DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 04/07/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 13, 15-25 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelicci et al. (US 2006/0160897, Jul. 20. 2006) (hereinafter Pelicci) in view of König et al. (EP 3130329 A1, Feb. 15, 2017) (hereinafter König).
Pelicci discloses a topical formulation for the protection from UV light and for the treatment of sun burn (¶ [0003]). The composition can comprise a thickening agent, preferably from about 0.1% to about 5% (¶ [0177]). Suitable thickening agents include hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (¶ [0190]) and xanthan gum (¶ [0192]). The composition may comprise a mixture of thickening agents (¶ [0197]). The topical composition may be an emulsion containing one or more of a hydrophobic component (¶ [0134] and [0135]). Suitable hydrophobic components include hydrogenated rapeseed oil (¶ [0148]) and isopropyl palmitate (¶ [0141]). The composition preferably comprises from about 1% to about 50% of the hydrophobic component (¶ [0136]). The emulsion may be an oil-in-water emulsion (¶ [0130]). The composition may comprise an emollient, such as carnauba wax (¶ [0201]). Optional components include ultraviolet light absorbers or scattering agents (¶ [0200]).
Pelicci differs from the instant claims insofar as not teaching wherein the hydrogenated rapeseed oil is free of glycerol tripalmitate.
However, König discloses an oil-based cleansing product comprising lipids (¶ [0026]). Suitable lipids include hydrogenated rapeseed oil obtained from ADM under the tradename VGB 22 (¶ [0028]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated VGB 22 into the composition of Pelicci since the composition comprises hydrogenated rapeseed oil and this is a known and effective source of hydrogenated rapeseed oil as taught by König. As noted in the instant specification on page 3, lines 1-3, VGB22 is free of glycerol tripalmitate.
In regards to instant claims 13, 15 and 16 reciting wherein the composition is free of certain compounds, Pelicci does not require those claimed compounds as shown in the examples and claims. As such, a composition free of those compounds would have been obvious.
In regards to instant claims 17-19, Pelicci discloses from about 0.1% to about 5% thickening agents and wherein thickening agents include hydroxypropyl methylcellulose and xanthan gum. Therefore, the claimed amounts would have been obvious from one of ordinary skill in the art selecting an amount of each compound from this range and the amount of each compound overlapping with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A.
2. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelicci et al. (US 2006/0160897, Jul. 20. 2006) (hereinafter Pelicci) in view of König et al. (EP 3130329 A1, Feb. 15, 2017) (hereinafter König), and further in view of Simonnet et al. (US 2011/0110989, May 12, 2011) (hereinafter Simonnet).
The teachings of Pelicci and König are discussed above. Pelicci and König do not teach wherein the composition comprises 4-(tert-butyl)-4’methyoxydibenzoylmethane.
However, Simonnet discloses wherein 4-tert-butyl-4’-methoxydibenzoylmethane is a UV-screening agent (¶ [0333] and [0342]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Pelicci teaches wherein the composition comprises UV absorbers or scattering agents. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated 4-(tert-butyl)-4’methyoxydibenzoylmethane into the composition of Pelicci since it is a known and effective UV absorber or scattering agent as taught by Simonnet.
3. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelicci et al. (US 2006/0160897, Jul. 20. 2006) (hereinafter Pelicci) in view of König et al. (EP 3130329 A1, Feb. 15, 2017) (hereinafter König), and further in view of Howe et al. (US 2008/0317687, Dec. 25, 2008) (hereinafter Howe).
The teachings of Pelicci and König are discussed above. Pelicci and König do not teach wherein the composition comprises di-n-butyl adipate.
However, Howe discloses an oil-in-water emulsion (abstract). Suitable oil phase components include esters of dicarboxylic acids (¶ [0052]). Suitable dicarboxylic esters include di-n-butyl adipate (¶ [0053]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Pelicci teaches wherein the composition comprises one or more hydrophobic components. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated di-n-butyl adipate into the composition of Pelicci since it is a known and effective hydrophobic component for emulsions as taught by Howe.
4. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelicci et al. (US 2006/0160897, Jul. 20. 2006) (hereinafter Pelicci) in view of König et al. (EP 3130329 A1, Feb. 15, 2017) (hereinafter König), and further in view of Deshayes et al. (US 2018/0110706, Apr. 26, 2018) (hereinafter Deshayes).
The teachings of Pelicci and König are discussed above. Pelicci and König do not teach wherein the composition comprises butylene glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate.
However, Deshayes discloses a topical sunscreen emulsion comprising an oil phase and a water phase (abstract). Suitable oils to be incorporated into the oil phase of the topical sunscreen emulsion include butylene glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate (¶ [0038]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Pelicci teaches wherein the composition comprises one or more hydrophobic components. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated butylene glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate into the composition of Pelicci since it is a known and effective hydrophobic component for emulsions as taught by Deshayes.
5. Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelicci et al. (US 2006/0160897, Jul. 20. 2006) (hereinafter Pelicci) in view of König et al. (EP 3130329 A1, Feb. 15, 2017) (hereinafter König), and further in view of Mendrok-Edinger et al. (US 2017/0312192, Nov. 2, 2017) (hereinafter Mendrok-Edinger).
