DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kroner (US 20230036106).
Regarding claim 12, Kroner teaches a system for electric vehicle charging (figure 1 shows a system for electric vehicle charging), the system comprising:
a cable having a first interface to a charging port of an electric vehicle and a second interface to an electric vehicle service equipment (EVSE) unit (figure 1 item 3 charging cable with a first interface defined in paragraph [0047] as a plug connector part item 30 connecting to a charging port item 4 of electric vehicle 4. A second interface item 31 connected to an interface item 4 of an electric vehicle service equipment item 2, charging station item 2);
a locking subsystem at the second interface and assignable to a user of the electric vehicle (figure 2 shows a locking subsystem item 45 on the plug connector part. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the locking system may be on the charging station part. Paragraphs [0041] – [0042] disclose wherein the locking system is operated by an authorized user),
the locking subsystem transitionable between: a locked mode preventing uncoupling of the second interface from the EVSE unit, and an unlocked mode activated in response to an input provided by the user and enabling uncoupling of the second interface from the EVSE unit (paragraphs [0040] – [0041] discloses wherein the locking system transitions from a locking mode or position to an unlocked mode or position activated by an authorization response by the user); and
an authentication subsystem positioned proximal the second interface and comprising: an identification chip linked to an account of the user (figure 2 shows an authentication system item 6 defined in paragraph [0052] as a sensor device), and
architecture for communication of an identifying signal of the identification chip with a reader coupled to the EVSE unit for enabling charging sessions associated with at least one of the electric vehicle and the account of the user (paragraph [0026] – [0027] discloses an identification chip defined as a radio key or wirelessly readable authorization token).
Kroner figures 1 and 2 show an EV charging system with a locking system for each port
Regarding claim 14, Kroner teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the locked mode is activated upon coupling the second interface to the EVSE unit (paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the locking mode is activated upon coupling).
Regarding claim 19, Kroner teaches the system of claim 12, wherein in the unlocked mode, the input provided by the user comprises an interaction between an authenticated device of the user and the locking subsystem (figures 1 and 2 shows an authentication system item 6 defined in paragraph [0052] as a sensor device where the user uses a device a key item 5 to lock or unlock the system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) in view of Landau-Holdsworth (US 20100241560).
Regarding claim 1, Kroner teaches a system for electric vehicle charging (figure 1 shows a system for electric vehicle charging), the system comprising:
a cable having a first interface to a charging port of an electric vehicle and a second interface to an electric vehicle service equipment (EVSE) unit (figure 1 item 3 charging cable with a first interface defined in paragraph [0047] as a plug connector part item 30 connecting to a charging port item 4 of electric vehicle 4. A second interface item 31 connected to an interface item 4 of an electric vehicle service equipment item 2, charging station item 2);
a locking subsystem at the second interface and assignable to a user of the electric vehicle (figure 2 shows a locking subsystem item 45 on the plug connector part. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the locking system may be on the charging station part. Paragraphs [0041] – [0042] disclose wherein the locking system is operated by an authorized user),
the locking subsystem transitionable between: a locked mode activated upon coupling the second interface to the EVSE unit and preventing uncoupling of the second interface from the EVSE unit, and an unlocked mode activated in response to an input provided by the user and enabling uncoupling of the second interface from the EVSE unit (paragraphs [0040] – [0041] discloses wherein the locking system transitions from a locking mode or position to an unlocked mode or position activated by an authorization response by the user); and
an authentication subsystem positioned proximal the second interface (figure 2 shows an authentication system item 6 defined in paragraph [0052] as a sensor device) and
comprising: an identification chip linked to an account of the user, architecture for communication of an identifying signal of the identification chip with a reader coupled to the EVSE unit for enabling charging sessions associated with at least one of the electric vehicle and the account of the user (paragraph [0026] – [0027] discloses an identification chip defined as a radio key or wirelessly readable authorization token).
Kroner does not explicitly teach a shield coupled to the cable about the authentication subsystem, the shield configured to prevent reading of outside signals unassociated with the identification chip, when the second interface is coupled to the EVSE unit
Landau-Holdsworth teaches a shield coupled to the cable about the authentication subsystem, the shield configured to prevent reading of outside signals unassociated with the identification chip, when the second interface is coupled to the EVSE unit (paragraphs [0019] discloses wherein an authentication system, an RFID tag item 50 is located beneath a shield item 100 to prevent reading of outside signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify electric vehicle charging system of the Kroner reference with the electric vehicle charging system of the Landau-Holdsworth reference so that only a specific tag may be identified while being used in a location accessible by multiple users.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Landau-Holdsworth reference in paragraphs [0015] wherein at the system may be used by a specific identification.
