DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 11/28/2023 and 5/2/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0158826 by Sakakibara et al. (“Sakakibara”) in view of U.S. Patent 10,161,908 issued to Moreira Araujo et al. (“Moreira Araujo”).
As for claim 8, Sakakibara discloses a measuring device (Fig. 10) for determining and/or monitoring at least one physical and/or chemical, measured variable, comprising:
a sensor element (207) having an electrical transducer (229; paragraph [0129]) for providing measured variable dependent, electrical, primary signals, and a sensor body (207) having at least one metallized surface section (235);
an on-site electronics (205) having a housing (205) and a measuring- and operating circuit for operating the electrical transducer and for processing the primary signals (paragraph [0124]), wherein a first area (top of 205) of the on-site electronics includes a plurality of first contact areas (211, 237) that are mechanically and electrically connected with the at least one metallized surface section (235) of the sensor element (207) and a second area (bottom of 205) of the on-site electronics includes a plurality of second contact areas (227); and
a circuit board (203) that includes a plurality of third contact areas (203b) in a first region (top of 203), wherein the circuit board (203) is mechanically and electrically connected with the on-site electronics (205) via the second contact areas (227) and the third contact areas (203b).
Sakakibara does not explicitly disclose that the measuring- and operating circuit is arranged in an interior of the housing.
However, Moreira Araujo discloses on-site electronics (13, 14) that have a housing (13) and a measuring- and operating circuit (14) that is arranged in an interior (see Fig. 5) of the housing (13). Moreira Araujo discloses that the measuring- and operating circuit operates an electrical transducer and processes primary signals (Abstract).
Because Sakakibara and Moreira Araujo both disclose arrangements of measuring- and operating circuits, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the arrangement of Moreira Araujo for the arrangement of Sakakibara to achieve the predictable result of providing a measuring- and operating circuit that operates an electrical transducer and processes primary signals.
As for claim 10, Sakakibara as modified by Moreira Araujo discloses that the sensor element (Sakakibara: 207) is a pressure sensor element (Sakakibara: paragraph [0129]).
As for claim 11, Sakakibara discloses that the pressure sensor element has a platform (Sakakibara: 207) and a measuring diaphragm (Sakakibara: 229) connected with the platform and enclosing a pressure chamber (Sakakibara: S1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0158826 by Sakakibara et al. (“Sakakibara”) in view of U.S. Patent 10,161,908 issued to Moreira Araujo et al. (“Moreira Araujo”) as applied to claim 8, further in view of U.S. Patent 9,527,723 issued to Lin et al. (“Lin”).
As for claim 9, Sakakibara as modified by Moreira Araujo discloses the measuring device as claimed in claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above).
Sakakibara as modified by Moreira Araujo does not explicitly disclose that the first contact areas and the second contact areas are embodied as Quad Flat No- leads (QFN), Land Grid Array (LGA), Dual Flat No-leads (DFN), or (Ball Grid Array) BGA arrangements. Instead, Sakakibara discloses that the first and second contact areas electrically connect the on-site electronics to other layers of the measuring device.
However, Lin discloses (Fig. 6b) first contact areas (at 254, 256) and second contact areas (at 230, 230) that are embodied as Quad Flat No- leads (QFN), Land Grid Array (LGA), Dual Flat No-leads (DFN), or (Ball Grid Array) BGA arrangements (60). Lin discloses that the first and second contact areas electrically connect on-site electronics (124) to other layers of the measuring device.
Because Sakakibara and Lin both disclose first and second contact areas that electrically connect on-site electronics to other layers of the measuring device, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the first and second contact areas of Lin for the first and second contact areas of Sakakibara to achieve the predictable result of providing contact areas that electrically connect on-site electronics to other layers of the measuring device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0158826 by Sakakibara et al. (“Sakakibara”) in view of U.S. Patent 10,161,908 issued to Moreira Araujo et al. (“Moreira Araujo”) as applied to claim 8, further in view of U.S. Patent 11,146,893 issued to Drljaca (“Drljaca”).
As for claim 13, Sakakibara as modified by Moreira Araujo discloses the measuring device as claimed in claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above).
