DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 11/27/2023. Claims 7 ,12, 14, 23, and 25 were cancelled. Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 11, 13, 15 – 22 and 24 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ostermeier (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0170151, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 11/27/2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
A vehicle system (101, 102, 103, 104, 105) for use in a vehicle (100), the vehicle system (101, 102, 103, 104, 105) comprising:
an airflow system (air conditioning unit, of which 104 is a part, Paragraph 0029) configured to condition air (air to be blown into the interior of 100, Paragraph 0026) in a cabin (interior of 100, Paragraph 0026) of the vehicle (100), the airflow system (air conditioning unit, of which 104 is a part, Paragraph 0029) comprising at least one air vent (it is inherent the air conditioning unit include at least one air vent opening in the interior) disposed in the cabin (interior of 100, Paragraph 0026) and an airflow apparatus (104) configured to direct an airflow (conditioned flow of air from the air conditioning unit) through the at least one vent (it is inherent said vent opening includes a register to direct the air into the interior);
an interface arrangement (105) comprising a first input module (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) and a second input module (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025), the first (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) and second (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) input modules each being configured to issue airflow demand signals (signals indicative of user specified climate parameter, particularly a target temperature, Paragraph 0025; signals indicative of fan strength, Paragraph 0031) in response to user input (“user interface 105 with which an input of a user may be entered”, Paragraph 0025); and
a control system (101, 103) comprising one or more controller (101), the control system (101, 103) being configured to:
receive (as described in Paragraph 0029) an airflow demand signal (a signal indicative of user specified climate parameter such as fan strength, Paragraph 0031) issued by either of the first (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) and second (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) input modules;
determine (see Step 402), in accordance with the received airflow demand signal (a signal indicative of user specified climate parameter such as fan strength, Paragraph 0031), an airflow map (the particular fan characteristic curve based on the input, as described in Paragraphs 0038-0039; it is noted fan characteristic curves 211, 212, 213, are an airflow map) defining a function of an airflow parameter (the fan characteristic curve is a function of fan strength) with respect to (as described in Paragraphs 0032 and 0037) a cabin temperature (temperature sensed by 102); and
operate (See Step 403) the airflow system (air conditioning unit, of which 104 is a part, Paragraph 0029) in accordance with the determined airflow map (the particular fan characteristic curve based on the input, as described in Paragraphs 0026 and 0038-0039; it is noted fan characteristic curves 211, 212, 213, are an airflow map) to control the airflow (conditioned flow of air from the air conditioning unit) through the at least one vent (it is inherent said vent opening includes a register to direct the air into the interior); wherein
the first input module (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) and/or the second input module (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) has an automatic operating mode (automatic climate control, as described in Paragraph 0036) and a semi-automatic operating mode (automatic climate control with specified fan strength limitations, as described in Paragraph 0038), wherein the automatic operating mode (automatic climate control, as described in Paragraph 0036), a control member (screen interface or rotate and press button) of the module (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) controls a target temperature (target temperature set by user, Paragraph 0025), and wherein in the semi-automatic operating mode (automatic climate control with specified fan strength limitations, as described in Paragraph 0038), the control member (screen interface or rotate and press button) of the module (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) controls the airflow demand signal (a signal indicative of user specified climate parameter such as fan strength, Paragraph 0031) to change the airflow map (between 211, 212, and 213, as described in Paragraphs 0038-0039; it is noted fan characteristic curves 211, 212, 213, are an airflow map).
Regarding Claim 2, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The airflow parameter (the fan characteristic curve is a function of fan strength) comprises a flow rate (the fan strength determines the flow rate, by increasing the fan strength, the flow rate increases, and vice versa).
Regarding Claim 3, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The airflow demand signals (signals indicative of user specified climate parameter, particularly a target temperature, Paragraph 0025; signals indicative of fan strength, Paragraph 0031) issued by the first (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) and second (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) input modules are indicative of a user demand for an altered flow rate (because the user can set the desired fan strength through 105, the signals are indicative of an altered flow rate; it is noted a stronger fan strength increases the flow rate, and vice versa) through the at least one vent (it is inherent the air conditioning unit include at least one air vent opening in the interior).
