1DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2024/0250355, which has priority to 5/21/2021) in view of Cheon et al. (US 2005/0287428) and Ferraro et al. (US 2002/0081490).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a cylindrical lithium-ion battery ([0003]) comprising a case 1 [battery can], a positive pole 4 [penetrating terminal] and an insulating sealing member (abstract, Figs 1-2). A jellyroll 2 [electrode assembly having a first polarity and a second polarity] is accommodated in the case 1 ([0026], Figs 1-2). In an embodiment, the case 1 is electrically connected to the negative current collecting plate 8, and the case 1 [battery can] is electrically connected to an electrode ([0044]-[0046]), where a negative cap 9 [cap plate] closes an open end of the case 1 ([0046], Fig 13).
The positive pole 4 is electrically connected to the positive electrode [first polarity] of the jelly roll through a surface of the case 1 ([0026], Fig 2).
However, Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode assembly includes a first and second uncoated region.
Cheon discloses a secondary battery including a case, an electrode assembly 20 including a positive electrode 22, a negative electrode 23, and a separator 21 interposed therebetween (abstract, Fig 1). The positive electrode 22 and negative electrode 23 respectively have un-coated regions 22b and 23b [regions not having a coating of an active material] ([0039], Fig 2). These un-coated regions 22b,23b are respectively connected to a positive current collecting plate 50 and a negative current collecting plate 70 for collecting current ([0039]). These un-coated regions are bent toward the center of the electrode assembly ([0051], Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the uncoated regions of the electrodes of the electrode assembly of Cheon with the electrodes of the jellyroll of Huang for the purpose of having areas to connect with collecting plates.
Huang does not explicitly disclose the case [battery can] having different thicknesses.
Ferraro discloses a casing 10 for cylindrical electrochemical cells (abstract). The casing is characterized by having a non-uniform wall thickness (abstract). The casing comprises a cylindrical body surface 20 [sidewall], an open end/peripheral edge 40/50 [part nearest crimping portion], and an integrally formed closed bottom 30 [surface of can] (abstract, [0017], Fig 1). The casing 10 is characterized by having a wall thickness of the body 20 is less than the thickness of the bottom 30, and also having a wall thickness of the peripheral edge 40 which is greater than the wall thickness of the body 20 ([0017]); that is, both the bottom 30 and the peripheral edge 40 have a thickness greater than wall thickness of the body 20. The casing is sealed by crimping the peripheral edge of the casing over an end cap assembly ([0007]). Ferraro teaches that this design allows for the amount of internal volume for active material to be as great as possible, while still strong enough to withstand the crimping force needed to provide a tight seal ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the non-uniform thickness of the casing [including a thinner wall thickness of the body, compared to the bottom and peripheral edge] of Ferraro with the battery of Huang for the purpose of increasing the amount of internal volume for active material, while still strong enough to withstand crimping forces needed to provide a tight seal.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 6, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Huang further discloses (claim 2) the case 1 [battery can] including: a beading portion located at the open portion of the battery can, the beading portion extending inward around an outer circumferential surface of the battery can; and a crimping portion configured to fix the cap plate such that the cap plate is located between the beading portion and the crimping portion (see Fig 13). Huang further teaches (claim 3) that the crimping portion is located at an edge area of the cap plate, the crimping portion extending to cover at least a part of the lower surface of the cap plate (Fig 13). Huang further teaches (claim 6) that an area of the crimping portion that covers the at least part of the lower surface of the cap plate includes a flat area (Fig 13).
Regarding claim 4, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Huang discloses an insulating layer [sealing gasket] arranged between the negative cap 9 [cap plate] and the case 1 [battery can] ([0046]). Because the edges are crimped, the insulating layer is interposed between the crimping portion of the battery can and the cap plate.
Regarding claim 5, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ferraro further teaches that the peripheral edge 40 connects with an transition surface 50 to the body 20 ([0017], Fig 1); therefore the transition surface 50 has a thickness between that of the peripheral edge and the body. As the peripheral edge 40 and transition surface 50 are part of the portion that is crimped ([0007], [0017]), an area of the crimping portion [transition surface 50] that covers at least part of the lower surface of the cap plate is thicker than a remaining area of the crimping portion [peripheral edge 40].
Regarding claims 7-8, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ferraro further teaches that the peripheral edge 40 connects with an transition surface 50 to the body 20 ([0017], Fig 1), and therefore both have a thickness greater than the body. As the peripheral edge 40 and transition surface 50 are part of the portion that is crimped ([0007], [0017]), (claim 7) the crimping portion that covers the edge of the cap plate is thicker than a remaining sidewall of the battery can, and (claim 8) wherein the beading portion and the crimping portion are thicker than a remaining sidewall of the battery can.
