DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to Applicant’s remarks filed July 1, 2026.
Claims 1-23 have not been amended and are currently under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ivey is non-analogous art directed to therapeutic cancer cell treatment rather than cosmetic skin applications. This is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Ivey is non-analogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
In this case, both Kader and Ivey are in the field of electroporation for controlled cellular permeabilization using pulsed electric fields. Kader explicitly discloses cosmetic/aesthetic skin treatments with pulsed currents to enhance active ingredient delivery (see paras. [0016], [0026], [0070]). The Examiner did not rely on Ivey for the overall cosmetic electroporation process or hydroxy acid delivery (which is disclosed by Kader), but rather on Ivey for specific pulse train parameters. Ivey addresses pulse parameters to achieve effective electroporation while minimizing damage and muscle contractions (see paras. [0003-0004] and [0057-0059]) which are precisely the concerns for safe, comfortable cosmetic use on keratin materials.
One of ordinary skill in the electroporation device arts (or cosmetic delivery systems) would naturally look to Ivey’s parameter teachings to improve Kader’s handheld cosmetic device for better control and patient comfort.
Applicant further contends there is not motivation or reasonable expectation of success in combining the references for the specific claimed pulse train parameters with hydroxy acid compositions. This argument is not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Kader already uses pulsed currents with hydroxy acids (e.g., salicylic acid) for skin permeation (paras. [0027] and [0070]). The Examiner did not rely on Kader for the specific ftrain and Ton ranges (which are taught by Ivey), but rather used Kader as the base process to which Ivey’s teachings are applied. Ivey provides explicit guidance on pulse train repetition rates (e.g., 1-5 bursts/second overlapping 0.1Hz – 1kHz), burst durations, and high-frequency carriers within trains (paras. [0067-0068]) to enable non-thermal, reversible electroporation without contractions which is directly applicable to enhancing Kader’s cosmetic efficacy.
Planard-Luong confirms voltage ranges (50-340 V) are adjustable for effective yet safe skin treatment (para [0099]). The Examiner did not rely on Planard-Luong for the pulse train timing (taught by Ivey), but rather for voltage amplitude within the claimed range.
A reasonable expectation of success exists because electroporation’s enhancement of topical penetration was known, and the combination predictably yields improved cosmetic peeling without undue experimentation. Applicant’s hindsight assertion is unsupported; the motivation flows from the references’ shared goal of safe, effective field-mediated delivery.
Applicant further contends that Ivey teaches only a maximum duration of pulse duration and that pulse durations may be less that 0.001s if rest duration is high. Applicant’s narrow reading of Ivey is not persuasive.
Ivey’s disclosures encompass overlapping ranges for train repetition, Ton/Toff, and intra-train frequencies (paras. [0067-0069]), which one of ordinary skill in would select for the cosmetic context of Kader. The claimed ranges are not critical or unexpected in light of the prior art’s teaching on balancing efficacy and safety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15, 18-19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kader (US Publication No. 2012/0065575, hereinafter, Kader) in view of Ivey (US Publication No. 2020/0046967, hereinafter, Ivey) and further in view of Planard-Luong (US Publication No. 2019/0255321, hereinafter, Planard-Luong).
Regarding claim 1, Kader discloses a cosmetic and non-therapeutic electroporation process for delivering a composition through human keratin materials (Kader; para [0016], sequence for aesthetic treatment of skin), the composition comprising at least one hydroxy acid compound (Kader; para [0027], active ingredient may be salicylic acid, which is a beta hydroxy acid), the electroporation process comprising the exposure of the composition in contact with said keratin materials to pulse trains of a pulsed electric current (Kader; para [0016], electroporation sequence comprises pulsed current to the skin), the pulsed electric current being provided by an electroporation device (1) having at least one electrode (2) and at least one counterelectrode (3) (Kader; para [0028], predefined polarity brought to the skin between one electrode 9 and an opposing reference electrode 21, which is a hand-held treatment head 7 in figs. 1-3; para [0060-0061]), and the pulsed electric current ranging from 0.1mA to 10mA (Kader; para [0062], current delivered to treatment electrode up to a maximum of 10mA).
Kader discloses voltages and pulsed currents, but does not, however, disclose the pulse trains of the pulsed electric current repeating at a frequency (ftrain) of between 0.1Hz and 1kHz, the pulse trains each having a duration (Ton) of between 0.001s and 2s, and the pulsed electric current having a voltage amplitude ranging from 20V to 250V.
