DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 1 recites "Prepareing" which appears to be a typo and should recite "Preparing". Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17, 20-22, 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR 102248415 B1, English equivalent US 20230002230 A1 used for citations, as cited in IDS 02/24/2025) in view of Batool et al (“Synthesis, Characterization and Process Optimization of Bone Whitlockite” as cited in IDS 11/28/2023).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses a method for producing whitlockite which is capable of producing high-purity whitlockite ([0020] meeting limitation “a method for preparing a whitlockite crystal…without forming a hydroxyapatite crystal”). A solution containing a calcium ion source material was mixed with a solution containing a magnesium ion source material ([0095]). The materials shown in Table 8 below were used according to S2CP ([0119]). Table 8 shows Ca(OH)2 0.4M as calcium ion source material and Mg(OH)2 0.12 M as magnesium ion source material. The following calculations show the pH of the ion source materials.
Ca(OH)2 0.4M
[OH]- =2 x 0.4 M = 0.8 M
pOH= -log10 (0.8) = 0.097
pH = 14-0.097 = 13.9
Mg(OH)2 0.12 M
[OH]- =2 x 0.12 M = 0.24 M
pOH= -log10 (0.24) = 0.62
pH = 14-0.097 = 13.38
The solution disclosed by Lee containing calcium and magnesium ion source material would therefore meet the limitation “(ii) preparing a second solution containing calcium ions and magnesium ions, wherein the second solution is a basic solution with a pH of 8 or more”.
Lee further discloses the mixed solution was added dropwise to a solution containing a phosphate source material for a predetermined period of time at predetermined intervals ([0095]). Table 8 shows H3PO4 0.5M as the phosphate source material. The following are calculations to show the pH of the phosphate source material.
C = 0.5
X = [H+]
Ka1=7.5 x 10-3
x² + (7.5 × 10⁻³)x - (3.75 × 10⁻³) = 0
x = 0.0575M
pH = -log (0.0575) = 1.24
The solution containing a phosphate source material would therefore meet the limitation “(i) preparing a first solution containing phosphate ions in a reactor, wherein the first solution is an acidic solution with a pH of 5 or less”.
Lee’s disclosure of a solution containing a calcium ion source material was mixed with a solution containing a magnesium ion source material, and the mixed solution was added dropwise to a solution containing a phosphate source material for a predetermined period of time at predetermined intervals ([0095]) also meets “(iii) adding the basic second solution to the reactor comprising the acidic first solution, wherein a mixed solution of the first solution and the second solution is prepared”.
Lee further discloses the resulting mixture was heat-treated with stirring ([0095] meeting limitation “ (iv) stirring solution in the reactor”).
Lee does not disclose “wherein a pH of solution in the reactor is 5 or less”.
Batool discloses optimization of pH for the stabilization of whitlockite phase has been investigated (abstract). In the second batch, effect of heating conditions/temperature on the synthesis of WH phase at a constant pH of 5 was investigated (Pg. 4 Section 2.1.2). In all such cases, addition of phosphate solution was stopped at pH 5 (Pg. 4 Section 2.1.2). This mixture was divided into three parts as WH-4, WH-5, WH-6 (Pg. 4 Section 2.1.2). Table 1 shows WH-6 produced only Bone WH (Pg. 3).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to maintain a pH of solution in the reactor at 5 or less in the method of Lee in order for the only product to be Bone whitlockite as disclosed by Batool.
Regarding claim 15, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including Batool discloses in the second batch, effect of heating conditions/temperature on the synthesis of WH phase at a constant pH of 5 was investigated (Pg. 4 Section 2.1.2, meeting limitation “in the (iii), the pH of solution in the reactor is maintained to 5 or less”).
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above. Since Lee discloses the solution containing a phosphate source material in the reactor and the solution containing calcium and magnesium ion source material is added dropwise, and Batool discloses synthesis of WH phase at a constant pH of 5, Lee in view of Batool meets the limitation “wherein, during the entire process of the method, the pH of solution in the reactor is 5 or less”.
