DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment filed 8/4/2026 has been entered. Claims 5, 8, 10-14, 16, 19-23, 25-26, 28-29, 31, and 33 are cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 15, 17-18, 24, 27, 30, 32, and 34-36 are pending. Claims 34-36 are new. Claims 15, 17-18, 27, 30, 32, and 35-36 are withdrawn. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 24, and 34 are examined herein.
Applicant amended claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9 from a composition to a method depending from claim 24 and further added new claim 34.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15, 17-18, 27, 30, 32, and 35-36 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/4/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 15, 17-18, 24, 27, 30, 32, and 34-36 in the reply filed on 8/4/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Konermann and Doudna do not teach or suggest such a method as set forth in claim 24 as amended, much less in the context of the elected species including the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 64. This is not found persuasive because the limitation requiring a specific sequence is optional in claim 24, thus not requiring SEQ ID NO: 64.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant’s election without traverse of a. in the reply filed on 8/4/2026 is acknowledged. Note: SEQ ID NO: 193 is recited in withdrawn claim 17 and will therefore not be searched.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings at Figures 10G, 10K, 10M, 14A-14D, and 14F-14I are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code at pages 139, 140, and 183. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIGs. 10K, 10M, 11A, 14A-14D, 14F-14I, 15A, 15B, and 17A are illegible and pixelated. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 24, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US20230025039A1; published 1/23/2023, with priority to 62/903,604, filed Sep. 20, 2019).
Regarding independent claim 24, Zhang teaches methods of modifying target RNA sequences to knockdown expression of RNA transcript by delivering to a cell polynucleotides comprising sequence encoding Cas13a and crRNA, where the heterologous Cas13 and crRNA form a complex and cleave the RNA target sequence (claims 1, 5, 15-16, 18, 52, and 69-75; paras 0089-0090; 0495-0496, 0236-0239; 0617-0618). Zhang teaches SEQ ID NO: 60 encoding Cas13a having 99.8% sequence to Applicant’s elected SEQ ID NO: 64, which is greater than the required at least 70% sequence identity (claim 5; see below).
(Qy: Applicant’s elected SEQ ID NO: 64)
Qy 1 MKITKRKWGEHHPPLYFYRDEDSGRLLAQNDRKQDYTDTLFNDIAQDTFERSLRNRLLKT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MKITKRKWGEHHPPLYFYRDEDSGRLLAQNDRKQDYTDTLFNDIAQDTFERSLRNRLLKT 60
Qy 61 PEKGDKRFYSNEIVKLVEKLCQGADVAEIMKSMERNEKLRPKNEKEIKNLKKQLDGTLSE 120
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 PEKGDKRFYSNEIVKLVEKLCQGADVAEIMKSMERSEKLRPKNEKEIKNLKKQLDGTLSE 120
Qy 121 YGKRYTAPEGAMTLNDALFYLVEGNPLKQAMAKAELGKIREALIKEKENRINRVRYSIKN 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 YGKRYTAPEGAMTLNDALFYLVEGNPLKQAMAKAELGKIREALIKEKENRINRVRYSIKN 180
