DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “an aluminum casting that is provided by using and casting the aluminum alloy for casting”, which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear the meaning of/how the casting is “provided by using and casting”. Claim 30 contains a similar limitation. Appropriate correction/explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17, 19-25, 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2020/0056269) cited on IDS received 11/28/23.
Choi (at abstract, [0007], etc.) teaches an aluminum alloy comprising (in wt%):
cl. 15
(Al alloy for casting)
cl. 23
(Al alloy for casting)
cl. 31
(Al alloy powder)
cl. 33
(Al alloy powder)
Choi
Si
5-20% (cl. 17)
5-20% (cl. 25)
6-10
Cu
8.01-18
9-15.5 (cl. 21)
8.01-18
9-15.5 (cl. 29)
8.01-18
8.01-18
2-13
Ni
1.0-10
1.0-10
1.0-10
1.0-10
0-3
Mn
0.01-0.75
0.01-0.75
0.4-4
Fe
0.01-0.8
0.01-0.8
0.4-2
P
0.0001-0.1
(cl. 19)
0.0001-0.1 (cl. 27)
-0.05
Mg
0.01-3 (cl. 20)
0.01-3 (cl. 28)
0-2
Table 1: instant claims vs. prior art of Choi
which overlaps the alloying ranges of Si, Cu, Ni, Mn, Fe, P, and Mg in instant claims 15, 17, 19-21, 23, 25, 27-29, 31, and 33. Further, Choi teaches said alloy can be processed by casting (such as squeeze casting, die casting, gravity casting [0009]) or can be manufactured in powder form intended to be further processed by consolidation/lamination techniques including 3D printing or for coatings [0009], which meets the limitations “for casting” of independent claims 15 and 23, as well as “aluminum alloy powder for lamination formation” of independent claims 31 and 33. Because Choi teaches an overlapping aluminum alloy composition, together with casting or forming into powder, it is held that Choi has created a prima facie case of obviousness of the presently claimed invention.
Overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the range, including the claimed range, from the broader range disclosed in the prior art, because the prior art finds that said composition in the entire disclosed range has a suitable utility. Additionally, "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages," In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d at 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Concerning dependent claims 16 and 24, which recite an inequality relationship relating Cu and Ni, Choi teaches ranges of Cu and Ni that overlap the claimed condition. For instance, for a Cu=9% and Ni=3% (within the ranges of Choi) the claimed condition:
10
≤
C
u
+
0.87
*
N
i
≤
23.5
10
≤
9
+
0.87
*
3
≤
23.5
10
≤
12.87
≤
23.5
[Wingdings font/0xE0] YES
Therefore, Choi teaches amounts of Cu and Ni that meet the instant conditions of claims 16 and 24.
Concerning dependent claims 22 and 30, Choi teaches casting said alloy, which meets the instant limitation (see also 112(b) rejection above).
Concerning claim 32, Choi teaches said alloy can be manufactured in powder form intended to be further processed by consolidation/lamination techniques including 3D printing [0009], which meets the limitation “using the aluminum alloy powder for lamination formation”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: concerning dependent claims 18 and 26, which recite an inequality relationship relating Cu, Ni, and Si, Choi does not teach ranges of Cu, Ni, and Si that meet the claimed condition. For instance, for values of Cu=13%, Ni=3%, Si=10 (maximum amounts taught Choi that are within the claimed ranges) the claimed condition:
30.0
≤
S
i
+
0.94
*
C
u
+
2.02
*
N
i
≤
42.5
30.0
≤
10
+
0.94
*
13
+
2.02
*
3
≤
42.5
30.0
≤
28.28
≤
42.5
[Wingdings font/0xE0] NO
The closest prior art of Choi does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation, substantially as set forth in claims 18 or 26.
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/J.C.M/Examiner, Art Unit 1733 3/7/26