Regarding Claim 4, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The control system (101, 103) is configured to determine (see Step 402) the airflow map (the particular fan characteristic curve based on the input, as described in Paragraphs 0038-0039; it is noted fan characteristic curves 211, 212, 213, are an airflow map) by selecting the airflow map from a set of such airflow maps (211, 212, 213).
Regarding Claim 5, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
Each airflow map (one of 211, 212, and 213) of the set (211, 212, 213) defines a respective relationship between a flow rate (the fan characteristic curve is a function of fan strength, which is indicative of flow rate) and (as described in Paragraphs 0032 and 0037) the cabin temperature (temperature sensed by 102).
Regarding Claim 6, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The control system (101, 103) is configured to operate the airflow system (air conditioning unit, of which 104 is a part, Paragraph 0029) to control a flow rate of air (based on the fan strength of 104) flowing through the at least one vent (it is inherent the air conditioning unit include at least one air vent opening in the interior) or to control a temperature of air (as described in Paragraph 0006) flowing through the at least one vent (it is inherent the air conditioning unit include at least one air vent opening in the interior).
Regarding Claim 13, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The screen interface or rotate and press button (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) is a rotary control member, and wherein each input module (touch-sensitive screen, rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) includes a display (a touch sensitive screen is a display and a rotate and press button is surrounded by a display of settings for the user to rotate the button to a setting mark).
Regarding Claim 15, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The interface arrangement (105) comprises an interface module (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) associated with an instrument panel (a touch screen is on the instrument panel of the vehicle) of the vehicle (100).
Regarding Claim 16, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The airflow map (the particular fan characteristic curve based on the input, as described in Paragraphs 0038-0039; it is noted fan characteristic curves 211, 212, 213, are an airflow map) defines a function of an airflow parameter (fan strength, Paragraph 0026) with respect to a difference between the cabin temperature and a target cabin temperature (“fan strength as a function of a control deviation, which may depend for example on a different between the actual temperature and the target temperature of the interior of the vehicle 100”, Paragraph 0026).
Regarding Claim 17, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The second input module (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) is configured such that a mode switching action (rotation or pushing of the button to switch between automatic mode and user selected mode) must be performed on the second input module (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) before a user (passenger in the vehicle) can input a request defining an airflow demand signal (strength of the airflow is an airflow demand signal).
Regarding Claim 18, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The second input module (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) is configured such that performing the mode switching action (rotation or pushing of the button to switch between automatic mode and user selected mode) a second time (pushing the button is the first action and rotating to set the airflow strength is a second action) selects a manual operating mode (by selecting the airflow strength, a manual operating mode is selected).
Regarding Claim 19, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The mode switching action (rotation or pushing of the button to switch between automatic mode and user selected mode) comprises pushing or pulling (pushing) the control member (screen interface or rotate and press button) of the second input module (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025).
Regarding Claim 20, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The control system (101, 103) is configured to receive signals (as illustrated in Figure 1) indicative of the cabin temperature (via 102) and a target temperature (as set by a user on 105), and to process the received signals (signals from 102 and 105) to determine the cabin heating power demand (the cabin heating power demand is calculated by 101 using information on 103 to determine the required temperature change in the cabin to satisfy the target temperature).
Regarding Claim 21, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
A vehicle (100) comprising the vehicle system (101, 102, 103, 104, 105) of claim 1 (please see the rejection of Claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostermeier (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0170151, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 11/27/2023), as recited in Claim 1 above, in view of Goenka et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,839,632).
Regarding Claim 8, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The at least one air vent (it is inherent the air conditioning unit include at least one air vent opening in the interior).
However, Ostermeier lacks showing the airflow system comprises a first air vent configured to direct air into a first region of the cabin and a second air vent configured to direct air into a second region of the cabin.