Landau-Holdsworth Figure 1 shows a shield item 100 for an RFID tag item 50 and an RFID sensor item 40
Regarding claim 9, Kroner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein in the unlocked mode, the input provided by the user comprises an interaction between an authenticated device of the user and the locking subsystem (figures 1 and 2 shows an authentication system item 6 defined in paragraph [0052] as a sensor device where the user uses a device a key item 5 to lock or unlock the system).
Regarding claim 10, Kroner teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the identification chip of the authentication subsystem comprises a radio-frequency identification (RFID) chip that is powered by the reader of the EVSE.
Landau-Holdsworth teaches wherein the identification chip of the authentication subsystem comprises a radio-frequency identification (RFID) chip that is powered by the reader of the EVSE (defined in paragraph [0015] discloses wherein an RFID chip is used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify electric vehicle charging system of the Kroner reference with the electric vehicle charging system of the Landau-Holdsworth reference so that only a specific tag may be identified while being used in a location accessible by multiple users.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Landau-Holdsworth reference in paragraphs [0015] wherein at the system may be used by a specific identification.
Regarding claim 11, Kroner teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the shield defines a cavity configured to receive the reader of the EVSE unit for communication with the identification chip of the cable.
Landau-Holdsworth teaches wherein the shield defines a cavity configured to receive the reader of the EVSE unit for communication with the identification chip of the cable (paragraphs [0019] discloses wherein an authentication system, an RFID tag item 50 is located beneath a shield item 100 to prevent reading of outside signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify electric vehicle charging system of the Kroner reference with the electric vehicle charging system of the Landau-Holdsworth reference so that only a specific tag may be identified while being used in a location accessible by multiple users.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Landau-Holdsworth reference in paragraphs [0015] wherein at the system may be used by a specific identification.
Regarding claim 20, Kroner teaches the system of claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein the authentication subsystem further comprises a shield coupled to at least one of the EVSE unit and the cable about the authentication subsystem, the shield configured to prevent reading of outside signals unassociated with the identification chip, when the second interface is coupled to the EVSE unit.
Landau-Holdsworth teaches wherein the authentication subsystem further comprises a shield coupled to at least one of the EVSE unit and the cable about the authentication subsystem, the shield configured to prevent reading of outside signals unassociated with the identification chip, when the second interface is coupled to the EVSE unit (paragraphs [0019] discloses wherein an authentication system, an RFID tag item 50 is located beneath a shield item 100 to prevent reading of outside signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify electric vehicle charging system of the Kroner reference with the electric vehicle charging system of the Landau-Holdsworth reference so that only a specific tag may be identified while being used in a location accessible by multiple users.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Landau-Holdsworth reference in paragraphs [0015] wherein at the system may be used by a specific identification.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) in view of Landau-Holdsworth (US 20100241560) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Amit (US 20110065305).
Regarding claim 2, Kroner in view of Landau-Holdsworth teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the cable comprises an intermediate portion having a non-circular cross section, the non-circular cross section comprising a planar side.
Amit teaches wherein the cable comprises an intermediate portion having a non-circular cross section, the non-circular cross section comprising a planar side (figure 4 shows a cable with a non-circular cross section item 400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the cable system of the Amit reference so that the cable may easily bend and fold into a compact space for storage and portability.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Amit reference in paragraph [0059] wherein allowing the cable to be bendable and more compact is taught.
Amit Figure 4 shows a cable with a non-circular cross section
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) in view of Landau-Holdsworth (US 20100241560) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Limpkin (WO 2013034872 ).
Regarding claim 3, Kroner and Landau-Holdsworth teach the system of claim 2, but do not explicitly teach wherein the planar side is weighted in comparison to other portions of the cable, such that the planar side preferentially positions itself against the ground when the cable is in use.
Limpkin teaches wherein the planar side is weighted in comparison to other portions of the cable, such that the planar side preferentially positions itself against the ground when the cable is in use (page 17 second paragraph discloses wherein the cable may include a weighted device to weight the cable and hold it in position and prevent a tripping hazard).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Amit references with the cable system of the Limpkin reference so that the cable may be easily held in place to prevent tripping.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Limpkin reference on page 17 second paragraph wherein preventing the cable from being a tripping hazard is taught.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) in view of Landau-Holdsworth (US 20100241560) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Ohtomo (US 20200094703).
Regarding claim 4, Kroner in view of Landau-Holdsworth teach the system of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first interface and the second interface comprises and indication subsystem configured to receive electrical signals encoding a set of statuses of the EVSE unit, the cable, and the electric vehicle, and to generate light signals indicative of one or more of the set of statuses to the user.