Ivey teaches the pulse trains of the pulsed electric current repeating at a frequency (ftrain) of between 0.1Hz and 1kHz (Ivey; para [0068], pulse trains can be repeating at a rate of 1-5, 1-2, or 1 burst per second, which is in the range of 0.1Hz to 1kHz), the pulse trains each having a duration (Ton) of between 0.001s and 2s (Ivey; para [0067], Ton range bursts can range from 1-100 or more and include any value therein; para [0068],1-10 bursts or more can be delivered every 1-59 seconds. These combinations include the claimed range of 0.001s to 2s (e.g., 100 bursts every 1 second to 10 bursts every 20s), and
Planard-Luong teaches the pulsed electric current having a voltage amplitude ranging from 20V to 250V (Planard-Luong; para [0099], 50V – 340V peak voltage obtained as the output from a pulse modulator in fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cosmetic electroporation treatment device and method of Kader to apply high-frequency electroporation pulse trains with a non-zero interpulse delay and pulse-train repetition frequency within the claimed range, as taught by Ivey, in order to achieve controlled, non-thermal electroporation of keratinous materials and avoid significant temperature rise while still delivering enough pulses for the intended effect.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of modified Kader to have the voltage amplitude between the electrode (2) and counterelectrode (3) in open circuit in the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the voltage of a component disclosed to require adjustment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified device of Kader to limit the open circuit range of voltage amplitude between the electrode and counterelectrode to range from 20V to 250V, as taught by Planard-Luong, as a matter of routine optimization, in order to safely and effectively treat localized areas of keratinous materials using non-painful current densities on the skin of the patient.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the maximum voltage between the electrode (2) and the counterelectrode (3) (Kader; electrode 9 and opposing reference electrode 21 in figs. 1-3), but modified Kader fails to disclose the open circuit ranging from 20V to 250V.
Planard-Luong teaches open circuit voltages between the electrode and counterelectrode ranging from 20V to 250V (Planard-Luong; para [0099], 50V – 340V peak voltage obtained as the output from a pulse modulator in fig. 8).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of modified Kader to have the maximum voltage between the electrode (2) and counterelectrode (3) in open circuit in the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the voltage of a component disclosed to require adjustment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Kader to limit the open circuit range of maximum voltage between the electrode and counterelectrode to range from 20V to 250V, as taught by Planard-Luong, as a matter of routine optimization, in order to safely and effectively treat localized areas of keratinous materials using non-painful current densities on the skin of the patient.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, but fails to disclose the pulsed electric current having a duty cycle (Ton /( Ton + Toff)) ranging from 20% to 90%,where Ton denotes the duration of a pulse train and Toff denotes the interval between two successive pulse trains.
Planard-Luong teaches pulsed electric current having a duty cycle (Ton /( Ton + Toff)) ranging from 20% to 90%,where Ton denotes the duration of a pulse train and Toff denotes the interval between two successive pulse trains (Planard-Luong; para [0080], pulse modulator defines duty cycle of between 1% and 75%).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of modified Kader to have a pulsed electric current duty cycle in the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the time (Ton and Toff) of pulse train duration and intervals therebetween as components disclosed to require adjustment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Kader to limit the relationship of pulse train duration and intervals between two successive pulse trains (Ton /( Ton + Toff)) to a range of 20% to 90%, as taught by Planard-Luong, as a matter of routine optimization, in order to maximize effective treatment Ton time with balanced Toff time to avoid patient discomfort and equipment overheating.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the pulse trains repeating at a frequency ftrain ranging from 0.1Hz to 1kHz (Ivey; para [0068], pulse trains can be repeating at a rate of 1-5, 1-2, or 1 burst per second, which is in the range of 0.1Hz to 1kHz), but modified Kader does not disclose the frequency (fpulse) of the pulses within the pulse train being between 5kHz and 100kHz.