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including Lee discloses the mixed solution was added dropwise to a solution containing a phosphate source material for a predetermined period of time ([0095] meeting limitation “wherein the second solution is added for a first time period”).
Regarding claim 20, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and Lee further discloses in the prior art, a method of performing heat treatment at a relatively high temperature is used ([0039]). However, when the method of performing heat treatment at a relatively high temperature is a small-scale process which is a lab-scale process, there is no particular problem in the formation and maintenance of whitlockite, but when the method is a scaled-up process, a problem arises in that whitlockite is not produced, or the crystallinity of whitlockite is greatly reduced, or other crystals such as hydroxyapatite are formed while particles become larger, unlike the small-scale production process ([0039]). This is because large differences in heat dissipation, mixing of solutions, transport of raw material solutions, and the like occur in the scaled-up process ([0039]). Thus, as the heat treatment temperature in the heat treatment process decreases, even the large-scale process may exhibit the same quality and yield as in the small-scale process ([0039] meeting limitation “the hydroxyapatite crystal is not produced during the entire process of the method”).
Regarding claim 21, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and including Lee further discloses in the prior art, a method of performing heat treatment at a relatively high temperature is used ([0039]). However, when the method of performing heat treatment at a relatively high temperature is a small-scale process which is a lab-scale process, there is no particular problem in the formation and maintenance of whitlockite, but when the method is a scaled-up process, a problem arises in that whitlockite is not produced, or the crystallinity of whitlockite is greatly reduced, or other crystals such as hydroxyapatite are formed while particles become larger, unlike the small-scale production process ([0039]). This is because large differences in heat dissipation, mixing of solutions, transport of raw material solutions, and the like occur in the scaled-up process ([0039]). Thus, as the heat treatment temperature in the heat treatment process decreases, even the large-scale process may exhibit the same quality and yield as in the small-scale process ([0039] meeting limitation “the hydroxyapatite crystal is not produced during the entire process of the method”).
Lee further discloses the use of the mixed solvent may be quite advantageous in terms of process simplification, because it makes it possible to produce whitlockite while mixing the solutions together simultaneously ([0038] meeting limitation “wherein the whitlockite crystal produced by the method is: (a) formed directly from solution in the reactor”).
Regarding claim 22, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and Lee further discloses the precipitate was separated and purified, and then dried ([0095] meeting limitation “wherein the method further comprises: (v) washing a result product obtained from the (iv); and (vi) drying a result product obtained from the (v)”).
Regarding claim 25, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses In the method for producing whitlockite, the calcium ion source material and the magnesium ion source material may be mixed together such that the molar ratio between Ca2+ and Mg2+ may be 10:1 to 1:4 ([0030]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the claimed range (2.2:1 to 4:1) lies within the range taught by Lee (10:1 to 4:1). Therefore, the range in Lee renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 26, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses In the method for producing whitlockite, the calcium ion source material and the magnesium ion source material may be mixed together such that the molar ratio between Ca2+ and Mg2+ may be 10:1 to 1:4 ([0030]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the claimed range (2.6:1 to 3:1) lies within the range taught by Lee (10:1 to 4:1). Therefore, the range in Lee renders obvious the claimed range.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR 102248415 B1, English equivalent US 20230002230 A1 used for citations, as cited in IDS 02/24/2025) in view of Batool et al (“Synthesis, Characterization and Process Optimization of Bone Whitlockite” as cited in IDS 11/28/2023) and in further view of Labgairi et al (“Kinetic Study of Calcium Phosphate Precipitation in the System H3PO4-Ca(OH)2-H2O at 30°C).
Regarding claim 18, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and including Lee discloses the mixed solution was added dropwise to a solution containing a phosphate source material for a predetermined period of time at predetermined intervals ([0095] meeting limitation “wherein the second solution is added at a constant rate” by disclosure of added dropwise).