Ohtomo teaches wherein at least one of the first interface and the second interface comprises and indication subsystem configured to receive electrical signals encoding a set of statuses of the EVSE unit, the cable, and the electric vehicle, and to generate light signals indicative of one or more of the set of statuses to the user (figure 1 shows charge completion lamps items 551 to 550 which are attached to an interface of the charging connector. Paragraphs [0035] and [0070] disclose wherein the lamps indicate a status such as charging, unlocked or unlocked).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the charging connector system of the Ohtomo reference so that the user may easily indicate a charging and connection status during a charging session.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ohtomo reference in paragraph [0006] wherein identifying the charging completion is taught.
Ohtomo Figure 1 shows lamp indicators item 551-558 on the charging connectors
Regarding claim 5, Kroner in view of Landau-Holdsworth teach the system of claim 4, but do not explicitly teach wherein the indication subsystem further comprises transmission architecture for communicating one or more of the set of statuses to a device of the user.
Ohtomo teaches the indication subsystem further comprises transmission architecture for communicating one or more of the set of statuses to a device of the user (paragraph [0023] discloses wherein communication of the status is provided to the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the charging connector system of the Ohtomo reference so that the user may easily indicate a charging and connection status during a charging session.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ohtomo reference in paragraph [0006] wherein identifying the charging completion is taught.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) in view of Landau-Holdsworth (US 20100241560) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Veiga (US 20190344676).
Regarding claim 6, Kroner in view of Landau-Holdsworth teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein in the locked mode, connection of the second interface to the EVSE unit activates transmission of a notification to a device of the user, if the cable has been reported as missing through the account of the user.
Veiga teaches wherein in the locked mode, connection of the second interface to the EVSE unit activates transmission of a notification to a device of the user, if the cable has been reported as missing through the account of the user (paragraph [0028] discloses wherein it is determined if a theft has occurred and the information is reported including the identity of the last user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the charging connector system of Veiga reference so that unauthorized use of the charging assembly is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Veiga reference in paragraph [0028] wherein unauthorized use of the charging assembly is prevented.
Regarding claim 15, Kroner in view of Landau Holdsworth teaches the system of claim 14, but does not explicitly teach wherein in the locked mode, connection of the second interface to the EVSE unit activates transmission of a notification to a device of the user, if the cable has been reported as missing through the account of the user.
Veiga teaches wherein in the locked mode, connection of the second interface to the EVSE unit activates transmission of a notification to a device of the user, if the cable has been reported as missing through the account of the user (paragraph [0028] discloses wherein it is determined if a theft has occurred and the information is reported including the identity of the last user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the charging connector system of Veiga reference so that unauthorized use of the charging assembly is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Veiga reference in paragraph [0028] wherein unauthorized use of the charging assembly is prevented.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) in view of Landau-Holdsworth (US 20100241560) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Montemayor (US 20140002018).
Regarding claim 7, Kroner in view of Landau-Holdsworth teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein in the unlocked mode, the input provided by the user comprises an alphanumeric code predetermined by the user.
Montemayor teaches wherein in the unlocked mode, the input provided by the user comprises an alphanumeric code predetermined by the user (paragraph [0036] discloses wherein an alphanumeric code may be used within the charge coupler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the cable system of the Montemayor reference so that charging cable is secure while maintaining user friendliness and safety.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Montemayor reference on paragraph [0006] wherein securing the charging device is taught.
Regarding claim 8, Kroner in view of Landau-Holdsworth teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein in the unlocked mode, the input provided by the user comprises a biometric signature provided by the user.
Montemayor teaches wherein in the unlocked mode, the input provided by the user comprises a biometric signature provided by the user (paragraph [0036] discloses wherein a biometric signature such as a fingerprint may be used within the charging coupler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the cable system of the Montemayor reference so that charging cable is secure while maintaining user friendliness and safety.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Montemayor reference on paragraph [0006] wherein securing the charging device is taught.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) (as applied to claim 12) in view of Amit (US 20110065305) and in further view of Limpkin (WO 2013034872 ).
Regarding claim 13, Kroner teaches the system of claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein the cable comprises an intermediate portion having a non-circular cross section, the non-circular cross section comprising a planar side, and wherein the planar side is weighted in comparison to other portions of the cable, such that the planar side preferentially positions itself against the ground when the cable is in use.
Amit teaches wherein the cable comprises an intermediate portion having a non-circular cross section, the non-circular cross section comprising a planar side (figure 4 shows a cable with a non-circular cross section item 400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the cable system of the Amit reference so that the cable may easily bend and fold into a compact space for storage and portability.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Amit reference in paragraph [0059] wherein allowing the cable to be bendable and more compact is taught.
