DETAILED ACTION The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1, 5-7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200093185 A1 (hereinafter LIM) in view of US 20150173124 A1 (hereinafter QIU ) . Regarding claim 1, LIM discloses a n aerosol-generating device (abstract). LIM discloses that the device may include at least one sensor (¶53). LIM discloses a first sensor configured to measure a temperature of a heating member for heating an aerosol generating material . LIM discloses that the sensor 1150 may include various types of sensors including a temperature detecting sensor for detecting the temperature of the heater (¶166). LIM further discloses a second sensor configured to detect a characteristic of the aerosol generating material . LIM discloses that sensor 1150 may include many types of sensors (¶166) so this reads upon a second sensor. LIM further discloses that the device has a film sensor to detect an aerosol generating article (¶92). LIM discloses that the sensor detects presence (a characteristic, namely location) of the aerosol generating material (¶92). LIM further discloses that the film sensor may also particular materials present in the aerosol generating material (¶104). LIM further discloses a controller (Fig. 11, controller 1110, ¶151) configured to control the switching module and receive a first sensor output signal from the first sensor or a second sensor output signal from the second sensor (¶151) . LIM discloses that the controller receives information from the sensors of the device including position and operates to reach a target temperature (¶148). The heater may increase the temperature based on temperature change of the heater (¶113-¶116). LIM further discloses, the sensors 1150 of which many are provided send signals to the controller with a shared signal line (Fig. 11, ¶151). LIM discloses that the controller may analyze sensing results from the sensors and control subsequent processes (¶161). LIM discloses that the device performs a method by first detecting that the cigarette has been inserted by a sensor, and based on that, operating a heater (¶21). LIM discloses that once presence is confirmed, the heater is operated and that includes supplying power to the heater to pre-heat (¶95) to a temperature as indicated by the sensors (¶96). LIM does not disclose a switching module connected to the first sensor and the second sensor and to a shared sensor signal line connected to the heating member . QIU teaches an intelligent controller for an electronic cigarette that includes a switch module (abstract). QIU teaches the use of a switch module that sends a signal to the control module to activate the intelligent controller (¶12). QIU teaches that the input module 60 is electrically connected to an input of the control module 30 (Figs. 1, 6, and 7, ¶66). QIU teaches that the input module includes a switch S2 and that the first switch end and the second switch end (sensors) are coupled to the control module respectively (¶66). QIU teaches that the switch is a single-pole double-throw switch which had advantages that allow a knob to be rotated allowing sending of a single to the control module when the knob rotates in any direction and to provide operating convenience for users (¶66). QIU teaches that during each whiff a piece of data will be stored in the storage module (¶66). QIU teaches that during use the user sends a high voltage signal to the control module 30 by switching on the switch module 10 one time, the control module 30 outputs a control signal to make the battery supply power to the heating wire 120 (¶72). It would have been prima fa cie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LIM to provide a switching module connected to the first sensor and the second sensor and to a shared sensor signal line connected to the heating member as taught in QIU. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously provide a switching module. Doing so would communicate signals selectively to the control module for heating the wire to create an aerosol (QIU ¶66, ¶72). One of ordinary skill in the art would obviously make this combination because this is (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143, I., (D)). Regarding claim 5, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 1 as discussed above. LIM further discloses the second sensor comprises a capacitance sensor (¶135) . Regarding claim 6 , modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 1 as discussed above. LIM further discloses the second sensor is further configured to detect whether a cigarette including the aerosol generating material is inserted into the heating member. LIM further discloses that the device has a film sensor to detect an aerosol generating article (¶92). LIM discloses that the sensor detects presence (a characteristic, namely location) of the aerosol generating material (¶92-¶93). Regarding claim 7 , modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 1 as discussed above. LIM does not disclose the switching module comprises a single pole double throw (SPDT) switch. QIU teaches an intelligent controller for an electronic cigarette that includes a switch module (abstract). QIU teaches the use of a switch module that sends a signal to the control module to activate the intelligent controller (¶12). QIU teaches that the input module 60 is electrically connected to an input of the control module 30 (Figs. 1, 6, and 7, ¶66). QIU teaches that the input module includes a switch S2 and that the first switch end and the second switch end (sensors) are coupled to the control module respectively (¶66). QIU teaches that the switch is a single-pole double-throw switch which had advantages that allow a knob to be rotated allowing sending of a single to the control module when the knob rotates in any direction and to provide operating convenience for users (¶66, emphasis added). QIU teaches that during each whiff a piece of data will be stored in the storage module (¶66). QIU teaches that during use the user sends a high voltage signal to the control module 30 by switching on the switch module 10 one time, the control module 30 outputs a control signal to make the battery supply power to the heating wire 120 (¶72). It would have been prima fa cie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LI M to provide the switching module comprises a single pole double throw (SPDT) switch as taught in QIU. