as modified, fails to disclose the use of a positive stop at the point of full engagement between the second end of the first perforating gun and the first end of the second perforating gun that resists rotation beyond a predetermined point of thread engagement, and wherein the positive stop is an angled face angled relative to the first long axis and the second long axis in a horizontal plane and wherein the angled face is angled such that torque applied to threaded joint between the first perforating gun housing and the second perforating gun housing is converted to axial force thereby improving sealing and pressure resistance of the first perforating gun housing and the second perforating gun housing.
Mallis discloses a threaded connection that includes a pin/male member 16 and a box/female member 14 that both define the longitudinal axis of the made-up connection. The connection includes a positive stop torque shoulder at 24 in Fig 2 that is an angled face angled relative to the longitudinal axis of the connection Fig 2, 4A-4D to prevent further rotation beyond a predetermine point of thread engagement [0004] and form a metal-to-metal seal at the shoulder Fig 6a-6f.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Voss to include the positive stop taught by Mallis in order to have formed a threaded connection that was secure and pressure sealed without applying excessive torque or work energy during make-up [0003] of Mallis2.
Claim(s) 8, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vass in view of Roby, with Sauthoff, Roberts, and Mallis, with Maillis2, as applied to claims 3, 12, an 18 above, and further in view of Bradley et al. (US 2019/0195054, Bradley).
Regarding claims 8 and 17: Vass, as modified, discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the timed male threads and timed female threads being self-sealing.
Bradley discloses a perforating gun system that includes a first gun with a second end and a second gun with a first end Fig 1. It is disclosed that the threads can be self-sealing [0023], [0190].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Vass so that the threads were self-sealing, as taught by Bradley, in order to have provided a fluid pressure seal between one gun body and another without the need for O-rings [0190].
Regarding claim 20: Vass, as modified, discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except for the full engagement of the first perforating gun with the second perforating gun providing a pressure seal between the inside of the perforating gun string and the outside of the perforating gun string.
Bradley discloses a perforating gun system that includes a first gun with a second end and a second gun with a first end Fig 1. It is taught that fluid pressure seals can be formed between the two ends using at least one O-ring with O-ring grooves 112 located between the two ends Fig 7, [0167] or the threads can be self-sealing [0023], [0190].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Vass to include at least one O-ring between the second end of the first perforating gun and the first end of the second perforating gun, as taught by Bradley, in order to have provided a fluid pressure seal between one gun body and another [0167], [0190].
Conclusion
/JENNIFER H GAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
JHG
10/15/2025