Kroner in view of Amit do not explicitly teach wherein the planar side is weighted in comparison to other portions of the cable, such that the planar side preferentially positions itself against the ground when the cable is in use.
Limpkin teaches wherein the planar side is weighted in comparison to other portions of the cable, such that the planar side preferentially positions itself against the ground when the cable is in use (page 17 second paragraph discloses wherein the cable may include a weighted device to weight the cable and hold it in position and prevent a tripping hazard).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Amit references with the cable system of the Limpkin reference so that the cable may be easily held in place to prevent tripping.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Limpkin reference on page 17 second paragraph wherein preventing the cable from being a tripping hazard is taught.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) in view of Ohtomo (US 20200094703).
Regarding claim 16, Kroner teaches teaches the system of claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first interface and the second interface comprises and indication subsystem configured to receive electrical signals encoding a set of statuses of the EVSE unit, the cable, and the electric vehicle, and to generate light signals indicative of one or more of the set of statuses to the user.
Ohtomo teaches wherein at least one of the first interface and the second interface comprises and indication subsystem configured to receive electrical signals encoding a set of statuses of the EVSE unit, the cable, and the electric vehicle, and to generate light signals indicative of one or more of the set of statuses to the user (figure 1 shows charge completion lamps items 551 to 550 which are attached to an interface of the charging connector. Paragraphs [0035] and [0070] disclose wherein the lamps indicate a status such as charging, unlocked or unlocked).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the charging connector system of the Ohtomo reference so that the user may easily indicate a charging and connection status during a charging session.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ohtomo reference in paragraph [0006] wherein identifying the charging completion is taught.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) in view of Ohtomo (US 20200094703) as applied to claim 16 and in further view of Veiga (US 20190344676).
Regarding claim 17, Kroner in view of Ohtomo teaches the system of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach wherein the set of statuses comprises statuses associated with damage and improper functioning of the cable.
Veiga teaches wherein the set of statuses comprises statuses associated with damage and improper functioning of the cable (paragraphs [0028] – [0029] disclose wherein it is determined if a there is a malfunction or damage with the cable and the user is notified).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Ohtomo references with the charging connector system of Veiga reference so that unauthorized use of the charging assembly is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Veiga reference in paragraph [0028] wherein unauthorized use of the charging assembly is prevented.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroner (US 20230036106) in view of Montemayor (US 20140002018).
Regarding claim 18, Kroner teaches the system of claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein in the unlocked mode, the input provided by the user comprises a biometric signature provided by the user.
Montemayor teaches wherein in the unlocked mode, the input provided by the user comprises a biometric signature provided by the user (paragraph [0036] discloses wherein a biometric signature such as a fingerprint may be used within the charging coupler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Korner and Landau-Holdsworth references with the cable system of the Montemayor reference so that charging cable is secure while maintaining user friendliness and safety.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Montemayor reference on paragraph [0006] wherein securing the charging device is taught.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20210170900 A1 Charging System Ando; Toru
Us 20110169447 A1 Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Brown; Kenneth Et Al.
Us 9821676 B2 Electric Vehicle Charging Apparatus Choi; Seung Woo
Us 20130020991 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Deboer; John Et Al.
Us 20120083148 A1 Power Feeding Plug Locking Device Hirashita; Takahiro Et Al.
Us 20190378365 A1 Enhanced EV Charger Security Jordan, Iii; Dale F. Et Al.
Us 20110294328 A1 Plug Locking Device Katagiri; Toshiharu Et Al.
Us 20170125993 A1 Vehicle With A Charging Cable Krammer; Josef Et Al.
Us 20140008135 A1 Cord Housing Device And Vehicle Kinomura; Shigeki
Us 20200398685 A1 Port Locking Actuator Device For Vehicle Inlet Motomiya; Masahiro Et Al.
Us 20130106351 A1 Charging Apparatus EV Nakamura; Makoto Et Al.
Us 20230382248 A1 Flat Electric Vehicle Mobile Charger Cable Sirieix; David Albert
Us 20130201641 A1 Portable Charging Cable Soden; David Paul Et Al.
Us 10243394 B2 Portable EVSE Steinbuchel, Iv; Herman Joseph Et Al.
Us 20100013434 A1 Charging Station Taylor-Haw; Calvey Kenneth Et Al.
Us 20220305928 A1 Ev Charging Station Treadway; Peter
Us 20130181674 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Tremblay; Louis Et Al.
Us 20240198827 A1 Electric Vehicle Smart Charging Stations Vicari; Joern Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859