DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the illumination system and detection system being collinear (along the same axis) with the microfluidic chamber, as in Claim 9, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non- structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “ an illumination system to provide an excitation light” as in Claims 1 and 13. “ an outcoupler ...to direct the excitation light” as in Claims 1 and 13. “a detection system to detect” as in Claims 1 and 13. “ illumination elements to emit excitation light” as in Claim 4. “a dispersion element...to spatially separate wavelengths” as in Claims 6 and 13. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. At least one light source , as in Fig. 1 of Applicant’s instant drawings...and equivalents thereof. “a lens or a lens array...a layer of translucent material that diffuses the excitation light...a roughened portion of a microfluidic chamber wall” as in para. [0048] of Applicant’s instant pre-grant publication US 2024/0377324 A1...and equivalents thereof. “a charge coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) device” as in para. [0050] of Applicant’s instant pre-grant publication US 2024/0377324 A1...and equivalents thereof. “ light -emitting diodes” as in para. [0070] of Applicant’s instant pre-grant publication US 2024/0377324 A1...and equivalents thereof. “ dichroic filters” as in para. [00 81 ] of Applicant’s instant pre-grant publication US 2024/0377324 A1...and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 1 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites the limitation " the microfluidic reaction chamber ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may intend the recitation as “ the microfluidic chamber ”, having antecedent basis in Claim 10. Claim 1 5 recites the limitation " the lenses". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears Applicant intends to provide antecedent basis for this term through the Claim 13 recitation “ a lens, per illumination element ”. If this is the case, Applicant may wish to amend Claim 15 to recite “ each of the lenses”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (Park DS, Young BM, You BH, Singh V, Soper SA, Murphy MC. An integrated, optofluidic system with aligned optical waveguides, microlenses, and coupling prisms for fluorescence sensing. J Microelectromech Syst. 2020 Aug;29(4):600-609.), hereinafter “Park” . Regarding Claim 1 , Park teaches a fluorescence detection system ( See the Introduction section : “ An integrated, thermoplastic LOC system with optical readout, consisting of a PMMA cover plate and fluidic substrate, with COC optical components was designed and fabricated for molecular analysis. ”) , comprising: a microfluidic chamber to receive a sample containing a compound to be detected ( See the LOC configuration section : “ six parallel fluidic microchannels with the sampling zone defined by the position of the waveguide ” , the Optical characterization section: “fluidic reservoirs”, and the Fabrication of components section discussing “ complete filling of the recessed microchannels ”. ) ; an illumination system to provide an excitation light to excite fluorophores in the microfluidic chamber (See Fig. 3 and the Optical characterization section: “ For optical characterization of the integrated optical system (see Fig. 3), a 635 nm laser diode (LDM21, 14 mW , Thorlabs Inc., Newton, NJ, USA) was coupled into a fiber optic cable (M15L01–201818, Thorlabs) with an OFR fiber port (PAF-X-2-B, Thorlabs). ”.) ; an outcoupler between the illumination system and the microfluidic chamber to direct the excitation light to fill the microfluidic chamber ( Figs. 1b, 2f, and 3 show the coupling prism/ outcoupler in yellow. Fig. 1a shows the prism/ outcoupler directing light to fill the microfluidic chambers. ) ; and a detection system to detect fluorescence generated by the excitation of the fluorophores in the microfluidic chamber (See Fig. 3 and the Image acquisition section: “ All fluorescence images were acquired using a charge-coupled device (CCD) camera (Spec-10, Roper Scientific, Trenton, NJ, USA). ”.), as in Claim 1 . Regarding Claim 2 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Park teaches the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein the illumination system is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the microfluidic chamber (Fig. 3 shows the laser as being perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the microfluidic chambers. Further, the “longitudinal axis” is interpreted broadly herein as any front-to-back axis running through a length of the device as Applicant has not required a particular orientation of the longitudinal axis, such as being parallel to a longest edge of the device. ), as in Claim 2. Regarding Claim 3 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Park teaches the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein: the illumination system and detection system are perpendicular to one another ( Fig. 3 shows the laser and CCD as perpendicular to one another. ) ; and the detection system is aligned with a longitudinal axis of the microfluidic chamber (Fig. 3 further shows the detection system as aligned with a longitudinal axis ( an axis going into the page when viewed through Fig. 3) of the microfluidic chamber . Further, the term “aligned with” is broad to encompass any position respective to the axis. Applicant may intend “parallel with”. ), as in Claim 3. Regarding Claim 5 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Park teaches the fluorescence detection system discussed above further comprising a second outcoupler between the microfluidic chamber and the detection system (See Fig. 3 and the Optical characterization section: “ The fluorescence emission was collected by the on-chip microlenses and imaged onto the CCD camera using a 2X (N.A. = 0.08) and 1.5X (N.A. = 0.04) objective lenses. ”), as in Claim 5. Regarding Claim 6 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 