The teachings of Pelicci and König are discussed above. Pelicci and König do not teach wherein the composition has a viscosity of 2500-3000 mPas-1 after storage for 28 days at 40°C.
However, Mendrok-Edinger discloses a method of preserving the long - term thermal storage stability of a topical composition in the form of an oil - in water (O/W) emulsion comprising an oil phase dispersed in an aqueous phase in the presence of a polyglyceryl fatty ester surfactant, said method comprising the addition of a phosphate ester co – surfactant (claim 15). It is generally known that O/W emulsions with low viscosity often exhibit a stability problem upon storage, in particular at elevated temperatures. Thus, there is an ongoing need for agents that are able to reduce the viscosity of O/W emulsions without affecting the storage stability (¶ [0002]). The topical composition exhibits a viscosity of 50,000 mPas or less, such as 100 to 25,000 mPas (¶ [0021]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Pelicci to have a viscosity of 100 to 25,000 mPas since the composition is an O/W emulsion and this is a known and effective viscosity for such compositions as taught by Mendrok-Edinger. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the viscosity be within this range after 28 days at 40°C since thermal storage stability is desirable in the art and Mendrok-Edinger teaches how to obtain it.
6. Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelicci et al. (US 2006/0160897, Jul. 20. 2006) (hereinafter Pelicci) in view of König et al. (EP 3130329 A1, Feb. 15, 2017) (hereinafter König), and further in view of Miller et al. (US 2006/0159645, Jul 20, 2006) (hereinafter Miller).
The teachings of Pelicci and König are discussed above. Pelicci and König do not teach wherein the composition is present in a LDPE tube.
However, Miller discloses a method of providing a lubricious characteristic to skin surfaces (abstract). The composition of the method may be in the form of an emulsion (¶ [0048]). The composition may be packaged in a container that is well known by an artisan of ordinary skill such as a low-density polyethylene tube with a dispensing tip head (¶ [0049]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have packaged the composition of Pelicci into a low-density polyethylene tube since this is a known and effective container for topical compositions as taught by Miller.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art wishing to provide a pharmaceutical composition according to Pelicci that contains hydrogenated rapeseed oil would not expect to find any useful information in this regard in a document which relates to cosmetic cleaning preparations (Konig).
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Pelicci is a cosmetic composition since paragraph [0200] discloses wherein the composition may comprise cosmetic biocides and cosmetic astringents. Also, Pelicci discloses in paragraph [0131] wherein the composition comprises emollients that increase the smoothness and suppleness of the skin. Thus, further supporting wherein the composition is a cosmetic since it affects the appearance of skin. Accordingly, since the composition of Pelicci is a cosmetic, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the teachings of Koenig. Furthermore, both Pelicci and König teach topical compositions. Therefore, since both references are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the teachings of König. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that there are hundreds of substances which may optionally be present in the hydrophobic phase of the composition of Pelicci, one of them happens to be hydrogenated rapeseed oil.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. A prior art reference is evaluated for all that is reasonably suggests. A reference that “discloses a multitude of effective combinations does not render any particular formulation less obvious.” Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Thus, Pelicci disclosing multiple optional ingredients does not make any one optional ingredient, e.g., hydrogenated rapeseed oil, less obvious. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that it has not been explained why one of ordinary skill in the art would seek more information in this regard in a document (Konig) which happens to mention hydrogenated rapeseed oil as an optional component of a cleaning preparation.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. As discussed in the rejection, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated VGB 22 into the composition of Pelicci since the composition comprises hydrogenated rapeseed oil and this is a known and effective source of hydrogenated rapeseed oil as taught by König. Such rationale is proper since generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Konig clearly fails to convey the impression that VGB 22 is a particularly preferred commercial product.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123. As such, Applicant’s argument that VGB 22 would not have been obvious since it is not mentioned as being preferred is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Simonnet, Howe, Deshayes, Mendrok-Edinger, and Miller fail to cure the deficiencies of Pelicci and Konig.
The Examiner submits that Applicant’s arguments regarding Pelicci and Konig are addressed above and are unpersuasive. Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-31 of copending Application No. 17/904,039 in view of König et al. (EP 3130329 A1, Feb. 15, 2017) (hereinafter König).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as reciting wherein the hydrogenated rapeseed oil is free of glycerol tripalmitate. However, Kömig discloses an oil-based cleansing product comprising lipids (¶ [0026]). Suitable lipids include hydrogenated rapeseed oil obtained from ADM under the tradename VGB 22 (¶ [0028]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated VGB 22 into the composition of pending claims since this is a known and effective source of hydrogenated rapeseed oil as taught by Kömig. As noted in the instant specification on page 3, lines 1-3, VGB22 is free of glycerol tripalmitate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Konig fails to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically pick the product VGB 22 mentioned therein as a commercial source of hydrogenated rapeseed oil and does not teach or suggest that other commercial products which consist of hydrogenated rapesedd oil and are not free of glycerol tripalmitate are disadvantageous in any way.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123. As such, Applicant’s argument that VGB 22 would not have been obvious since it is not mentioned as being preferred is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Claims 13-32 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614