DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan (US 2017/0311000, “Sullivan”) in view of Sridhar et al. (US 2021/0014725, “Sridhar”).
Regarding claim 1, Sullivan discloses a device which acquires a status of an application using video transmission (See Fig.2a-b and ¶.6-7, low latency video transmission; See ¶.20, latency sensitive real-time communication application such as for remote desktop conferencing, video telephony, video surveillance, web camera video);
- selects an encoding scheme and a decoding scheme of a video signal generated by the application according to the status of the application (See ¶.7, the detailed description presents techniques and tools for reducing latency in video encoding and decoding; See ¶.40, capable of operating in any of multiple encoding modes such as a low-latency encoding mode for real-time communication; See claim 23, selecting, from multiple available encoding modes, a low-latency encoding mode for real-time communication, wherein the constraint on delay is set as part of the low-latency encoding mode; See ¶.48, it can be a special-purpose decoding tool adapted for one such decoding mode. The decoder system can be implemented as an operating system module. …The coded data can include one or more syntax elements that indicate a constraint on latency to facilitate reduced-latency decoding; See ¶.51, the decoder includes multiple decoding modules that perform decoding and the exact operations performed by the decoder can vary depending on compression format); and
- secures resources of a data transmission network that transmits the video signal according to the selection result (See ¶.5, an encoder can increase encoding time and increase resources used during encoding to find the most efficient way to compress video; See ¶.59-60, determining memory capacity needed in a decoder; Examiner’s Note: Sridhar discloses the limitation “secures resources of a data transmission network”).
Sullivan discloses that an encoder can increase encoding time and increase resources used during encoding to find the most efficient way to compress video and the method of determining memory capacity needed in a decoder as cited in the paragraph above. However, Sullivan does not explicitly disclose what Sridhar discloses “secures resources of a data transmission network (Sridhar, See ¶.6, predict a likely encoding rate that will be used by the application that generates the conversational video traffic, and allocate resources to the conversational video traffic based on the likely encoding rates and other network conditions; See ¶.30, the resource allocation controller may allocate resources for the uplink and the downlink with the user equipment based on a predicted future encoding rate of the uplink data flow and/or the downlink data flow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the method of “securing resources of a data transmission network” as taught by Sridhar into the system of Sullivan, so that it provides a way of optimally allocating resources to video traffic in order to improve quality of service for that traffic (Sridhar, See ¶.3).
Regarding claim 2, Sullivan does not explicitly disclose what Sridhar discloses “resources of the data transmission network allocated to low-delay applications are larger than resources of the data transmission network allocated to non-low-delay applications (Sridhar, See ¶.61, allocate the additional resource for latency-sensitive traffic).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Sullivan discloses “the status of the application is acquired by analyzing a video signal generated by the application (See ¶.6, consider use scenarios such as remote desktop conferencing, surveillance video, video telephony and other real-time communication scenarios. Such applications are time-sensitive. Low latency between recording of input pictures and playback of output pictures is a key factor in performance; See ¶.20, delay can be reduced for remote desktop conferencing, video telephony, video surveillance, web camera video and other real-time communication applications; See ¶.34, each real-time communication (“RTC”) tool includes both an encoder and a decoder for bidirectional communication. A given encoder can produce output compliant with H.264 or AVC, HEVC standard, another standard, or a proprietary format, with a corresponding decoder accepting encoded data from the encoder).”
Regarding claim 5, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to a device claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claim 6, it is a method claim corresponding to a device claims 1 & 4 and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claims.
Regarding claim 7, it is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 6, except the limitation “a video signal source that executes an application that uses video transmission (Sullivan, See 310 Fig.3, video source); a data transmission network that transmits a video signal generated by the application (Sullivan, See Fig.3-4, sending encoded data over a channel to receiving side having decoder); and a controller that controls resources of the data transmission network (Sridhar, See 330 Fig.3 and ¶.27-29, a resource allocation controller to allocating resource based on encoding rate; See ¶.51, the resource allocation controller may test a data flow to determine whether it contains latency-sensitive bidirectional data flows. As illustrated, the resource allocation controller may determine whether the traffic is associated with conversational video specifically. The resource allocation controller may determine the application type (e.g., whether the application type is conversational video or some other latency-sensitive data flow) based on statistics vectors of bearer metrics and locating points on a label map corresponding to the statistics vectors)” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Sullivan and Sridhar disclose “a transmission-side media converter (MC) that converts the video signal from the video signal source into a format that can be transmitted over the data transmission network (Sullivan, See 310, 330, & 340 Fig.3, video source, selector, and encoder within the sender/source side); and a receiver-side MC that converts the video signal transmitted over the data transmission network into a video signal from the video signal source (Sullivan, See 450 Fig.4, decoder in receiving side), wherein the controller is configured to select, according to the status of the application (See the rejection of the selecting step in claim 1), an encoding scheme for conversion into a format that can be transmitted over the data transmission network in the transmission-side MC (Sullivan, See 380 Fig.3, channel coder to send out coded data over channel; Examiner’s Note: Sridhar discloses the limitation “a controller” as rejected in claim 7), and a decoding scheme for converting into the video signal from the video signal source in the receiver-side MC (as shown in Fig.4), the transmission-side MC encodes the video signal from the video signal source using the encoding scheme selected by the controller (See claim 1 for selecting encoding scheme), and the receiver-side MC decodes the video signal transmitted over the data transmission network using the decoding scheme selected by the controller (Sullivan, See Fig.4 for decoding; See ¶.48, it can be a special-purpose decoding tool adapted for one such decoding mode. The decoder system can be implemented as an operating system module. …The coded data can include one or more syntax elements that indicate a constraint on latency to facilitate reduced-latency decoding; See ¶.51, the decoder includes multiple decoding modules that perform decoding and the exact operations performed by the decoder can vary depending on compression format). Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan in view of Sridhar and further in view of Awais (US 2005/02014414, “Awais”).
Regarding claim 3, Sullivan and Sridhar do not explicitly disclose what Awais discloses “in a case of low-delay applications, uncompressed or low-compression encoding and decoding schemes are selected, and in a case of non-low-delay applications, high-compression encoding and decoding schemes are selected (Awais, See ¶.18, if the RTBM determines that sufficient bandwidth is available, to select a low compression, low latency CODEC).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply “in a case of low-delay applications, uncompressed or low-compression encoding and decoding schemes are selected, and in a case of non-low-delay applications, high-compression encoding and decoding schemes are selected” as taught by Sridhar into the system of Sullivan, so that it provides the best QoS achievable over the current end-to-end available bandwidth (Awais, See ¶.18).”
Contact Information
/JUNG H PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411