5 as discussed above. Further, Park teaches the fluorescence detection system discussed above further comprising a dispersion element integrated with the second outcoupler , the dispersion element to spatially separate wavelengths of emission light emanating from excited fluorophores (See Fig. 3 and the Optical characterization section: “ A band pass filter (660–680 nm, Omega Optical, Brattleboro, VT) was used for spectrally isolating the fluorescence. ”), as in Claim 6. Regarding Claim 10 , Park teaches a method, comprising: introducing a sample comprising a target compound to be detected into a microfluidic chamber (See the Optical characterization section: “ 100 nM of the fluorescent dye ( DyLight 650) was hydrodynamically shuttled through the microchannels ”.) ; introducing an excitation light into the microfluidic chamber through a surface that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the microfluidic chamber ( See the Optical characterization section: “ coupling the laser light into the integrated prism ”. – Further, Fig. 3 shows the entry surface as perpendicular to the longitudinal axis interpreted herein as an axis going into the page when viewed through Fig. 3.) ; directing the excitation light through an outcoupler to fill the microfluidic chamber ( See the Optical characterization section: “coupling the laser light into the integrated prism” .) ; and monitoring the target compound within the microfluidic chamber by detecting, at a detection system, the fluorescence that is indicative of the target compound within the microfluidic chamber ( See the Characterization of optical waveguides section: “ The evanescent excitation of the resulting fluorescent dye in the fluidic microchannels and the fluorescent signals as collected by the microlenses were confirmed ”. ), as in Claim 10. Regarding Claim 11 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 10 as discussed above. Further, Park teaches the method discussed above wherein: the microfluidic reaction chamber is a microfluidic channel; and the method further comprises introducing a continuous flow of the sample through the microfluidic channel (See the Introduction section: “ fluorescent dyes flowing through parallel microchannels ”), as in Claim 11. Regarding Claim 12 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 10 as discussed above. Further, Park teaches the method discussed above further comprising generating a line-shaped excitation light beam (Fig. 3 shows the excitation beam as line-shaped so as to efficiently enter the optical fiber. Further, a laser source is known in the art to produce a linear beam as required by the linear coherence needed to produce such high intensity light.), as in Claim 12. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Maher et al. ( US PAT 6 , 838 , 680 B2 ), hereinafter “Maher”. Park has been discussed above. Regarding Claim 4 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Park does not specifically teach the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein the illumination system comprises multiple illumination elements to emit excitation light in different wavelength range , as in Claim 4. However, Maher teaches a respective fluorescence detection system wherein “ The light source may be a multiple-wavelength light source. ” (col. 3, line 6) and “ The optical detection and orientation system can also have multiple light sources, each emitting light at a different wavelength. ” (col. 3, line 41), s o as to achieve a desired sensitivity for detection ( col. 3, line 19 ), and to provide a system capable of being used with different fluorophores having different excitation wavelength ranges ( col. 4, line 51 ). Therein, this arrangement allows for multiplexed analysis and broader use across diverse fluorophores. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Park wherein the illumination system comprises multiple illumination elements to emit excitation light in different wavelength range , such as suggested by Maher, so as to allow for multiplexed analysis and broader use across diverse fluorophores . Regarding Claim 13 , Park teaches a fluorescence detection system ( See the Introduction section: “An integrated, thermoplastic LOC system with optical readout, consisting of a PMMA cover plate and fluidic substrate, with COC optical components was designed and fabricated for molecular analysis.” ) , comprising: a longitudinal microfluidic chamber to receive a sample containing a compound to be detected ( See the LOC configuration section: “six parallel fluidic microchannels with the sampling zone defined by the position of the waveguide”, the Optical characterization section: “fluidic reservoirs”, and the Fabrication of components section discussing “complete filling of the recessed microchannels”. ) ; an illumination system, perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the microfluidic chamber to provide an excitation light to excite fluorophores in the microfluidic chamber ( See Fig. 3 and the Optical characterization section: “For optical characterization of the integrated optical system (see Fig. 3), a 635 nm laser diode (LDM21, 14 mW , Thorlabs Inc., Newton, NJ, USA) was coupled into a fiber optic cable (M15L01–201818, Thorlabs) with an OFR fiber port (PAF-X-2-B, Thorlabs).”