DETAILED ACTION
Claims
Claims 1, 8, 9, 11 and 14 are pending.
Examiner’s Note
When making amendments to the claims Applicant is advised to be careful and not add new matter. If Applicant believes that support is present in the Figures then Applicant is advised to consider amending the text of the Specification to capture the new limitations while being careful not to add new matter. Applicant is advised to precisely point out where in the disclosure as filed, not the PGPUB, support is present for any amendments.
WITHDRAWN OBJECTIONS
All objections of record in the Office Action mailed 11/16/2025 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments in the Paper filed 4/8/2026.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
All rejections of record in the Office Action mailed 11/16/2025 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments in the Paper filed 3/6/2026.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornelius et al. (US 2003/0203019).
The claims are interpreted as being directed to a powder composition that is capable of being consumed as food.
Regarding Claim 1, Cornelius (‘019) teaches a solid flavour composition (See Abs., paras. 4, 15 and 56.) comprising a plurality of individual components at least one of which is a flavour-providing substance and at least one of which is an auxiliary component, wherein the auxiliary component comprises calcium stearate (See paras. 21, 34, Claims 1, 3, 5, 16.) and a carbonate compound being calcium carbonate (See Claims 1, 6.), wherein the solid flavour composition is substantially free of nanosilica (See Abs., claim 1, 3, 6. Nanosilica is not listed as an ingredient. Furthermore, calcium carbonates and phosphates are alternative inorganic particles to silica, thus, substantially free of nanosilica.), however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the solid flavour composition is a powder having a flow index value of 0.15 to 0.24.
Applicant does not set forth any non-obvious unexpected results for providing one flow index value over another. It is noted the claimed range is very broad and includes virtually every conceivable value. It would have been foreseeable and obvious prior to the earliest effective filing date since Cornelius’ (‘019) composition and use are substantially the same as claimed that one could reasonably foresee and expect the flow index value would also be the same. It would have been within the skill set of a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the conditions of the components so the composition could be used as intended.
Regarding Claim 8, Cornelius (‘019) teaches wherein the calcium stearate is present in an amount of 0.01 wt. % to 10 wt. %, based on the total weight of the solid flavour composition (See para. 34, Table 2, 2%, 4%).
Regarding Claim 9, Cornelius (‘019) teaches wherein the carbonate compound is present in an amount of 0.01 wt. % to 10 wt. %, based on the total weight of the solid flavour composition (See para. 33, Table 1, 2%, 4%.).
Regarding Claim 11, Cornelius (‘019) teaches wherein the flavour-providing substance imparts a spicy flavour (See para. 56, garlic, a spicy flavor food.).
Regarding Claim 14, Cornelius (‘019) teaches the composition discussed above, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein when stored at 40° C/50% humidity for a period of 8 days shows no caking or clumping.
Applicant does not set forth any non-obvious unexpected results for providing one caking or clumping profile over another. It would have been reasonably foreseeable and obvious prior to the earliest effective filing date since Cornelius’ (‘019) composition and use are substantially the same as claimed that one would expect the caking or clumping properties would also be the same under the conditions as described.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
In response to Applicant’s arguments (See pp. 6-7 of Applicant’s Paper filed 3/6/2026.) since Cornelius (‘019) teaches uses silica it cannot teach excluding silica, it is noted that said arguments are not persuasive. Cornelius (‘019) does not state silica must be present but rather teaches it as an alternative particle. As discussed above, Cornelius (‘019) teaches inorganic particles including calcium carbonates and phosphates, thus, free of nanosilica (See Abs., claim 1, 3, 6.).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/BRENT T O'HERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793 March 10, 2026