DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 7/29/2026 has been entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 13 recites “a tank wall”. Is this the same “tank wall” recited in claim 1?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zipperian (US 4,735,709) in view of Klein (US 2,947,525).
Regarding claim 1, Zipperian discloses a separator device comprising:a separation chamber (17) defined at its lower end by a fluidization fluid panel (14), and being defined on its sides by a tank wall (11); a lower outlet (28) provided at a lower end of the separator device and extending downwardly through a central region of the lower fluidization fluid panel (see Fig. 2) ;a launder (24) provided at an upper end of the separator device (see Fig. 1); a slurry inlet (20) for receiving incoming slurry into the separation chamber; the separator device further comprises means (50) for supplying pre-sheared aerated fluidization fluid to the separation chamber above the fluidization fluid panel, said means including: i.) a sparger (42) provided above the fluidization fluid panel and, ii.) a shearing device (see col. 6, lines 1-10) selected from the group consisting of: a static inline mixer, a cavitation tube, a cavitation nozzle, and a chaos mixer wherein the shearing device provides the pre-sheared aerated fluidization fluid to the sparger (see col. 6, lines 1-15); wherein the shearing device is configured for producing the pre- sheared aerated fluidization fluid by passing a mixture of combined fluidization fluid and gas through the shearing device (see col. 6, lines 1-15). Zipperian discloses all the limitations of the claim but it does not disclose that the sparger comprises a flexible perforated membrane. However, Klein discloses a similar device which includes sparger comprising a flexible perforated membrane (39) for the purpose of providing a mechanism to prevent solid matter from clogging or accumulating on the sparger. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Zipperian by having the sparger comprise a flexible perforated membrane, as disclosed by Klien, for the purpose of providing a mechanism to prevent solid matter from clogging or accumulating on the sparger.
Regarding dependent claims 2, 3, 9 and 13, Zipperian discloses the sparger is configured as one of the group consisting of: a straight tube, a curved tube, a coil, a disc, a puck, a panel, and a plate (see Fig. 2). The sparger is fed at one of its ends with the pre-sheared aerated fluidization fluid (see Fig. 2). The sparger is horizontally arranged (see Fig. 2). Zipperian further discloses an upper segment, a middle segment, and a lower segment collectively forming a tank wall of the separator device; wherein the middle segment comprises an aeration insert having one or more of the sparger provided thereto (see Fig. 2).
[AltContent: textbox (Lower segment)][AltContent: textbox (Middle segment)][AltContent: textbox (Upper segment)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant states that Zipperian does not disclose that the “shearing device provides the pre-sheared aerated fluidization fluid to the sparger” as recited in claim 1. The examiner disagrees with the applicant. At least in col. 6, lines 1-15, Zipperian discloses that the “shearing device provides the pre-sheared aerated fluidization fluid to the sparger”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653