Ivey teaches the frequency (fpulse) of the pulses within the pulse train being between 5kHz and 100kHz (Ivey; para [0007], H-FIRE pulse train can have a carrier frequency of about 1 kHz to about 1 MHz; para [0067], in some aspects, the carrier frequency is about 20kHz).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of modified Kader to have a frequency of pulses within the pulse train in the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the frequency components disclosed to require adjustment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frequency of pulses within the pulse trains of modified Kader to be between 5kHz and 100kHz, as taught by Ivey, as a matter of routine optimization, in order to advantageously utilize the high-frequency bursts to suppress muscle stimulation/contractions compared with conventional low-frequency, longer pulses, while still causing electroporation.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the pulse trains each having a duration (Ton) ranging from 0.01s to 3s (Ivey; para [0067], Ton range bursts can range from 1-100 or more and include any value therein; para [0068],1 - 10 bursts or more can be delivered every 1-59 seconds. These combinations include the claimed range of 0.01s to 3s.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the pulse trains being separated by a pulse-free interval (Toff) ranging from 0.01s to 3s (Ivey; para [0067], by the same logic as in claim 5, Toff range bursts can range from 1 - 100 or more and include any value therein; para [0068],1 - 10 bursts or more can be delivered every 1 - 59 seconds. These combinations include the claimed range of 0.01s to 3s.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the counterelectrode being static and having a surface area in contact with the human keratin materials that is greater than that of the electrode, which is moved in contact with the keratin materials (Kader; para [0060], electrode 9 and opposing reference electrode 21 both in contact with skin, particularly reference electrode 21 which is held by the patient and in electrical contact with the hand, thus in contact with a greater surface area that than of the electrode as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, consisting in manually moving the electrode(s) (2) of the electroporation device over the keratin materials (Kader; para [0060], treatment head 7 has end part electrode 9 axially located and is brought into contact with the skin of the patient and moved over the surface to be treated) while subjecting said keratin materials to said pulse trains of pulsed electric current (Kader; para [0061-0062], during skin treatment, unit 3 supplies necessary power to current generator and to a pulse generator. The current produced is applied between electrode 9 and reference electrode 21, via cables 10 and 20).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the pulsed electric current having a general square or rectangular waveform (Ivey; para [0069], each electric waveform pulse can be a square wave).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the electroporation device (1) being hand-held (Kader; para [0060], treatment head 7 shaped to be held in the practitioner’s hand).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, comprising topical application of the composition to the zone to be treated before applying the pulsed electric current and/or during said application (Kader; para [0070], skin is advantageously coated with active substance (gel or cream) comprising specific molecules, the cosmetic effect of which is optimized by the effects of the electrical currents; para [0027], lists appropriate topical compositions for treatment).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the electrode(s) (2) having a rounded surface for contact with the keratin materials (Kader; para [0083], electrode 9 rounded end for contact with skin and movement over treatment area as shown is fig. 1; para [0060], reference electrode 21 which is held by the patient and is in electrical contact with the hand).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the composition comprising one or more hydroxy acids chosen from a-hydroxy acid compounds (AHA), β-hydroxy acid compounds (BHA), lipohydroxy acid compounds (LHA), polyhydroxy acid compounds (PHA), and mixtures thereof, which may notably be linear, branched or cyclic, and saturated or unsaturated application (Kader; para [0027], lists appropriate topical compositions for treatment, of which at least mandelic and salicylic acids are a hydroxy acids).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the composition comprising at least one β-hydroxy acid compound application (Kader; para [0027], lists appropriate topical compositions for treatment, of which at least salicylic acid is a β-hydroxy acid).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the composition comprising at least one alcohol (Kader; para [0027], active ingredient may include glycerol or sorbitol, which are both alcohols).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, the composition comprising glycerol (Kader; para [0027], active ingredient may include glycerol).
Regarding claim 23, modified Kader discloses a kit for performing the process according to Claim 1, including: an electroporation device containing at least one electrode (2) and at least one counterelectrode (3) ) (Kader; para [0028], predefined polarity brought to the skin between one electrode 9 and an opposing reference electrode 21, which is a hand-held treatment head 7 in figs. 1-3; para [0060-0061]) and arranged to subject keratin materials to pulse trains of a pulsed electric current, the pulse trains of the pulsed electric current repeating at a frequency (ftrain) of between 0.1Hz and 1kHz (Ivey; para [0068], pulse trains can be repeating at a rate of 1-5, 1-2, or 1 burst per second, which is in the range of 0.1Hz to 1kHz), the pulse trains each having a duration (Ton) of between 0.001s and 2s (Ivey; para [0067], Ton range bursts can range from 1-100 or more and include any value therein; para [0068],1-10 bursts or more can be delivered every 1-59 seconds. These combinations include the claimed range of 0.001s to 2s (e.g., 100 bursts every 1 second to 10 bursts every 20s), and the pulsed electric current having a voltage amplitude ranging from 20V to 250V (Planard-Luong; para [0099], 50V – 340V peak voltage obtained as the output from a pulse modulator in fig. 8) and a current ranging from 0.1mA to 10mA (Kader; para [0062], current delivered to treatment electrode up to a maximum of 10mA), and a composition comprising at least one hydroxy acid compound (Kader; para [0027], active ingredient may be salicylic acid, which is a beta hydroxy acid).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kader in view of Ivey, further in view of Planard-Luong, and further in view of Atanasoska (US Patent No. 5,871,461, hereinafter, Atanasoska).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kader discloses an electroporation process according to Claim 1, but fails to disclose that the surface area of the electrode(s) (2) in contact with the keratin materials ranging from 2 to 20cm2.
