DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The objection to claim 12 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 & 9 recite “means are arranged to detect a position of a reference point of the measuring system” and “means arranged to detect a position of a reference point of the measuring system” in lines 6 & 6 respectively.
For purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted according to the applicant’s specification paragraph 011 “Furthermore, the means for detecting a position of a reference point can be a position encoder of the linear axis. For example, the position of the reference point can be determined absolutely via an incremental magnetic tape.” and paragraph 027 “Other embodiments of the means 9 are conceivable, for example a sensor, in particular an optical sensor or a cable pull sensor.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guarini (United States Patent 4782598).
As to claim 9, Guarini teaches a device for measuring a measurement object (Abstract “An error compensated, coordinate measuring machine”), comprising:
a measuring system (Figure 1, column 5:38-39 “This elongated member 20 is commonly referred to as a "ram"”) movable along a linear axis (Figure 1, column 6:28-30 “a scale, graduated bar 28 or other form of position indicator is mounted to the traveling bridge 10 along the horizontal cross-member 16”),
wherein the measuring system has at least one sensor (column 5:54-58 “An electronic probe 22 is mounted to the lower free end of the ram 20.”, see also column 5:65-66 “non-contacting probes may be used with the present invention”);
means arranged to detect a position of a reference point of the measuring system (column 15:36-38 “The zero reference point is first established. It is usually chosen as one corner of the base, and all measurements are made with respect thereto.”, see also Figure 5B and column 10:28-29 “During probe qualification, the ram 20 is lowered until the probe 22 contacts the qualification sphere 73.”);
wherein at least one measured value of the measurement object is measurable using the sensor (column 5:54-58 “An electronic probe 22 is mounted to the lower free end of the ram 20. The probe 22 can sense when it makes contact with an object 8 resting on the base of the machine. It generates an electronic signal to which the machine responds when contact is made.”, column 6:67-7:3 “the apparent position of the ram 20 and the probe 22 relative to a pre-selected zero reference point in the working area of the machine may be determined in all three coordinates by graduated bars 24, 28, 32 and their associated optical readers 26, 30, 34.” and column 1:37-39 “A computer in the machine derives the exact dimensions of the test part from the coordinate data.”) and
wherein a measurement error of the measured value caused by an inclination of the measuring system at a location on the linear axis (Figures 2 and 5B, column 10:14-18 “As illustrated by FIG. 5b, the Y carriage 18 may exhibit an angle of rotation .theta..sub.2 (referenced to a normal 71 to the base 4), which will affect the position of the probe tip relative to the X scale or graduated bar 24.”) by a local angle of inclination β (Figure 5B, angle .theta..sub.2) is determinable by an inclination sensor of the measurement system (Figure 5B, column 13:30-32 “the ram sensors 38, 40 can accurately determine the deviation of the ram 20 from true vertical”) and
wherein the measured value is correctable by the measurement error (column 16:1-7 “To make measurements in the X-Y plane, the probe 22 is affixed to the free end of the ram 20 so that it extends co-axially thereto as an extension of the ram. The ram 20 and probe 22 are maneuvered until the probe 22 contacts the object 8, at which point the coordinate axis measurements and the angle of tilt measurements are entered into the computer memory.”, see also the rest of the column) by a correction unit (Figure 9, column 15:34-36 “compensation unit 70 will adjust the positional data to compensate for the errors introduced by the machine”).
As to claim 10, Guarini teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 9, in addition the inclination sensor for determining the local angle of inclination β of the linear axis is arranged on the measuring system (Figure 1, column 13:27-32 “Two sensors 38, 40 are mounted on the ram 20 and preferably inside the ram.”).
As to claim 12, Guarini teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 9, in addition the position and/or distance of a measurement object is determined for measuring a width and/or for measuring a flatness of the measurement object (column 1:37-39 “A computer in the machine derives the exact dimensions of the test part from the coordinate data.”).
As to claim 11, the method would flow from claim 12.
As to claim 1, the method would flow from claim 9.
As to claim 2, Guarini teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition a horizontal measured value of the measurement object is detected (column 9:7-9 “the position of the ram 20 along the Y axis is measured remotely from where the probe contacts the object” and column 1:28-30 “The probe is positionable in different attitudes so that it has access to each exposed side of the part.”), which indicates a position in the extension direction of the linear axis (Figure 3, column 5:30-32 “A carriage 18 rides on a track 19 formed in the horizontal member 16 of the traveling bridge, and is movable in the Y coordinate direction”) and/or in that a vertical measured value of the measurement object is detected (column 5:43-44 “the ram 20 is movable in the Z direction” indicates top & bottom sides and therefore vertical measurements can be made), which indicates a position in the direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the linear axis (see Figure 3 that shows the z-axis as vertical).
As to claim 8, Guarini teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition the local angle of inclination β of the linear axis is determined at defined measuring points (Figure 5B, column 10:61-11:1 “The second hypothetical triangle II is illustrated by FIG. 5b as directly below the first triangle I. Triangle II represents the X component of error, X.sub.3, caused by the rotation of the Y carriage 18 and the variable distance the ram 20 and probe 22 further extend beyond the predetermined distance E in order to touch the object B. The second triangle II is a similar triangle of the first, and the component of error, X.sub.3, is opposite the same angle .theta..sub.2.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guarini.
As to claims 3-6, Guarini teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 2, with the exception of the claimed formulas. However, Guarini teaches the use of trigonometry (column 10:8-12 “This X component of error is trigonometrically a function of angle .theta..sub.1, and is equal to the fixed distance C that the center of rotation of the Y-carriage 18 is vertically above X scale 24, multiplied by the sine of angle .theta..sub.1.”) and the calculation of the length of a side of a right triangle when an angle and the length of a side adjacent to that angle is known is well known:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have, use or determine the claimed equations, in order to more accurately calculate a correction value based on distance & angle measurements and produce a more precise measurement.
Conclusion
/J.C.U/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877