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously provide a switching module controlled by a single pole double throw switch. Doing so would communicate signals selectively to the control module for heating the wire to create an aerosol (QIU ¶66, ¶72). One of ordinary skill in the art would obviously make this combination because this is (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143, I., (D)). Regarding claim 15 , LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 1 as discussed above. LIM further discloses the first sensor and the second sensor are controlled by one sensor controller. As shown in Fig. 11 all of the sensors as described by 1150 feed into one sensor controller 1110. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM and QIU as applied to claim s 1, 5-7, and 15 above, and further in view of US 20220117307 A1 (hereinafter ABI AOUN) . Regarding claim 2, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 1 as discussed above. LIM further discloses wherein the heating member comprises a susceptor configured to heat the aerosol generating material . LIM discloses that the heater may include an induction heating heater with an electrically conductive coil for heating a cigarette in an induction heating method through a susceptor (¶43). LIM does not disclose that the device heats in response to a variable magnetic field induced by a coil. ABI AOUN teaches an aerosol generating device with a first and second induction heating unite controlled by a controller (abstract). ABI AOUN teaches that the heating unit comprises a coil that is configured to be an inductor element for supplying a varying magnetic field to the susceptor heating element (¶53). ABI AOUN teaches that induction systems are advantageous because the varying magnetic field magnitude can be easily controlled resulting in design freedom and control over the heating profile with lower cost (¶239). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LI M to provid e that the device heats in response to a variable magnetic field induced by a coil as taught in ABI AOUN. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously provide a heating through a variable magnetic field induced by a coil. Doing so would result in a heating profile that is easily controlled resulting in design freedom and lower cost (ABI AOUN ¶239). One of ordinary skill in the art would obviously make this combination because this is (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 , I. , (D)). Regarding claim 3, modified LIM discloses t he aerosol-generating device of claim 2 as discussed above. LIM further discloses the shared sensor signal line is connected to an outside of the susceptor. LIM discloses that the cigarette may include a susceptor (¶43). Therefore the susceptor internal to the cigarette (Fig. 6, cigarette 3, ¶83). As such the signal line (i.e. wiring from the controller board to the sensors) is outside the susceptor because it is outside of the bounds of the cigarette itself. Regarding claim 4, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 1 as discussed above. LIM does not disclose the first sensor comprises a thermocouple . ABI AOUN teaches an aerosol generating device with a first and second induction heating unite controlled by a controller (abstract). ABI AOUN teaches that temperature measurements may be taken by suitable temperature probs disposed at each heating element (¶305). ABI AOUN teaches that suitable temperature sensors include a thermocouple (¶305). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LI M to provid e the first sensor comprises a thermocouple as taught in ABI AOUN. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously take a temperature measurement using a thermocouple. One of ordinary skill in the art would obviously make this combination because the use of a thermocouple is (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (see MPEP 2143 , I. , ( C )). Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM and QIU as applied to claim s 1, 5-7, and 15 above, and further in view of US 20230346025 A1 (hereinafter JEONG) . Regarding claim 8, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 1 as discussed above. LIM further discloses a third sensor configured to detect whether a cigarette including the aerosol generating material is inserted into the heating member . LIM discloses that variousl sensors can be included (¶166). This includes a third, a fourth, a fifth, etc., without limit. LIM discloses that the sensors can include an insertion detecting sensors, a position detecting sensor, (¶166), and a film sensor (¶92). All of these sensors sens e if the aerosol generating material has been inserted. LIM does not disclose the third sensor comprises an inductance sensor. JEONG teaches an aerosol generating device to heat a smoking article (abstract). JEONG teaches that the device has many sensors that may feed signals to the microcontroller (¶205). JEONG teaches the use of inductance sensors to measure inductance that the microcontroller compares to a preset inductance to control the battery for heating the device (¶205). The sensors are capable of measuring the impedance of the excitation coils and if the signal is out of a preset range, the control can determine that an unusable cigarette or foreign material does not receive any heating (¶205). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LIM to pro vide the third sensor comprises an inductance sensor as taug ht in JEONG. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously provide an inductance sensor providing signals to the controller. Doing so would determine if an unusable cigarette has been inserted and protect the device and user by not heating the device (JEONG ¶205). One of ordinary skill in the art would obviously make this combination because the use of inductance sensors is u se of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (see MPEP 2143, I., (C)). Regarding claim 9, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 8 as discussed above. LIM further discloses the inductance sensor comprises a coil configured to induce a variable magnetic field in the heating member . JEONG teaches an aerosol generating device to heat a smoking article (abstract). JEONG teaches that the device has many sensors that may feed signals to the microcontroller (¶205). JEONG teaches that the inductance sensors are electrically connected to the coils and measure the inductance and feed a signal of the inductance to the microcontroller (¶205). JEONG teaches that the induction heating system uses an alternating (i.e. variable) magnetic field to crate eddy current which causes the susceptor to heat the substrate to a temperature to release volatile components able to form an aerosol (¶5). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LIM to pro vide the inductance sensor comprises a coil configured to induce a variable magnetic field in the heating member as taug ht in JEONG. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously in response from the inductance sensor induce a variable magnetic field in the heating member through excitation of the coil. Doing so would heat the substrate to a temperature to release volatile components from the aerosol (JEONG ¶5). One of ordinary skill in the art would obviously make this combination because the use of a n inductance sensors and excitation coils for heating an aerosol is (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (see MPEP 2143, I., (C)). Regarding claim 10, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 8 as discussed above. LIM further discloses the controller is further configured to, in response to a third sensor output signal from the third sensor, switch the switching module such that the controller is connected to the second sensor, and output a second sensor control signal to the second sensor. This limitation is considered to be a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the prior art of LIM in view of JEONG comprises all of the recited limitations including the controller, the multiple sensors, and the ability to switch to different input/output and control schemes. Using first, second, and third sensors to control the aerosol generating device is considered to be within the contemplation of LIM and one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that the controller of LIM performs judgments based on inputs and outputs from all the sensors to control the aerosolization of the material to provide a vapor to the user with predictable results. Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM and QIU as applied to claim 1, 5-7, and 15 above, and further in view of US 20220125110 A1 (hereinafter FRAKE ) Regarding claim 11, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 8 as discussed above. LIM does not disclose, but for the same reasons explained in the rejection of claim 1 above QIU teaches the controller is further configured to switch the switching module such that the controller is connected to the second sensor, output a second sensor control signal to the second sensor . Neither LIM nor QIU disclose determine whether a cigarette including the aerosol generating material is an over-moisture cigarette according to a second sensor output signal from the second sensor . FRAKE teaches an aerosol generating system with a controller (abstract). FRAKE teaches an aerosol generating device includ es capacitors on electrodes that are received in the aerosol-generating article (¶5). These capacitors allow for measurement of the volume of water in the aerosol forming substrate (¶11). This measurement is used to control the temperature of the heater to enable the system to generate an aerosol with consistent properties (¶12). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LIM to determine whether a cigarette including the aerosol generating material is an over-moisture cigarette according to a second sensor output signal from the second sensor as taught in FRAKE . A person of ordinary skill would obviously use sensors to determine the moisture content of a cigarette as over a threshold. Doing so would allow for this variable to be considered by the controller for heating the aerosol generating material to generate an aerosol with consistent properties (FRAKE ¶12). A person of ordinary skill would obviously a pplying a known technique , measuring water content through capacitance, to a known device ( an electronic aerosol generating device ) ready for improvement to yield predictable results of better control (see MPEP 2143, I., (D)). Regarding claim 12, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 11 as discussed above. LIM does not disclose the controller is further configured to, after determining whether the cigarette is the over-moisture cigarette, switch the switching module such that the controller is connected to the first sensor, and output a first sensor control signal to the first sensor . FRAKE teaches an aerosol generating system with a controller (abstract). FRAKE teaches an aerosol generating device includ es capacitors on electrodes that are received in the aerosol-generating article (¶5). FRAKE teaches that the controller is configured to change operation after receiving the signal that the capacitance measurements indicate that the water content is within a normal operating range (¶19) or above a normal operating range (¶20). