DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Omiki et al. JP 2019063858.
Regarding claim 1, Omiki discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus (Para. 1) for forming an inclined shaped object (Fig. 6B, Refs. 34A and 34B) on an additive target surface (Fig. 6B, Ref. 27) of a workpiece to which build material is to be added, the inclined shaped object being a shaped object inclined in an oblique direction oblique with respect to a vertical direction (Fig 6B), the additive manufacturing apparatus comprising: a material feeder to supply the build material to a machining area of the additive target surface (Fig. 1, Ref. 23); an emitter to emit a laser beam to the machining area to melt the build material (Fig. 5, Ref. 41; Para. 43 wherein the torch can be a laser); and control circuitry (Fig. 1, Ref. 15) to control formation of the inclined shaped object by controlling the material feeder and the emitter (Para. 18), wherein the control circuitry causes a lower bead layer to be stacked, and then causes an upper bead layer to be stacked (Para. 18 wherein the control unit drives the layer data and Para. 20 wherein the layers are stacked), the lower bead layer being a bead layer including a first bead (Fig. 8, Ref. 34A) and a second bead (Fig. 8, Ref. 34B) that are deposited, the upper bead layer being a bead layer including a third bead (Fig. 8, Ref. 34C) and a fourth bead that are deposited on a top surface of the lower bead layer (Fig. 8 ref. 34 and Para. 45 wherein the bead layers are not limited to three), the upper bead layer being stacked by causing the third bead to be formed on the top surface of the lower bead layer (Fig. 8 shows Ref. 34C stacked on 34B), and then causing the fourth bead to be formed at a position where part of a bottom surface of the fourth bead has no contact with the lower bead layer, the fourth bead being in contact with the top surface of the lower bead layer and with a side surface of the third bead (Para. 7 wherein the molten metal from subsequent layers fills in the space between previous beads; Para. 45 wherein the numbers of layers are not limited to three).
Regarding claim 2, Omiki discloses wherein the build material has a wire shape (Para. 12).
Regarding claim 3, Omiki discloses wherein the control circuitry causes a plurality of beads to be stacked on top of another to form the fourth bead (Para. 45 wherein the numbers of layers are not limited to three).
Regarding claim 8, Omiki discloses an additive manufacturing method (Para. 1) for forming an inclined shaped object (Fig. 6B, Refs. 34A and 34B) on an additive target surface (Fig. 6B, Ref. 27) of a workpiece to which build material is to be added, the inclined shaped object being a shaped object inclined in an oblique direction oblique with respect to a vertical direction (Fig 6B), the additive manufacturing method comprising: a material supply step of supplying the build material to a machining area of the additive target surface (Para. 16), by an additive manufacturing apparatus; and an emission step of emitting a laser beam to the machining area to melt the build material (Para. 43), by the additive manufacturing apparatus, wherein the additive manufacturing apparatus causes a lower bead layer to be stacked (Para. 6; Fig. 2), and then causes an upper bead layer to be stacked (Para. 6; Fig. 2), the lower bead layer being a bead layer including a first bead and a second bead that are deposited, the upper bead layer being a bead layer including a third bead (Fig. 2) and a fourth bead that are deposited on a top surface of the lower bead layer (Para. 45 wherein the numbers of layers are not limited to three), the upper bead layer being stacked by causing the third bead to be formed on the top surface of the lower bead layer, and then causing the fourth bead to be formed at a position where part of a bottom surface of the fourth bead has no contact with the lower bead layer, the fourth bead being in contact with the top surface of the lower bead layer and with a side surface of the third bead (Para. 7 wherein the molten metal from subsequent layers fills in the space between previous beads; Para. 45 wherein the numbers of layers are not limited to three).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omiki et al. JP 2019063858 in view of Rowe et al. US 20210046694 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Omiki does not specifically disclose wherein the control circuitry causes the third bead to have a width in an extending direction shorter than a width of the fourth bead in an extending direction.
However in the same field of endeavor, Rowe teaches wherein the control circuitry causes the third bead to have a width in an extending direction shorter than a width of the fourth bead in an extending direction (Fig. 10 shows the three beads labeled 208 shorter than the fourth bead 211B).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bead width of Omiki with that of Rowe to create a specific shape by segmenting the layers together (Rowe, Para. 96).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omiki et al. JP 2019063858 in view of Rowe et al. US 20210046694 A1 and in further view of O’Neill et al. US 10525688 B2.
Regarding claim 5, Omiki does not specifically disclose wherein the control circuitry causes laser output power for forming the third bead to be lower than laser output power for forming the fourth bead.
However in the same field of endeavor, O’Neill teaches wherein the control circuitry causes laser output power for forming the third bead to be lower than laser output power for forming the fourth bead (Col. 15, Lines 57-65 wherein it is taught that varying the power changes the porosity of the bead for the use case.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Omiki with O’Neill, by modifying the laser output power of Omiki, since the laser output power is interpreted to be a result effective variable that would be optimized in order to achieve a recognized result. In this case the recognized result would be selectively sinter the bead layers to control porosity of the structure. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 6, Omiki does not specifically disclose wherein the control circuitry causes a scanning speed of the laser beam for forming the third bead to be higher than a scanning speed of the laser beam for forming the fourth bead.
However in the same field of endeavor, O’Neill teaches wherein the control circuitry causes a scanning speed of the laser beam for forming the third bead to be higher than a scanning speed of the laser beam for forming the fourth bead (Col. 15, Lines 57-65 wherein the scanning speed varies as needed to achieve the desired pore size and density. A person of ordinary skill would vary the scan speed through routine experimentation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Omiki with O’Neill, by modifying the laser scanning speed of Omiki, since the laser scanning speed is interpreted to be a result effective variable that would be optimized in order to achieve a recognized result. In this case the recognized result would be selectively sinter the bead layers to control porosity of the structure. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omiki et al. JP 2019063858 in view of Nakano et al. WO 2020079870 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Omiki does not specifically disclose wherein the control circuitry causes the third bead and the fourth bead to be formed using a ball-shaped bead.
However in the same field of endeavor, Nakano teaches wherein the control circuitry causes the third bead and the fourth bead to be formed using a ball-shaped bead (Para. 53 wherein the ball beads are accumulated).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bead shape of Omiki with a spherical bead shape of Nakano to improve the shaping accuracy of the object (Nakano, Para. 5).
Conclusion
/K.B.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761