DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
In view of the amendments, the objections of claims 15-19 and 23 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (USP No. 12,183,035) in view of Kelly et al. (USPG Pub No. 2021/0231974), hereinafter “Kelly”.
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses a method for fitting virtual glasses (79) (see Fig. 5H, Col. 12, Lines 45-63) comprising the steps of: (100) placing on the face of a user a real pair of glasses (21) (see Fig. 3B, Col. 7, Line 34), (200) measuring the position of said real pair of glasses (21) relative to the face of said user by means of a measuring device (216) (see Fig. 2B, Col. 10, Lines 19-25), (300) mapping the face of the user by a 3D mapping means (110) (see Fig. 1, Col. 9, Lines 17-28), (400) constructing a 3D model of the face of the user and of said virtual pair of glasses (79) taking into account the position measured in step (200) (Col. 9, Lines 29-36, Col. 12, Lines 53-55). Chen discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify the step (500) measuring the ophthalmological parameters of said user based on the 3D model of the face of the user constructed in step (400). In the same field of endeavor, Kelly discloses the step (500) measuring the ophthalmological parameters of said user (900) based on the 3D model of the face of the user constructed in step (400) (Paragraph 360). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Chen with the step (500) measuring the ophthalmological parameters of said user based on the 3D model of the face of the user constructed in step (400) of Kelly for the purpose of providing more accurate measurements of both standard and complex parameters (Paragraphs 8, 9).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses further comprising the steps of: -(310) capturing the image of the face of the user by an image capture means (Col. 2, Line 32 – Col. 3, Line 2). Chen and Kelly teach the method set forth above for claim 15, Kelly further discloses -step (320) identifying, on the image captured in step (310), the position of the pupils of said user (Paragraph 198), - step (340) integrating the position of the pupils, determined in step (320) to the 3D model established in step (400) (see Fig. 5, Paragraph 198). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Chen with the teachings of Kelly for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, Chen further discloses further comprising step (210) of saving said position associated with a specific identifier of said user (Col. 5, Lines 20-21, Col. 10, Lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 18, Chen further discloses further comprising step (600) of displaying, on a display means, a virtual pair of glasses (79) on the image of the face of said user captured in step (310), wherein said virtual pair of glasses (79) is positioned so as to reproduce the position measured in step (200) (see Figs. 3B, 5H).
Regarding claim 19, Chen and Kelly teach the method set forth above for claim 15, Kelly further discloses wherein the ophthalmological parameters measured in step (500) are selected from the group consisting of the pupillary heights, the pantoscopic angle, the horizontality of the frame, the horizontality of the lenses with respect to said frame, the pupillary deviations in far-sight and/or near-sight, the camber of said frame, the lens-eye distance and the position of the centring marks on each of the lenses (Paragraph 69). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Chen with the teachings of Kelly for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 15.
Regarding claim 20, Chen further discloses wherein the measurement of the position of said real pair of glasses relative to the face of said user comprises determining the point of contact between said real pair of glasses and the edge of the nose of said user (see Figs. 3B, 5B, Col. 8, Lines 48-49).
Regarding claim 21, Chen and Kelly teach the method set forth above for claim 15, Kelly further discloses wherein the measurement of the position of said real pair of glasses on the face of said user comprises determining the point of contact between said real pair of glasses and each of the ears of said user (Paragraph 69). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Chen with the teachings of Kelly for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 15.
Regarding claim 22, Chen further discloses wherein said measuring device comprises a means capable of measuring the distance (Col. 10, Lines 45-51).
Regarding claim 23, Chen and Kelly teach the method set forth above for claim 15, Kelly further discloses wherein said means capable of measuring the distance is selected from the group consisting of an ultrasound sensor, a time-of-flight camera, a truedepth camera, and a LIDAR (Paragraph 76). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Chen with the teachings of Kelly for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 15.
Regarding claim 24, Chen further discloses wherein said means capable of measuring the distance is associated with a computing means capable of constructing a depth map of the face of the user and of the real pair of glasses (Col. 2, Lines 52-62).
Regarding claim 25, Chen further discloses wherein said image capture means is a video sensor (Col. 2, Lines 39-44).
Regarding claim 26, Chen further discloses wherein said display means is a video screen (Col. 2, Line 39 – Col. 3, Line 2).
Regarding claim 27, Chen further discloses wherein said image capture means and said display means are included in a tablet (see Figs. 1-2A, Col. 3, Lines 54-55).
Regarding claim 28, Chen further discloses wherein said measuring device, said image capture means and said display means are included in a tablet (see Figs. 1-2A, Col. 3, Lines 54-55).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Chen in view of Kelly does not disclose or teach the claims as presented.
Regarding independent claim 15, as presented above, the disclosure of Chen teaches a method for fitting virtual glasses of a user by placing a real pair of glasses on the face of a user, measuring the position of the real pair of glasses relative to the user’s face, using 3D mapping to map the user’s face, and constructing a 3D model of the user’s face and virtual pair of glasses taking into account the position measured. Chen teaches the method for fitting virtual glasses as presented, except for measuring the ophthalmological parameters of said user based on the 3D model of the face of the user. Kelly is presented solely to teach that ophthalmological parameters are capable of being obtained based on the generated 3D model. With respect to the combination of Chen and Kelly, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, both Chen and Kelly teach obtaining the desired images of the user’s face wearing eyeglasses, wherein parameters of the desired areas of the face are capable of being extracted, calculated, measured, computed, etc. Figs. 3B, 5B and Col. 8, Lines 48-49 of Chen teach obtaining a subset of points for facial landmarks (61), wherein the positioning and fitting of the frame relies on the facial landmarks. In addition, Paragraph 69 of Kelly teaches that the one or more optical measurements of the subject obtained from the images are determined based on imaged facial features, such as the nose and ears. The desired data of the imaged facial features and eyeglasses is capable of being determined based on these teachings. The claims do not provided further limiting language that would differentiate the current claims from the prior art. For these reasons, the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 5/30/2026