. Further, Fig. 3 shows the laser as being perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the microfluidic chambers. Further, the “longitudinal axis” is interpreted broadly herein as any front-to-back axis running through a length of the device as Applicant has not required a particular orientation of the longitudinal axis, such as being parallel to a longest edge of the device. ) , an outcoupler between the illumination system and the microfluidic chamber to direct the excitation light to fill the microfluidic chamber ( Figs. 1b, 2f, and 3 show the coupling prism/ outcoupler in yellow. Fig. 1a shows the prism/ outcoupler directing light to fill the microfluidic chambers. ) , wherein the outcoupler is to direct excitation light to impinge on interior walls of the microfluidic chamber at angles greater than a critical angle for the microfluidic chamber and sample interface (Figs. 1a and 3 show the light beam impinging on interior walls of the microfluidic chamber at an angle greater than a critical angle of total internal reflectance.) ; a dispersion element to spatially separate wavelengths of light emanating from excited fluorophores ( See Fig. 3 and the Optical characterization section: “A band pass filter (660–680 nm, Omega Optical, Brattleboro, VT) was used for spectrally isolating the fluorescence.” ) ; and a detection system to detect spatially-separated bands of fluorescence generated by the excitation of the fluorophores ( See Fig. 3 and the Image acquisition section: “All fluorescence images were acquired using a charge-coupled device (CCD) camera (Spec-10, Roper Scientific, Trenton, NJ, USA).”. ), as in Claim 13. Further regarding Claim 13 , Park does not specifically teach the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein the illumination system comprises multiple illumination elements; a lens, per illumination element, to direct respective excitation beams towards the microfluidic chamber , as in Claim 13. However, Maher teaches a respective fluorescence detection system wherein “The light source may be a multiple-wavelength light source.” (col. 3, line 6) and “The optical detection and orientation system can also have multiple light sources, each emitting light at a different wavelength.” (col. 3, line 41), so as to achieve a desired sensitivity for detection (col. 3, line 19), and to provide a system capable of being used with different fluorophores having different excitation wavelength ranges (col. 4, line 51). Therein, this arrangement allows for multiplexed analysis and broader use across diverse fluorophores. Further, Maher provides for “ individual light sources may be used for each confocal microscope system ” (col. 3, line 4) wherein each individual light source thereby comprises its own lens of the confocal system. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Park wherein the illumination system comprises multiple illumination elements; a lens, per illumination element, to direct respective excitation beams towards the microfluidic chamber , such as suggested by Maher, so as to allow for multiplexed analysis and broader use across diverse fluorophores . Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Battrell et al. (US 2013/0011912 A1), hereinafter “ Battrell ” . Regarding Claim 7 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Park does not specifically teach the fluorescence detection system discussed above further comprising a reflective coating on an interior surface of the microfluidic chamber to redirect excitation light and emission light towards a center of the fluorescence detection system , as in Claim 7. However, Battrell teaches a respective fluorescence detection system wherein a reflective coating on an interior surface of the microfluidic chamber to redirect emission light to the detector ([0087]: “ a highly reflective optical finish ”), thereby increasing the amount of light received by the detector so as to improve the sensitivity of detection ([0125]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Park further comprising a reflective coating on an interior surface of the microfluidic chamber , such as suggested by Battrell , so as to increase the amount of fluorescence emission received by the detector, thereby increasing the sensitivity of detection. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park . Park has been discussed above. Regarding Claim 8 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, park teaches the fluorescence detection system discussed above further comprising a substrate ( See the Fabrication of components section: “ PMMA was used for the fluidic substrate ” ) , wherein the microfluidic chamber is separable from the illumination system (Fig. 3 shows the microfluidic chambers as separate from the laser.) , as in Claim 8. Further regarding Claim 8 , Park does not specifically teach the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein the illumination system and detection system are attached to the substrate , as in Claim 8. However, merely making integral as one piece what exists in the prior art as separate pieces absent any criticality or unexpected result is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04 (V)(B). Herein, one skilled in the art would not expect the prior art device of Park having an illumination system and detection system as a non-integral arrangement with the substrate to function differently than the claimed integral arrangement given that the functionality of providing excitation light and detecting emission light remains the same regardless of what specific structures the illumination/detection systems are attached to. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Tomei et al. ( WO 1998 / 023945 A1 ), hereinafter “Tomei” . Park has been discussed above. Regarding Claim 9 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, park teaches the fluorescence detection system discussed above further comprising a substrate (See the Fabrication of components section: “PMMA was used for the fluidic substrate”) , as in Claim 9. Further regarding Claim 9 , Park does not specifically teach the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein the illumination system and detection system are attached to the substrate , as in Claim 9. However, merely making integral as one piece what exists in the prior art as separate pieces absent any criticality or unexpected result is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04 (V)(B). Herein, one skilled in the art would not expect the prior art device of Park having an illumination system and detection system as a non-integral arrangement with the substrate to function differently than the claimed integral arrangement given that the functionality of providing excitation light and detecting