DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-14 are pending:
Claims 1-6 and 9-12 are rejected.
Claims 7-8 and 13-14 are objected.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP21176840, filed on 05/31/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nodomi (US 2021/0001251) in view of Wildermuth (DE 102019121342).
Regarding claim 1, Nodomi teaches a filter device (100) (strainer, see ABS and claim 1) for a liquid medium, the filter device comprising: a support structure (1) (frame body 12) which extends between a first end (11) and a second end (12) (see Fig. 2) and which defines an interior space (10)… wherein the support structure (1) has at the second end (12) a flow body (14) (bottom surface 14 has a conical shape and as shown in Fig. 4 the conical shaped bottom controls the flow) which protrudes into the interior space (10) in a direction of the first end (11) and tapers in the direction of the first end (11) (see Figs. 1 and 3-4), and wherein the support structure (1) has openings (15) (openings that accommodate screen portions 13) which connect the interior space (10) in a fluidly conducting manner to an environment of the support structure (1); and a filter medium (2) (screen portion 13) which is accommodated in the interior space (10) of the support structure (1) (see Figs. 2, 6 and 9 wherein the screen portions 13 are within the body and part of the internal flow region therefore accommodated in the interior space).
Nodomi does not teach tapering from the first end (11) to the second end (12).
In a related field of endeavor, Wildermuth teaches a filter element for use as a particle filter in a cooling circuit of an electrochemical converter (see ABS) comprising tapering from the first end (11) to the second end (12) (the conical lattice support structure ( 3, 33) tapers from the first axial end to the second axial end, see ABS).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the filter shape of Nodomi by configuring said shape to be tapering from the first end to the second end as disclosed by Wildermuth because it creates a funnel and particulate impurities are most effectively caught by the funnel (Wildermuth, see pg. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Nodomi and Wildermuth teach the filter device (100) according to claim 1, wherein the support structure (1) is conical in form (Wildermuth, conical lattice support structure 33).
Regarding claim 3, Nodomi and Wildermuth teach the filter device (100) according to claim 1, wherein the flow body (14) is conical in form (Wildermuth, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Nodomi and Wildermuth teach the filter device (100) according to claim 1, wherein the support structure (1) comprises an end frame (13) (Nodomi, mounting portion 11) forming the first end (11) (Nodomi, see Fig. 2), an end body (16) forming the second end (12) (Nodomi, see Fig. 2), and at least two longitudinal struts (17) (Nodomi, plurality of ribs 12c) arranged spaced apart from one another on the frame (Nodomi, see Fig. 7), which connect the end body (16) and the end frame (13) (Nodomi, see Fig. 7), wherein the openings (15) are formed between the longitudinal struts (17) (Nodomi, see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Nodomi and Wildermuth teach the filter device (100) according to claim 4, wherein the support structure (1) comprises at least one circumferential strut (18) (Nodomi, plurality of ribs 12d) arranged between the end frame (13) and the end body (16), which connects the longitudinal struts (17) to one another, wherein the openings (15) are formed between the longitudinal struts (17) and the at least one circumferential strut (18) (12b).
Regarding claim 6, Nodomi and Wildermuth teach the filter device (100) according to claim 1.
Nodomi further discloses wherein the tank body 101 is formed of a resin material superior in corrision resistance is polyethylene (Nodomi, see ¶24 which is a plastic material); however, Nodomi does not explicitly teach wherein the support structure (1) is made from a plastic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filter device material of Nodomi with the plastic material (i.e. polyethylene) as disclosed by another embodiment of Nodomi because it is simple substitution of one known polyethylene material means with another known plastic material means, obviously resulting in a suitable corrosion resistant material with a reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 9, Nodomi and Wildermuth teach the filter device (100) according to claim 1.
Nodomi does not teach a housing (4) defining a receiving space (40) extending between a first port (41) and a second port (42); wherein the support structure (1) is accommodated in the receiving space (40) such that the first end (11) of the support structure (1) faces the first port (41).
Wildermuth further teaches a housing (4) defining a receiving space (40) extending between a first port (41) and a second port (42); wherein the support structure (1) is accommodated in the receiving space (40) such that the first end (11) of the support structure (1) faces the first port (41) (see annotated Fig. 2).
Annotated Fig. 2 of Wildermuth
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filter device of Nodomi by arranging the filter device in a housing as disclosed by Wildermuth because it has the benefit of fastening the filter device to a process line (Wildermuth, see pg. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Nodomi and Wildermuth teach the filter device (100) according to claim 1.
Nodomi does not teach a fuel cell system (200) comprising: a fuel cell assembly (210) having at least one fuel cell (211); and a cooling circuit (220) thermally coupled to the fuel cell assembly (210) and configured so as to circulate a coolant, wherein the cooling circuit (220) comprises the filter device (100) to filter the coolant.
Wildermuth further teaches a fuel cell system (200) (see Fig. 2) comprising: a fuel cell assembly (210) having at least one fuel cell (211) (fuel cell 102); and a cooling circuit (220) (cooling circuit 100) thermally coupled to the fuel cell assembly (210) (via heating exchanger 108) and configured so as to circulate a coolant (see Fig. 1), wherein the cooling circuit (220) comprises the filter device (100) according to claim 1 to filter the coolant (there is a filter element on the supply line for the coolant, see pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filter device of Nodomi by incorporating the filter device in a fuel cell system as disclosed by Wildermuth because it is desirable in Nodomi to place the filter in a system that removes a solid component from a liquid component (Nodomi, see ¶26) while reducing blow-back of liquid (Nodomi, see ¶6).
Regarding claim 11, Nodomi and Wildermuth teach the filter device (100) according to claim 1.
With respect to the limitation, “wherein the liquid medium is a cooling medium in a cooling circuit (220) of a fuel cell system (200)” Nodomi as modified by Wildermuth is capable of performing the intended use (Nodomi, see ¶23 and Fig. 1). Furthermore, “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996<, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
Regarding claim 12, Nodomi and Wildermuth teach the filter device (100) according to claim 6, wherein the plastic material is …a thermoplastic plastic material (Modified Nodomi, polyethylene, see ¶24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Nodomi (US 2021/0001251) and Wildermuth (DE 102019121342) are considered the closest prior art of record. Nodomi nor Wildermuth teach “a conduit body (3) protruding into the interior space (10) of the support structure (1) at the first end (11) and defining a flow passage (30) extending between an inlet port (31) and an outlet port (32); wherein the outlet port (32) faces the interior space (10) of the support structure (1); and wherein the flow passage (30) comprises an outlet section (34) which widens towards the outlet port (32)” as required by claim 7. There is no known benefit to modify the filter device of Nodomi. Claims 8 and 13-14 depend from claim 7 therefore allowable for similar reasons.
Conclusion
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773