DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on 16 September 2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN202141041864 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 28 November 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. The foreign patent document IN-CHE-2005-01186 A is missing.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Liters must be capitalized as “L” when abbreviated.
The listing of alkali metals requires a comma between each element, as in “lithium, sodium, potassium…”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Liters must be capitalized as “L” when abbreviated.
Appropriate correction is required. Furthermore, applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 are objected to because of the following informalities. Regarding all claims, proper capitalization of “l” as “L” is required when referring to liters, as in “g/L” and “mg/L.”
Regarding claim 1:
On line 1, “High speed pure gold…” should read “A high speed pure gold…”
On line 4, the listed elements must be separated by commas, as “lithium, sodium, potassium, rubidium or cesium salts…”
Regarding claim 2:
On line 1, “claim 1a” should read “claim 1.”
On line 2, “to obtain hardness of the deposit” should read “to obtain a hardness of the deposit.”
Regarding claim 3:
On line 1, “produces deposit with resistivity” should read “producing a deposit with a resistivity...”
Regarding claim 4:
On line 1, “can also be utilized” should read “as utilized.”
On line 2, “application” should be pluralized as “applications.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Regarding claim 1:
It is not clear in view of the specification if the gold potassium sulfite and sodium gold sulfite of part (a) must add up to a concentration of 1-40 g/L or are each in the range of 1-40 g/L in solution. Likewise, for parts (b)-(e), it is unclear if the recited constituents must add up to the concentrations specified or are permitted to each exist in the claimed range, therefore adding up to a larger amount than claimed. The claim is rendered indefinite as a result of the language used. These limitations will be interpreted as only encompassing a sum of partial concentrations within the claimed ranges, e.g. the concentrations of gold potassium sulfite and sodium gold sulfite must sum to 1-40 g/L in solution.
It is also unclear if the members recited in parts (c) and (d) may only exist in the alternative or if a combination of set members is permitted. These limitations will be interpreted as permitting any combination, subject to the previously stated interpretation of partial concentrations summing to the claimed range.
The term “other supporting electrolytes and wetting agents” in part (f) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “other supporting electrolytes and wetting agents” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not specified in the disclosure what electrolytes or wetting agents are included or excluded from the claimed invention. It is also not specified what makes an electrolyte a "supporting" electrolyte. For the purpose of examination, this claim limitation will be interpreted as permitting the inclusion of any electrolyte or wetting agent which contributes to the quality of the final electroplated product.
Regarding claims 2-4, they are also rejected because they inherit all limitations of claim 1 on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoushanian (US 3,475,292 A) in view of Ruebel et al. (US 2004/0065225 A1) and Bick et al. (US 3,878,068).
Regarding claim 1, Shoushanian teaches an aqueous bath for electroplating gold and gold alloys (Abstract). The bath contains gold salts as potassium gold or sodium gold sulfite in the range of 1-30 g/L (Col. 1, lines 56-59), potassium or sodium sulfite in the preferable range of 40-120 g/L (Col. 1, lines 60-62), alkali salts of phosphoric acid in the preferable range of 10-100 g/L (Col. 1, lines 63-67: as a salt selected from a group including soluble alkali metal phosphates), and a soluble metal oxalate complex in the range of 5-500 mg/L (Col. 1, lines 70-73: soluble complex of a metal; col. 2, lines 35-40: oxalates or other weak organic acids). The solution may include other supporting electrolytes such as acids or bases to adjust the pH of the bath (Col. 2, lines 7-9). The bath is aqueous, therefore containing water, which is well-known in the art as a wetting agent.
The preamble of the claim recites an intended use, “for use during fabrication of ICs.” Examiner notes that the intended use of an apparatus does not distinguish it from the prior art when the underlying structure is anticipated or obvious. See MPEP §2114(II).
Shoushanian does not directly teach the combination of potassium and sodium gold sulfites in the electroplating bath. However, the previously cited examples II, III, and VI (Col. 3, lines 41-61; Col. 4, lines 7-19) utilize a combination of either a potassium or sodium gold sulfite with the other alkali metal as a sulfite salt. Because the salts are dissolved into solution, reducing them to cations and anions, one skilled in the art would expect that there is no meaningfully distinct end result from the combination of sodium and potassium gold sulfites as claimed compared to the combination with the other alkali metal as the art teaches. See MPEP §2143(I)(A) on combinations of prior art elements, and also MPEP §2112.01(I) on inherency.