emission light remains the same regardless of what specific structures the illumination/detection systems are attached to. Further regarding Claim 9 , Park does not specifically teach the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein the illumination system and detection system are collinear with a longitudinal axis of the microfluidic chamber , as in Claim 9. However, Tomei teaches a respective fluorescence detection system wherein the illumination system , detection system , and interrogated sample are collinear along a same axis (Page 2: “ When a sample emitting fluorescent light is embedded within a homogeneous and optically clear medium, and/or contained between two plates of an optical material, the emitted fluorescence is conventionally detected in either the forward or backward direction ... Forward detection involves collecting the light within a cone along the axis of the excitation beam (e.g., for a light source, sample, and light detector which are collinear, the source and detector are on opposite sides of the sample, generally along the same optical axis). Backward detection involves collecting the light emitted in a cone opposite from the direction of the excitation beam (e.g., for a light source, sample, and light detector which are collinear, the source and detector are on the same side of the sample). ”) wherein this arrangement is a mere alternative to the perpendicular arrangement of Park. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Park wherein the illumination system and detection system are collinear with a longitudinal axis of the microfluidic chamber , such as suggested by Tomei, as a mere obvious alternative arrangement of the elements performing and achieving the identical functions as in Park. Regarding Claim 14 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 13 as discussed above. Further, Park teaches the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein: the detection system is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the microfluidic chamber ( Fig. 3 further shows the detection system as perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (an axis going into the page when viewed through Fig. 3) of the microfluidic chamber. ), as in Claim 1 4. Further regarding Claim 1 4 , Park does not specifically teach the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein the detection system and illumination system are disposed along a same side of the microfluidic chamber , as in Claim 14 . However, Tomei teaches a respective fluorescence detection system wherein the illumination system , detection system , and interrogated sample are collinear along a same axis (Page 2: “ When a sample emitting fluorescent light is embedded within a homogeneous and optically clear medium, and/or contained between two plates of an optical material, the emitted fluorescence is conventionally detected in either the forward or backward direction ... Forward detection involves collecting the light within a cone along the axis of the excitation beam (e.g., for a light source, sample, and light detector which are collinear, the source and detector are on opposite sides of the sample, generally along the same optical axis). Backward detection involves collecting the light emitted in a cone opposite from the direction of the excitation beam (e.g., for a light source, sample, and light detector which are collinear, the source and detector are on the same side of the sample). ”) wherein this arrangement is a mere alternative to the perpendicular arrangement of Park. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Park wherein the detection system and illumination system are disposed along a same side of the microfluidic chamber , such as suggested by Tomei, as a mere obvious alternative arrangement of the elements performing and achieving the identical functions as in Park. Claim 1 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Maher, as applied to Claims 4 and 13-14 above, and in further view of Lim et al. ( WO 2014 / 117937 A1 ), hereinafter “Lim”. Regarding Claim 15 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 13 as discussed above. Further, Park /Maher does not specifically teach the fluorescence detection system discussed above wherein the lenses are integrated on an exterior surface of the longitudinal microfluidic chamber , as in Claim 15. However, Lim teaches a respective microfluidic device having lenses for focusing light into and out of the microfluidic chambers, wherein the lenses are integrated on an exterior surface of the longitudinal microfluidic chamber s (Fig. 1 and Abstract: “ the focusing lenses (121) comprise refractive lenses being arranged on at least one of the substrate plate (111) and the cover plate (112) ”.) wherein this arrangement is a mere obvious alternative arrangement to that of Park wherein the lens arrangement is not attached directly to the substrate. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Park wherein the lenses are integrated on an exterior surface of the longitudinal microfluidic chamber , such as suggested by Lim, as a mere obvious alternative arrangement to that of Park wherein the lenses remain as performing the identical function of focusing light into a sample chamber for interrogating a fluorescent sample. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BENJAMIN KASS whose telephone number is (703)756-5501. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Capozzi, can be reached at telephone number ( 571 ) 270-3638 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is ( 571 ) 273-8300 . Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300): “Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.” Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center ; and visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call ( 800 ) 786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or ( 571 ) 272-1000. /B.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 1798 /NEIL N TURK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798