Regarding claim 9, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ferraro further teaches that the peripheral edge 40 is thicker than the sidewall of the body 20 ([0017]); and therefore the sidewall of the battery is thinner than a partially closed portion [from crimping] of the battery can opposite the open portion.
Regarding claims 10-11, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Huang discloses that the positive pole 4 [penetrating terminal] is disposed at a center of the surface of the battery can, where the surface is opposite the open portion; and discloses a terminal exposure portion [first cylinder 41] extending outward from the case 1 [battery can], and a terminal insertion portion penetrating the surface of the case 1 [battery can] ([0026], see Figs 2-5).
Regarding claims 12-13, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Huang discloses an upper insulating sealing member 51 [insulation gasket] interposed between the case 1 [battery can] and the positive pole 4 [penetrating terminal]; and includes a gasket exposure portion extending outward from the battery can (see Fig 2), and a gasket insertion portion [first annular protrusion block 71; second annular protrusion 72] penetrating the surface of the case 1 [battery can] ([0036], see Figs 2 and 6-7).
Regarding claim 14, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Huang teaches that the positive pole 4 [penetrating terminal] is riveted to the case ([0006], [0026], and see portions which are connected inside the case 1), and is therefore considered to be rivet-coupled to an inner surface of the battery can.
Regarding claim 15, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As seen in Figure 2, the positive current collecting plate 3 [first current collector plate] has a first surface coupled to the positive electrode of the jelly roll 2, and a second surface coupled to the positive pole 4 [penetrating terminal] ([0026], Fig 2).
Regarding claims 16-17, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Huang discloses that the positive pole 4 [penetrating terminal] is disposed at a center of the surface of the battery can, where the surface is opposite the open portion; and discloses a terminal exposure portion [first cylinder 41] extending outward from the case 1 [battery can], and a terminal insertion portion penetrating the surface of the case 1 [battery can] ([0026], see Figs 2-5).
Regarding claims 18-19, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Huang further discloses a lower insulating sealing member 52 [insulator] interposed between the first current collector plate 3, and the case 1; wherein the positive pole 4 [penetrating terminal] is coupled to the positive current collecting plate 3 through the insulator 52 ([0026]-[0027], Fig 2).
Regarding claim 20, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Cheon further teaches that the uncoated regions are bent towards the winding center ([0051], Fig 4).
Regarding claim 22, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Huang discloses that the negative cap plate 9 is not connected to the negative current collecting plate 8 ([0046]), and therefore the cap plate 9 is electrically insulated from the jellyroll [electrode assembly] and is non-polar.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2024/0250355, which has priority to 5/21/2021) in view of Cheon et al. (US 2005/0287428) and Ferraro et al. (US 2002/0081490), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Guen (US 2017/0170450).
Regarding claim 21, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the cap includes a venting portion configured to rupture when an internal pressure of the battery can rises above a predetermined level.
Guen discloses a rechargeable battery including an electrode assembly, a case accommodating the electrode assembly, a cap plate covering the case, and a terminal plate (abstract). The cap plate 150 further includes a safety vent 151 wherein the safety vent 151 is configured to rupture to release internal gases when the internal pressure of the case 120 rises ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the safety vent of the cap plate of Guen with the negative cap [cap plate] of Huang for the purpose of releasing gases when the internal pressure in the case rises.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2024/0250355, which has priority to 5/21/2021) in view of Cheon et al. (US 2005/0287428) and Ferraro et al. (US 2002/0081490), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Fuhr et al. (US 2009/0208836).
Regarding claims 23-24, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Huang does not explicitly disclose (claim 23) a battery pack comprising a plurality of cylindrical secondary batteries according to claim 1, a pack housing accommodating the plurality of secondary batteries, or (claim 24) a vehicle comprising the battery pack.
Fuhr discloses a battery that can be used in vehicles 12/100 as part of a battery system 14/102 ([0004], [0041]-[0043], Fig 1-1A). The battery system includes batteries 10,118, that are arranged in modules 117 with a housing or cover 142 ([0051], Fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of batteries, with a housing, in a vehicle as taught by Fuhr with the battery of Huang for the purpose of providing powering a vehicle and providing sufficient power and/or energy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (CN 113346168, see machine translation) is very similar to reference relied upon above [Huang et al. (US 2024/0250355)] and discloses the same features. Huang CN 113346168 has a publication date 9/3/2021. Because the foreign priority of the current application has not been perfected by filing certified English translations, Huang CN 113346168 is considered prior art and a 102(a)(1) reference.
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725