Drawings
2. Each distinct part, including modified parts, should be labeled with a distinct reference character to be in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4). Note at least the following informalities:
· The elements represented by reference characters 211 and 213 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 10 are distinct from the elements represented by these same reference characters shown in the embodiments of Figs. 8, 9A, and 9B
· The elements represented by reference characters 201 and 211 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 22 are distinct from the elements represented by these same reference characters shown in the embodiments of Figs. 8, 9A, and 9B.
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
· Reference characters “203a(203)” and “203b(203) is used in Fig. 6, whereas the specification identifies reference characters “203a” as a straight portion , “203b” as a bent portion, and “203” as a latch portion. Reference characters cannot share the same leader line.
· Reference character “20(2)” is used in Figs. 11 and 12, whereas the specification identifies reference characters “20” as a deformable portion and “2” as a skeleton portion. Reference characters cannot share the same leader line.
· Reference character “302(300)” is used in Figs. 13B and 14A-C, whereas the specification identifies reference characters “302” as a knit body and “300” as a tread member. Reference characters cannot share the same leader line.
4. The drawings are objected to because:
· Reference character “F” is not clearly legible in Fig. 11. Reference characters must be clearly shown and readily identifiable.
Specification
5. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
· Reference elements such as “α”, “β”, and “γ” are not listed in the reference signs list.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Limozin et al (WO2016139111A1).
Regarding claim 1, Limozin et al discloses a knit body (44, 44’, 54, 54’, 64 “assembly” from Figs. 2-7) knitted out of a filament body including at least one metal fiber (48 “reinforcing element” from Figs. 2-7; Para [022] on page 3 of the attached translated document of Limozin et al) having a cross section orthogonal to a longitudinal direction (As shown in Figs. 6-8, each filament extends along a longitudinal direction, and therefore inherently has a cross section orthogonal to the longitudinal direction), the cross section having a profile that is convex polygonal (Para [023] on page 3 of the attached translated document of Limozin et al describes a possible “rectangular or square” cross section; Limozin et al discloses a cross section that is not limited to a circular shape. Although Limozin et al describes a circular cross section in detail, the phrase “When it is circular” denotes a specific embodiment and does not limit the disclosed cross section to being circular).
Regarding claim 2, Limozin et al discloses the knit body (Figs. 2-7) according to claim 1, wherein the profile of the cross section orthogonal to the longitudinal direction (Figs. 6-8) of the metal fiber is rectangle (“rectangular” per Para [023] on page 3 of the attached translated document of Limozin et al).
Regarding claims 4, Limozin et al discloses the knit body (Figs. 2-7) according to claim 1, configured into an endless shape (Figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claims 5, Limozin et al discloses the knit body (Figs. 2-7) according to claim 1, wherein the filament body is a multifilament made of a plurality of the metal fibers (Para [024] of the attached translated document of Limozin et al).
Regarding claim 6, Limozin et al discloses the knit body (Figs. 2-7) according to claim 5, knitted out of only the multifilament (Refer to the highlighted paragraph on page 13 of the attached translated document of Limozin et al).
Regarding claim 11, Limozin et al discloses the knit body (Figs. 2-7) according to claim 2, configured into an endless shape (Figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Limozin et al discloses the knit body (Figs. 2-7) according to claim 2, wherein the filament body is a multifilament made of a plurality of the metal fibers (Para [024] of the attached translated document of Limozin et al).
Regarding claim 17, Limozin et al discloses the knit body (Figs. 2-7) according to claim 4, wherein the filament body is a multifilament made of a plurality of the metal fibers (Para [024] of the attached translated document of Limozin et al).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 3, 10, 14, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Limozin et al in view of Shima et al (JP2001009984A) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, Limozin et al fails to disclose the metal fiber is made of austenite stainless steel or aluminum alloy.
Shima et al, however, teaches the metal fiber is made of aluminum alloy (Refer to the highlighted portion on page 5 of the attached translated document of Shima et al).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the knit body of Limozin et al by substituting its metal fiber for a metal fiber such as aluminum alloy fibers as taught by Shima et al, with the motivation to use an alternative metal fiber suitable for forming filament elements.
Regarding claim 10, Limozin et al, as modified by Shima et al, discloses the knit body (Limozin et al: Figs. 2-7) according to claim 2, wherein the metal fiber is made of austenite stainless steel or aluminum alloy (Shima et al: refer to the highlighted portion on page 5 of the attached translated document of Shima et al).