In the same field of endeavor of vehicle air conditioning control systems, Goenka teaches (Figures 1 and 4):
It is known in the vehicle (10) art for the airflow system to comprise at least one air vent (36) in the dashboard, a first air vent (66 in the driver’s seat) configured to direct air (as illustrated by airflow arrows in Figure 1) into a first region (18a) of the cabin (14) and a second air vent (66) configured to direct air (as illustrated by airflow arrows in Figure 1) into a second region (20a) of the cabin (14).
Further, this allows the system to maximize occupant comfort, Col. 2, line 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the airflow system with the at least one vent shown by Ostermeier to further include a first air vent configured to direct air into a first region of the cabin and a second air vent configured to direct air into a second region of the cabin, as taught by Goenka, to maximize occupant comfort by allowing for regional control.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Ostermeier and Goenka teaches the claimed invention except the first input module is configured to issue an airflow demand signal relating to airflow through the first vent and the second input module is configured to issue a demand signal relating to airflow through the second vent.
Goenka further teaches (Figures 1 and 4):
It is known in the vehicle (10) art for an input module (70) to be associated with a seat of the vehicle (“at least one user interface 70… the HVAC controller 32 can be in communication with as many user interfaces 70 as desired. As shown, the user interface includes a display 74 for generating a visible output to the user… the display 74 can be disposed in various locations throughout vehicle 10 such as a headrest, Col. 6, lines 51-61), wherein each seat (18a 20a, 22a, 24a) comprises an associated vent (66) and input module (“at least one user interface 70… the HVAC controller 32 can be in communication with as many user interfaces 70 as desired. As shown, the user interface includes a display 74 for generating a visible output to the user… the display 74 can be disposed in various locations throughout vehicle 10 such as a headrest, Col. 6, lines 51-61) used to issue an airflow demand signal (the airflow through 66) relating to airflow through the associated vent.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the input modules and vents taught by the combination of Ostermeier and Goenka such that the first input module is configured to issue an airflow demand signal relating to airflow through the first vent and the second input module is configured to issue a demand signal relating to airflow through the second vent, as further taught by Goenka, to increase passenger comfort by allowing each passenger in the vehicle input over the airflow temperature and rate into the cabin.
Regarding Claim 11, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
The first and second input modules.
However, Ostermeier lacks showing the modules are each associated with respective seats of the vehicle and wherein the interface arrangement comprises further input modules that are each associated with respective seats of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor of vehicle air conditioning control systems, Goenka teaches (Figures 1 and 4):
It is known in the vehicle (10) art for an input module (70) to be associated with a seat of the vehicle (“at least one user interface 70… the HVAC controller 32 can be in communication with as many user interfaces 70 as desired. As shown, the user interface includes a display 74 for generating a visible output to the user… the display 74 can be disposed in various locations throughout vehicle 10 such as a headrest, Col. 6, lines 51-61), wherein each seat (18a 20a, 22a, 24a) comprises an associated vent (66) and input module (“at least one user interface 70… the HVAC controller 32 can be in communication with as many user interfaces 70 as desired. As shown, the user interface includes a display 74 for generating a visible output to the user… the display 74 can be disposed in various locations throughout vehicle 10 such as a headrest, Col. 6, lines 51-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system shown by Ostermeier to have an input module and vent associated with every seat of the vehicle, as taught by Goenka, to increase passenger comfort by allowing each passenger in the vehicle input over the airflow temperature and rate into the cabin.
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostermeier (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0170151, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 11/27/2023) in view of Goenka et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,839,632).