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LIM to provide the controller is further configured to, after determining whether the cigarette is the over-moisture cigarette, switch the switching module such that the controller is connected to the first sensor, and output a first sensor control signal to the first sensor . A person of ordinary skill would obviously use sensors to determine the moisture content of a cigarette as over a threshold and modify the controllers and signaling. Doing so would allow for this variable to be considered by the controller for heating the aerosol generating material to generate an aerosol with consistent properties (FRAKE ¶12). A person of ordinary skill would obviously a pplying a known technique , measuring water content through capacitance, to a known device ( an electronic aerosol generating device ) ready for improvement to yield predictable results of better control (see MPEP 2143, I., (D)). Further a person of ordinary skill in the art would also use the switching module to take switching action to collect different data and inputs based on the moisture content with predictable results. Regarding claim 13, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 11 as discussed above. LIM does not disclose the controller is further configured to control the temperature of the heating member according to a first heating profile when the cigarette is not the over-moisture cigarette . FRAKE teaches an aerosol generating system with a controller (abstract). FRAKE teaches an aerosol generating device includ es capacitors on electrodes that are received in the aerosol-generating article (¶5). FRAKE teaches that the controller is configured to change operation after receiving the signal that the capacitance measurements indicate that the water content is within a normal operating range (¶19). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LIM to provide the controller is further configured to control the temperature of the heating member according to a first heating profile when the cigarette is not the over-moisture cigarette as taught in FRAKE. A person of ordinary skill would obviously use sensors to determine the moisture content of a cigarette as over a threshold and modify the controllers and signaling. Doing so would allow for this variable to be considered by the controller for heating the aerosol generating material to generate an aerosol with consistent properties (FRAKE ¶12, ¶19). A person of ordinary skill would obviously a pplying a known technique , measuring water content through capacitance, to a known device ( an electronic aerosol generating device ) ready for improvement to yield predictable results of better control and a consistent aerosol (see MPEP 2143, I., (D)). Regarding claim 14, modified LIM discloses the aerosol-generating device of claim 11 as discussed above. LIM does not disclose the controller is further configured to control the temperature of the heating member according to a second heating profile different from the first heating profile when the cigarette is the over-moisture cigarette . FRAKE teaches an aerosol generating system with a controller (abstract). FRAKE teaches an aerosol generating device includ es capacitors on electrodes that are received in the aerosol-generating article (¶5). FRAKE teaches that the controller is configured to change operation after receiving the signal that the capacitance measurements indicate that the water content is above a normal operating range (¶20). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LIM to provide the controller is further configured to control the temperature of the heating member according to a second heating profile different from the first heating profile when the cigarette is the over-moisture cigarette as taught in FRAKE. A person of ordinary skill would obviously use sensors to determine the moisture content of a cigarette as over a threshold and modify the controllers and signaling. Doing so would allow for this variable to be considered by the controller for heating the aerosol generating material to generate an aerosol with consistent properties (FRAKE ¶12, ¶20). A person of ordinary skill would obviously a pplying a known technique , measuring water content through capacitance, to a known device ( an electronic aerosol generating device ) ready for improvement to yield predictable results of better control and a consistent aerosol (see MPEP 2143, I., (D)). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT STEPHANIE L MOORE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (313)446-6537 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon - Thurs 9 am to 5 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael H Wilson can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-3882 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEPHANIE LYNN MOORE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1747 /Michael H. Wilson/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747