Lee in view of Batool does not disclose wherein the first time period is 120 seconds or less.
Labgairi discloses the precipitation kinetics of calcium phosphates, namely, hydroxyapatite (HAP), dicalcium phosphate dihydrate (DCPD), dicalcium phosphate anhydrous (DCPA), and monocalcium phosphate monohydrate (MCPM), were studied at 30°C by mixing calcium hydroxide, water, and phosphoric acid (abstract). In order to study the kinetics of this precipitation, calcium hydroxide was rapidly added to the phosphoric acid solution (Pg. 3 left column par. 2). In the first 8 minutes, pH of the medium is in the range 3–6, which corresponds to the stability domain of DCPD (Pg. 3 right col. par. 4). The increase in conductivity between 8 and 15 min is explained by the continuous dissolution of calcium hydroxide and by the dissolution of brushite because pH exceeds the range of stability of DCPD (pH>7) (Pg. 3 left column par. 2).
While Labgairi does not explicitly disclose 120 seconds or less or specifically define “rapidly added”, Labgairi does disclose the composition of the precipitates and the pH of the mixture are modified over time as a result of the continuous and expected dissolution of calcium hydroxide and brushite as described above Therefore, the precise time period over which the second solution is added would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed first time period is 120 seconds or less cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the time period for adding the second solution to the first solution in the method of Lee to obtain the desired pH and precipitate composition (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claims 19, 23-24, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR 102248415 B1, English equivalent US 20230002230 A1 used for citations, as cited in IDS 02/24/2025) in view of Batool et al (“Synthesis, Characterization and Process Optimization of Bone Whitlockite” as cited in IDS 11/28/2023) and in further view of (Jang et al. “Revisiting Whitlockite, the Second Most Abundant Biomineral in Bone: Nanocrystal Synthesis in Physiologically Relevant Conditions and Biocompatibility Evaluation”).
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but does not disclose “wherein, in the (iii), solution in the reactor is stirred”.
Jang discloses a large-scale synthesis method for pure WH nanoparticles in a ternary Ca(OH)2- Mg(OH)2- H3PO4 system (abstract). Figure 4 illustrates experimental set-up for synthesizing WH (Pg. 1345). There is a mixing apparatus in the reactor which shows spinning at the same time the digital burette is adding solution dropwise. Stirring is well known in the art to incorporate reactants thus encouraging the chemical reaction to proceed.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Lee in view of Batool to include in step (iii), solution in the reactor is stirred as taught in Jang since stirring incorporates reactants and encourages chemical reactions to proceed.
Regarding claim 23 and 24, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but does not disclose “wherein a ratio of a molar quantity of phosphorous atoms which the mixed solution contains and a molar quantity of calcium atoms which the mixed solution contains (P/Ca) is equal or more than 0.78 and equal or less than 2” (claim 23) or “wherein a ratio of a molar quantity of phosphorous atoms which the mixed solution contains and a molar quantity of calcium atoms which the mixed solution contains (P/Ca) is equal or more than 1.2 and equal or less than 1.5” (claim 24).
Jang discloses a large-scale synthesis method for pure WH nanoparticles in a ternary Ca(OH)2- Mg(OH)2- H3PO4 system (abstract). The (Mg + Ca):PO4 ratio was fixed at 1:1, and only the Mg:Ca ratio was varied (Pg. 636 right col. par. 2). Thus, the final ratio of Mg:Ca:P was equal to x:(0.5-x):0.5 (x=0, 0.1, 0.2, 0.35, 0.5) (Pg. 636 right col. par. 2). Notably, at x=0.1, a minor peak that corresponded to WH started to be observed (Pg. 636 right col. par. 2).
At x = 0.1, the P/Ca ratio is 0.5/0.4 = 1.25.