Sakakibara as modified by Moreira Araujo does not explicitly disclose that the circuit board is a flexible circuit board. Sakakibara discloses that the circuit board carries the other components of the measuring device (Sakakibara: see Fig. 10)
However, Drljaca discloses a circuit board (104) that is a flexible circuit board (col. 4, lines 15-19). Drljaca discloses that the circuit board carries other components of a measuring device (see Fig. 3)
Because Drljaca and Sakakibara both disclose circuit boards that carry other components of a measuring device, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the flexible circuit board to Drljaca for the circuit board of Sakakibara to achieve the predictable result of providing a structure that carries other components of the measuring device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0158826 by Sakakibara et al. (“Sakakibara”) in view of U.S. Patent 10,161,908 issued to Moreira Araujo et al. (“Moreira Araujo”) as applied to claim 8, further in view of U.S. Patent 9,820,373 issued to Pennathur et al. (“Pennathur”).
As for claim 14, Sakakibara as modified by Moreira Araujo discloses the measuring device as claimed in claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above).
Sakakibara as modified by Moreira Araujo does not explicitly disclose that the on-site electronics can be produced in a System-in-Package method.
However, Pennathur discloses electronics that can be produced in a System-in-Package method (col. 3, lines 27-47).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the on-site electronics of Sakakibara and Moreira Araujo to be produced in a Systems-in-Package method as disclosed by Pennathur in order to provide higher volumetric efficiency, superior reliability, higher performance, and a smaller form factor (Pennathur: col. 3, lines 45-47).
Claims 8, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3702062 (“JP 3702062”) in view of U.S. Patent 10,161,908 issued to Moreira Araujo et al. (“Moreira Araujo”).
As for claim 8, JP 3702062 discloses a measuring device (Fig. 2) for determining and/or monitoring at least one physical and/or chemical, measured variable, comprising:
a sensor element (2) having an electrical transducer (21, 22) for providing measured variable dependent, electrical, primary signals, and a sensor body having at least one metallized surface section (4a);
an on-site electronics (3) having a housing (3) and a measuring- and operating circuit for operating the electrical transducer and for processing the primary signals (paragraph [0005]), wherein a first area (at 4b) of the on-site electronics includes a plurality of first contact areas (4b) that are mechanically and electrically connected with the at least one metallized surface section (4a) of the sensor element (2) and a second area (at 4c2) of the on-site electronics includes a plurality of second contact areas (4c2); and
a circuit board (1) that includes a plurality of third contact areas (at 4d) in a first region, wherein the circuit board (1) is mechanically and electrically connected with the on-site electronics (3) via the second contact areas (at 4c2) and the third contact areas (at 4d).
JP 3702062 does not explicitly disclose that the measuring- and operating circuit is arranged in an interior of the housing.
However, Moreira Araujo discloses on-site electronics (13, 14) that have a housing (13) and a measuring- and operating circuit (14) that is arranged in an interior (see Fig. 5) of the housing (13). Moreira Araujo discloses that the measuring- and operating circuit operates an electrical transducer and processes primary signals (Abstract).
Because JP 3702062 and Moreira Araujo both disclose arrangements of measuring- and operating circuits, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the arrangement of Moreira Araujo for the arrangement of JP 3702062 to achieve the predictable result of providing a measuring- and operating circuit that operates an electrical transducer and processes primary signals.
As for claim 10, JP 3702062 as modified by Moreira Araujo discloses that the sensor element is a pressure sensor element (JP 3702062: paragraph [0001]).
As for claim 13, JP 3702062 as modified by Moreira Araujo discloses that the circuit board is a flexible circuit board (JP 3702062: paragraph [0007]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3702062 (“JP 3702062”) in view of U.S. Patent 10,161,908 issued to Moreira Araujo et al. (“Moreira Araujo”) as applied to claim 8, further in view of U.S. Patent 9,527,723 issued to Lin et al. (“Lin”).
As for claim 9, JP 3702062 as modified by Moreira Araujo discloses the measuring device as claimed in claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above).
JP 3702062 as modified by Moreira Araujo does not explicitly disclose that the first contact areas and the second contact areas are embodied as Quad Flat No- leads (QFN), Land Grid Array (LGA), Dual Flat No-leads (DFN), or (Ball Grid Array) BGA arrangements. Instead, JP 3702062 discloses that the first and second contact areas electrically connect the on-site electronics to other layers of the measuring device.