Atanasoska teaches that the surface area of the electrode(s) (2) in contact with the keratin materials ranging from 2 to 20cm2.(Atanasoska; col. 26, lines 43-48, at a current density of 4 mA, the skin contact surface area of the electrode should be greater than about 8cm2, such as about 10cm2, allowing patients to tolerate treatment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the electrodes of modified Kader to provide a surface area of the electrodes in contact with the keratin materials ranging from 2 to 20cm2, as taught by Atanasoska, in order to obtain electrode-to-skin contact areas that yield safe and comfortable current densities at the 0.1mA to 10mA cosmetic treatment currents disclosed by modified Kader while covering a practical treatment spot size for localized cosmetic procedures on the skin.
Claims 16-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kader in view of Ivey, further in view of Planard-Luong, and further in view of Bissett (US Patent No. 5,821,237, hereinafter, Bissett).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kader discloses electroporation process according to Claim 1, the composition comprising at least one β-hydroxy acid compound (Kader; para [0027], lists appropriate topical compositions for treatment, of which at least salicylic acid is a β-hydroxy acid), but Kader fails to disclose it in a content of between 0.1% and 15%, relative to the total weight of the composition.
Bissett teaches the composition comprising at least one β-hydroxy acid compound in a content of between 0.1% and 15%, relative to the total weight of the composition (Bissett; col. 21, lines 59-64; compositions preferably comprise from about 0.1% to about 10% of organic hydroxy acid such as salicylic acid, which is a β-hydroxy acid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cosmetic composition used in the electroporation process of modified Kader, to (i) provide at least one β-hydroxy acid compound in a content of between 0.1% and 15% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition, (ii) provide a water content of between 20% and 100% by weight, and (iii) adjust the pH of the composition to between 2 and 7.5, as taught by Bissett, in order to obtain a composition that delivers sufficient keratolytic and exfoliating activity on keratin materials while remaining stable, cosmetically acceptable, and safe for topical, non-therapeutic use on human skin.
Regarding claim 17, modified Kader discloses electroporation process according to Claim 1, composition having a water content of between 20% and 100% by weight, relative to the total weight of the composition (Bissett; col. 13, lines 40-51; a cream typically comprises from about 45% to about 85%, preferably from about 50% to about 75% water).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kader discloses electroporation process according to Claim 1, but fails to disclose the composition comprising a thickener/gelling agent.
Bissett teaches the composition comprising a thickener/gelling agent (Bissett; col. 13, lines 60-64; an ointment may comprise a thickening agent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cosmetic composition used in the electroporation process of modified Kader to additionally comprise a thickener or gelling agent, as taught by Bissett, in order to obtain a suitable consistency for controlled placement on keratin materials, reduced run-off and dripping during treatment, and improved consumer aesthetics and skin feel.
Regarding claim 21, modified Kader discloses electroporation process according to Claim1, the composition having a pH ranging from 2 to 7.5 (Bissett; col. 14, lines 36-39; pH values of these compositions preferably range from about 2 to 8.5, more preferably from about 3 to 7, most preferably from about 4.5 to about 5.5).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kader in view of Ivey, further in view of Planard-Luong, and further in view of Garruto (US Publication No. 2019/0038539, hereinafter, Garruto).
Regarding claim 22, modified Kader discloses electroporation process according to Claim 1, but fails to disclose the composition being free of preserving agents.
Garruto teaches the composition being free of preserving agents (Garruto; the last sentence of para [0124]; compositions may be formulated such that preservatives need not be employed (e.g., a preservative-free formulation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cosmetic composition used in the electroporation process of modified Kader to be free of preserving agents, as taught by Garruto, in order to meet consumer demand for “preservative-free” products, reduce the risk of preservative-related irritation or sensitization on already exfoliated keratin materials, and still maintain acceptable product stability under controlled packaging and use conditions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARIAH K WHITROCK/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783