The claimed ranges are broader than the prior art, except for the potassium or sodium sulfite concentration, which partially overlaps the claimed range of 2-100 g/L. However, Shoushanian varies the concentrations of the potassium or sodium sulfite in the various examples, resulting in different end properties such as measured hardness (Col. 3-4, lines 30-19). It is therefore within ordinary skill in the art for one to experiment with different concentrations of these salts, in order to discover an optimal range. The claimed range is of 2-100 g/L is therefore obvious to one skilled in the art. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Shoushanian does not teach the presence of phosphonic acids in solution, bismuth as a base metal in the soluble metal complex, or some amount of pyrophosphate or polyphosphates. However, Ruebel teaches an analogous electrolytic bath to Shoushanian for the plating of gold or a gold alloy onto a substrate, in which the gold is in the form of a gold sulfite complex ([0001]). The bath includes bismuth as citrate, phosphonate, or NTA complex in a concentration from 0.05 to 1000 mg/L ([0015]-[0017]: upper range of concentration as 1 g/L). While not identical to the claimed range of 5-1000 mg/L, the ranges are substantially identical due to their extremely large overlap. The bath may also include pyrophosphates, which are known in the art as a species of polyphosphates ([0016]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the electroplating bath of Shoushanian to include bismuth salts or complexes and pyrophosphates in solution. One would be motivated to use these in order to address the toxic properties of the metallic brighteners such as arsenic and antimony taught by Shoushanian (Col. 3, line 69: arsenic in an electroplating bath; col. 4, lines 14-15: antimony), because Ruebel teaches that the use of bismuth can reduce or prevent the inclusion of physiologically harmful additives such as arsenic and antimony, making the coated article suitable for dental applications ([0018]).
Neither Shoushanian nor Rubel teach the inclusion of phosphonic acids in the claimed range. However, Bick et al. teaches another bath for electroplating gold, which includes 0.5 to 60 g/L of a chelating agent selected from a group including ethylenediamine tetra methylene phosphonic acid (Col. 6, lines 58-67). It is therefore obvious to also include a phosphonic acid in the electroplating bath as claimed. One ordinarily skilled in the art would expect the inclusion of this compound to improve the overall performance of the bath due to the superior chelating properties of chelating phosphonic acids which result in more even deposition of gold on the object to be coated, especially when the bath also contains high concentrations of citrates and/or phosphates (Col. 1-2, lines 46-10). The 2-50 g/L range claimed is narrower than the art teaches, but one skilled in the art would also be able to reach this more optimum range based by routine experimentation, especially considering the different composition of the bath as claimed compared to any single prior art reference.
Regarding claim 2, Shoushanian in view of Ruebel teaches that variations in the proportion of sodium and potassium in the electroplating bath solution result in different hardnesses of gold-coated objects, as previously applied to claim 1. Shoushanian’s examples I, III, and VI provide hardness numbers of the resulting deposits in Knoop hardness, different from Vickers hardness as claimed. However, these examples demonstrate that as with claim 1, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to vary the ratio of potassium to sodium anions in the electroplating solution to achieve different end product hardnesses, and discover an optimal or workable range of hardnesses. The range of 100-260 VHN as claimed would have been obvious through such routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 3, Shoushanian in view of Ruebel and Bick does not specifically teach that the bath of claim 1 may be used to produce a deposit with a resistivity of 2.34 μΩ/cm and hardness of 260 VHN with a maximum applied current density of 3 A/dm2. However, Shoushanian teaches a preferable current density in the range of 1 to 50 amperes per square foot, within which the claimed current density range of 0 (implied) to 3 A/dm2 falls.
3
A
d
m
2
*
9.29
d
m
2
f
t
2
=
27.87
A
f
t
2
It is obvious to one skilled in the art to arrive at a target resistivity value such as 2.34 μΩ/cm and a target hardness of 260 VHN by varying the process parameters used to create the gold deposit, including but not limited to: the sodium to potassium ion ratio as previously shown, the total electroplating time, process temperature, and the concentrations of particular ions in solution as claimed. The claimed resistivity, hardness, and current density is therefore obvious in view of the prior art.
Regarding claim 4, the electrolytic bath of claim 1 is favorable for dental applications as previously cited, due to the less toxic properties of bismuth compared to similar metals (Ruebel [0018]). Bick et al. teaches that gold plating baths may also be used in coating electrical contacts (Col. 1, lines 29-32). As applied to claims 1 and 2, the art of record teaches that the hardness of the deposit can be varied, by varying the ratio of sodium to potassium in the solution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3,057,789 and 3,666,640, both to Smith, teach an electroplating bath characterized by the use of alkali gold sulfites and sodium polyphosphates, and the absence of cyanide.
/CBF/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711