DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Burres et al. (US Application 2018/0152383, hereinafter Burres).
Regarding claim 1, Burres discloses a communication node (Figs. 1,12,13) for data networks for receiving messages from a physical interface (1212) having transmitting and receiving means (1214) , by way of which physical interface the communication node is connectable to a communication line of a data network([0071], which recites the computing device 1200, or more particularly the NIC 1214 of the computing device 1200, may execute a method 1400 for generating an event message in response to receiving a network packet), comprising:
a communication module (1214) adapted to receive a message and to create a corresponding message object (MO) referencing message data of the received message and metadata, where the metadata is not part of the received message but provided from the communication module or retrieved from any other data source within the communication node, and where the communication module is configured to store the message object (MO) in a memory (1308) and to create a message event (ME) upon creating the message object (MO), the message event (ME) containing or being associated with a reference to the message object (MO)([0071]-[0073], which recites the FXP 1324 may identify arbitrate a service class type designated event message based on one or more fields within the event (e.g., metadata of the event). The network fabric interface 1310 generates and sends an event message to the FXP (e.g., the FXP 1324 of FIG. 13) indicating the received network packet has been received. the network fabric interface 1310 identifies a service class of the event message. Depending on the embodiment, each service class may have a different allocation of system resources, as well as a different priority level associated therewith. Irrespective on the resources allocated to or the priority of a service class, it should be appreciated that each service class has a separate allocation of resources such that there is no head-of-line (HOL) blocking between service classes );
a tagging and filtering unit (1324) configured to retrieve the message object (MO) referenced by its message event (ME) upon receiving the message event (ME) and, if a predefined filter criteria (FC) applied to the message object (MO) is met, configured to derive a tag and to update the message object (MO) in the memory with the determined tag to be a tagged message object (MO) ([0075]-[0076], which recites FXP 1324 filters the event message by class type considered as predetermined filter criteria is met. And performs the remaining operation such tag and update class type as claimed by the instant application. Burres further described on [0079] FXP 1324 may modify the network packet; The FXP 1324 may be based on one or more parameters of the event message, such as a classification of the network packet associated with the event message, results of a modification to the network packet, another agent which has been identified to receive the event message. The FXP 1324 determines the service class assigned to the received event message. In block 1506, the FXP 1324 arbitrates the event message as a function of the designated service class type. As described previously, the service class event may include multiple service class types. The FXP 1324 may identify arbitrate a service class type designated event message based on one or more fields within the event (e.g., metadata of the event). In other words, the FXP 1324 may queue the received event message in a queue associated with the designated class type and perform the remaining operations of the method 1500 upon the received event message being dequeued from the respective event message queue);
a processing unit (1338)being configured to retrieve the tagged message object (MO) from the memory and to process the tagged message object (MO) based on the tag([0065],[0080]-[0081], which recites the agent fabric interface 1314e is configured to function as the communication interface for the FPGA interface 1336, and the agent fabric interface 1314f is configured to function as the communication interface for the embedded management processor (EMP) unit 1338. the FXP 1324 transmits the other event message generated in block 1526 to the identified agent(s) for additional processing before the network packet is sent to the appropriate host (e.g., via the host fabric interface 1318). data flow 1602, the processor 1204 of the compute engine 1202 generates data for a network packet to be transmitted to another computing device (not shown). In data flow 1604, the processor 1204 sends the data to the NIC 1214, or more particularly to the host interface 1320 (e.g., via the physical host access circuitry 1322 of FIG. 13). In data flow 1606, the host interface 1320 packetizes the received data and, in data flow 1608, forwards the network packet to the host fabric interface 1318).
Regarding claim 2, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to process the tagged message object (MO) based on the tag without any further software-based filtering and/or mapping by a software running on the processing unit ([0065],[0080]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 3, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to process the tagged message object (MO)based on the tag applying a software-based filtering and/or mapping by a software running on the processing unit([0065],[0080]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the tagging and filtering unit is configured to apply the predefined filter criteria to the message object or a part of it([0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the predefined filter criteria is configured by software in the memory or a memory of the tagging and filtering unit([0076]).
Regarding claim 6, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein a respective predefined filter criteria is associated to a specific message event([0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the message event triggers the tagging and filtering unit to continue processing the message object([0076]).
Regarding 8, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the tagging and filtering unit is configured to derive the tag according to a tagging configuration stored in the memory or a memory of the tagging and filtering unit([0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the tagging and filtering unit is configured to create a match event if the incoming message object produces a filter match([0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 9, wherein the tagging configuration associates the match event with a specified tag having a tag value of a constant width, if the predefined filter criteria applied to the message object is met([0076]).
Regarding claim 11, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the tag is stored separately in the memory instead of updating the message object with the tag([0076]).
Regarding claim 12, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the tagging and filtering unit is configured to generate a tag event if the predefined filter criteria applied to the message object is met to notify a system component and/or an interrupt controller about a filter match([0076]).
Regarding claim 13, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 12, wherein the system component is configured to read the message object after having received the tag event([0076]).
Regarding claim 14, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to read the tagged message object upon being triggered by an interrupt controller having received the tag event([0076]).
Regarding claim 15, Burres discloses the communication node according to claim 1, wherein at least the communication module, the tagging and filtering unit, and the processing unit are implemented as an integrated circuit(fig. 13, [0076]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461