Regarding claim 14, Limozin et al, as modified by Shima et al, discloses the knit body (Limozin et al: Figs. 2-7) according to claim 3, configured into an endless shape (Limozin et al: Figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 15, Limozin et al, as modified by Shima et al, discloses the knit body (Limozin et al: Figs. 2-7) according to claim 3, wherein the filament body is a multifilament made of a plurality of the metal fibers (Para [024] of the attached translated document of Limozin et al).
Regarding claim 20, Limozin et al, as modified by Shima et al, discloses the knit body (Limozin et al: Figs. 2-7) according to claim 10, configured into an endless shape (Limozin et al: Figs. 6 and 7).
13. Claims 1, 3, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemmerich (US1217461) in view of Limozin et al and Shima et al.
Regarding claim 16, Kemmerich discloses a tire comprising: a skeleton portion (Figs. 1 and 3) including a rim member (4 “rim”; Fig. 3), a plurality of body springs (1 “spring steel strips”; Fig. 3) latched on the rim member (4; Fig. 3), and a plurality of interlink springs (2 “wire” and/or 3 “steel bands”; Fig. 3) interlaced with the body springs (1; Fig. 3); and a tread member disposed on at least an outer periphery of the skeleton portion (lines 60-65), but fails to disclose the tread member includes the knit body according to claims 1 and 3.
Limozin et al, however, teaches a tread member (12, 20; Fig. 8) that includes a knit body (44, 44’, 54, 54’, 64 “assembly” from Figs. 2-7) knitted out of a filament body including at least one metal fiber (48 “reinforcing element” from Figs. 2-7; Para [022] on page 3 of the attached translated document of Limozin et al) having a cross section orthogonal to a longitudinal direction (As shown in Figs. 6-8, each filament extends along a longitudinal direction, and therefore inherently has a cross section orthogonal to the longitudinal direction), the cross section having a profile that is convex polygonal (Para [023] on page 3 of the attached translated document of Limozin et al describes a possible “rectangular or square” cross section) as set forth in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the tire of Kemmerich by substituting its tread member for a tread member that includes the claimed knit body, such as taught by Limozin et al, with the motivation to use a known tread material in a spring-based tire structure that would improve the durability of the tire.
Kemmerich, as modified by Limozin et al, further fails to disclose the metal fiber is made of austenite stainless steel or aluminum alloy.
Shima et al, however, teaches the metal fiber is made of aluminum alloy (Refer to the highlighted portion on page 5 of the attached translated document of Shima et al) as set forth in claim 3.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the tire of Kemmerich, as modified by Limozin et al, by substituting its metal fiber for a metal fiber such as aluminum alloy fibers as taught by Shima et al, with the motivation to use an alternative metal fiber suitable for forming filament elements.
14. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemmerich (US1217461) in view of Limozin et al.
Regarding claims 7, 13, 18, and 19, Kemmerich discloses a tire comprising: a skeleton portion (Figs. 1 and 3) including a rim member (4 “rim”; Fig. 3), a plurality of body springs (1 “spring steel strips”; Fig. 3) latched on the rim member (4; Fig. 3), and a plurality of interlink springs (2 “wire” and/or 3 “steel bands”; Fig. 3) interlaced with the body springs (1; Fig. 3); and a tread member disposed on at least an outer periphery of the skeleton portion (lines 60-65), but fails to disclose the tread member includes the knit body according to claims 1, 2, 4, and 5.
Limozin et al, however, teaches a tread member (12, 20; Fig. 8) that includes a knit body (44, 44’, 54, 54’, 64 “assembly” from Figs. 2-7) knitted out of a filament body including at least one metal fiber (48 “reinforcing element” from Figs. 2-7; Para [022] on page 3 of the attached translated document of Limozin et al) having a cross section orthogonal to a longitudinal direction (As shown in Figs. 6-8, each filament extends along a longitudinal direction, and therefore inherently has a cross section orthogonal to the longitudinal direction), the cross section having a profile that is convex polygonal (Para [023] on page 3 of the attached translated document of Limozin et al describes a possible “rectangular or square” cross section), wherein the profile of the cross section orthogonal to the longitudinal direction (Figs. 6-8) of the metal fiber is rectangle (“rectangular” per Para [023] on page 3 of the attached translated document of Limozin et al), the knit body configured into an endless shape (Figs. 6 and 7), and wherein the filament body is a multifilament made of a plurality of the metal fibers (Para [024] of the attached translated document of Limozin et al) as set forth in claims 1, 2, 4, and 5.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the tire of Kemmerich by substituting its tread member for a tread member that includes the claimed knit body, such as taught by Limozin et al, with the motivation to use a known tread material in a spring-based tire structure that would improve the durability of the tire.
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615