DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims describe a slot with an undercut. The meaning to this is not clear. How can a slot have an undercut? Furthermore, the disclosure provides no clarity other than to state that the insertion opening is a slot with an undercut. This lack of clarity renders the scope of the claim indefinite. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Kramer (U.S. 4,592,688). .
In re Claim 1, neither the furnace wall, the anchor brick or even the furnace itself have been positively claimed. Therefore, any language directed to these unclaimed elements are not afforded patentable weight. Furthermore, the limitations “for fastening the holding device to the furnace wall”, “for holding the ceramic anchor brick”, “fastenable to the first fastening part’, or is “fastenable to the furnace wall’ are functional limitations directed to intended use and are afforded only limited weight. The items are capable of performing the function. The preamble is directed to a holding device. All that has been positively claimed is a first fastening part and receiving part with a second fastening part. These two fastening part are joined by the rotational movement of one part with respect to another.
Kramer teaches a holding device that comprises a fastening means; a receiving part (11); wherein the fastening means comprises a first fastening part (15) and a second fastening part (10), the second fastening part is fastened to the receiving part (11), and wherein the second fastening part (10) is fastenable to the first fastening part (15). by relative rotary motion. (Figures 1-10”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nebgen (EP 2322889) in view of Zahodiakian (U.S. 2,355,196).
In re Claim 1 and 11 Nebgen teaches a holding device for holding a ceramic anchor brick (14) on a furnace wall (2), the holding device comprising fastening means (4,4a,6) for fastening the holding device to the furnace wall (2); a receiving part (8) for holding a-the ceramic anchor brick (14) on the holding device; wherein the fastening means (4,4a,6) comprises a first fastening part (4) and a second fastening part (6), wherein the first fastening part (4,4a) is fastenable to the furnace wall (2), and the second fastening part (6) is fastened to the receiving part (8), and wherein the second fastening part (102) is fastenable to the first fastening part (4,4a). (Figures 1-6)
Nebgen does not teach that the first fastening part and the second fastening part are designed in such a way that the second fastening part is fastenable to the first fastening part by a relative movement of the second fastening part to the first fastening part; characterized in that the relative movement is a rotary movement.
The examiner notes that the second fastening part mentioned in the specification is well known in the art as a quarter turn fastener. Zahodiakian teaches a stud element (17) with a quarter turn fastener (22,23) that is integrally part of it. This quarter turn fastener is received within slot (29) of yoke (28) The two parts are joined by the relative rotations movement of one relative to the other. (Figures 1-5)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to incorporate the quarter turn fastener structure taught by Zahodiakian into the holding device disclosed by Nebgen. This would involve the replacement of one know fastener configuration for another. The quarter turn fastener configuration would allow for a simple disassembly of the furnace wall elements.
In the combination, this would result in the first fastening part (4,4a) with slot (Zahodiakian 29) and the second fastening part (Zahodiakian (22,23)) are designed in such a way that the second fastening part is fastenable to the first fastening part by a relative movement of the second fastening part to the first fastening part; characterized in that the relative movement is a rotary movement. The Nebgen/ Zahodiakian combination teaches a furnace with a furnace wall and one or more holding devices fastened to the furnace wall by fastening means.
The examiner would like to point out that while a reference for a furnace wall was used, neither the furnace wall or the anchor brick or even the furnace itself have been positively claimed. Furthermore, the limitations “for fastening the holding device to the furnace wall” and “for holding the ceramic anchor brick” are functional limitations directed to intended use and are afforded only limited weight. All that has been positively claimed is a first fastening part and receiving part with a second fastening part. These two fastening part are joined by the rotational movement of one part with respect to another.
In re Claim 2, the modified Nebgen modified by Zahodiakian teaches the first fastening part (4,4A) with slot (Zahodiakian 29) is formed in one piece.
In re Claims 3 and 4, Nebgen modified by Zahodiakian teaches the second fastening part ((Zahodiakian (22,23)) is formed in one piece and that this is integral with element (17,21). In the combination it would be integral with receiving part (8).
In re Claims 5, Nebgen modified by Zahodiakian teaches the first fastening part (Nebgen4,4a) has an insertion opening (Zahodiakian 29) and the second fastening part (Zahodiakian (22,23)) has an insertion section (23) which can be inserted into the insertion opening, and wherein the second fastening part can be form-fit fastened to the first fastening part via the insertion section inserted into the insertion opening by the relative movement of the second fastening part.
In re Claims 6 and 7, Nebgen modified by Zahodiakian has been previously discussed. Zahodiakian insertion opening (29) is a slot with undercut (33) and the insertion section (23) can be inserted into the slot and the relative movement can engage behind the undercut. (Figures 1-5)
In re Claims 8-10, Nebgen modified by Zahodiakian has been previously discussed. As was previously stated, in the combination the first fastening part (Nebgen4,4a) has an insertion opening (Zahodiakian 29) and the second fastening part (Zahodiakian (22,23)) has an insertion section that is inserted into the insertion opening. When rotated in the insertion opening/slot the second fastening part can be positively and frictional fastened to the first fastening part. The fixing means is a broad term that can refer to any number of features or contact surfaces that help frictionally fasten the first and second fastening parts together. They could refer to the underside surface of member (23) or undercut/shoulders (33).
In re Claims 12-14, Nebgen modified by Zahodiakian has been previously discussed. The Nebgen/ Zahodiakian combination teaches fastening the first fastening part (Nebgen 4,4a) to the furnace wall. The second fastening part (Zahodiakian (22,23)) has an insertion section that is inserted into the insertion opening (Zahodiakian 29) of the first fastening part. As with all quarter turn fastener, then there is a rotary movement of the second fastening part relative to the first fastening part to fasten the second fastening part to the first fastening part.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ADAM G BARLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633