1.25 is within the claimed ranges “equal or more than 0.78 and equal or less than 2” (claim 23) and “equal or more than 1.2 and equal or less than 1.5” (claim 24).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for a ratio of a molar quantity of phosphorous atoms which the mixed solution contains and a molar quantity of calcium atoms which the mixed solution contains (P/Ca) to be equal or more than 0.78 and equal or less than 2 (claim 23) or equal or more than 1.2 and equal or less than 1.5 (claim 24) in the method of Lee in view of Batool since at this ratio a minor peak that corresponds to WH started to be observed as taught by Jang.
Regarding claim 27, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and Lee further discloses In the method for producing whitlockite, the calcium ion source material and the magnesium ion source material may be mixed together such that the molar ratio between Ca2+ and Mg2+ may be 10:1 to 1:4 ([0030]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the claimed range (2.2:1 to 4:1) lies within the range taught by Lee (10:1 to 4:1). Therefore, the range in Lee renders obvious the claimed range.
Lee does not disclose “wherein a ratio of a molar quantity of phosphorous atoms which the mixed solution contains and a molar quantity of calcium atoms which the mixed solution contains (P/Ca) is equal or more than 0.78 and equal or less than 2”.
Jang discloses a large-scale synthesis method for pure WH nanoparticles in a ternary Ca(OH)2- Mg(OH)2- H3PO4 system (abstract). The (Mg + Ca):PO4 ratio was fixed at 1:1, and only the Mg:Ca ratio was varied (Pg. 636 right col. par. 2). Thus, the final ratio of Mg:Ca:P was equal to x:(0.5-x):0.5 (x=0, 0.1, 0.2, 0.35, 0.5) (Pg. 636 right col. par. 2). Notably, at x=0.1, a minor peak that corresponded to WH started to be observed (Pg. 636 right col. par. 2).
At x = 0.1, the P/Ca ratio is 0.5/0.4 = 1.25.
1.25 is within the claimed ranges “equal or more than 0.78 and equal or less than 2”
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for a ratio of a molar quantity of phosphorous atoms which the mixed solution contains and a molar quantity of calcium atoms which the mixed solution contains (P/Ca) to be equal or more than 0.78 and equal or less than 2 in the method of Lee in view of Batool since at this ratio a minor peak that corresponds to WH started to be observed as taught by Jang.
Regarding claim 28, Lee in view of Batool discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and Lee further discloses In the method for producing whitlockite, the calcium ion source material and the magnesium ion source material may be mixed together such that the molar ratio between Ca2+ and Mg2+ may be 10:1 to 1:4 ([0030]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the claimed range (2.6:1 to 3:1) lies within the range taught by Lee (10:1 to 4:1). Therefore, the range in Lee renders obvious the claimed range.
Lee does not disclose “wherein a ratio of a molar quantity of phosphorous atoms which the mixed solution contains and a molar quantity of calcium atoms which the mixed solution contains (P/Ca) is equal or more than 1.2 and equal or less than 1.5”.
Jang discloses a large-scale synthesis method for pure WH nanoparticles in a ternary Ca(OH)2- Mg(OH)2- H3PO4 system (abstract). The (Mg + Ca):PO4 ratio was fixed at 1:1, and only the Mg:Ca ratio was varied (Pg. 636 right col. par. 2). Thus, the final ratio of Mg:Ca:P was equal to x:(0.5-x):0.5 (x=0, 0.1, 0.2, 0.35, 0.5) (Pg. 636 right col. par. 2). Notably, at x=0.1, a minor peak that corresponded to WH started to be observed (Pg. 636 right col. par. 2).
At x = 0.1, the P/Ca ratio is 0.5/0.4 = 1.25.
1.25 is within the claimed ranges “equal or more than 1.2 and equal or less than 1.5”
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for a ratio of a molar quantity of phosphorous atoms which the mixed solution contains and a molar quantity of calcium atoms which the mixed solution contains (P/Ca) to be equal or more than 1.2 and equal or less than 1.5 in the method of Lee in view of Batool since at this ratio a minor peak that corresponds to WH started to be observed as taught by Jang.
Conclusion
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735