Regarding Claim 22, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
A method (method for controlling an air conditioning system, title) of controlling a vehicle airflow system (air conditioning unit, of which 104 is a part, Paragraph 0029) that is configured to condition air (air to be blown into the interior of 100, Paragraph 0026) in the cabin (interior of 100, Paragraph 0026) of the vehicle (100), the airflow system (air conditioning unit, of which 104 is a part, Paragraph 0029) comprising at least one air vent (it is inherent the air conditioning unit include at least one air vent opening in the interior) disposed in the cabin (interior of 100, Paragraph 0026) and an airflow apparatus (104) configured to direct an airflow (conditioned flow of air from the air conditioning unit) through the at least one vent (it is inherent said vent opening includes a register to direct the air into the interior), the method (method for controlling an air conditioning system, title) comprising:
receiving (as described in Paragraph 0029), from an input module, an airflow demand signal (a signal indicative of user specified climate parameter such as fan strength, Paragraph 0031) indicative of a user demand for an altered flow rate (signals indicative of fan strength, Paragraph 0031) through the at least one vent (it is inherent said vent opening includes a register to direct the air into the interior);
determining (see Step 402), in accordance with the signal indicative of the airflow demand signal (a signal indicative of user specified climate parameter such as fan strength, Paragraph 0031), an airflow map (the particular fan characteristic curve based on the input, as described in Paragraphs 0038-0039; it is noted fan characteristic curves 211, 212, 213, are an airflow map) defining a function of an airflow parameter (the fan characteristic curve is a function of fan strength) with respect to (as described in Paragraphs 0032 and 0037) a cabin temperature (temperature sensed by 102); and
operating (See Step 403) the airflow system (air conditioning unit, of which 104 is a part, Paragraph 0029) in accordance with the airflow map (the particular fan characteristic curve based on the input, as described in Paragraphs 0026 and 0038-0039; it is noted fan characteristic curves 211, 212, 213, are an airflow map) to control the airflow (conditioned flow of air from the air conditioning unit) through the at least one vent (it is inherent said vent opening includes a register to direct the air into the interior); wherein
the first input module (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) and/or the second input module (rotate and press button, Paragraph 0025) has an automatic operating mode (automatic climate control, as described in Paragraph 0036) and a semi-automatic operating mode (automatic climate control with specified fan strength limitations, as described in Paragraph 0038), wherein the automatic operating mode (automatic climate control, as described in Paragraph 0036), a control member (screen interface) of the module (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) controls a target temperature (target temperature set by user, Paragraph 0025), and wherein in the semi-automatic operating mode (automatic climate control with specified fan strength limitations, as described in Paragraph 0038), the control member (screen interface) of the module (touch-sensitive screen, Paragraph 0025) controls the airflow demand signal (a signal indicative of user specified climate parameter such as fan strength, Paragraph 0031) to change the airflow map (between 211, 212, and 213, as described in Paragraphs 0038-0039; it is noted fan characteristic curves 211, 212, 213, are an airflow map).
However, Ostermeier lacks showing the input module is associated with a seat of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor of vehicle air conditioning control systems, Goenka teaches (Figures 1 and 4):
It is known in the vehicle (10) art for an input module (70) to be associated with a seat of the vehicle (“at least one user interface 70… the HVAC controller 32 can be in communication with as many user interfaces 70 as desired. As shown, the user interface includes a display 74 for generating a visible output to the user… the display 74 can be disposed in various locations throughout vehicle 10 such as a headrest, Col. 6, lines 51-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the input module shown by Ostermeier to be associated with a seat of the vehicle, as taught by Goenka, to increase passenger comfort by allowing each passenger in the vehicle input over the airflow temperature and rate into the cabin.
Regarding Claim 24, Ostermeier shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4):
A non-transitory computer-readable medium (103) comprising computer software (the software of the program that operates the air conditioning system) that, when executed by an electronic processor (101), is arranged to perform the method according to claim 22 (please see the rejection of Claim 22 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Ostermeier and Goenka teaches the claimed invention except the control system is configured to operate the airflow system to control airflow through the first vent in accordance with a first airflow map determined in accordance with an airflow demand signal received from the first input module and operate the airflow system to control airflow through the second vent in accordance with a second airflow map determined in accordance with an airflow demand signal received from the second input module.
Modifying the combination accordingly requires impermissible modification of the secondary reference, which lacks specifying a fan is associated with each individual vent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related vehicle airflow systems:
Chevers et al. (U.S. Patent No, 10,717,339): see Figures 3 and 5
Ganguly (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0322154): see Figure 1
Choi (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0368909): See Figure 1
Trego et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0137028): see Figure 1
Pursifull (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2010/0236770): see Figure 1
Fusco et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,454,178): see Figure 1
/DANA K TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762