Qy 181 NKIPLRIQEDGGITPNNDRAAWLLGLMKPADPAKGITDCYPLLGELEEVFDFDKLSKTLH 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 NKIPLRIQEDGGITPNNDRAAWLLGLMKPADPAKGITDCYPLLGELEEVFDFDKLSKTLH 240
Qy 241 EKISRCQGRPRSIAMAVDEALKQYLRELWEKSPSRQQDLKYYFQAVQEYFKDNFPIRTKR 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 EKISRCQGRPRSIAMAVDEALKQYLRELWEKSPSRQQDLKYYFQAVQEYFKDNFPIRTKR 300
Qy 301 MGARLRQELLKDKTSLSRLLEPKHMANAVRRRLINQSTQMHILYGKLYAYCCGEDGRLLV 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 MGARLRQELLKDKTSLSRLLEPKHMANAVRRRLINQSTQMHILYGKLYAYCCGEDGRLLV 360
Qy 361 NSETLQRIQVHEAVKKQAMTAVLWSISRLRYFYQFEDGDILSNKNPIKDFRDKFLRDTNK 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 NSETLQRIQVHEAVKKQAMTAVLWSISRLRYFYQFEDGDILSNKNPIKDFRDKFLRDTNK 420
Qy 421 YTHEDVEACKEKLQDFFPLKELQEKIKEDAKGLQETDNKQADTTDFKAIGHIVRDDRKLC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 YTHEDVEACKEKLQDFFPLKELQEKIKEDAKGLQETDNKQADTTDFKAIGHIVRDDRKLC 480
Qy 481 NQLLAECVSCIGELRHHIFHYKNVTLIQALKRIADKVKPEDLSVLRAIYLLDRRNLKKAF 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 NQLLAECVSCIGELRHHIFHYKNVTLIQALKRIADKVKPEDLSVLRAIYLLDRRNLKKAF 540
Qy 541 AKRISSMNLPLYYREDLLSRIFKKEGTAFFLYSAKIQMTPSFQRVYERGKNLRREFECER 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 AKRISSMNLPLYYREDLLSRIFKKEGTAFFLYSAKIQMTPSFQRVYERGKNLRREFECER 600
Qy 601 MKAEASNGQNGQDGDRLKWFRQLAAGDSADTHFNWAVEAYAESAADVENNVEFDTDVDAQ 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 MKAEASNGQNGQDGDRLKWFRQLAAGDSADTHFNWAVEAYAESAADVENNVEFDTDVDAQ 660
Qy 661 RALRNLLLLIYRHHFLPEVQKDETLVTGKIHKVLERNRQLSEGQGPNQGKAHGYSVIEEL 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 RALRNLLLLIYRHHFLPEVQKDETLVTGKIHKVLERNRQLSEGQGPNQGKAHGYSVIEEL 720
Qy 721 YHEGMPLSDLMKQLQRRISETERESRELAQEKTDYAQRFILDIFAEAFNDFLEAHYGEEY 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 YHEGMPLSDLMKQLQRRISETERESRELAQEKTDYAQRFILDIFAEAFNDFLEAHYGEEY 780
Qy 781 LEIMSPRKDAEAAKKWVKESKTVDLKTSIDEKEPEGHLLVLYPVLRLLDERELGELQQQM 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 LEIMSPRKDAEAAKKWVKESKTVDLKTSIDEKEPEGHLLVLYPVLRLLDERELGELQQQM 840
Qy 841 IRYRTSLASWQGESNFSEEIRIAGQIEELTELVKLTEPEPQFAEEVWGKRAKEAFEDFIE 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 IRYRTSLASWQGESNFSEEIRIAGQIEELTELVKLTEPEPQFAEEVWGKRAKEAFEDFIE 900
Qy 901 GNMKNYEAFYLQSDNNTPVYRRNMSRLLRSGLMGVYQKVLASHKQALKRDYLLWSEKHWN 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 GNMKNYEAFYLQSDNNTPVYRRNMSRLLRSGLMGVYQKVLASHKQALKRDYLLWSEKHWN 960
Qy 961 VKDENGADISSAEQAQCLLQRLHRKYAESPSRFTEEDCKLYEKVLRRLEDYNQAVKNLSF 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 VKDENGADISSAEQAQCLLQRLHRKYAESPSRFTEEDCKLYEKVLRRLEDYNQAVKNLSF 1020
Qy 1021 SSLYEICVLNLEILSRWVGFVQDWERDMYFLLLAWVRQGKLDGIKEEDVRDIFSEGNIIR 1080
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||
Db 1021 SSLYEICVLNLEILSRWVGFVQDWERDMYFLLLAWVRQGKLDGIKEENVRDIFSEGNIIR 1080
Qy 1081 NLVDTLKGENMNAFESVYFPENKGSKYLGVRNDVAHLDLMRKNGWRLEAGKTCSVMEDYI 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 NLVDTLKGENMNAFESVYFPENKGSKYLGVRNDVAHLDLMRKNGWRLEAGKTCSVMEDYI 1140
Qy 1141 NRLRFLLSYDQKRMNAVTKTLQQIFDRHKVKIRFTVEKGGMLKIEDVTADKIVHLKGSRL 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 NRLRFLLSYDQKRMNAVTKTLQQIFDRHKVKIRFTVEKGGMLKIEDVTADKIVHLKGSRL 1200
Qy 1201 SGIEIPSHGERFIDTLKALMVYPRG 1225
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 SGIEIPSHGERFIDTLKALMVYPRG 1225
