DETAILED ACTION
This application incudes independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-13.
The claim set examined is labelled “Replacement Sheet” and is the claim set published in publication US 2024/0375123 A1.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-13 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claims 4-13 not been further treated on the merits.
Claims 1-3 are objected to because they utilize the transitional phrase “charactised in that” which is not in accordance with USPTO customary practice.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zipperian (US 4,735,709) in view of Klein (US 2,947,525).
Regarding claim 1, Zipperian discloses a separator device comprising:a separation chamber (17) defined at its lower end by a fluidization fluid panel (14), and being defined on its sides by a tank wall (11); a lower outlet (28) provided at a lower end of the separator device and extending downwardly through a central region of the lower fluidization fluid panel (see Fig. 2) ;a launder (24) provided at an upper end of the separator device (see Fig. 1); a slurry inlet (20) for receiving incoming slurry into the separation chamber; characterised in that the separator device further comprises means (50) for supplying pre-sheared aerated fluidization fluid to the separation chamber above the fluidization fluid panel, said means including: i.) a sparger (42) provided above the fluidization fluid panel and, ii.) a shearing device (see col. 6, lines 1-10) selected from the group consisting of: a static inline mixer, a cavitation tube, a cavitation nozzle, and a chaos mixer; wherein the shearing device is configured for producing the pre- sheared aerated fluidization fluid by passing a mixture of combined fluidization fluid and gas through the shearing device (see col. 6, lines 1-15). Zipperian discloses all the limitations of the claim but it does not disclose that the sparger comprises a flexible perforated membrane. However, Klein discloses a similar device which includes sparger comprising a flexible perforated membrane (39) for the purpose of providing a mechanism to prevent solid matter from clogging or accumulating on the sparger. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Zipperian by having the sparger comprise a flexible perforated membrane, as disclosed by Klien, for the purpose of providing a mechanism to prevent solid matter from clogging or accumulating on the sparger.
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 3, Zipperian discloses the sparger is configured as one of the group consisting of: a straight tube, a curved tube, a coil, a disc, a puck, a panel, and a plate (see Fig. 2). The sparger is fed at one of its ends with the pre-sheared aerated fluidization fluid (see Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zipperian (US 5,078,921) and Zipperian (US 4,394,258) disclose devices which include a separation chamber having a sparger supplying a sheared fluid above a fluidization panel.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653