However, Lin discloses (Fig. 6b) first contact areas (at 254, 256) and second contact areas (at 230, 230) that are embodied as Quad Flat No- leads (QFN), Land Grid Array (LGA), Dual Flat No-leads (DFN), or (Ball Grid Array) BGA arrangements (60). Lin discloses that the first and second contact areas electrically connect on-site electronics (124) to other layers of the measuring device.
Because JP 3702062 and Lin both disclose first and second contact areas that electrically connect on-site electronics to other layers of the measuring device, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the first and second contact areas of Lin for the first and second contact areas of JP 3702062 to achieve the predictable result of providing contact areas that electrically connect on-site electronics to other layers of the measuring device.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3702062 (“JP 3702062”) in view of U.S. Patent 10,161,908 issued to Moreira Araujo et al. (“Moreira Araujo”) as applied to claim 10, further in view of U.S. Patent 7,353,711 issued to O’Dowd et al. (“O’Dowd”).
As for claim 11, JP 3702062 as modified by Moreira Araujo discloses the measuring device as claimed in claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above) and that the pressure sensor element has a platform (JP 3702062: 23) and a measuring diaphragm (JP 3702062: 21) connected with the platform.
JP 3702062 as modified by Moreira Araujo does not explicitly disclose that the measuring diaphragm encloses a pressure chamber. JP 3702062 discloses that the pressure sensor element uses the measuring diaphragm to measure a pressure (JP 3702062: paragraph [0008]).
However, O’Dowd discloses a pressure sensor element (Fig. 4) that has a platform (32, 38) and a measuring diaphragm (40) connected with the platform and enclosing a chamber (39). O’Dowd discloses that the pressure sensor element uses the measuring diaphragm to measure a pressure (O’Dowd: col. 8, lines 22-31).
Because O’Dowd and JP 3702062 both disclose pressure sensor elements that measure a pressure, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the pressure sensor element of O’Dowd for the pressure sensor element of JP 3702062 to achieve the predictable result of providing a structure that measures pressure.
As for claim 12, JP 3702062 as modified by Moreira Araujo and O’Dowd discloses:
wherein the pressure sensor element (JP 3702062: 2 and O’Dowd: Fig. 4) includes a capacitive measuring transducer (O’Dowd: Fig. 4) having a first electrode (O’Dowd: 44) arranged on the measuring diaphragm (O’Dowd: 40) and a second electrode (O’Dowd: 42) arranged on the platform (O’Dowd: 38, 32),
wherein the first and second electrodes face one another (O’Dowd: see Fig. 4) and a capacitance between the first electrode and the second electrode depends on a pressure dependent deflection of the measuring diaphragm (O’Dowd: col. 8, lines 22-31), and
wherein at least the second electrode (O’Dowd: 42) is connected with the measuring- and operating circuit via at least one lead (O’Dowd: 68) extending through the platform (O’Dowd: see Fig. 4).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3702062 (“JP 3702062”) in view of U.S. Patent 10,161,908 issued to Moreira Araujo et al. (“Moreira Araujo”) as applied to claim 8, further in view of U.S. Patent 9,820,373 issued to Pennathur et al. (“Pennathur”).
As for claim 14, JP 3702062 as modified by Moreira Araujo discloses the measuring device as claimed in claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above).
JP 3702062 as modified by Moreira Araujo does not explicitly disclose that the on-site electronics can be produced in a System-in-Package method.
However, Pennathur discloses electronics that can be produced in a System-in-Package method (col. 3, lines 27-47).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the on-site electronics of JP 3702062 and Moreira Araujo to be produced in a Systems-in-Package method as disclosed by Pennathur in order to provide higher volumetric efficiency, superior reliability, higher performance, and a smaller form factor (Pennathur: col. 3, lines 45-47).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 10,743,112 issued to Besling (“Besling”) is cited for all that it discloses including measuring device comprising a sensor element, on-site electronics and a circuit board.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0322675 by Zoellin et al. (“Zoellin”) is cited for all that it discloses including measuring device comprising a sensor element, on-site electronics and a circuit board.
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853