(Db: Zhang’s SEQ ID NO: 60)
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches polynucleotides encoding the Cas protein (claim 1, 5, 52, 59). As detailed above regarding claim 24, Zhang teaches the SEQ ID NO: 60 with 99.8% identity to Applicant’s elected SEQ ID NO: 64. Therefore, the polynucleotide sequence encoding a Cas13 sequence with 1223/1225 matches would inherently have a polynucleotide sequence with at least 70% sequence identity.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches that the nucleotide sequence encoding the Cas effector protein is codon optimized for expression in a eukaryotic cell (claims 1, 5, and 53-54; paras 0168-0170, 0525-0527 and 0773).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Zhang teaches the Cas effector protein further comprising heterologous sequences, such as one or more protease recognition sites (claims 1, 5, 14, and 15; paras 0196, 0411). Zhang further teaches vector systems comprising regulatory elements operably linked to a nucleotide sequence encoding the Cas protein (claims 1, 5, and 53). Zhang teaches vectors and expression cassettes comprising regulatory elements comprising a promoter, terminator, multiple-cloning site, drug resistance marker, or epitope tags (paras 0183-0186, 0207, 0246, 0264, 0573-0579, 0786, 1275-1278).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the Cas effector protein derived from a Proteobacteria bacterium (Lachnospiraceae bacterium) (paras 0234-0236).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches further teaches polynucleotide vector systems comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding the Cas protein (claims 1, 5, and 53; paras 0183-0186, 0207, 0246, 0264, 0573-0579, 0786, 1275-1278). The sequences recited in claim 7 are optional and are therefore not required.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches that the cell can be a eukaryotic cell (claims 1, 5, and 53-54; paras 0098-0101, 0168-0170, 0177-0179, 0184, 0254-0255, 0525-0527, and 0773).
Regarding claim 34, Zhang teaches the thermostable Cas13 orthologs that form a complex with crRNA complex binding to RNA transcript at higher temperatures including the range of 50°C to 70°C, inclusive (paras 0244-0245).
Allowable Subject Matter
SEQ ID NO: 69 appears to be free of the prior art. SEQ ID NO: 69 is a 9761 bp polynucleotide sequence encoding an expression vector encoding TccCas13a (instant specification pages 41-47). The closest prior art in Aldor et al. (US20130122562A1; published 5/16/2013) discloses a 6693 bp polynucleotide comprising 43.1% match to SEQ ID NO: 69 (see OA.Appendix for Sequence Alignment).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
Blake et al. (US20230183783A1; published 6/15/2023 with priority to 62/966,527; filed Jan. 27, 2020) discloses SEQ ID NO: 1 encoding a 1225 aa TccCas13a with 100% sequence identity to Applicant’s claimed SEQ ID NO: 64 (see OA.Appendix for Sequence Alignment). Blake further teaches crRNA sequences for the TccCas13a to (Example 3). However, Blake does not teach using the Cas13a for targeted knockdown of RNA transcript in a cell.
/KHALEDA B HASAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636